rgauci

DOCKERS
This is a huge game. Fremantle will be wearing the blue and white for the first time in its history. Representing the EAst Freo side of the 70s.

The difference in the 22 taking the field in comparison with the prelimary final:

Presuming IN: Tarrant, Sandilands OUT: Gilmore, Murphy

IN:
Tarrant
Hasleby
Solomon
Grover
Warnock
Thornton

OUT:
Murphy
Longmuir
Cook
Peake
Webster
Crowley

So in essence quite a different team taking the field. I think the big inclusions are Solomon and Hasleby. Around the clearances these two will be invaluable.

Brett Kirk, Adam Goodes and Ryan O'Keefe loom as the danger men.

Matthew Carr should tag Kirk. I think Goodes will play loose from the pack and Matthew Carr's inside work will be put to waste if he played on Goodes.

I'd have a combination of Parker/Thornton/Dodd rotating between Goodes and Ryan O'Keefe depending on where their playing.

McPharlin should take O'Loughlin and if Hall plays Grover should get the job.

It'll be a very tough game. Everitt and Jolly are a powerful rucking combination and i hope Sandilands is fully rested and ready for a big game. I have a good feeling about Warnock pushing forward and creating headaches because the Swans backline isn't particularly tall.

I'm trying so hard to be optimistic... but I'm finding it really difficult. :( I have a bad feeling about this - we just play the SGC so badly, and the Swans will be just as desperate as us - here's hoping the boys can turn their Sydney "hoodoo" (hate that word but can't think of another) around this week...

I hope they have Peake snr and Budgie and a few of the other East Freo premiership champions giving them a rev up before the game. :thumbsu:

Very nervous about this game, not only do we play crap against Sydney at the SCG (well for 4 quarter anyway) but they are under enormous pressure to win, could get ugly for us if we aren't on our game.

I'd have a combination of Parker/Thornton/Dodd rotating between Goodes and Ryan O'Keefe depending on where their playing.

Ok Dodd most likely...

But i would rather keep Thorton or Parker as a spare man in D...

This is because the way that 'Fes' was running on saturday i dont think that i would have him as a tagger on one of the faster guys in the league...

I would put Dodd on Goodes
and Thorton on O'Keefe...

And as Taz is coming bak this week i would try and get the miss matches between him and Pav

With the Wiz and Taz with the defensive pressure will help our shut down of the tempo footy that the Swans Play...

Why would you drop Murphy? Keep him up forward seen as Thornton spent abit of time up there, Murphy can be that 3rd tall and drop Thornton or Parker as i dont think you can run with both in the backline.

A bit out of left field, but what about MJ on Goodes,wherever he lines up, with Mundy back to his role as spare man???

This could be one of the games of the season.

Two pre season premiership favourites going head to head with potentially the season on the line for both.

The winner keeps in touch with the 8 with top 4 still a chance, whilst the loser will have to abandon all hopes of top 4 and will face an uphill battle just to make the 8.

With Pavlich, Tarrant and Farmer in the same side for the first time and Hall doubtful this could be your chance to shine.

Good luck.

This is a massive game - season defining even. If there was ever a time for our boys to stand up and be counted then this game is it. The rematch of last years prelim, Swans on the ropes fighting for the same finals spot as us - if we are ever going to be a force in this competition then this is exactly the sort of game we need to win.

Time to show we aren't going to be pushed around any more. That we've matured. That we aren't soft. To show that we are going to come storming home and be a force in the finals. To send out a warning to the top teams that they don't want to be running into us in September. How better to do it than to put the battle hardened dual grand finalist to the sword on their own turf?

And I think we will.

Murphy is a better 3rd tall than Thornton, but he is nowhere near as defensive as Thornton.

Sydney launch a lot of their attacks from the backline. Having Thornton forward of centre in a defensive role isn't out of the question.

The foundation of Sydney's last two years was no injuries. They've got quite a few injuries now and other players out of form. We're as good a chance as ever.

A bit out of left field, but what about MJ on Goodes,wherever he lines up, with Mundy back to his role as spare man???

should be a good game on the weekend. Sydney showed a little bit on saturday, perhaps a bit of revenge for the finals last year??

From what ive seen i dont think MJ is the best for a tagging role, im not 100% on all ur players but matt carr seems like a player who has a bit of height, a good a tank n good defensive skills.

Just a question here about the fitness of Haze. I think he is a darn good player who knows what to do with the ball, but he looked like he was laboring a bit in his running on Saturday. Can we keep nursing him through or is a week off to get him from 80% fit back to 90% fit needed ?.

Throwing the magnetic board around if he is not 90% - 100% fit, we could swing Pav closer to the middle, and thus keep Spud. Just a thought ....

I think we will go ok. Sydney missing Hall and moreso Kennely will help. They are coming off a tough game in attrocious conditions. We had a confidence lifting game in great conditions. So things over the past two weeks have given us the perfect opportunity to get an away win in Sydney.

