Excluding bad kicking, we didn't win because...

• Thread starter Thread starter wicksy

wicksy

Clippers, Daniel Ricciardo Racing
- We continually unloaded into the forward 50 when none of our forwards (except Cloke) can take a mark. Jolly.... Use two hands FFS!!!

- Malthouse completely ignoring the fact that Melbourne were cutting us up through the midfield and did NOTHING about it!!!

- Barhams job on Davey was terrible but I don't blame him entirely. Malthouse should have known he wouldn't have the legs to play on him with no senior footy under his belt.

- Chip, chip, chip around the boundary!!! How good did we look when we went through the middle against the dogs... Only Harry O'Brien and Thomas had the balls to take anyone on.

- Josh Fraser!

- Darren Jolly!

- Chip, chip, chip around the boundary!!! How good did we look when we went through the middle against the dogs... Only Harry O'Brien and Thomas had the balls to take anyone on.

Agree with the boundary line comment. We didn't win because Melbourne took it up to Collingwood and full credit to them. They played clean direct football for most of the game. We knew they would. I think Collingwood are most dangerous when they have 2 key targets. Cloke or Dawes/Anthony etc.

We have a history over the last 4 years of dropping games we should win. Until we get over that fade out, we will not be a serious premiership threat just a contender.
As it stands Geelong and St.Kilda are still well ahead of the 3rd best team this year. Whether that is Collingwood or Fremantle it doesn't matter.

I think we were out coached a bit.

The first quarter we mauled them and through them of their game plan. While they were on their knees we should have finished them & put the game beyond doubt, but we didn't.

This allowed them to adjust, they put numbers back behind the ball to help out their swamped defense & opened up their forward line. This was the turning point.

We still controlled the ball & had a lot of inside 50s (& scoring shots), however it was crowded & no marking targets could be hit - most shots were not set shots they were pressured & rushed. It meant they started to get control of the ball inside defensive 50 as they couldnt win it anywhere else. They then did what they do best - running & carrying the ball into an open small forward line. We simply don't cope with open small forward lines. So when their few oppurtunties arose they capitalised & stayed in the game - rope a dope style.

Thats fair enough though. By half time & early in the third we had blown our advantage & it was clear what they were doing. The solution was to open our forward line up & get Cloke one out more, give Davis, Dick & Medhurst some room to move. This didn't happen & it was our choice.

I think when you see how many inside 50s & scoring shots we had it lulls you into thinking we were on the right track & just a matter of time before we hit the scoreboard - so why change it. Its the quality that counts sometimes not quantity. We were giving the forwards chances, but tough ones - not very often did we hot up leads & mark inside 50. Lots of pointless bombs in that ended up in scrappy points or were swept out by the Dee defense.

Compare that to Melb who hardly had any supply up forward but when they did it was easy to hit targets in an open mobile forward line so they had a lot of easy set shots.

The worst match up of the day was Presti on Brad Green - in what world does that work. Green is very underated, he is quick, mobile, good hands, great mark. Presti was never going to be able to stay with him - its not his fault just an awful match up. O'Brien is a perfect fit for Green and once switched did much better. Presti had to stay on Miller all day or be benched as no one else matched up.

Bottom line is it was some poor coaching - strategy did not adjust, match ups (mainly defensive) were wrong for 3rd week running and selection of the team (although hindered by injuries) missed the mark again.

From a defensive point of view we continually allowed the dees to run freely from the backline with no accountability. There would be four of them streaming forward and barely a pies player even chasing them. That's what I found disappointing.

I'd like to see Dawes come back in this week.

We will have a couple of good ins in Didak and Ball. Wood for Fraser can't hurt. Give Medders and Davis another go...

For some reason i reckon the turning point of the game happened when we lost Maxwell and the dees got heaps of numbers behind the ball .

For the life of me what we must do is intrsuct 2 of our forwards from now on to not move out of the fifty arc,espcially when we move the ball forward.

This always stuffs us up.We get the clearance then by the time we move it forward there is no one up forward to kick it to.
If we wait till somerpne gets down there the whole team plus the entire opposition gets to our forward line and we start chipping the ball or bomb it long and hope for the best and it brings us undone,always.

We must fix our forward structure,and make sure there are at least one or two players who stay back in the forward line always.

I'd like to see Dawes come back in this week.

We will have a couple of good ins in Didak and Ball. Wood for Fraser can't hurt. Give Medders and Davis another go...

Paddy don't think Didak and Ball will be back for the sydney game.
I reckon both will be sidelined for a few weeks yet.

Dawes however with 5 goals in the reserves will definately push for selection.I reckon he is a better option than leroy Brown.

I'd play John Anthony in the backline to take maxwell's place.Nathan Brown is injured.
After all Anthony did come to us as backman .He may need something like this to help him run into form.Become the hunter instead of the hunted.
However ,Malthouse may play Goldsac.

#4Didak#4 has it summed up really well.

There where some painfully obvious things that just weren't addressed quick enough. The Presti match up was one. I was one of a pretty large group that thought this was a good week to rest him and it proved to be correct.

The Davey Barham match up another.

We played with a tall foward line and the intention of going long where possible and it looked good in the first quater, once the put number back it played right into their hands to defend and rebound and we put ourselve under enourmous pressure to defend their rebound. With that being clear we continued to play in that manner rather then trying to open it up for ourselves and spot up targets. Bruce as the spare man back VS Toovey late in the game was certainly not working for us.

The Davey match up. Heater or Toovey should have been tried. He was instrumental. They went to him at every oppertunity and he was almost always the one taking them from wide into the corridor with run and precise kicking.

The zone from their kickouts. It was clear that when they bunched to one side of the ground around Jamar our zone wasn't effective. Jamar was either marking it or bringing to ground where they had the numbers at the fall of the ball and we did not adjust.

Reasonably new to this caper. Just wanted to know from you guys if Malthouse has ever once taken the blame or accepted responsibility in all the years he has been at Collingwood when you loose? You know..."the buck stops with me" sort of thing. Watching his press conference it was like, don't blame me.

Why is our forwardline so cluttered? There should be space for forwards but there never is with Collingwood. And why do we not man up out of the forwardline? It's because all the players are zoning up. Melbourne played on breaked the zone with ease

Because we continually stopped after winning possession back, our players refused to play on (despite quite visual urging from the bench) and as such we were left with bombing the ball in long and taking snap shots