Fitzroy Reds

Mobbenfuhrer said:
Don't forget caveman you're also a fan of both YCW (LVFL) and Harcourt (MCDFL), right?

At least the clubs you support are still breathing, unlike Fitzroy, Oakleigh and Marnoo :eek:

Another club to get onto is the Fitzroy Ammos in the SAAFL. The Fitzroy messageboard on this forum, as well as having plenty of Reds talk, is also host to a coverage of the SA Roys. I suggested some years back to concept of a derby between the Redroys and the SARoys, but didn't follow it up. Would love to further that idea and fire it off at the Wunkar carnival up in the Riverland.

Thanks for correcting my post Mobs,
I think I will have to start posting on the Fitzroy boards. I have been checking out the S.A Fitzroy posts in the Fitzroy messageboard. :)

The OC said:
Deefer
You'd be pretty aggressive on the footy field too if you never got a load off as a priest. Imagine how angry you'd be.

Caveman

From what I know, Fitzroy Reds are full of disaffected Fitzroy fans and communists, not exactly the Newport Beach that I'm used to. Get down there if that's what you're into.

OC,
I would imagine unkempt women as well. Such hippies at reds, buy one John Butler album and have a beer in Brunswick street, whooa man, so alternative.

Alphonse said:
OC,
I would imagine unkempt women as well. Such hippies at reds, buy one John Butler album and have a beer in Brunswick street, whooa man, so alternative.

Who's John Butler? Is this some more 'young people' music?

Its a lively show, with a smorgasbord.

My North said:
tells us why you should not be banned Ben

I shouldn't be banned because add value to the general talk board and enjoy reading what everyone has to say as well.

Talking about my job is fine, but have taken it too far and apologies to everyone for making you all angry.

ben.carbonaro said:
I shouldn't be banned because add value to the general talk board and enjoy reading what everyone has to say as well.

Talking about my job is fine, but have taken it too far and apologies to everyone for making you all angry.

what job is that Ben, just for anybody else that is not aware. :eek:

Alphonse said:
OC,

I guess that would have to be the one album he has released then.

Sarcasm from the man pretending to be one of the plastic Lygon St Mafia!!!
Alphonse,
Underworld,
Whoooa man, don't mess with this mean SOB.

What a complete tossa.

An exciting counting for the big crowd in attendance on Friday night.

Seniors was a tie between Milos Zika and Vinnie Cahill
Reserves went to Sam Baillie
Club 18 "Aspirationals" was also a tie with Tim Belleville and Simon McCarthy
Club 18 "Perspirationals" went to Tony "Slug" Jackson (who also won the league B&F)
Under 19s went to Kiel Donato

Noting that Vinnie, Sam and Slug are all captains, so nothing like leading from the front.

Mappa said:
An exciting counting for the big crowd in attendance on Friday night.

Seniors was a tie between Milos Zika and Vinnie Cahill
Reserves went to Sam Baillie
Club 18 "Aspirationals" was also a tie with Tim Belleville and Simon McCarthy
Club 18 "Perspirationals" went to Tony "Slug" Jackson (who also won the league B&F)
Under 19s went to Kiel Donato

Noting that Vinnie, Sam and Slug are all captains, so nothing like leading from the front.

But ... but ... but everybody here told me Vinnie was crap :confused:

They might be the same people telling you that "the Reds will be going straight back down", or "you haven't beaten anyone if you are in D Grade"

Mobbenfuhrer said:
Crash would be speaking of the Fitzroy Club Hotel machines, most likely. I believe there is nothing bigger than some sort of small royalty-esque figure coming from there....that more or less signs up FFCPL for approx $30G per year, of which some goes to functions, some to sponsorship of Reds and Ftzry Jrs, and much last year would have gone into the Fitzroy Shop & Museum (in Mordy). My copy of the annual report is at home and I am not, so I cannot detail further right now, but that would be about the gist of it. Suffice to say that while the Fitzroy link does provide some publicity and some sponsorship, it's going to fall a little short of the $14M mark. ?

I said i didnt think it was 1.4million. I dont really have a problem with them associating with Pokies, its perfectly legal, but 30K wouldnt be insignificant to most VAFA clubs. They are well within their rights to do so and plenty of clubs do it, but not too many would get 30K (or whatever it may actually be). I have plenty of mates that have played at Reds over the years and don't begrudge them their current successes. I just felt that since that injection of cash (which people playing there over the last few years have been quite openly impressed by) has been online to the club it has helped it go forward. If you want to take it as a negative fair enuff to you.

Mobbenfuhrer said:
Crash were you the mousey little male slag that strolled in front of us during the Grand Final pleading with our team to drop back down to D1 in 2007? If so, wipe up after yourself, will yer?

Mobbs bit disappointed that you try to get personal being the esteemed moderator that you are. I attended no Grand Finals in any competition this year, and have never been described as a 'mousey little male slag' to my face at least and have not begun to think about 2007. You obviously are a little touchy about anything to do with Reds but chill out mate.

*Crash* said:
I said i didnt think it was 1.4million. I dont really have a problem with them associating with Pokies, its perfectly legal, but 30K wouldnt be insignificant to most VAFA clubs. They are well within their rights to do so and plenty of clubs do it, but not too many would get 30K (or whatever it may actually be). I have plenty of mates that have played at Reds over the years and don't begrudge them their current successes. I just felt that since that injection of cash (which people playing there over the last few years have been quite openly impressed by) has been online to the club it has helped it go forward. If you want to take it as a negative fair enuff to you.

I note you did state that you didn't think it was 14M, I remember noticing that erratum shortly after posting my reply, and possibly could have edited it then. Nevertheless, I also stated clearly that the approx $30G (which is a guess), that dosh is fed out to various areas, only one of which is the Reds. Fitzroy and Fitzroy Reds are not one and the same. One is a sponsor of the other, and that sponsor has other outputs, eg other sponsorships such as Fitzroy Jrs. They also field membership admin, incentives such as the Fitzroy Shop, and major events based on a Fitzroy theme rather than on the Reds. I wouldn't be surprised if less than $5G makes its way to the Reds, and then they have to administer the receipt as well.

*Crash* said:
Mobbs bit disappointed that you try to get personal being the esteemed moderator that you are. I attended no Grand Finals in any competition this year, and have never been described as a 'mousey little male slag' to my face at least and have not begun to think about 2007. You obviously are a little touchy about anything to do with Reds but chill out mate.

Exactly right, apologies. Various contributing factors including : wasn't a moderator at the time (now you get to see what a moderator has to repress), it looked a heck of a lot like yet another trolling slagging off of the club, and that son-of-a-silverfish scumfernline tart that levelled that garbage at us back on the day should still be counting his blessings.

But it sounds like you're on the level, so if I can have my bullets back, I'd be most appreciative.

Fitzroy Reds