Still whether we take it or not is another thing altogether. Whenever we play Sydney in Sydney I am always complaining about their style of game (not football) and the size of their ground and how Oloughlin can anhilate us in seconds when we have to work so hard for each goal. This time though I am just going to accept it. We know what we're in for and its up to us to make it different.

It reminds me of a discussion I had with a teacher after an exam. I said it was hard but easier than I thought it would be. She said I couldn't ask for more than that.

Throwing the magnetic board around if he is not 90% - 100% fit, we could swing Pav closer to the middle, and thus keep Spud. Just a thought ....

I thought that was why we recruited Tarrant, to play Pav on the ball for 20-30% of each game. Very disappointed that it hasn't happened.

I'd be upset if it did happen. Pav is the best forward in the game, leave him there. In the midfield, he is just an average player, in the forward line, he is the best.

Just a question here about the fitness of Haze. I think he is a darn good player who knows what to do with the ball, but he looked like he was laboring a bit in his running on Saturday. Can we keep nursing him through or is a week off to get him from 80% fit back to 90% fit needed ?.

The Hase is basically a week to week proposition from what i've heard. He'll play most weeks but some weeks it won't suit. I reckon he'll make the trip to sydney just because its such an important game.

I will be there in person to support the team as they flog Sydney.

The foundation of Sydney's last two years was no injuries. They've got quite a few injuries now and other players out of form. We're as good a chance as ever.

sorry dockers, but as I said against the swans last week, the cats were never ever going to lose that one, as much as I wanted a red n white win. Its the same here. There is no way in Hell sydney are going to go down at the scg to you blokes, no chance in a million lifetimes. theres plenty on the line for both teams its true, but more so for sydney. They owe their fans BIG TIME and have a bigger reputation to play for. If they were to go down here, they may as well default the season and go on long service leave. It aint gonna happen. BUT is still should be a good game :) Good luck.

Your team OWES your fans BIG TIME do they???:confused:

Well walk a mile in our shoes buddy.

This is crunch time for both teams ....no doubt.

But to say that we have less to play for than you guys is laughable. I could go into detail but the facts are plain for all to see.

Best of luck.

Yep , M.J. has been groomed for this role playing on Aker in Darwin.

I Goodes does not pay him any respect , M.J. will tear them a new one.

Key ins for me are:

Grover - We were caught short in the PF in defense when Macpharlap got concussed.
Tarrant - Will take the heat of Pav .
Hase & Solly for the reasons rgauci mentioned.

Even Nockers would have to add a bit more than Justin could on one leg.

Key ins for me are:

Grover - We were caught short in the PF in defense when Macpharlap got concussed.
Tarrant - Will take the heat of Pav .
Hase & Solly for the reasons rgauci mentioned.

Even Nockers would have to add a bit more than Justin could on one leg.

I really reckon that it is a key match up, and as you say, if Goodes plays wide of him then MJ can become a real focal point as a link through the centre for us.

Sydneys forward line is disfunctional at present and I believe we match them up very well indeed without needing MJ to play spare man.

There is a lot of talk about MJ not manning up well enough....will he make a "real" CHB? etc etc.

Well I don't think that is his position.

He is a Goodes clone IMO and I think he should be given license to roam....just like Goodes.

He has the motor, he has the skill and he has the class to cause Goodes all sorts of problems.

As for Grover....well I reckon that he is the most underated defender in the AFL. If they all played with his endeavour we would not be in the position that we find ourselves in.

Bring on the naysayers.:)

I don't rate Goodes, he'll only have a good game if Sydney win. I think someone like MJ playing on him would be a good move.. i don't think MJ will be that accountable, but Goodes disposal has been shocking this year, and i don't think he'll do any more damage than MJ would running across the half back and delivering the ball to the midfield.

As for Grover....well I reckon that he is the most underated defender in the AFL. If they all played with his endeavour we would not be in the position that we find ourselves in.

Bring on the naysayers.:)

Grover/Hayden are our backbone in defense, and i don't think anyone outside freo rates em.

Belnakor, Good to see that you going over to support the boys. You are an outstanding ambassador for the Purple Army and I am sure you , like the Dockers you will cover yourself in glory. I think the game shapes as being a cracker. I think we can win it. I think there are some giant cracks appearing in the Swannies. I would drop Shane, I am a huge fan ( 236 games in defence for Freo is equal to 500 games at any other club) but he struggled on Saturday. I would drop him for Tazzle and rejig the back line with the existing squad. On what will basically be a game of backyard footy, due the riduculously small size of the SCG, the clearances are critical. So much will depend on Sandi and Warnock
Whoever wins the clearances will win the game.
We have our million dollar foarward line assembled for the first time this season.I think the tactics should as simple as :win the tap
smash it forward towards the goals every time
midfield chases regathers
and kick long into the 50 to forward line, which should be Headcase, Wiz and Murphy with Pav and Tazzle on the half forward line ...sweeeeeeeeet.
BRING IT ON! I
know we will win.