sapaul

Sturt
Awesome win...we're top right at the moment too but unlike the other mob, we're not gonna be satisfied with just being top mid season.

POTY

5- S.Welsh
4- M.Ricciuto
3- B.Burton
2- N.Smart
1- T.Stenglein

TTM

3- N.Smart
2- T.Stenglein
1- M.Bickley

Best on Ground

5 - Mark Ricciuto (The Roo is in awesome form and setting a great example to the rest of the team)
4 - Scotty Welsh(Only a whisker behind the Roo with his 6 goals and gave us a great target on the last line of attack)
3 - Brett Burton(delighted to see that they left the Birdman on the wing and he repaid the selectors for doing so )
2 - Mark Bickley(Took over in the 3rd term in and around the packs while Roo had a rest. Classic Bicks.)
1 - Andrew McLeod(appreciated the slacker checking tactics of the Bombers)

Best Team Man

3 - Tyson Stenglein(Kept Hird to a useful only game)
2 - Rhett Biglands (Great physical effort in ruck, capped off by a couple of goals)
1 - Wayne Carey(Would have been BTT and high in best players if he played the full game)

Rookie

None

Great effort by the boys and special mentions to those players not in the best 5 such as Bassett, Smart, Edwards, Massie, Hart, Burns, Biglands, Begley and John**** (and Carey too of course)

Good effort by the boys and hopefully Carey's injury is not too bad and he is back to play Freo next week.

Best on Ground

5 - Mark Ricciuto (Just in front of Welshy because I thought he set the tempo early and really set the example for others to follow)
4 - Scott Welsh (What a ripper of a game. Was absolutely ripped off when he was not rewarded a clear goal. He is slowly working himself to his absolute best.)
3 - Brett Burton (Is this bloke on fire or what?!?!?!?! His last month of footy has been super)
2 - Mark Bickley (I have lsot count of the number of clearences he got. Vintage Bicks, in and under and tough at it all night)
1 - Andrew McLeod (Not the best game he has played but showed flashes of brilliance and set up a few nice passages of play)

Best Team Man

3 - Wayne Carey (Not a lot of possesions but fair dinkum, every possesion of his is worth its weight in gold. A real team player. Hope he gets back soon)
2 - Nigel Smart (Played a beauty on Lloyd. Lloyd kicked one of him from a VERY suspect free kick)
1 - Ronnie Burns (A bit of a surprise but I reckon he had a hand in about 4 goals with his creativity. Good to see him getting back into form)

Rookie

None

Par for the course win.....let's really make a statement next week :cool:

BOG

5 Welsh
4 Ricciuto
3 Bickley
2 Smart
1 Burton

BTM

3 Smart
2 Bassett
1 Biglands

Rookie

-

Anyone hear the guy call up on 5AA and say that Stevo appeared at a function tonight and announced he was going to be out for another 5-6 weeks??? Shocking news if true.

Originally posted by ant

Anyone hear the guy call up on 5AA and say that Stevo appeared at a function tonight and announced he was going to be out for another 5-6 weeks??? Shocking news if true.

Missed that one. Even if he had cracked ribs, it shouldn't take that long, should it?? He's been out for 2 and I wouldn't have thought that would need 7 to 8 weeks, but maybe it does.

He's had a bummer of a year.

Well done crows, good game!
BOG
5.Scotty Welsh
4.Mark Ricciuto
3.Brett Burton
2.Mark Bickley
1.Tyson Edwards

BTM
3.Nathan Bassett
2.Nigel Smart
1.Wayne Carey

Originally posted by macca23
Missed that one. Even if he had cracked ribs, it shouldn't take that long, should it?? He's been out for 2 and I wouldn't have thought that would need 7 to 8 weeks, but maybe it does.

I have listened to 5AA on the way home and apparently Stevo damaged some cartliage (sp???) that hold ribs in place. Apparently the ribs keep popping out.

