Essendon v Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter jules101

Just realised we play the Swans 4 times this year (2 praccy, 2 home & away)
Whats the chance we also play them twice in the finals - which is possible - to make it 6 encounters for the year :rolleyes:

Essendon: 12.13 -85
Sydney: 8.5 -53

Goals
Essendon: Lloyd 3, Hille 2, Monfries, Lovett-Murray, Ryder, McVeigh, Reynolds, Dempsey, Lovett

Sydney: Hall 3, O'Keefe 2, Matthews, Kirk, Schneider

Went out and had a look...got there 10 minutes late..damn traffic :mad:

Anyhoo, Lloydy kicked about a gazillion points on top of his 3 goals...Hille played up forward in the square while Lloyd romaed around half forward...Gus was good in the first half..Pev had a good 2nd quarter as did Slats..although that was all to report as the Swans dominated the 2nd qtr...Hall was out muscling Keps easily...

3rd quarter...players that stood out were Reynolds and Dempsey..we kicked away while Llyody kept kicking points..most players did some good things..there werent many standouts...Jolley was alright as well..

4th....the highlight..Dempsey picking the ball up at half back..having a few bounces and kicking a long goal...Lovett took a great mark in between 3 swans players and kicked the goal...then the siren went!

I thought McVeigh and Fletcher were consistent...Henno looked like he hurt himself in the 3rd qtr..

I hope Cole worked on his fitness cos I don't think he got a kick from where I was sitting although I didn't see him until the 3rd qtr...

The plus from this week was the fact we truned it over less. :thumbsu:
The second quarter wasnt flash but the b team midfield was in for most of it.
Cartledge and Ryder rucked for 3/4 of the game, their around the ground efforts needs work but we still won a bit of ball from the middle.
The attack on the ball , our second and third efforts and the tacking was good this week as well:thumbsu:
Lucas and Winderlich didnt play. Lloyds looked good , leading well but his kicking was a bit off kicking 3.4. Watson good, Lovett Murray good, Lovett played with a bit more confidance as did Demspey (great goal in the last quarter).

We played quite well. Dempsey and Lovett Murray kicking great goals both running from defensive 50 to kick a goal from bout 50 out.
Lloyd's kicking was shocking. Marked well though. Stanton was probably best over the 4 quarters but Sheeds was moving every1 round so much it was hard to tell who was best. My 3-2-1 would prob be 3. Stanton 2. L-Murray and 1. Fletch who was stong like usual in the backline. Jobe, McVeigh and Monfries did ok too.
Reynolds did ok, only making one mistake and did a few alright things, Bolton was shocking. Henno did nothing. Peverill did well I thought.

jules101 said:
Bolton was shocking. Henno did nothing.

Bolton was but whats new . Good bloke , hard trainer. Good size ,Good skills, shocking football brain:(

Henno tried to end his season early , took a couple of very big hits putting himself in between the ball and the on coming pack. He also played at CHF which isnt really his go given his limited abilities.

ant555 said:
Bolton was but whats new . Good bloke , hard trainer. Good size ,Good skills, shocking football brain:(

Henno tried to end his season early , took a couple of very big hits putting himself in between the ball and the on coming pack. He also played at CHF which isnt really his go given his limited abilities.

Yeah I thought he had killed imself at one stage but did he get a kick all day? We looked best with Hille in the ruck, he was solid but didn't have much competition from Sydney i felt.
Fletch as usual the general in the backline played a great match. kepler did ok. Hall outplayed him I felt.
Cartledge and Ryder were ok in the ruck, Ryder looked ok round the ground.

Lucky hille went back into the ruck in the 3rd quater, really got us going again.

Demspey definitely showed a few glimpes of his talent, one his running through the wing burning off a couple of swans and nailing lloyd with a beatiful pass on the lead, the other of course the running goal.

Lovett-Murray goal on the run from 50 was also excellent and similar to dempseys.

We ran them off their feet today, no doubt.

Couple of things really stood out for me -

1) When they flooded, we used the ball. We didn't bomb, we didn't just target Lloyd. We held possession until we could find a target. A huge improvement on past years.
2) We ran from half back in waves. Our midfielders worked both ways.
3) Our intensity was first rate for a practice match. You could tell blokes were playing for their spots.
4) We were generally more disciplined that in previous years.

On Dempsey's game, the thing that impressed me more than the goal, was that he has a defensive game. Many blokes of his ilk (ie Lovett, Davey) had to learn that before they could crack it in the big time. Dempsey already has it.

Campo is going to give us heaps. He controls the ground between the two 50's. He always has time, he always gets himself in a position to use the ball. Campo and Watson have made a big impact on our ability to win the ball from stoppages.

Jolley's going to be alright.

Hille is looking even better and better, could become a top 5 ruckman easily this season if he continues on with how he has been playing.

He was already one of the better around the ground ruckmen, but his tapwork and consisteny is looking real good.

Laycock just needs to step up for now to give us a real good 1-2 punch, before Ryder is ready.

yeah i think hille is probably our most important player along with fletcher. hille makes a hell of a difference to our midfield and i reckon he his in for a big seeason. he will be in the top 5 ruckman maybe not this year but certaintly in a year or 2.

