Football Related Random Thread - PART 2

A house featured for sale in the HUN today was nice, so i looked at the story, photos etc.....nothing unusual until further into the article it said owners were selling up to move to Qld as their daughters boyfriend has been drafted to the Lions..

Any idea who that might be?

A house featured for sale in the HUN today was nice, so i looked at the story, photos etc.....nothing unusual until further into the article it said owners were selling up to move to Qld as their daughters boyfriend has been drafted to the Lions..

Ummm. Wow.

That's a massive move for a teenage relationship. I wouldn't move for that reason. Hopefully there's more to their choice, or it's a lot of pressure on two kids.

I immediately thought of WA but then thought the same as you....a big move for a teen romance, which is why I then asked who else it might refer to.

If it is them, it is a big WOW!

Wilmot.

Caroline Wilson on Footy Classified last night >

There will be 4 field umpires from next season, ostensibly to encourage more female umpires and the older umpires to go on longer, long term aim to have 5-6 field umpires, bounce highly likely to go.

bounce highly likely to go.
Then wait for increase in PCL injury due to the predictable nature of throwing the ball up. Then they probably ban runups at centre bounces and they will be like normal ball-ups.

There will be 4 field umpires from next season, ostensibly to encourage more female umpires and the older umpires to go on longer, long term aim to have 5-6 field umpires, bounce highly likely to go.
This has seemed like a gap to me for a long time - keep the umpires forward and behind the ball, and with two umpires at the contest there's a lot lower chance of high contact and various other infringements going unseen.

However it's not going to address "interpretations of the week" that see people tackled to the ground and then allowed to get a handball away, or "drops" (throws) to advantage, etc.

Four umpires to clog up the field and jostle to make themselves noticed. Wait for explosion of whistles. I believe the game will become even more stop/start with limited flowing play. IMO we should be reducing umpire numbers not increasing.

All for the bounce to go
Umpires have been calling for this for some time
This is the easiest way to get more umpires into the game
Opens up eligibility for good umpires that just can't get the bounce up to AFL standard
As long as they don't cave in to traditionalist that may insist a bounce at the start of each game as a compromise

Not sure about 4 umpires
Lots of delayed decisions now as the central umpire gets first call
Could be good for behind play issues but they happen all the time but only picked up occassionally
Maybe also good around stoppages regarding hard taggging
Just not sure it will be any better

I the bounce goes i would rather see AFLW last touch rule introduced before a 4th umpire
Boundry umpire could throws the ball up (much easier than a throw in) which leaves field umpire free to get a better look at the whole stoppage
This way the central umpire won't have to try getting out of the way of the ruck contest, then try to view what is happening around the stoppage as well as rule on the actual ruck contest

Four umpires to clog up the field and jostle to make themselves noticed. Wait for explosion of whistles. I believe the game will become even more stop/start with limited flowing play. IMO we should be reducing umpire numbers not increasing.
yep 4 umps ruling differently what is not to love about that.
They all want to be heard and get on TV as well :(

yep 4 umps ruling differently what is not to love about that.
They all want to be heard and get on TV as well :(
And should such a thing as a bias toward one team / crowd or against another team (who could believe let alone speak such a vile canard!) then you could have many more options for such a creature to be on the umpiring comittee ... and publicly overriding them as another umpire is, shall we say, not likely to be considered a good-team-player action.

Fair dinkum I hate the AFL.

Beefing up umpire numbers at AFL matches will drain them from lower grades WHERE THEY'RE NEEDED.

The centre bounce IS MEANT TO BE UNPREDICTABLE otherwise it would have been thrown up all-along. Non-thinkers caving into the whims of people who with no understanding of why rules were there in the first place hello holding the ball. The correct solution is to keep the bounce and do away with the centre line (and even the outer circle) that prevents ruckman from setting up wherever they so desire and hence rids the need for those fricking recalls. My god I hate these campaigners.

When two umpires became three, free kicks went from 52 per game to 42 per game. FWIW.

Any thoughts from western royboy or any other active umpires on here on this one?

I heard it said on SEN that the umps tire very easily atm and they struggle with the bounce.....seriously?

There was one umpire for about 100yrs, they managed.

If this has anything to do with above then they are wimps. How many other football type games have 8 umpires on the ground?

...and they want more. Must be the most officiated game on the planet.....and therein lies the confusion with interpretation.

Ridiculous - 3 works perfectly IMO - the bounce is overrated - we are not allowed to do it at Community level
I personally think 4 field umpires would be best suited, you could have one in each inside-50 mark and 2 in the middle with one on each wing/half middle space to help umpires have less work to do.

Anymore field umpires than that though and it would probably affect the state of game, in a negative sort of way.

I personally think 4 field umpires would be best suited, you could have one in each inside-50 mark and 2 in the middle with one on each wing/half middle space to help umpires have less work to do.

