Footyboy

Central District
Hi, I know i'm not a docker supporter, but wondering, usually when a club hits 10 years, they show you the team of the decade.

I'm just interested to see, so does anyone know if its been announced yet ?

Dockerland is doing a team of the decade, not sure if the club has a official team of the decade presentation

Thierry Henry said:
I would say you might be able to find 5 decent players that have played for them.

You must rate us pretty highly then? Thats 3 more players than I can find.
Roger Hayden and Jefferey Farmer.

My Dockers team of the decade

Medhurst Modra Farmer
Haselby Mann Waterhouse
Mcmanus Allan M Carr
Pavlich Mcpharlin Kicket
Chisolm Oreilly Parker

Burton Flecture Bell

Simmonds Cook J Longmuir J Norrish

Not the most talented side, but still lots of good memories.

BB gun said:
My Dockers team of the decade

Medhurst Modra Farmer
Haselby Mann Waterhouse
Mcmanus Allan M Carr
Pavlich Mcpharlin Kicket
Chisolm Oreilly Parker

Burton Flecture Bell

Simmonds Cook J Longmuir J Norrish

Not the most talented side, but still lots of good memories.

What about the coach?, its not complete without the coach, also surprised to see Tony Modra there, he was already named in the Crows team of the decade, yet a only put a little bit of service for the dockers...

Footyboy said:
What about the coach?, its not complete without the coach, also surprised to see Tony Modra there, he was already named in the Crows team of the decade, yet a only put a little bit of service for the dockers...

Mod's was the only FF who kicked more than 35 goals for us.

Coach would have to be Gerard. What he did with what he had was quite amazing in retrospect.

Nesham the coach
On Modra he was twice our leading goal kicker, kick 150 goals for the club at a average of 3.2 a game all during a time when fremantle were finishing towards the bottom of the ladder.
Other than K Hunter we haven't had to many other KPP goal kicking forwards

RIPPER_46 said:
Mod's was the only FF who kicked more than 35 goals for us.

Coach would have to be Gerard. What he did with what he had was quite amazing in retrospect.
Neesham?!?! Excuse me while I vomit.

His trading in his second last year to try score a contract extension for himself was disgraceful. We won't mention how the early dockers were so full of Claremont players either.

His game style has resigned Freo to its current standing of a team not to be taken seriously. Neesham is remembered with nostalgic glasses but as an AFL coach he was a joke. Two/three years of absolute pain and crap results in the beginnning and the building of a proper team would have been better than Gerald on his soap box trying to prove what a 'great' coach he was when he won the premiership with the early 90's Claremont WAFL team wearing the imperial purple.

raffrox said:
Neesham?!?! Excuse me while I vomit.

His trading in his second last year to try score a contract extension for himself was disgraceful.

Want to elaborate and name trades?

In his second last year we were one win from the finals. !0 wins, only bettered by any caoch we have had in 2003 (14) and 2004 (11).

When you consider that Melbourne had 5 wins last year , the fact that the worst result Gerard had was 7 I reckon the only bloke that comes close is CC.

It was his third year we were won win away from the finals. All we had to do was beat 16th placed Melbourne at the MCG. Unfortunately, we hardly had a team to put on the field, with pretty much everyone being injured. I cried that day.

RIPPER_46 said:
Want to elaborate and name trades?

In his second last year we were one win from the finals. !0 wins, only bettered by any caoch we have had in 2003 (14) and 2004 (11).

When you consider that Melbourne had 5 wins last year , the fact that the worst result Gerard had was 7 I reckon the only bloke that comes close is CC.

Sure I'll elaborate.

We got pick 2 (or was it 3) in that years draft in the trade for Jeff White. Neesham had just coached us to one win outside the finals. The Freo board gave him a one year contract. Neesham went for instant improvement to try and get Freo into the finals. We were no where near a premiership so trading for experience was only for one reason and that was to save his own butt.

So our draft pick was swapped for Chris Bond and pick 5. Pick 5 was sent to Brisbane for Adrian Fletcher. Somewhere in there we got the pick for Clem Michael as well. The original pick we traded away landed Richmond Brad Ottens and the pick we gave Brisbane landed them Luke Power. Both would be pretty handy now.

Bond had one half good season and was out of his depth as our captain. Fletch was very good for us but only very good for three years. For a team no where near a premiership why make such a ****house trade. Smacks of saving yourself and putting yourself above the team.

Drum was a crap coach but he did draft the kids and didn't trade away our picks.

So that answer your question Ripper?

raffrox said:
Sure I'll elaborate.

We got pick 2 (or was it 3) in that years draft in the trade for Jeff White. Neesham had just coached us to one win outside the finals. The Freo board gave him a one year contract. Neesham went for instant improvement to try and get Freo into the finals. We were no where near a premiership so trading for experience was only for one reason and that was to save his own butt.