My observations (missed the 1st ten minutes):

1. Watson was a solid contributor all day. Between this and last week, I'd think he's guaranteed a start in Rnd 1. Very smart use of the ball. Has a bit of time to him as well. Although, Goodes dominated him in the 2nd quarter.
2. I thought Cartledge looked very good. I thought he had the best tap work of our players, and he presented a little bit around the ground. Like last year didn't have too much time on the ground. Would have liked to have seen more, think he's our long term tap ruckmen.
3. I thought Hille looked good in the forward line. Personally, I'd love to see him play there, with Laycock/Cartledge being our ruckmen. Hille presented, kicked reasonably straight, and I've got a feeling with him, Lucas and Lloyd would cause a few teams a lot of headaches.
4. Bradley got killed one on one by Hall. Now, Hall is terrific one-on-one, but given what I've seen this year I'm worried. Bradley is terrific on the rebound, or coming accross, but seems to be beaten a lot in the body work, despite the fact he's a lot bigger. If the EFC is certain he's our long term CHB, I'm fine with playing him there now. But certainly short-term, Lucas would be the better CHB.
5. Thought Monfries did ok, but his best bit was reputedly the first quarter, and I missed a chunk of that. Suspect when Monfries was in the middle, his man got a bit of it. However, the way he moves, definetely a player of the future.
6. Dempsey looked good, but I'm not sure if he'll crack the first 22 straight away.
7. Ryder aint ready yet. I'd say he's at least a year away and possibly 2. But shows good signs.
8. Heffernen just did not do enough. Cole didn't do much as well.
9. NLM again had good rebound. But still has an issue with his defensive work. Which when playing defence is an issue.
10. Lloyd was moving beautifully. Just kicked terribly.
11. Peverill and Stanton accross the time I saw were probably our best midfielders. But like Watson, the three of them were steady contributors mostof the day.
12. Fletcher was terrific, but not sure who he was on.

13. Where the hell was Lucas?

Ants said:
My observations (missed the 1st ten minutes):

13. Where the hell was Lucas?

Rested. Saw the post match interview from Sheeds on BomberTV (Great value!). He'll most likely play next week as will Hird.

I havn't had a chance to post on bigfooty since going to the match on Friday, but hey late is better than never. Although I doubt too many people will read this thread now, but at least I can keep myself amused in the meantime.

Sat in the bay next to the injured players in the stands, behind the interchange bench. Jeff Gieschen was sitting behind them and came down and had a chat with JJ. Hopefully Jason told him what's what.

The main thing i noticed about the game was the use of the interchange. With so many players on it, and the weather being warm, the players were constantly coming off the game. Most of the players would have played in 10 minutes patches. Which of course made it hard to say any one player dominated the game. The only exceptions were Lloyd who played most of the game and Fletch who played the first 3 quarters. Both looked good IMO and we can expect good years from both.

Most of our players played well and are at where they should be for this time of the year. Jobe, Campo, Stants, Pev, Gus, Hille I was happy with.
A couple of exceptions in my opinion were: Bradley was comprehensivly beaten by Barry Hall in all the one on one marking situations. He will learn from the day and is a good player otherwise, but realistically if he plays on the bigger players (ie Hall, Tredrea, J Brown) thoughout the year we will have to be prepared to concede a few goals to contested marks.
Richard Cole looked a bit lost, hopefully it was just a case of returning from injury and just getting a run to kick out the cobwebs.

Hird had a kick with his young kids at the breaks. Although they are still under 5ish I think the pressure will definitly be on them as they get older. A couple of father/son picks for sure.

Also noticed Terry Wallace, Brian Royal and David King in the stands. Wallace taking notes. They must be scared of what they saw as they left at 3/4 time.

And finally, when the game was over, Sheeds headed to the changerooms. There was a young Japanese kid (not one of the ones who played for us) standing there with his chips and sauce. Sheeds stopped to steal one of his chips, although didn't take much sauce, and gave him a big High 5. The kid looked confused. Happy to have interacted with Bomber coach, not happy about losing the chip. Why bother to write this? Well one I doubt you would have read about it in the newspapers, but two mainly because this is bigfooty, and big footy is full of irrelevant stuff and I better contribute my fair share of it.

Philzsay said:
I havn't had a chance to post on bigfooty since going to the match on Friday, but hey late is better than never. Although I doubt too many people will read this thread now, but at least I can keep myself amused in the meantime.

Sat in the bay next to the injured players in the stands, behind the interchange bench. Jeff Gieschen was sitting behind them and came down and had a chat with JJ. Hopefully Jason told him what's what.

The main thing i noticed about the game was the use of the interchange. With so many players on it, and the weather being warm, the players were constantly coming off the game. Most of the players would have played in 10 minutes patches. Which of course made it hard to say any one player dominated the game. The only exceptions were Lloyd who played most of the game and Fletch who played the first 3 quarters. Both looked good IMO and we can expect good years from both.

Most of our players played well and are at where they should be for this time of the year. Jobe, Campo, Stants, Pev, Gus, Hille I was happy with.
A couple of exceptions in my opinion were: Bradley was comprehensivly beaten by Barry Hall in all the one on one marking situations. He will learn from the day and is a good player otherwise, but realistically if he plays on the bigger players (ie Hall, Tredrea, J Brown) thoughout the year we will have to be prepared to concede a few goals to contested marks.
Richard Cole looked a bit lost, hopefully it was just a case of returning from injury and just getting a run to kick out the cobwebs.

Hird had a kick with his young kids at the breaks. Although they are still under 5ish I think the pressure will definitly be on them as they get older. A couple of father/son picks for sure.

Also noticed Terry Wallace, Brian Royal and David King in the stands. Wallace taking notes. They must be scared of what they saw as they left at 3/4 time.

And finally, when the game was over, Sheeds headed to the changerooms. There was a young Japanese kid (not one of the ones who played for us) standing there with his chips and sauce. Sheeds stopped to steal one of his chips, although didn't take much sauce, and gave him a big High 5. The kid looked confused. Happy to have interacted with Bomber coach, not happy about losing the chip. Why bother to write this? Well one I doubt you would have read about it in the newspapers, but two mainly because this is bigfooty, and big footy is full of irrelevant stuff and I better contribute my fair share of it.
Great post mate :thumbsu:
Great ending.