Falls Festival 2010/2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Knowledge

If you have no interest in attending Marion Bay, dont go in the ballot you ****s

They offered Marion Bay as a consolation prize to those who missed out on Lorne regardless of whether you entered solely for Lorne.

I have nothing against Marion Bay per se, it's just a way bigger pain in the arse to get to from Adelaide.

Ended up with 3 allocations between 10 mates, so we're pretty happy with that :)

I therefore apologise...

Glad to see not many Tasmanians seem to rate the line-up, might not be a battle to get tix if I decide to hold off :thumbsu:

Anyone thinking of sneaking alcohol in? In previous years I didn't worry about it, just wacked it in the bottom of my bag or whatever and most years didn't even get searched. But last year I was in a car with some in the spare tyre compartment. The chick who searched us took it way more serious than anyone I'd seen previous, checking the tops of bottles, rummaging through the seats etc and eventually got busted.

You may say it's a stupid idea bringing stuff in bust seriously for the price they charge, and worse the sheer amount of time it takes to get a beer it's surely worth it.

Anyway now I'm really stressing out about it, would hate to be kicked out again. I was thinking strap it to my body, anyone else have any ideas? Might just have to do without

I'm not going to bother taking any. Alcohol doesnt make a good event for me, if I wanted to drink and listen to music I'd sit at home with my mp3 player.
That's fair enough mate, but bare in mind with my post I'm not one of those bogans who pays $200 for a festival ticket only to sit around and get pissed at their campsite all day and pass out by 6 o'clock at night.

I plan on drinking to increase my enjoyment, but not to get written off, whilst not having to wait hours in line for over priced beer. Done it a few times before and to me Falls wouldn't be the same without it.

Anyone want to relieve me of a Public Enemy ticket for $70?

This Wednesday, Corner Hotel, Richmond. It's sold out.

They are performing Fear of a Black Planet. S1Ws ftw.

[YOUTUBE]_daV5HZSGUQ[/YOUTUBE]

That's fair enough mate, but bare in mind with my post I'm not one of those bogans who pays $200 for a festival ticket only to sit around and get pissed at their campsite all day and pass out by 6 o'clock at night.

I plan on drinking to increase my enjoyment, but not to get written off, whilst not having to wait hours in line for over priced beer. Done it a few times before and to me Falls wouldn't be the same without it.

It's not that long of a wait at Marion Bay unless you happen to want beers at the end of every set, and if you are at the field stage it's barely ever a wait at all. It's also way more convenient and not expensive at all for an event that size (though spirits are another story).

And if you do take alcohol in anyway push like hell to get to the leftest (festival side) lane you can because if you get funnelled right you are much more likely to get searched than waved on.

Flying in today, bloody jetstar make it impossible with their 20kg weight clearance. I'm down til the 3rd, and I'm trying to fit 3-5 days worth of clothes in and my tent! I think I'm right on the borderline of 20kg now >_< will find out when i get to Melbourne airport.

Anyone thinking of sneaking alcohol in? In previous years I didn't worry about it, just wacked it in the bottom of my bag or whatever and most years didn't even get searched. But last year I was in a car with some in the spare tyre compartment. The chick who searched us took it way more serious than anyone I'd seen previous, checking the tops of bottles, rummaging through the seats etc and eventually got busted.

You may say it's a stupid idea bringing stuff in bust seriously for the price they charge, and worse the sheer amount of time it takes to get a beer it's surely worth it.

Anyway now I'm really stressing out about it, would hate to be kicked out again. I was thinking strap it to my body, anyone else have any ideas? Might just have to do without

Hope you got in ok mate, we were pretty lucky in the end, happened to be a bloke one of my mates knew at the gate who let us through.

Had an absolutely amazing time, Living End, Public Enemy, A-Trak and Klaxons highlights. Cool Kids were good fun at the field stage.

Was a good time, I did whinge a bit (never had gone before), cause we flew in, we didn't have a car and I forgot a chair. So my arse, legs and arms were very sore (need to be fitter) and I'm not used to the lack of sleep too.

Hope you got in ok mate, we were pretty lucky in the end, happened to be a bloke one of my mates knew at the gate who let us through.

Had an absolutely amazing time, Living End, Public Enemy, A-Trak and Klaxons highlights. Cool Kids were good fun at the field stage.
Yeah in the end we just strapped it under the car. We got searched but the bloke pretty much just shuffled some stuff in the boot, opened the eski and that was it. The lane next to us though they were taking all the stuff out of the car, searching hidden compartments doing it really thoroughly so we probably got lucky with who searched us.

Really enjoyed it this year, didn't rate the line up as much as previous years but as usual a lot of the bands you haven't heard of are some of the best. A Trak and Living End were amazing but Public Enemy were definitely my favourite. Absolutely went off!

Got waved straight through in Lorne, was upset at the effort involved in hiding it all!

Great times though, Car is now covered in ****ing locusts!

