Fevola Down-Carlton Down

The most unambiguous thing was telling everyone without fev Carlton would have certainly strugged in the Nab cup. But what if fev was to go down prior to round 1?
Fisher- A good mark but is inconsistant with his kicking. More of a pack marker who gives fev plenty of space to do what he does best.
Kennedy- Good size decent kick and mark but still wouldn't play him at ff.
Whitnall- Would stay a chf/hff and dosn't have the agility to run of a quick defender.

Those r our 3 key forward whilst Waite would be playing in his preffered position of the backline. One player missing can cause so much clutter and uncertainty in the coaches box.
Conclusion is, if fev was to go down we are pretty much a no show each game.
I'll be dissapointed if we don't go scouting a potential permanent full forward in next years draft.[/B]

Most likely if he does go down.

But you never know.

There always could be someone who comes out of no where and has a ripper season. Let's hope it doesn't come to that though, we need Fevola healthy and running as he is our best player, and arguably our only matchwinner.

Not that Fev isn't a great player and very important to our structure, but if he was to get injured or suspended, perhaps we wouldn't be so predictable and look for him more often than not when we go forward.

Still, he would leave a massive hole in our team.

Most definitely. We'll definitely be worse off but it could give a young player a chance to step up eg. Edwards. Back in 05 Waite played his best game when Fev was out, maybe looking for some other forwards bar Fev will mean that they have more influence than what they have now?

Not that Fev isn't a great player and very important to our structure, but if he was to get injured or suspended, perhaps we wouldn't be so predictable and look for him more often than not when we go forward.

Jake the snake will come into the forward structure and be a revelation :D

Stop posting these crappy attention seeking topic headers thanx.

If you want to post tripe then go to the richmond, stkilda, or melbourne boards.

Pathetic!

similar case to a lot of other teams, if we lost our key forward, we'd be screwed. however, there's always some1 to stand up. remmber a few years ago when fev got suspended, waite played full forward and kicked 5 goals against hte hawks. whitnall would stand up. if if he was in that bad form, id probably even suggest swapping him wit waite until fev came back. either way, i don't rekon we'd be completly helpless

a few years ago when fev got suspended, waite played full forward and kicked 5 goals against hte hawks

I think you'll find that if Fevola goes down at all this year, that Waite will be moved back to the forward 50, and Whitnall moved to CHB.

The reason whitnall would be kept back in such a case, is that i think Waite has more of a match-winning quality, and he'd be the one we'd want up forward at such a time.

No doubt in my mind at current that without fevola over an extended period of time, we'd be fairly screwed.

But that will change over time when Kennedy is more developed and the likes of Betts, Fisher and Gibbs (who i predict in the future will be rotated into the forwardline) have more seasons in their legs.

Stop posting these crappy attention seeking topic headers thanx.

If you want to post tripe then go to the richmond, stkilda, or melbourne boards.

Pathetic!

What he said. What a negative bunch of what ifs. What if he doesn't and kicks 100 goals for the next 5 seasons? FFS - truly abysmal.

It is negative, but it is realistic. Except the last sentence.

Why are you bagging him for sharing his opinion? It certainly isn't one based out of ignorance.

Fevs great for us and great for the game ... but if he was to be injured for the year there would be someone to fill his role ( not as well definately) lets just hope it doesnt happpen cause he is great to watch ....Unlike Lloyd

It is negative, but it is realistic. Except the last sentence.

Why are you bagging him for sharing his opinion? It certainly isn't one based out of ignorance.

Because I'm sick of every bit of **** we have been through since 2002. Now we are coming out the other end we have completely unnecessary threads like this ie. negative hypotheticals.

Can we at least get into the 8 before the doomsayers start?
What if your car doesn't start in the morning? Should you have another in the garage just in case? Spare me.

Because I'm sick of every bit of **** we have been through since 2002. Now we are coming out the other end we have completely unnecessary threads like this ie. negative hypotheticals.

Fair enough. But there will always be pessimistic supporters.

What if your car doesn't start in the morning? Should you have another in the garage just in case? Spare me.

*shurgs*

**** happens.

The reason Fev is soo good, and gets soo much of the footy is becuase we go to him every time. Others will be presenting to fill teh gap and you may find that the result of Fev going down is that we become stronger through more options, less reliance and the emergence of other players.

not a bad thing and wouldn't be that damaging. Carlton is going to win 14 games this year for reasons other than fev.

