FLYING

• Thread starter Thread starter JoondalupJ

I think in the wake of the recent Ryanair incident (and how incidents like these seem to come up pretty frequently), something needs to be done to stop this sort of anti-social (but not terrorist or physically violent) behaviour on planes.

It's pretty obvious to me that the reason there's not more intervention is that people would just rather get to their destination on time and let the d***head be dealt with at the other end (only he apparently wasn't), rather than being delayed by a couple of hours (and the airline is caught between a rock and a hard place: complaints about a lack of intervention or complaints about a lengthy delay), but that's probably a big reason why these people think they can behave like that, because they're up in the air. If there was a policy across airlines to stop at the nearest airport and leave abusive passengers with the authorities there, I have a feeling the behaviour would stop pretty quickly (not sure how that would work with incidents on the plane and the applicable local country law etc.)

I did say 'never again' to Tiger, after having a flight home from footy trip cancelled and waiting eight hours at Adelaide airport, but folded like an ironing board within a couple of years and haven't had any issues since. No issues with anyone else either, although I will say that economy seats should not be able to be reclined. And I wouldn't care if I was earning a seven figure salary, I can't imagine ever paying for anything besides economy for a domestic trip (with the possible exception of a trip to Perth).

Once again I can't do anything about it, but it was January that was booked, and because the add said that , we jumped in , so now why would any airline be giving real cheap airfares for the holiday period, nah mate , the right buttons were pressed ,we can't even get a refund, and 85 dollars to rebook , plus full fare cost added on that , one way, this is either a scam or its airlines pissing on anyone , because they can. And they do! And baggage lost? Yep I've experienced that. At least you got on an aeroplane!
Should've clicked January.

I ******* hate flying, it's a campaigner, it makes you hate people. I had a campaigner on a flight from Melbourne to Sydney the other week who insisted on putting their seat back and napping. For half an hour. At 1pm in the afternoon. What the ****.

Well, I'm close to 6'6 and I make do without reclining (going as diagonal as possible with the legs, curling my calves under my seat, whatever). But yeah, when some pipsqueak in front of me reclines their seat so that it's bashing right into my knees no matter what I do, it's frustrating.

An irritation from my most recent flight (Melbourne to Gold Coast), was this guy (early 20s, looked like dyed black hair, a bit on the chubby side, had those spacer earrings) who'd taken the window seat in our row, despite my wife and I (and baby) having the A/B seats. We just figured, whatever, no biggie and took the B/C seats instead. Baby gets to sleep about 20 minutes into the flight, 10 minutes later, this clown decides he need to get up and take a piss (and yes, of course, she woke up). Side note: when we were leaving to go to the taxi rank, we saw him again with a harem of about half a dozen stereotype Gold Coast girls of a similar age.

That's an unwritten rule for me: you take the window seat in a row of strangers on a flight that's shorter than two hours, you forfeit the right to have a bathroom break.

Well, I'm close to 6'6 and I make do without reclining (going as diagonal as possible with the legs, curling my calves under my seat, whatever). But yeah, when some pipsqueak in front of me reclines their seat so that it's bashing right into my knees no matter what I do, it's frustrating.

An irritation from my most recent flight (Melbourne to Gold Coast), was this guy (early 20s, looked like dyed black hair, a bit on the chubby side, had those spacer earrings) who'd taken the window seat in our row, despite my wife and I (and baby) having the A/B seats. We just figured, whatever, no biggie and took the B/C seats instead. Baby gets to sleep about 20 minutes into the flight, 10 minutes later, this clown decides he need to get up and take a piss (and yes, of course, she woke up). Side note: when we were leaving to go to the taxi rank, we saw him again with a harem of about half a dozen stereotype Gold Coast girls of a similar age.

That's an unwritten rule for me: you take the window seat in a row of strangers on a flight that's shorter than two hours, you forfeit the right to have a bathroom break.

If the window seat wasn't allocated to you then yeah I agree with you. But if they have just been given the seat and had no choice so in that case I don't agree. I prefer the aisle seat (often cause I like a beer and a piss on a plane) and one of the things to accept is that you need to get up for people in the window seat. Even on longer flights it's no issue cause I can't bloody sleep on planes anyway.