Public Enemy, Boy and Bear, Cold War Kids, The National, The Living End, Ladyhawke, Klaxons and Yacht Club DJs were my stand outs.

Interpol the only real disappointment.

Living End were definitely the best at Marion Bay. Absolutely rocked it. Another favourite of mine was Children Collide, they got into it.. Johnny was drinking a bottle of wine, so that was a little different.

i don't understand why you can't even take booze into the campsite at australian festivals (or is it just falls fest that does this??)....

everything i hear about oz festivals (organisation, over policing, prices etc,.) makes us look like absolute *******s in comparison to european festivals.

i don't understand why you can't even take booze into the campsite at australian festivals (or is it just falls fest that does this??)....

everything i hear about oz festivals (organisation, over policing, prices etc,.) makes us look like absolute *******s in comparison to european festivals.
I know Southbound does it plus one day things like BDO and MS Fest. I reckon it's pretty much the norm in Australia.

The official reason is they don't have the license (I'm assuming it's pretty expensive) but if European festivals generally let you bring stuff in (I've never been) makes you think maybe it's not that hard to get the license and it's purely a profit thing.

Personally I think the alcohol ban thing encourages worse behaviour. Banning glass bottles sure, but banning alcohol overall makes actual illegal drugs a lot more common. It's a lot easier to smuggle in a couple of pills or a twenty than it is to take in liters and liters of spirits.

I know Southbound does it plus one day things like BDO and MS Fest. I reckon it's pretty much the norm in Australia.

The official reason is they don't have the license (I'm assuming it's pretty expensive) but if European festivals generally let you bring stuff in (I've never been) makes you think maybe it's not that hard to get the license and it's purely a profit thing.

Personally I think the alcohol ban thing encourages worse behaviour. Banning glass bottles sure, but banning alcohol overall makes actual illegal drugs a lot more common. It's a lot easier to smuggle in a couple of pills or a twenty than it is to take in liters and liters of spirits.

Meredith and Golden Plains are byo and they are by far the best behaved festivals (probably a bit to do with the less well known lineups and older crowds). It's byo but no glass and people respect the glass ban and don't bring glass in.

I agree on the alcohol ban causing worse behaviour not because of the illegal drugs but because of people smashing down drinks. I found myself sculling beers before i went to the main stage and smuggling in goon down my pants so i wouldn't have to buy beers.

Was my first time to falls and it was a pretty good experience. The venue is absoluetly beautiful and the crowd was fairly good, a few knobs but that is to be expected. And i don't think i've seen so many good looking girls in one place.

Good:
The National
Interpol
The Rapture
Klaxons
Living End
Boy and Bear
Jezabels
Public Enemy
Beardyman(his set on the main stage was awesome)
A-Trak(even though the sound got turned down half way through his set)
Cold War Kids

Yeah in the end we just strapped it under the car. We got searched but the bloke pretty much just shuffled some stuff in the boot, opened the eski and that was it. The lane next to us though they were taking all the stuff out of the car, searching hidden compartments doing it really thoroughly so we probably got lucky with who searched us.

Really enjoyed it this year, didn't rate the line up as much as previous years but as usual a lot of the bands you haven't heard of are some of the best. A Trak and Living End were amazing but Public Enemy were definitely my favourite. Absolutely went off!

Jeez got lucky with the search then, one of our mates got searched for 25 minutes, whole back door taken apart, bonnet popped up, looked under the car, whole thing.
And his car actually was legit clean because we had the drinks! wasnt happy.

And i don't think i've seen so many good looking girls in one place.
Amen!

Living End were definitely the best at Marion Bay. Absolutely rocked it. Another favourite of mine was Children Collide, they got into it.. Johnny was drinking a bottle of wine, so that was a little different.

they were the two i was looking forward to the most, loved the living end, thought children collide were a tiny bit dissappointing but was on shoulders for skeleton dance and jellylegs so didnt really care in the end :)

one day festival where there is just a gig site then your not going to be able to bring booze in.

but in multiple day festival, where there is a campsite you should be able to bring your own grog onto the campsite.

Meredith and Golden Plains are byo and they are by far the best behaved festivals (probably a bit to do with the less well known lineups and older crowds). It's byo but no glass and people respect the glass ban and don't bring glass in.

that's the exact same set up as all festivals in europe.

i'm assuming at meredith and golden plains you can't take your booze into the actual gig arena's??

BYO at Rainbow Serpent an d Strawberry Fields, you can take your booze anywhere as well. In fact i don't think they even sell alcohol at the festivals at all.

Hard to really get a handle on the quality of Sunset Sounds over the last two days, the rain really did overwhelm everything else. The only time the sun even remotely came out was during 'Prisoner of Society', which was ironic, given I think it was the highlight.

Cold War Kids were great, as were Boy and Bear. But by the second day, the ******** percentage had risen to well over 75%, and it wasn't a pleasant place to be.