So our draft pick was swapped for Chris Bond and pick 5. Pick 5 was sent to Brisbane for Adrian Fletcher. Somewhere in there we got the pick for Clem Michael as well. The original pick we traded away landed Richmond Brad Ottens and the pick we gave Brisbane landed them Luke Power. Both would be pretty handy now.

Bond had one half good season and was out of his depth as our captain. Fletch was very good for us but only very good for three years. For a team no where near a premiership why make such a ****house trade. Smacks of saving yourself and putting yourself above the team.

Drum was a crap coach but he did draft the kids and didn't trade away our picks.

So that answer your question Ripper?

Ottens wanted to go to Richmond and they approached us for the trade. For pick 2 we got Bond + pick 5(Fletcher) + pick 21 (Micheal) .
What did he do at the end of 1999
Delisted Spider Burton , not traded , delisted and in 2000 because we didn't have enough ruckmen filled Clems knee with injections to get him through the season.

What did Drummy do in 2000?

Clement + Sinclair + Holland + Pick 6 (who we could have got Kerr with) + Pick 22 (Hadley) for Peter Bell + Pick 39 (Mcphee)

This "Held onto our picks" is a load of ********. He set us back 4 years.

And if he hadn't got the sack the writing was on the wall for Walker & Woodsie who he refused to play.

RIPPER_46 said:
Ottens wanted to go to Richmond and they approached us for the trade. For pick 2 we got Bond + pick 5(Fletcher) + pick 21 (Micheal) .
What did he do at the end of 1999
Delisted Spider Burton , not traded , delisted and in 2000 because we didn't have enough ruckmen filled Clems knee with injections to get him through the season.

What did Drummy do in 2000?

Clement + Sinclair + Holland + Pick 6 (who we could have got Kerr with) + Pick 22 (Hadley) for Peter Bell + Pick 39 (Mcphee)

This "Held onto our picks" is a load of ********. He set us back 4 years.

And if he hadn't got the sack the writing was on the wall for Walker & Woodsie who he refused to play.

Neesham was a better coach Drummy.... nuff said. We agree.

Who cares if Ottens wanted to go to the moon. We draft him. He plays for us.

Don't tell me you can't see the trades for Fletcher and Bond (both vetrans at the time. Both not likely to play more than 2/3 years) as Neesham trying to save his own butt. Only teams trying to win the premiership in that window of opportunity (i.e. Carey and the Crows is a good example) draft for such a short term goal... unless you are trying to win a couple of extra games in the next few years to keep your job.

Drummy for all his numerous faults did keep all of our three 1st round picks in the year we got Pav, Hase and Brownie. So I'll see your load of ***** and raise you *********** because Neesham and his oh so wacky and zainy coaching style was never, ever, ever, ever going to win respect let alone a premiership. Matt Price couldn't have written his book if Neesham didn't set our course for comic entertainment as opposed to footy.

Drummy did set us back 4 years but Neeshams founding fingerprint on this club was far more damaging IMO.

The freo footy club needed Bell.

The trade for 4 fringe type players (ok, some excelled, so what) and pick 6 was more than worth it. Much in the same vein that Freo needed Croad and Farmer for off field reasons.

But we needed Bell on it. Where was our leadership? We had bit part captains since our existance. I refuse to submit to the belief aquiring Bell, even for all we gave up, set us back 4 years. At the time he was our only premiership experience, was the only one who knew what was needed to get there.

And the insistance of Drum to keep picks 2 4 and 5 has to be applauded where as Neesham probably would have traded them for some fading star.

As a coach, Neesham was better, but for the good of the club, Drum, easily.

Neesham(self first, self last, self always)

Drum (or was it DUMB)

Connolly (Dont hit us too hard!)

You'd be better off picking the Coach from the The Three Stooges! What a sad sorry lot.
Why don't one of you Docker suckers name The Club ****** Ups of the decade? I suspect that would be a far easier task.

What's with all the animosity??

You used to come here and have a few reasonable things to say - in fact for a while I thought you were one of us; now you're just a sad and pathetic troll. You don't even p1ss people off any more - it's gone beyond that - you're just a joke.

Why?? :confused:

ImperialPurple said:
What's with all the animosity??

You used to come here and have a few reasonable things to say - in fact for a while I thought you were one of us; now you're just a sad and pathetic troll. You don't even p1ss people off any more - it's gone beyond that - you're just a joke.

Why?? :confused:
Have you looked at his own club lately? They've hit a brick wall and will start to slide back just like the Weagles did after all their success. So he's just trying to make himself feel better by denegrating others.

YAKUZA said:
Neesham(self first, self last, self always)

Drum (or was it DUMB)

Connolly (Dont hit us too hard!)

You'd be better off picking the Coach from the The Three Stooges! What a sad sorry lot.
Why don't one of you Docker suckers name The Club ****** Ups of the decade? I suspect that would be a far easier task.

And funnily enough, all better than the bible :)