Also, any pics of the GC girls?

If the window seat wasn't allocated to you then yeah I agree with you. But if they have just been given the seat and had no choice so in that case I don't agree. I prefer the aisle seat (often cause I like a beer and a piss on a plane) and one of the things to accept is that you need to get up for people in the window seat. Even on longer flights it's no issue cause I can't bloody sleep on planes anyway.

Also, any pics of the GC girls?

Well, if the issue presented itself again, I'd probably ask for the seat we were allocated, maybe I should have seen the issue coming. So I'm not completely without blame.

But I think the decent thing to do on a short flight when you're going to be sitting in the window seat next to two strangers is to do your best to avoid having to go to the toilet 30 minutes after the plane has taken off. I mean, a flight of less than two hours, really you shouldn't need a toilet break unless you get caught out. It's not like you're bereft of opportunities between going through the screening and boarding the plane. It's a similar thing to the footy: if you're planning to go at a two beers per quarter pace, maybe try to grab a seat on the end, but on a plane it's worse.

No photos, I'm afraid. I can't even really remember, they may have been mutton done up as lamb. But they were definitely done up for a trip to the airport to the point that it made me ponder what the hell this bloke did for a living.

Well, if the issue presented itself again, I'd probably ask for the seat we were allocated, maybe I should have seen the issue coming. So I'm not completely without blame.

But I think the decent thing to do on a short flight when you're going to be sitting in the window seat next to two strangers is to do your best to avoid having to go to the toilet 30 minutes after the plane has taken off. I mean, a flight of less than two hours, really you shouldn't need a toilet break unless you get caught out. It's not like you're bereft of opportunities between going through the screening and boarding the plane. It's a similar thing to the footy: if you're planning to go at a two beers per quarter pace, maybe try to grab a seat on the end, but on a plane it's worse.

No photos, I'm afraid. I can't even really remember, they may have been mutton done up as lamb. But they were definitely done up for a trip to the airport to the point that it made me ponder what the hell this bloke did for a living.

Yeah fair enough, if you've been on the piss though you may need to go to the dunny, but courtesy suggests you go the aisle in that case.

And that bloke probably did for a living what I'd like to ha ha

I'm one of those arseholes that's hoody, sunglasses and headphones the second I walk into the terminal. The only people I want to engage with are those that I'm buying booze or food from. Nothing worse than sitting next to someone who wants a chat, even if they're stunning and friendly I don't want a part of it.

Sunglasses? That's a bit odd. Other than that I'm similar, headphones and no talking, **** that, flying is enough of a prick without sitting next to some annoying campaigner who wants a chinwag.

I admit, I'm partial to the tracksuit pants with zip up pockets at the airport. Wouldn't go as far as sunglasses though.

I also smash a whole packet of Mentos, one after the other, once we touch down to fix my ears up ('things you do that no-one else does'?)

Did you catch the post match interview after Perth vs Illawarra in the NBL? They had to fly over here economy and all the exit row seats were taken. They asked Conklin (player) and he said 'I could tell you, but you're not 6'8'' so you wouldn't really understand'. Wasn't being a smart arse or anything so it was an interesting response. Like the journos I'm only average height so can only imagine how ****ed being on a plane is when you are that height.

Shit by the club/league not to have exit rows, business class seats etc. for a dozen athletes with half of them 195cm+ but a dick move by any midget sitting in an exit row seat not to accommodate one of the players.

Did you catch the post match interview after Perth vs Illawarra in the NBL? They had to fly over here economy and all the exit row seats were taken. They asked Conklin (player) and he said 'I could tell you, but you're not 6'8'' so you wouldn't really understand'. Wasn't being a smart arse or anything so it was an interesting response. Like the journos I'm only average height so can only imagine how ****** being on a plane is when you are that height.

Shit by the club/league not to have exit rows, business class seats etc. for a dozen athletes with half of them 195cm+ but a dick move by any midget sitting in an exit row seat not to accommodate one of the players.
If I paid for an upgraded seat I'm not giving it up just because someone is tall, even if I was a midget.

I'd give up an exit row seat (on a domestic flight) if a super tall person needed it. I'm only 5'2, my feet tuck neatly under the seat in front of me.
They could probably store you in the overhead compartments if need be.