Footy Tips

Originally posted by PrideofSA
got 7 this round...missed the Collingwood, West Coast match.....damn

Ditto - reckon that was the same for most tipsters - played my joker at work - so 14 points is pretty good! - Damn Collingwood and that Fat Lady!

Originally posted by DaveW
Hawthorn are rubbish (I hope saying that doesn't come back to bite me...), I was nervous when they kicked the opening two goals, but their skill level is just hopeless. I'll continue tipping against them for a while yet.

Heard on the weekend that the Hawthorn board had come out and backed Schwab saying his job is safe.

Can anyone translate for me whether that means he's got two or three weeks left?

Got 7 this week. Have been burnt by "I can't belive it's not butter!" once too often to pick them again this week, although must say thought they'd get up when Hird AND Lloyd were ruled out!!

West Coast victory was sensational. Just wish I'd picked it...

Early tips for Round 9 (already!!)

Essendon assuming Hird and Lloyd return.
Brisbane
Melbourne assuming the good Melbourne turn up.
Collingwood but this is 50-50. Will need to look at the teams. Would LOVE to see the Sainters get up...
Geelong, again this is 50-50. Going on my new "don't tip the mirror gazers" rule. Geelong are surely due, whilst Hawthorn are due at the hairdressers.

PORT ADELAIDE to beat Essendon
BRISBANE to beat Carlton
MELBOURNE to beat Fremantle (Freo are improving, but if Melb can beat Port at home they can surely beat Freo)
WEST COAST to beat Richmond
COLLINGWOOD to beat St Kilda
SYDNEY to beat Kangaroos (a little risky tipping the Swans away from Sydney but I expect they'll be crowd favourites)
ADELAIDE to beat Footscray
GEELONG to beat Hawthorn (I don't rate either side, but Hawthorn are just about untippable)

Early tips for this week

PORT ADELAIDE to beat Essendon (confident)
BRISBANE to beat Carlton (confident)
MELBOURNE to beat Fremantle (Freo have to win one more away for me to start tipping them away from Subiaco)
WEST COAST to beat Richmond (confident)
COLLINGWOOD to beat St Kilda (St. Kilda coming off a Perth trip will struggle)
KANGAROOS to beat Sydney (gone with a home team)
ADELAIDE to beat Bulldogs (confident)
GEELONG to beat Hawthorn (dumb and dumber. After last couple of weeks Hawks are untippable :mad: )

Early tips for this week

MELBOURNE to beat Fremantle (70-30)
COLLINGWOOD to beat St Kilda (70-30)
SYDNEY to beat Kangaroos (50-50)
HAWTHORN to beat Geelong (last chance for the pathetic Dawks)

The very tricky games IMO are the Sydney-Kangaroos and Hawthorn-Geelong games. With no conviction in either case, I've gone for Sydney because of their recent good form and Hawthorn because they have won 3 games to the Cats 1.

Got 4.Had a couple of upsets in Melbourne and Bulldogs, both let me down in the dying stages..also Collingwood and Hawthorn let me down.

Originally posted by napsyd
Heard on the weekend that the Hawthorn board had come out and backed Schwab saying his job is safe.

Can anyone translate for me whether that means he's got two or three weeks left?

Probably be sacked this week.:D

Originally posted by dezzmo
that has happened - a guy gets told he has full suport of the board etc and before you know it - he's gone!

Yes, Malcolm Blight comes to mind immediately!! Remember Butters on Talking Footy!

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Early tips for this week

MELBOURNE to beat Fremantle (Freo have to win one more away for me to start tipping them away from Subiaco)
GEELONG to beat Hawthorn (dumb and dumber. After last couple of weeks Hawks are untippable :mad: )

Same as that except I will go for Hawks on the4 basis that they have won 3 and the Cats only only one game

Hawks key forwards should be getting some match fitness now and Geelong don't really have any players to worry about other than King who can be negated by Everrit IMO.

Originally posted by Jars458
Same as that except I will go for Hawks on the4 basis that they have won 3 and the Cats only only one game

Hawks key forwards should be getting some match fitness now and Geelong don't really have any players to worry about other than King who can be negated by Everrit IMO.
Its a fair call but Hawthorn have p*ssed me off so much so far this year that I have decided not to tip them until they win 2 on the trot.:(

for those in need of tipping assistance, here's a guaranteed 8 :D ...