Anymore field umpires than that though and it would probably affect the state of game, in a negative sort of way.
The more you add, the more differences in interpretations - you get plenty of breaks in a 3 if you do it properly

Yeah true, 3 would be good if one umpire agrees and the other doesn’t, meaning they needs to be a tiebreaker :thumbsu:

I reckon every player should have his own umpire.
Patrick Cripps definitely did when he played us last fortnight, in regards to that bump to Ah Chee.

How the hell he got off without any charge but Ah Chee misses two matches from his concussion astounds me.

The bounce should have been abolished a very very long time ago

So unfair when center clearances are so important in the modern game even more so when 6-6-6 introduced
Wastes time when recalled which is often
Not always recalled which is also unfair
Stops umpires from staying in the game as the bounce not required at community level unlil a later age
Umpires have regularly called for it to be scrapped. From at least 2017 anyhow
Physical damage (back,shoulders hamstrings) to umpires can be avoided.
Will also encourage more females to take up umpiring

Lions last 3 games had 33, 33 & 25 center bounces.
Plus umpires have to practice way more during training just to get it to an acceptable level
Anyone thinking this is physically easy go try it 30 times with some breaks. Ensuring to get ball high into air for a fair contest
Introduction of centre bounce after every goal as well as at the start of quarters.

For the traditionalists the game had been going 33 years before the above rule was introduced
The game has changed over time. See below some odd rules (by present standards) that were changed.
Even so they may not have been odd at the time

No time limit existed for matches
The captains to toss for choice of goal. The loser’s team to kick off from the centre to start play.
Tripping and pushing permitted, but no hacking
After each goal was kicked, teams to change ends.
A player with the ball required to immediately drop it if tackled by an opponent.
A field umpire being appealed to could either award a free kick, call play on or stop play and throw the ball into the air to discourage scrimmages.
*The distance of the behind posts from the goal posts decreased from 18.2m to 9.1m.
Minimum distance of ball-travel for a mark decreased from 4.5m to 1.8m.
Players unnecessarily delaying disposal from marks or kick-offs were deprived of possession and a ball-up resulted.
*The distance of the behind posts from the goal posts decreased from 9.1m to 6.4m.
No player was permitted within two metres of the ball until it touched the ground following a ruck contest at a centre bounce.
Trainers banned from delivering coaches’ messages.
Boundary umpires’ whistles first used in place of white handkerchiefs.
Coaches’ runners were permitted to speak to team captains and vice-captains only on the field during matches.
**Player awarded free obliged to kick the ball.
**Player awarded free again given option of kick or handpass
Umpires empowered to recall an errant bounce at a stoppage and replace it with a throw-up.(from Year 2009)

Patrick Cripps definitely did when he played us last fortnight, in regards to that bump to Ah Chee.

How the hell he got off without any charge but Ah Chee misses two matches from his concussion astounds me.
Nothing to do with the incident unfortunately, technicality on how the jury was instructed by the Tribunal Chairman - lack of common sense but “rule of law”

I feel a large part of the 'variation in interpretation' can be explained due to the limited views field umpires have at some contests. Whether you think someone ducked into a tackle/shrugged their shoulder, was rolled in the tackle or pushed in the back, the tackles disposed the ball or the player incorrectly disposed the ball depends on the angle you see the contest at and the distance you are from the play. We get the benefit of the AFL media showing us the best angle with the footage slowed down. The AFL umpire sees it in real time in between several bodies and potentially from the wrong angle.

Case in point: 2 weeks ago it looked like Preuss hip and shouldered Merret from the Dons in an off the ball hit when viewed from the side angle. It looked like a hit that deserved a week or two. Then on review by the MRO a 45 degree angle showed that Preuss hit Merret on the point of his shoulder with his own shoulder and then Merret threw his head back to stage for a free kick.

The more umpires we have, the less off-the-ball holds you will see going unpunished. I hate going to the live game and seeing Cameron, McCluggage or Neale being absolutely held with full guernsey pull 5-10m off the stoppage without any consequence. Cameron and Daniher get absolutely manhandleded on many fast breakaways but the field umpire rarely sees/pays them as they are too focussed on the contest at hand and running rather than looking 40m down in our F50 on the breakaway.

The number of frees being paid has no bearing. The number will always fluctuate and will reduce as players learn they cant get away with borderline bullshit if there are more eyes on the ground watching.

If anyone is into sudoku, I've made a sudoku based on AFL! How? You may ask. I've drawn some lines and symbols that have conditions on what numbers can go there. The constraints are specified in the rules in the bottom left box. The lines and symbols make up the goalposts and 4 AFL logos. If you think you have solved it, shoot me a pm.

On SM-A226B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Football Related Random Thread - PART 2