Freak injuries

Stewy Loewe vs. Freo @ Subiaco, maybe a decade or so ago?

This is quite hard to describe, but in a marking contest on a flank by the 50m line, spoiler hits him in the back of the head, dazing him, semi-conscious he lands awkwardly on his leg as he falls straight down in a sort of sitting position wrenching his knee, his head then comes forward and headbutts said knee, drawing blood.

A seminal 'lol wut' moment.

Ah yes i remember that incident well.

Very freaky and quite funny. Good get. :thumbsu:

Doc Wheildon broke his leg after being hit by a taxi in King Street if I remember correctly.

Also remember an English soccer player breaking his arm after his teammates dropped him during celebrations.

Haha yeah he was out on the juice! Never played a game with us because of this.

Ottens standing on Richo's foot and destroying it after he'd kicked 7 against Freo in R4, 2000. We lost by a point and Richo's career was left in limbo - the first of a long line of disasters at godforsaken Etihad.

Yeah the Snell one was horrifying. He had to get the joint fused so that he could walk on it and lead a normal life.

Not AFL but remember kid in junior footy splitting open his nut sack on a sprinkler head when diving for a mark, still makes me cringe. Was in the 2nd semi, he got himself stitched up and played in the GF 2 weeks later.

How the injury occured i can't exactly remember, but the noise of the melbourne player's nose breaking (can't remembeber which) in a final against geelong, in which i think was steven king who accidently kicked him. You could hear his nose cracking from about 4 rows into the crowd. Anyone want to inform me on the melbourne player, because for the life of me i can;t remember

Jeff White.

i did my ankle playing indoor cricket, i was batting and down the non stikers end and my mate hit the ball into the side net, i took off but a feilder dove in front of me so i lept over him (running flat out) and landed on the bloody ball, no breaks and no torn ligaments but i was on crutchers for 12 mths, apparantly i ruptured the main artery in my ankle, 15yrs on and its still almost twice the size of my other ankle lol, i know getting kicked in the balls or punched in the kidneys hurts but sprained ankles have their own sort of special pain IMO.

I'd love a Geelong fan to confirm or deny this.

Apparently early in his career, Gary Hocking was walking down the street and some kids were playing kick-to-kick. They asked him to join in.

You know that moment when you are watching the ball, but the ball is drifting sideways towards the edge of the road, and you are 'feeling' for the gutter with your foot - well, Buddha missed it, stood on the gutter and did his ankle - 6 weeks.

also remember brett ratton getting his elbow dislocated in 2001, r22 vs cats (milburn game) in the wet. that was disgusting/painful to look at.

ditto crawford's broken elbow in 2004 vs the crows. makes you realise how dangerous it can be to put only one arm into a pack, no matter if you're rocca or rodan.

surprised there's been no mention of caracella's neck injury - that was a freak clash, and it ended his career, and mucked up our season badly. he'd been playing well in the weeks prior, too.

Trent Henchels was so shocking
also the broken leg of Vossy and Hirdy's face was horrid

as for Freaky or is that freeking - Shaun Rehns' third knee injury was the worst... hopefully the idiot that though it was a good idea to have bounce pads in the center of a footy ground has been shot by now!

Also off the Field Polak's injuries were terrible and I guess you could add Jason McCartney with all the trauma he went through in Bali

I'd love a Geelong fan to confirm or deny this.

Apparently early in his career, Gary Hocking was walking down the street and some kids were playing kick-to-kick. They asked him to join in.

You know that moment when you are watching the ball, but the ball is drifting sideways towards the edge of the road, and you are 'feeling' for the gutter with your foot - well, Buddha missed it, stood on the gutter and did his ankle - 6 weeks.

He was working as a garbo for the extra fitness. He and Paul Couch used to do it. It was in the days when they still had the runners hanging off the back of the trucks. Some kids wanted a kick while he was working and he went over on the gutter.

Robbie Flower I think it was or Gary Lyon broke their finger trying to tackle Andrew Bews when he was at Geelong. The player got their finger caught in the laces on Bews' lace up jumper. They were banned after that.

Freak injuries