Flat Cat's

Posted this on the hawkins thread but thought I'd share it in a new thread ........ p.s - where's the apology Winty for the early news on Mooney being out ?

Unknown to many, Geelong has recently come of a very heavy training block which had been planned since pre-season to coincide with a few weeks without interstate travel. It was pre-meditated to make up for starting pre-season behind most other clubs and is aimed at having the players "peak" at the right times come latter parts of the season.

What's interesting is that the last week of the heavy loading was the week of the Collingwood game and it definately showed with most of our blokes looking flat. The coach handled it beautifally and did'nt make a big deal out of it given that it was heavy going coming off the training block as well as a game in the wet vs Richmond.

Internally the club is very pleased as 9-1 exceeds their planned position after round 11 (which was no less than 7 wins). the coach is very happy with their 2nd half draw (I think after round 11-12 interstate / either side of the break) where I think they only go interstate once (Sydney).

This explains why some of the boys have looked flat ........ I'm told that it's a pre-requisite if the club is to get the team "peaking" at the right part of the season. Was also told that Ottens has definately been in "cotton wool" and if needed could have played against Richmond.

Hope this gives people a better perspective on the real value of the 9-1 start and how well they've done to go 9-1 so far.

Thanks JJ. I thought there were a spring in the boys' steps last night although it could be the ground, the roof or just the opposition. There's nothing I love seeing more than the fast moving free flowing game we're accustomed to seeing with Geelong. And full credit to you for breaking the news on Mooney too.

Replied to it in the hawkins thread, but it defiantly is good news. Hopefully see a consistent 4 qtrs in the games ahead. With 12 games left in the regular season we play 9 in Vic, the 3 games interstate games are eagles rd13, Crows rd14 and Swans rd20. Which is an awesome fixture head travel wise apart from rd13-14.

Posted this on the hawkins thread but thought I'd share it in a new thread ........ p.s - where's the apology Winty for the early news on Mooney being out ?

Unknown to many, Geelong has recently come of a very heavy training block which had been planned since pre-season to coincide with a few weeks without interstate travel. It was pre-meditated to make up for starting pre-season behind most other clubs and is aimed at having the players "peak" at the right times come latter parts of the season.

What's interesting is that the last week of the heavy loading was the week of the Collingwood game and it definately showed with most of our blokes looking flat. The coach handled it beautifally and did'nt make a big deal out of it given that it was heavy going coming off the training block as well as a game in the wet vs Richmond.

Internally the club is very pleased as 9-1 exceeds their planned position after round 11 (which was no less than 7 wins). the coach is very happy with their 2nd half draw (I think after round 11-12 interstate / either side of the break) where I think they only go interstate once (Sydney).

This explains why some of the boys have looked flat ........ I'm told that it's a pre-requisite if the club is to get the team "peaking" at the right part of the season. Was also told that Ottens has definately been in "cotton wool" and if needed could have played against Richmond.

Hope this gives people a better perspective on the real value of the 9-1 start and how well they've done to go 9-1 so far.

First the Mooney news now this, your credibility is growing in my book nice work mate-credit to you:thumbsu:

PS Are you a part of the club's inner sanctum?:D

First the Mooney news now this, your credibility is growing in my book nice work mate-credit to you:thumbsu:

PS Are you a part of the club's inner sanctum?:D

Not sure how I respond to that .......... not directly involved on a day to day basis. However I have "access" to some information from time to time.

Some I can't post due to the "spies" from other clubs who I know scout these pages for any "leaks".

You'd be very surpised at some of the names who spend time on this site and monitors traffic on all club pages.

(Hello Neil)

great call on Moons missing the game....better info than Hutchy and Caro....:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

It is all starting to make sense now...

So can you answer a few more questions-

1. Who is currently playing injured?
2. Has Chapman got OP?
3. Has Hawkins been on a Big Mac diet for the last couple of weeks?

1/ No-one playing injured except Bartel .... rest were tired. Linga's ankle is fine. Bartel will be fine but I think most clubs know his injury and are hitting him pretty hard.

2/ Chapman ....... is being managed as was the case last year. More hamstring tightness than anything. Cautious approach with Chappy ...... but no OP.

3/ Hawkins ..... no Big Macs (he's a Hungry Jacks lad).

You'd be very surpised at some of the names who spend time on this site and monitors traffic on all club pages.

(Hello Neil)

I'm not. I reckon anyone involved in footy with a working computer knowledge would be in here a fair bit. I know if I was an AFL player I'd be looking at what was said about me. I couldn't help myself! :D

I backed you in Jumping Jack and my intuition was right, you obviously have a little birdy in there somewhere.

Good little summation - only issue I have is the apostrophe in the title!

