Football Related Random Thread - PART 2

Just out of curiosity, were the Suns and Giants afforded this very generous luxury? I mean I know it is trickier given that the Swans and Lions also existed in the respective states but still.

On North, aside from the fact that I wish they'd just merge with Gold Coast (lets be honest, it was good enough for Bears and Fitzroy) so we don't go to 19 and 20 teams and plus it gives both teams more of an identity which I think both severely lack, but North you'd think are going to be in all sorts with Tassies introduction - they'll lose the access to Tassie players which I dont know why they had anyway - the North AFLW team will be kicked out - North will also be kicked out of Hobart and the annual $3-4M the Tassie Gov't gives them will be gone and you'd think they'll lost there major sponsor in Spirit of Tasmania to. Alot of upsides for Gold Coast to - a support base like Lions and Swans have in Melbourne / a better name and jumper and i think an identity that they still dont have. I reckon a combined Suns and North team would be pretty good too. Will task the boy when he gets home from school - he loves this sort of stuff.
Can you imagine a combined North/Gold Coast bigfooty team forum.

He is father son to both Carlton & Brisbane.

I haven’t read any of the news about Tassie, do you have a link where this is mentioned.
It was in my original reply to you in this thread when you asked

I don't know how many of you have been questioning the impeccable taste of the football-supporting public, but you all need to know that the Lions have just won the public vote for both mark and goal of the round for the second week in a row, the first time any club has achieved this. Of course, I never doubted them for a moment [emoji102]

watchng this match tonight may be fantasize about if we had a back 3 of Andrews Payne Adams...

I remember a few years ago people were talking about on this forum the muscly giant with some speed and threw up an image.. good lord how he has improved. so happy for him :D

Not sure if the right thread.
Listening to Barrett, yeah I know , WHY.
Anyhow they are banging on about booing Buddy.
Barret is pushing it's racist based and goes on that Goodes was a Sydney player as well , who we all know was booed and some of that booing racist based.
So there is a lot of commentary about this , personally for one second I do not believe the Buddy booing has anything to do with Buddies race or personal life.
Why would you boo this guy, I didn't watch the game maybe he blantantly staged for a free, who knows.
I personally don't boo that much anyway ,it's rare, possibly when a free has been given wrongly right in front of us and the player is lining up for goal.
Nothing to do with the players family, race what he has done in the past, only the act in front of us.

So why is it a personal thing when players get booed while having a shot on goal.
I don't think it is 90% of the time it's just an opposition player lining up for goal and some people are trying to put them off.
never seems to work anyway.
I don't have a problem with this , but I do have a problem when players like Goodes gets booed from multiple grounds for just going near the ball, to me that is just personal and bullying.
For what it is worth if you are a player that milks frees then what do you expect, you are not playing fairly get used to it or stop.
Certainly wasn't a fan of Matho because of this, glad he stopped. And I'm not saying Goodes milked frees, I genuinely wouldn't know.

Barrett is such a shit stirrer , sick of these types of people in public forums seeding racism debates when it has nothing to do with this instance.
I will say though , it would be extreme for myself to boo someone like Buddy , unless he blantantly milked a free, it would be as much expressing my emotions to the ump as well.
Buddy was a joy to watch in his prime on tv .
Bit dissapointed I never got to see him at the Gabba while playing for the Hawks.
Bit of respect.
I remember a few years ago, I think it was Zorko .
Being booed at the Gabba everytime he got the ball, wtf.
No specific reason , people just being dicks.

Jack Crisp?
Nah, I'm mature now :D

Buckley was always more of a pantomime boo. The Bears knew he wasn't going to stay and drafted him anyway, knowing they'd do OK out of it.

O'Bree was the one who I reserved my true vitriol for. The way he left (walking to the PSD) was pretty distasteful. Luckily, he never failed to disappoint when playing at the Gabba as a magpie.

Nah, I'm mature now :D

Buckley was always more of a pantomime boo. The Bears knew he wasn't going to stay and drafted him anyway, knowing they'd do OK out of it.

O'Bree was the one who I reserved my true vitriol for. The way he left (walking to the PSD) was pretty distasteful. Luckily, he never failed to disappoint when playing at the Gabba as a magpie.
Personally I think booing players that have left your club recently is fine, if it goes on for years then thats going a bit too far.
Booing umpire decisions is just part of football.
And booing oppo players when lining up for goal is completely fine as well.

Booing players just for the sake of it or because they are good is completely wrong and should not happen.

Having said that, I booed Harrison Petty after the Zorko incident but only the first game we played against them, who cares now, thing of the past.
Still don’t like him though, massive campaigner.

I am not a Booer.

My one observation re the Buddy booing is that some supporters are like children in that if you tell them not to do something they are more likely to keep doing it.
This.

The booing against Adam started to intensify once an issue was made about in in the media. Not just from footy journalists. And then the AFL.

I watched large parts of the Swans game with the sound off as I generally do and wasn't aware Buddy was being booed. But because of the stink this week it probably won't go away when he plays in Melbourne.

You've got to remember some people love being part of the mob and they're not particularly bright either. Most of them wouldn't know why they're booing.

But it's always been part and parcel of the game . As a kid at the Brunswick Street oval we always booed anyone from the opposition who was good and seen as a bit of a dirty player.

Our game against the Swans is a Friday night blockbuster... However with Buddy's form at the moment you might have to go to Brighton Homes Arena the next day (VFL Lions v Swans- 11.05am BHA Saturday June 17th) to cheer him on.
Famous last words.

Mal Michael really upset me and is probably the one player that sticks out for me to boo and i think it was b/c he was one of my favourite Lions and like OBree, his exit was distastful - mind you, i do recall boing Aish for a bit of fun although that was very good natured b/c he's another that seems a nice kid.
I think Beams played one game back in Brisbane after leaving, pretty sure he copped a bit.

Dan McStay barely got the ball but he was spared.

Football Related Random Thread - PART 2