swannies

10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Swan Districts, Everton
Well, the first of our WAFL teams enters the Foxtel Cup this week with East Perth playing before the Dockers game. I'll try and get some sort of info and write up on this game before the weekend.

Good luck to the Royals.

I'm really looking forward to seeing how Claremont go in a couple of weeks.
I haven't seen anything like this since the Escort cup back when I was a kid.

Swans are the next to fly the flag for the WAFL. Panda, Riggio and Colreavy out for Luke Adams (first game of the season), Manton and Kyle Hams.

We'll see how they go.

Swans are the next to fly the flag for the WAFL. Panda, Riggio and Colreavy out for Luke Adams (first game of the season), Manton and Kyle Hams.

We'll see how they go.

Best of luck to your boys.

Go Swannies!!!......ugh, my mouth is burning!

I hope the tigers have packed their longjohns for the trip to Tassie to face the Geappen led Clarence outfit. :)

Best of luck. :thumbsu:

Can you find the lineups anywhere? I know we got a few out including bones but I hope it wasn't as bad as last week.

Just saw, no Blackwell, Jones, Bones, Browne and Gilligan.

Richo and Foster to come back in are some slight positives though, great players but so many big outs. Taking it very easy with Chad.

From the afl.com.au site:

Clarence v Claremont

Late Changes: No Late Changes​

Clarence

• B: Tim Castle, Gregg Sharman, Rohan Swan
  • HB: Cameron Thurley, Brennan Savage, Josh Nibbs
  • C: Adam Green, Jackson O'Brien, Matthew Round
  • HF: Jaymes Baker, Taylor Williamson, Ben Setchell
  • F: Trent Standen, Jason Bailey, Jack Boon
  • Foll: Drew Westfield, Clint Riley, Angus Brettingham-Moore
  • I/C: Jordan Roberts, Ryan Bailey, Jack Gleeson, Jake Jenkins
Claremont

• B: Jesse Laurie, James Thomson, Ian Rowe
  • HB: Jake Murphy, Beau Wilkes, Simon Starling
  • C: Andrew Foster, Bradley Nisbett, Aaron Holt
  • HF: Ryan Brabazon, David Crawford, Tom Willett
  • F: Matt Orzel, Trinity Handley, Brandon Franz
  • Foll: Tom Lee, Kane Mitchell, Clay McLernon
  • I/C: Blake Anderson, Ben Saunders, Nick Derickx, Frank Ansey

wow our depth is amazing that side would still be top 4 league material no tom swft ibut?

still probably resting richooo but ninyette hasent played all year... you no where i could get a live stream for this game

I went down to the Albion in Cottesloe to watch the game.
Good fun. Claremont ran out convincing winners by 70+ points.

Clarence could have stayed in the game and even put Claremont under pressure had they kicked straighter. Then again our kicking wasn't that great either, just lucky we had a lot more of it in the end.

Just managed to remember the scores.

Claremont 14.18.102
Clarence 4.7.31

Now it's either the Northern Bullants or GWS......

Clarence could have stayed in the game and even put Claremont under pressure had they kicked straighter. Then again our kicking wasn't that great either, just lucky we had a lot more of it in the end.

Claremont 14.18.102
Clarence 4.7.31

And you guys were worried. :confused: I saw some guy called Ben Saunders kicked 3. Where did he come from, Ammos, just a ring in? :p

Claremont 14.18.102
Clarence 4.7.31

Many thanks for that pablo....good result.:thumbsu:

No worries.

Mate, that oval they played at, Bellerive, it looked tiny. I'm sure their 50m arc is only 40 or so. Surface looked nice though.
The umpiring was just.......I don't think Claremont got awarded a 'ball' decision for the whole game.

Other than that it was awesome to see the Tiges on the national stage. I just hope it lasts a bit longer. Great fun to watch it happening with a mob of other Claremont supporters in a pub on the big screen.
As I said before, reminds me of the old Escort Cup days.

No worries.

Mate, that oval they played at, Bellerive, it looked tiny. I'm sure their 50m arc is only 40 or so. Surface looked nice though.
The umpiring was just.......I don't think Claremont got awarded a 'ball' decision for the whole game.

Other than that it was awesome to see the Tiges on the national stage. I just hope it lasts a bit longer. Great fun to watch it happening with a mob of other Claremont supporters in a pub on the big screen.
As I said before, reminds me of the old Escort Cup days.

The ground they play test cricket on, It's longer than the SCG, is narrow though.

To much skill from WAFL, Clarence tried hard and despite not expecting a win Tasmanian football will not be pleased to see the smashing they got. Well actually most Tasmanians will be pleased to see Clarence get a smashing just disappointed their league didn't stand up to serious standard.

Way too much skill, size and experience from Claremont for them to even stand a chance.

Ninyette has left Claremont, he is playing with Mines Rovers in the GFL?

Bellerive is similar in size to the MCG.

http://www.austadiums.com/stadiums/stadiums.php?id=13

What the game clearly demonstrated is the impact of not having an AFL team based in Tasmania. WAFL clubs get a ready supply of ex-AFL players finishing out their careers at home plus AFL list players sprinkled through the teams from West Coast and the Dockers.

Tasmania clubs get .... Akermanis as a fly-in publicity stunt.

Unfortunately the destruction of Tasmanian football courtesy of being ignored by the AFL on the field combined with the saturation TV coverage means that the once proud heritage is now a distant memory.

Bellerive is similar in size to the MCG.

http://www.austadiums.com/stadiums/stadiums.php?id=13

What the game clearly demonstrated is the impact of not having an AFL team based in Tasmania. WAFL clubs get a ready supply of ex-AFL players finishing out their careers at home plus AFL list players sprinkled through the teams from West Coast and the Dockers.

Tasmania clubs get .... Akermanis as a fly-in publicity stunt.

Unfortunately the destruction of Tasmanian football courtesy of being ignored by the AFL on the field combined with the saturation TV coverage means that the once proud heritage is now a distant memory.

Yeah the WAFL suffers from the depridations of the AFL too though.
We lose a heap of young talent to the draft every year, most of them before they even play at league level.
Any players who are left also get snapped up eventualy if they show good enough form.
We have list members of the two AFL teams sprinkled throughout the league, many times playing in the league sides whether their form merits it or not.
Finally yeah we get back a fair few players with AFL experience, but they are usually nowhere near their peak by that time and often despondent and in less than stellar form.
As far as I know, no Eagles or Dockers listed players went on the trip to Tassie to play Clarence.

In the last few years the difference in levels between VFL, WAFL and SANFL comps has been illustrated by some shocking losses in state league games. In the past the old VFA couldn't get a win against a WAFL side. Now that same comp as the VFL with heaps of AFL rookies from all over the country has routinely flogged the WAFL sides.

Basically it's not just Tassie that is suffering from the effects of centralising everything in the AFL. Having said that though, the WAFL is in a pretty good place at the moment.
I hope it continues.