"MarksGirl" it might be time to sleep in seperate beds cos he has been stuffed this year.:p

I give us a very good chance against Freo IF Carey or Stevo come up for this week.:(

The talk was that the rib had been popping in and out, and that was causing the reoccuring problems.

I hope this is all a grave misunderstanding, but at this stage there doesn't seem like much chance we'll get our full-strength forward line up and running any time soon.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I have listened to 5AA on the way home and apparently Stevo did some ligaments that hold ribs in place. Apparently the ribs keep popping out.

"MarksGirl" it might be time to sleep in seperate beds cos he has been stuffed this year.:p

I give us a very good chance against Freo IF Carey or Stevo come up for this week.:(

Stevo won't play against Freo, Stiffy, and Carey would have to be extremely doubtful with 12 stitches in his kneecap. Probably will miss this game.

With Perrie back and Carey in the side I would have declared us as a near certainty to be the first team to win at Subi this year. Once again we will have to improvise, but I still think we can do it.

Just want to make one furter point though.

Goody breaks his wrist at the MCG by landing on concrete where there shouldn't be concrete.

Carey lacerates his knee on a SQUARE post tonight, on the leading edge. All other posts in the AFL are ROUND.

Do the managers of these grounds and the AFL want to be sued for providing an unsafe workplace!!!!

Two players injured unnecessarily in a non-football context!!

Can I just say first and foremost - Essendon were rabble tonight. Absolute rabble. And furthermore, if people still rate Fletcher as the best fullback in the league they need their brains examined.

Best on Ground

5: Mark Ricciuto - Another sterling captain's knock. When's the last time he missed a setshot from outside fifty?
4: Scott Welsh - His best game at AFL level. 6 goals and could've had 3 or 4 more. Also made some of the most lauded defenders in the league look stupid.
3: Rhett Biglands - Huge game in ruck and around the ground. How sweet was that goal he kicked where Macca dished off???!!!
2: Brett Burton - If he can stay sound he may just develop into one of the AFL's premier midfielders.
1: Ben Hart - Classy classy game in defence from Benny.

Best Team Man

3: Mark Bickley - Still a hard nut and as fearless as ever in and under.
2 - Nigel Smart - What Stiffy18 said.
1 - Tyson 'zoom zoom' Edwards - Magnificent game in the sweeper's role again. Asked to fill all sorts of roles and always delivers.

Rookie

This is really beginning to worry me.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Too slow:p

You are right It looks like we won't have our 1st choice forward line up and running this year:(

You are the Bigfooty master Stiffy, everyone is slow compared to you.

No first choice forward line, but at least Carey isn't out for the year like first thought.....my heart stopped then went into my mouth when he clutched at his knee.....looked like curtains for 2003.

BOG

5... Mark Ricciuto - Great captains game, lead from the front and just gets the nod for BOG because of the 50 m last Quarter goal that just seemed to steady us down when Essendon looked dangerous
4... Scotty Welsh - 6.2 -in the wet made it look easy
3... Tyson Stenglein - Hard at it just kept working and kept Hirdy pretty quiet
2... Nigel Smart - Lloyd got one goal- from a poor free kick-enough said
1... Mark Bickley - Just keeps on getting the ball

BTM
3... Wayne Carey - How many times does he bring the ball to the front of the pack? Takes a battering and keeps on doing the hard things- may not be getting huge possesions but his knock ons are worth as much as getting possesion
2... Rhett Biglands - has really stepped up to take the number 1 ruck spot from Matty Clarke- another great effort
1... Tyson Stenglein - see above

Goody breaks his wrist at the MCG by landing on concrete where there shouldn't be concrete.

Carey lacerates his knee on a SQUARE post tonight, on the leading edge. All other posts in the AFL are ROUND.

Do the managers of these grounds and the AFL want to be sued for providing an unsafe workplace!!!!

