First scratchmatch

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
I just popped in to highlight the positives that you lot could glean from the scratch match. ;)

At least a WA team will win. ;)

Yeah your right after the debacle of the last AFL game played at Subi by a Western Australian team.

Although your supporters seemed pretty happy with the shellacking given the standing ovation the 'players' got ;) ;) ;) ;)

"seemed" is the operative word here. To a dullard like you it would seem that way. It, of course, is not the case but you'd be too busy supporting the Patriots to care about that, wouldn't you?

If I'm not working I'll try and get down and see the boys go through their paces. Does anyone know when the first edition of the Eagle Eye magazine comes out - they usually have a good review of the rookies.

Originally posted by The Mission Man
"seemed" is the operative word here. To a dullard like you it would seem that way. It, of course, is not the case but you'd be too busy supporting the Patriots to care about that, wouldn't you?

Well it SEEMS to me that you have accepted mediocrity so long that you were more than happy to lose. A standing ovation for an insipid display.......please :p :p :p :p :p :p :p

What do the Patriots have to do with this? Fancy mentioning a successful organisation in the same breath as the Dockers. Wash your mouth out!

What the Patriots have to do with this.

You are so busy observing you have probably never felt the emotions that were expressed at Freo's first final. Observing doesn't really qualify you to talk about them.

But given you have declared an interest in American sport and obviously have the normal moron's love affair with a rather narrow conception of "success," perhaps you can explain the popularity of and strength of feeling for the Boston Red Sox.

Or maybe you just wanna take aimless potshots and post a whole heap of emoticons.

What the Patriots have to do with this.

You are so busy observing you have probably never felt the emotions that were expressed at Freo's first final. Observing doesn't really qualify you to talk about them.

But given you have declared an interest in American sport and obviously have the normal moron's love affair with a rather narrow conception of "success," perhaps you can explain the popularity of and strength of feeling for the Boston Red Sox.

Or maybe you just wanna take aimless potshots and post a whole heap of emoticons.

Big f*ckin deal I support the Patriots. I didnt mention it in this thread.

The dictionary definition of success :

The achievement of something desired, planned, or attempted:

The gaining of fame or prosperity

Now unless your aim was to humiliate yourself in Spetember then I would consider Freo unsuccessful. If that was your aim then you are extremely successful.

I was at the game and merely felt sorry for the masses who have been railroaded into accepting defeat so shamelessly.

I can explain the Red Sox popularity. They have history. Fremantle dont. When after 100 years of doing nothing then I will understand your supporters inclination to support Freo, considering Australians as a rule love the underdog to win. On that premise your membership should be blossoming.

Besides havent you got your own forum to pollute?

As a new chum, perhaps your ignorance of Fremantle's footballing history can be forgiven.

As a gutless wannabe who is still yet to declare his football allegiance, your proprietary claims to this forum are not so easy to forgive.

The Red Sox charge more for their tickets than any other team in the comp. Why? Because so many people want them. Isn't that a form of success? Doesn't that get you all hot in the pants? It's success with CASH! Quick, Observer, there's a bandwagon you're almost duty-bound to leap upon.

Make a stand and then you can start flinging garbage about the place. Pretending to be some form of objective observer when you are quite so plainly not is just pathetic.

As a new chum, perhaps your ignorance of Fremantle's footballing history can be forgiven.

As a gutless wannabe who is still yet to declare his football allegiance, your proprietary claims to this forum are not so easy to forgive.

The Red Sox charge more for their tickets than any other team in the comp. Why? Because so many people want them. Isn't that a form of success? Doesn't that get you all hot in the pants? It's success with CASH! Quick, Observer, there's a bandwagon you're almost duty-bound to leap upon.

Make a stand and then you can start flinging garbage about the place. Pretending to be some form of objective observer when you are quite so plainly not is just pathetic.

Mate about as pathetic as some bloke trolling a West Coast chat board. But not quite. Reckon you got me.

Must be why the Freo board is so inactive hey.

Trolling schmolling - I'm just replying to inane comments from self-proclaimed observers.

What goes on on the Freo board has nothing to do with your oleaginous attempts to avoid responsibility. You're evading the issue - which I have come to expect from you. You can't just say "I am an observer - I just like watching football" and take cracks at other people's teams, for God's sake. We take this stuff pretty seriously.

You are a serial Freo-bagger, replete with all the standard Z-grade barbs, yet you lack the cajones to make a stand of your own.