Jake the snake will come into the forward structure and be a revelation :D

This is what i'm hanging out for. Possibly the one missing link to us being a finals contender.

The most unambiguous thing was telling everyone without fev Carlton would have certainly strugged in the Nab cup. But what if fev was to go down prior to round 1?
Fisher- A good mark but is inconsistant with his kicking. More of a pack marker who gives fev plenty of space to do what he does best.
Kennedy- Good size decent kick and mark but still wouldn't play him at ff.
Whitnall- Would stay a chf/hff and dosn't have the agility to run of a quick defender.

Those r our 3 key forward whilst Waite would be playing in his preffered position of the backline. One player missing can cause so much clutter and uncertainty in the coaches box.
Conclusion is, if fev was to go down we are pretty much a no show each game.
I'll be dissapointed if we don't go scouting a potential permanent full forward in next years draft.[/B]

dosn;t matter if we had fev or not last year proved it
we still Struggled with him playing

but this year we'll win if he playes or he dosn;t :thumbsu:
so maby good thing he didn;t get the captancy he can avoid the Captains Curse ;) which plagues anyone being captain ;) kouta. essendons LLoyd, etc

whitnall played with a dodgy knee last week

Long term it could actually be good for us (not that I want it to happen).
We would definately struggle without Fev, just as Dons did without Lloyd, Roos will without Thommo, BL and BRown, Freo and Pav, Pies an Rocca, Tiges without Richo.......the list goes on.

You take the number one forward fromANY team and they will struggle.

It would however, force younger guys to take responsibility for kicking the goals - Edwards, Kennedy, Hartlett, Aisake?............Then when Fev returns they have a new found confidence (or they've turned into Livo), either way you know where they are at, and usually have more avenues to goal.

IMHO Red would do just fine as a target up forward, and will step up in the real deal (playing off the bench doesn't allow him to get into the flow of the game as well IMO).
Look out for big years from Fev, Red, JK and Betts/Murph/Gibbs on the goal sheet.:thumbsu:

Look fellas i certainly do not want to sound the slightest bit pessimistic and some of you are taking this thread the wrong way. I would never say a bad thing about Carlton as i have been a supporter for as long as i can remember. The truth is, If you think pragmatically for a second, odds r fev wont play every game in seasons to come. So the issue i am addressing here is that if he was to go down what happens next. It is just a querry i am not trying to be cynical here.

Getting over the Fevola thing is the true test that Carlton will be a TRUE force for years to come.

I reckon it's something the club should start to experiment with, coz I couldn't contemplate what would happen if he did his knee or whatever. Actually I can contemplate it, #1 draft picks for the next 2 or 3 years...;)

Look fellas i certainly do not want to sound the slightest bit pessimistic and some of you are taking this thread the wrong way. I would never say a bad thing about Carlton as i have been a supporter for as long as i can remember. The truth is, If you think pragmatically for a second, odds r fev wont play every game in seasons to come. So the issue i am addressing here is that if he was to go down what happens next. It is just a querry i am not trying to be cynical here.
I don't have an issue with you posting the thread and I don't see it as negative either. Discussing how we would operate if Fev were unfortunately not there I think is fair enough, given how much we rely on him.

I think the structure of our forward line in general is extremely relevant also, particularly in relation to it being so heavily based around one player.

I have always thought that when you have a gun forward, at times the team-mates upfield can become far too focussed on that player - thereby ignoring better options. I used to watch the Swans play a lot up here in Sydney, and at times they could be extremely Lockett-conscious. They can be the same with Hall at times too (although they have good alternative targets in Davis, O'Loughlin, O'Keefe etc).

I'd like to see us try to develop damaging alternatives to Fev up forward. It makes our attack more flexible if Fev is playing, and means he won't be missed to quite the same extent if he is out for whatever reason.

Whilst we may or may not be skrewed by a Fev injury the general tone in the authors post seems to suggest we are perhaps bereft of enough stars to cover his loss.

I would think the way the side is developing that there is scope for a balanced side. In fact if Fev continues with his great form there is also the chance that we could become too predictable in our delivery into the forward zone. After all he kicked 80 last year and we finished last.

Also feel that whilst Whitnall would not be a fast break ff that he would probably be a better ff than hf line player these days. His reading of the play and body positioning would make him a difficult ff to match up on imo.

Who told the kids Santa wasn't real???

This thread is pointless.....

Doomsayers!

These are the same people who boo our players when they haven't had a good day. They leave the game early when we're down as well. They're not true supporters of the club, and they're certainly not supporters of football.