Not to mention:

Shaun Rehn does his knee on a bounce-disc at Football Park in 1999 that should never have been there in the first place.

Matthew Richardson does his knee while trying to avoid the fence at the short boundary-to-fence zones at the SCG - I forget which year.

Glenn Kilpatrick sustains all manner of cuts and bruises when Peter Caven ran through him (fairly) and he ended up in the bottom of a concrete dugout at Kardinia Park in 1998 - could've been far worse.

Luke O'Sullivan does his knee in the woeful MCG(?) turf back in the early 90s.

You'd think the AFL would've learnt from all of these incidents by now.

For once in my life I agree with Eddie. I am just watching the tape of the game and he keeps going on about SQUARE goal posts and I think he has a point here. If I was sliding / running into a post I would prefer it to be round as the chance of getting a serious injury is smaller than with square posts. First time I went to Footy Park I found it rather unusual that we had square posts.

I reckon change is on the way.;)

Originally posted by ant
No first choice forward line, but at least Carey isn't out for the year like first thought.....my heart stopped then went into my mouth when he clutched at his knee.....looked like curtains for 2003.
I was shattered whenit happened cos it looked pretty bad. My heart was in my mouth and I didn't really concentrate on the game until they said on the scoreboards that it was a gash on the knee and there was no structural damage.

I thought it was sensational how they showed the injury news on the big screen and Stiffy, I hope you were part of the crowd that gave the point post a big boo......personally I let the post have it, fancy injuring our Wayne like that???

Originally posted by ant
I hope you were part of the crowd that gave the point post a big boo......personally I let the post have it, fancy injuring our Wayne like that???

I called for an axe, but I thought the boo was classy as :D

Originally posted by ant
I thought it was sensational how they showed the injury news on the big screen and Stiffy, I hope you were part of the crowd that gave the point post a big boo......personally I let the post have it, fancy injuring our Wayne like that???
Mate I was gonna jump the fence and give the bloody post one of those Nathan Bassett kicks.:D

That was funny, booing the post.:D

A real classy display put on by the Crows last night & congrats to all who turned up to watch it on such a cold & miserable night,the noise you guys made was something special & made my tv bounce around, :)

BoG
5 = S Welsh
4 = M Ricciuto
3 = M Bickley
2 = R Biglands
1 = B Burton

BTM
3 = N Smart
2 = T Stenglein
1 = T Edwards

3 goals from our ruckman was also a big plus,

Well done Crows fantastic effort last night in attrocious conditions:D

Carey was excellent last night I was about 3 metres away from the post and it sounded sickening when he hit it!!!!!!!! I thought the worst too:( He should be right for next week they reckon at this stage!!!!!!!!

Welsh and Burns had a great game up forward,really providing a contest and working hard to keep the ball in the forward 50.

Bassett had a another great game to cap of his 100 game milestone ;)

Would think if we want to finish top two we would need to win one of our W.A visits more likley next week,all our home games including the Showdown and the game against Collingwood!!!!!!

Top four position is just about assured though which is good!!!!!

Once again well done boys on another top effort:D

[B
Just want to make one furter point though.

Two players injured unnecessarily in a non-football context!! [/B]

I watched After The Game (good show) a couple of weeks ago before the Carlton mtach and Simon Goodwin was on.

One of the panel members suggested that he should have gone ahead with suing the MCC - and not backed down until they dropped their finals arrangement with the AFL so that we could get a fair go in the finals! Might be worth following up on :D

A great team game! Tough, disciplined, committed, EXCITING! All the things we want to see from the AFC. I agree with all previous comments Re: Essendon and Fletcher. The bombers were undisciplined and useless.

VOTES

BEST

5 Roo
4 Welsh
3 Burton
2 Edwards
1 Smart

TTM

3 Stenglien
2 Carey
1 Burns

Good luck to the Duck! I hope he comes back soon he has been playing well. Great to see him give the thumbs up to the crowd.

Jerome