I can't help it if you can't understand the feelings that led to the outpouring of emotion you observed at Freo's first final. I can feel a bit sorry that you have never felt them. They have to do with belonging, having a sense of pride in who you are and where you come from. You obviously lack this pride.

You're just an observer. We're doing it.

Originally posted by observer
Mate about as pathetic as some bloke trolling a West Coast chat board. But not quite. Reckon you got me.

Must be why the Freo board is so inactive hey.
A shared affinity

Providing the excuse for us to do it.

No, actually, Mr Blue, Observer goes along to the Fremantle vs Essendon game as a supporter of neither team (denying a supporter of both of those teams an opportunity to be there, I might add). He then complains about and derides the way the Fremantle supporters behave. He says it "seems" and seem it may. It is, however, not.

I know. I was one of the people whose feelings and thoughts he presumed to know about. He got it wrong. Prattling on about applauding mediocrity. What a near-sighted observer he is. The kind of person who puts 2 and 2 together and gets 22.

Providing the excuse for us to do it.

No, actually, Mr Blue, Observer goes along to the Fremantle vs Essendon game as a supporter of neither team (denying a supporter of both of those teams an opportunity to be there, I might add). He then complains about and derides the way the Fremantle supporters behave. He says it "seems" and seem it may. It is, however, not.

I know. I was one of the people whose feelings and thoughts he presumed to know about. He got it wrong. Prattling on about applauding mediocrity. What a near-sighted observer he is. The kind of person who puts 2 and 2 together and gets 22.

There were several spare seats I noticed throughout the evening which would indicate to me there were not that many Fremantle or Essendon supporters busting their guts to get there.

I never complained about the supporters behaviour. I said I pitied their celebration of a limp wristed performance by 'professional' players who gave their fans such high hopes only to see them dashed by an Essendon team who simply wanted it more. I was personally suprised that CC didnt come out the week before the game and request protection from the umpires as I seem to recall happening earlier in his coaching reign.

I find it impossible to believe that you have never gone to a game without supporting one of the participants so save your mock outrage for someone who gives a s*it. I went to see a spectacle as was promised and was witness to a mauling.

I do not have to disclose my football allegiances to you or anyone else. Clearly hitting a raw nerve with my summation of the Dockers end of season performance. Although to be fair you have added to your trophy cabinet by winning the whatsitsname trophy in London...... woo hoo ....... betcha it looks good next to the Spoon.

"I said I pitied their celebration of a limp wristed performance by 'professional'.." - that's saying something about our behaviour which is flat-out wrong.

You are obviously duller than I imagined. How many times do I have to tell you your presumption is wrong? The "their" you're using in the above sentence is me, you freak. Me and all the other Freo Faithful who threw the party anyway.

"Not busting a gut" - JHC. What planet do you observe from?

""Not busting a gut" - JHC. What planet do you observe from?

The only player busting anything at Freo is Farmer nearly busting his back playing for free kicks. Now that was comedy:D :D :D

I was obviously referring to this piece of priceless reportage from the observer:

"...there were not that many Fremantle or Essendon supporters busting their guts to get there"

But you have to turn it into an opportunity to laugh at someone else's misfortune.

As for this:

"I do not have to disclose my football allegiances to you or anyone else."

If you can't see the cowardice inherent in taking potshots at other peoples clubs while refusing to let them have a go at yours, then I don't know... what - are you ashamed of your club?

I'll just leave you to it - you seem to be doing a pretty good job of making yourself look like an idiot. A coward, a liar and an idiot. Smoke that emoticon.

The "their" you're using in the above sentence is me, you freak. Me and all the other Freo Faithful who threw the party anyway.

And Me, I think the whole celebration of a season has struck a nerve. They don't understand it so it must be bad.

One Kevin Sheedy understood and was clearly impressed. IMO it will be looked back upon fondly in years to come as the making of the Fremantle Dockers.

Observer next time do us and yourself a favour and don't observe from a seat that numerous Freo fans wanted.

James Hird was also clearly impressed as the Bombers anthem was drowned out in the "Freeeee-o" chant resounding around the Cauldron of Freo. We didn't just sit there glumly or dawdle out at three-quarter time - we stole it from them.

back to the topic

To get back on topic (after the purple people have finished wasting valuable space on our board :( ) Brauny was on radio tonight and he said the scratch match will consist of two 20 minute halves. He also said Ben is still suffering some discomfort after his op so I wouldn't think he will be playing.