I'm not. I reckon anyone involved in footy with a working computer knowledge would be in here a fair bit. I know if I was an AFL player I'd be looking at what was said about me. I couldn't help myself! :D

haha ill admit id do the same as you glassjaw if i was an AFL player, it'd be interesting to read what some ppl thought of you

Interesting, the drop off in heavy training co-incides with playing Roos / Port and then back to back road games against the Eagles and Adelaide, quietly followed by Skilled Stadium masters Freo, the Doggies and then Hawthorn. Big stretch of games coming up, can't wait.

thanks for the info. The guys have certainly been flat over the last month culminating in the Collingwood game. I kinda wish this was posted in Scratching Post because it is info that doesn't need to be shared with the whole world but the Cat's out of the bag now. ;) They certainly looked like they had better intensity against Carlton and I think the break coming up is going to be great for them.

I kinda wish this was posted in Scratching Post because it is info that doesn't need to be shared with the whole world but the Cat's out of the bag now. ;)

I did think that too - perhaps there could be a policy for sensitive info like this on our board from now on? Then again there are some opposition supporters who've been granted access to the Scratching Post that must be kicked out if it is to work.

Makes a bit of sense I suppose. I don't mind hard phases of training so long as they are well times and we don't lose too much. It's phases like Adelaide claimed they had one or two year ago late in the season that don't always work. Lost two or three matches during the tough training month and buggered their momentum. Limped into the finals where they were average and lost Preli after looking as good as we did in 07 for much of the year. Must be said they suffered some killer injuries too.

!

Question time JJ...

What did the heavy training entail and what is different about it to regular "in season" training?

Geelong got going round 6 in 2007. A month behind due to playing finals last year we get going round 10 in 2008. How different is the training regime we did last year to this year?

"Peak" and Right Times and Latter Parts of the season. You mean training to peak for finals right?...But this is unknown to many? Hmmm...you learn something every day!

Is it possible we just looked flat against Collingwood because we had a six day turn around after playing in the wet against Richmond? Are you suggesting the club trained their arses off after playing in the wet with a six day turn around? And this will help us peak at right times and latter parts of the season? (I'm quite amused by this I have to say)

Is it possible we looked fresher against Carlton at the Dome under the roof because we had an 8 day turn around as opposed to a 6 day turn around that was played completely in the wet at the MCG against Richmond then also backing up against a side like Collingwood who plays more at the MCG than anyone else and is one of the fittest sides in the league and they had an axe to grind after last year?

Internally the club is very pleased to be 9-1. Externally what are they telling people...they arent happy? (This is vaudeville people....try fraudville!).

So Ottens could have played against Richmond but didnt. Thompson told the media it was 50/50 during the week of that Richmond match and that he probably could have played but didnt play because Bomber was advised by the medical department he shouldnt play. Thanks for the leaked info though 2 weeks after the fact.

Why didnt Ottens play against Collingwood? I am left to assume according to you that the entire medical department at Geelong, Bomber Thompson and Brad Ottens have basically sold the entire public 100% of BS for the past 2 weeks RE the injury...but only you know about it in the outside world?

The coach is very happy with the second half draw? I will let you in on a secret...I am very happy with the second half draw to the season too!!! Wow.

Do you think there was an AFL club who planned to be 9-1 at the start of the season? Or in other words it would exceed any clubs planned position at this time of the season? Clubs plan to win every game you know so possibly from a theoretical point of view we should be distressed at having lost any game at all?

Please tell us which games it was Geelong "planned" (according to you) to lose by this stage of the season? You mean they sat around at the start of the year and discussed this?

Re: !

I'm deeply apologetic :we are geelong" for sharing some facts ........ but hey, don't let the facts get in the way of you ranting and suggesting this is some "____ and bull story".

You sound like you'd be a glass half empty sort of person so I won't try and convince you otherwise ........except to say - I'm not trying to win any awards here, just took time out to share what I know to be factual as I thought some other supporters might be interested (clearly I missed the mark with your good self)

As for the Collingwood game ......... read my post again. It was the final week of a 3 week heavy training load and that regardless of short breaks or playing in the wet the club was committed to complete the block at that stage to coincide with no interstate travel. I'm not suggesting one reason or another for the performance against Collingwood - just stating FACTS and people can make their own assumptions.

Question time JJ...

What did the heavy training entail and... bla ...bla ...bla

Struth, why would you waste your time with such a rant?

If someone has information that they regard to be potentially interesting to other posters, why wouldn't they post it? If you don't agree with it, or are generally cynical, as you appear to be, just take it all within your stride and leave the sarcasm at the door.

I'm deeply apologetic :we are geelong" for sharing some facts ........ but hey, don't let the facts get in the way of you ranting and suggesting this is some "____ and bull story".

You sound like you'd be a glass half empty sort of person so I won't try and convince you otherwise ........except to say - I'm not trying to win any awards here, just took time out to share what I know to be factual as I thought some other supporters might be interested (clearly I missed the mark with your good self)

As for the Collingwood game ......... read my post again. It was the final week of a 3 week heavy training load and that regardless of short breaks or playing in the wet the club was committed to complete the block at that stage to coincide with no interstate travel. I'm not suggesting one reason or another for the performance against Collingwood - just stating FACTS and people can make their own assumptions.
Oh don't mind him, he's like one of those little yappy dogs that go nuts at you when you walk past someones house....more of an amusement really.