Preview Essendon vs GWS (all changes etc in here)

Those who are saying there will be minimal changes obviously haven't been listening to the coach who is saying there will definitely be a few players given a rest. Id say it will be something like:

OUT: Fletch, Crameri, Hocking, Heppell
IN: Pears, McVeigh, Colyer, Slattery/Reimers

McVeigh Hooker Hardingham
Pears Carlisle Dempsey
Dyson Watson Melksham
Monfries Hurley Jetta
Colyer Ryder Davey

T.Bell Stanton Zaka

Bench: Howlett Lonergan NLM
SUB: Slattery/Reimers

The coach also said there would be up to 6 changes for ANZAC DAY.

super dooper 'should he rested' examination

B: D.Fletcher (obv), C.Hooker (nah), D.Heppell (maybe)
HB: K.Hardingham (likely) , J.Carlisle (nah), C.Dempsey (nah)
C: R.Dyson (nah), J.Watson (nah), B.Stanton (nah)
HF: S.Crameri (nah), P.Ryder (nah), A.Davey (nah)
F: L.Jetta (nah/duh), M.Hurley (nah), D.Zaharakis (nah)
FOLL: T.Bellchambers (nah), S.Lonergan (nah), B.Howlett (nah)

I/C: H.Hocking (yeah), A.Monfries (nah), N.Lovett-Murray (nah), J.Melksham (nah),
EMERG: H.Slattery, M.McVeigh, C.Dell'Olio

Thinking about it, Jetta's suspension might be a bit of a blow. Could have rested Heppell and tested him down back for a game.

Pears and Colyer wil come in for Dusty and Jetta.

Maybe one of Howlett or Lonergan will get a rest. McVeigh/Reimers to come in.

If Hardingham doesn't come up, maybe Ariel will game get a game by default. * Key word maybe, Ariel is a looooooooooong way off AFL level.
From what I've read Ariel is far from debut. Slattery would be picked ahead of him.

It is going to piss down in Sydney on Saturday.

Strong, strong bodies please.

After Reimers dismal effort in the wet up on the Gold Coast, happy to see him left out.

out: Jetta (soft), Stanton (rest with watson next week), Fletcher (plays one more before the bye)

in: Colyer, Myers, Pears

To all asking for a lot of changes...

We won last week and dropped down a position on the ladder.
Percentage will be more important than ever this year.
Adelaide play GWS, GC and Port twice this year.
Sheedy rested all their 1/2 decent young guys last week and will have marked this one down as a game he wants to win more than anything.
It is an interstate game.
Lets not screw with a chance to get some decent percentage.

Forced changes only please.

To all asking for a lot of changes...

We won last week and dropped down a position on the ladder.
Percentage will be more important than ever this year.
Adelaide play GWS, GC and Port twice this year.
Sheedy rested all their 1/2 decent young guys last week and will have marked this one down as a game he wants to win more than anything.
Lets not screw with a chance to get some decent percentage.

Forced changes only please.

You raise some really good points here. It's just a shame that people are so delusional that this game has apparently already been played and won by 15 goals in many eyes - we still have to go out there and do the job.

Some of the predicted changes are completely ridiculous.

This is GWS first game at their home ground. They will be desperate to make a statement to a potential new fan base ... and nobody needs reminding who their coach is either.

Take this one lightly and we will be a laughing stock. We saw the mental complacency after Half Time against Richmond... something this group still needs some work to address.

i'm with the rest of the gang above, can't afford to flirt with out form by resting players. sure if guys genuinely can't get up for this one then leave em out but we should be aiming for an 80pt+ win here after our meek effort against gold coast

Living dangerously with some of these predicted selections.

Don't start sooking next week then if we're complacent, rest players and then put in a shocker.

I agree that players need to be managed carefully but not a fan of resting 4-5 players all at once, especially with the BYE not far away.

I think it would be complacent of us to not rest them now while we have the chance. GWS, Melb, Syd (ES), Bye, Freo (subi), Bulldogs, Saints and Port over there. Then the mad run of 7 games into the finals begins.

Every player gets a break for the bye but I'd like to see everyone get a week off to freshen their bodies and mind. That can be spread over all the games. Anyone carrying any soreness in the last seven games should not play either.

Complacency is thinking we can go into a finals series carrying injuries. Complacency is thinking that we don't need to have at least 25 guys who've played at least 15 games each fit for the finals as well as another 5 guys who've played in at least a handful.

I want the best possible side out there this week.

Despite our impressive form, we're not in the position yet to be resting players with the expectation of winning by heaps, or winning at all.

Percentage is a must due to our pathetic effort against the Suns.

Resting players in Round 9 is completely pointless - they're football players. What were footy players doing before GWS and GC? They'll live.

Not to mention we have a bye coming up anyway, which is the best possible time to rest anyone, let alone the whole team (middle of the season).

If we have to rest players now then that's just soft as butter, we might as well give up now because it gets a whole lot tougher than this.

It will be nice for the boys to do some training this weekend at the new high tech SKODA stadium during the bye this weekend. Apparently the AFL have invented some "mobile training cones" for the boys to go up against.

No need to rest players with the bye 2 weeks away. We need to keep performing and get wins on the board. No need to tinker with your form. If you want to rest players do that a few weeks before the finals if you have your top 2 spot locked in.

7-1 is a great start, but you might need 17 wins and percentage just to get to the top 4 this year. Let's not flirt with our form and get the job done before planning for our tilt at the flag (Carlton)

I really don't know why people are concerned about this game.

So what if Sheedy har penciled this one in. Do you think Hird hasn't?

The side that we run out will be just as primed to grind GWS into the dirt as GWS is primed to give us a scare. We've mauled Brisbane and West Coast when we have not had a number of players who could all make strong cases for selection.

In fact, there are a number of players who will feel the heat of seleciton pressure (not because of form but simply because there are so many options to come back in) so I'd actually expect a side containing a few players with a point to prove to get as good a result as "unchanged" side.

Depending on whether Myers is available I'd rest Fletcher, Watson and probably even Hociking (we keep hearing that he has been battered this year).

Colyer for Jetta (Relatively even swap)
Pears for Fletcher (Relatively even swap (or as even as it can be for Fletch))

I would predict a maximum of 2 other changes for the General. Don't mess with a winning formula and % will determine everything this season and I am guessing Hird and Co realise this. we don't have the luxury like some of playing % boosters twice so need to make it count. Also return against Sheeds, new stadium and interstate trip as mentioned.

I hope Dempsey doesn't go out, we need more run in his legs not less...

Only rest players who genuinely need to be rested, we need the % big time if we're dead set about top 4.

Treat every game as if it were a final and smash them into oblivion.