PORT over Essendon (no hird + no lloyd = no win)
BRISBANE over Carlton
MELBOURNE over Fremantle (only cos it's in melb)
WEST COAST over Richmond (only cos it's in wa)
COLLINGWOOD over St Kilda
KANGAROOS over Sydney
ADELAIDE over Bulldogs
HAWTHORN over Geelong (if they lose this, they should be banned from the afl)

Originally posted by macca23

MELBOURNE to beat Fremantle (70-30)
COLLINGWOOD to beat St Kilda (70-30)
SYDNEY to beat Kangaroos (50-50)
HAWTHORN to beat Geelong (last chance for the pathetic Dawks)

The very tricky games IMO are the Sydney-Kangaroos and Hawthorn-Geelong games. With no conviction in either case, I've gone for Sydney because of their recent good form and Hawthorn because they have won 3 games to the Cats 1.

Final tips same as the early ones. As usual a couple of tricky games to select.

Originally posted by napsyd
Early tips for Round 9 (already!!)

Essendon assuming Hird and Lloyd return.
Brisbane
Melbourne assuming the good Melbourne turn up.
Collingwood but this is 50-50. Will need to look at the teams. Would LOVE to see the Sainters get up...
Geelong, again this is 50-50. Going on my new "don't tip the mirror gazers" rule. Geelong are surely due, whilst Hawthorn are due at the hairdressers.

Am sticking to this:

Chad Cornes is a BIG loss to Port, one I doubt they can cover. 50-50 match IMO.

Geelong will come to play. If Hawthorn do they will win, but they have been under the pump for a few weeks now and are yet to convince me that they will give 100%.

Early tips for this week

Pretty happy with 7/8 after a few disappointing weeks but Fair Dinkum how could you pick freo at the MCG. I guess I will have to rate them away from home now.;)

Well done young Stiffster - 7 was a good result. A measly 5 for yours truly!! :o

Thanks Mate!!!!!!;) It was about time I got a decent score.

My early tips for next week:

PORT ADELAIDE to beat Collingwood (50-50, went with the home team)
WESTERN BULLDOGS to beat Kangaroos (Doggies are due and they were unlucky today)
FREMANTLE to beat Carlton (confident)
RICHMOND to beat Sydney (50-50, went with home team)
BRISBANE to beat Melbourne (confident)
ADELAIDE to beat Geelong (cautious:( )
WEST COAST to beat Essendon (50-50, Eagles are due for a loss)
St. Kilda Vs Hawthorn (I absolutely have no idea. Let you know later in the week)

Round 10...

PORT ADELAIDE to beat Collingwood
FREMANTLE to beat Carlton
KANGAROOS to beat Footscray (Roos were good today, just a gut feeling, Dogs could be depleted after two close losses)
RICHMOND to beat Sydney (Swans were less than impressive today, I'm going against the Subi hoodoo but I'm just not confident in tipping the Swans away)
BRISBANE to beat Melbourne
ADELAIDE to beat Geelong
WEST COAST to beat Essendon (can definately tip WCE away now)
ST KILDA to beat Hawthorn (don't tip the Hawks, simple as that :))

P.S. If Sydney win and we win, the top six could be entirely non-Victorian :D

They are out. Rioli is in but those 2 are out.;) Does that mean you are picking Port?

Erm? Can I say yes now?

No?

Stupid tip in the end, so I ended up with 5. Could have been worse I spose!

Early tips for the week are

PORT ADELAIDE to beat Collingwood (50-50, but the Pies do love Footy Park)
KANGAROOS to beat Bulldogs (reasonably confident)
RICHMOND to beat Sydney (50-50, but the Subiaco hoodoo worries me )
ADELAIDE to beat Geelong (reasonably confident )
WEST COAST to beat Essendon (50-50, but the Eagles are a far better side)
ST KILDA to beat Hawthorn (I've had a gutsful of picking Hawthorn)

Plenty of tight games to ensure that we tipster's have nightmares.:)

Early tips for the week are

PORT ADELAIDE to beat Collingwood (50-50, but the Pies do love Footy Park)
KANGAROOS to beat Bulldogs (reasonably confident)
RICHMOND to beat Sydney (50-50, but the Subiaco hoodoo worries me )
ADELAIDE to beat Geelong (reasonably confident )
WEST COAST to beat Essendon (50-50, but the Eagles are a far better side)
ST KILDA to beat Hawthorn (I've had a gutsful of picking Hawthorn)

Plenty of tight games to ensure that we tipster's have nightmares.:)

You've read my mind Macca23!

Remember, last time we tipped the same, we could have added our results together and still not looked respectable!!