Freo does it again!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

Somehow, and only fremantle could do this, Fremantle lost for the second game in a row by 40+ points, after being in front during the last quarter!!!

How DOES that happen???
7 straight losses, and 10 out of their last 11 now.

Bye bye Damien...not your fault but hey, someones gotta get the blame for inept on field performances

Sigh... so it goes on.

Damn Freo make it hard to support them. The most annoying thing is that they have a lot of talented players in their side.

I went to the Port game on Saturday night and I am still convinced that they are no better than Freo in the talent department. The difference must be all mental. Port are playing with confidence and cohesion where Freo would apart.

Sacking the coach mid-season it not the answer. Stuffed if I know what is.

Who would have guessed that it would be Macca ripping shit into freo??

Macca if you bothered to watch the game, there certianly wasnt 40 points difference in the 2 teams.

I think the are serious problems in the with the fitness of the players.
3 players with over 90 possesion between them do not just get 5 between them in the last quater.

I am at my wits end
WTF is going on
we killed them all over the ground, our midfeidl was superior and out ruckman had a better day.

They had no dangerous forward.
But it all fell apart once again in the last quater.

sabre..freo are the BANE of the competition, theya re a joke, from their colors to their on field performances..they would struggle to win a game in the VFL, let alone the greatest competition in australia..

i dont think anyone rates Fremantle at all.

Bugger off, SS11. If you want to talk about the BANE of the competition you should be looking at the money pits of the AFL like North Melb and Geelong. At least Freo are viable.

Y'know Macca, for a bloke who says he doesn't have it in for Freo you sure post about them alot.....almost as if you take pleasure in their ineptitude.

In Macca's defence I think he is merely reacting to the rattling that Sabre does on this site about Freo which is mostly without foundation and facts

As far as anyone saying Freo and Port have the same talent, you need your head read Blues Brat

There you go again, Jars half-cocked as per.

Port have basically the same side as last year and where were Port this time last year?

Shall I spell it out for you? The problem is mental.. there is plenty of talent in that side.

If they can overcome the confidence issue as Port have done, they are as good as.

There's obviously a problem at Freo.

Poor Damien Drum, no matter what he does, he just can't seem to get them a victory.

Who do you guys reckon should replace Drum??

Personally, i would see if Ron Barassi is intrested. He may be the experience they need to bring Freo back on track.

Blues_brat, fremantle might be in the same position this year as Port was last year but Fremantle has no where near the talent Port does. You have to remember Port made the finals in 99 and then they had that poor season in 2000. On the other hand Fremantle has never made the finals or even looked close to making the final this is on top of them having a 2 year head start on Port and also receiving better consessions when they joined the AFL.

Originally posted by WCE2000
There's obviously a problem at Freo.

Poor Damien Drum, no matter what he does, he just can't seem to get them a victory.

Who do you guys reckon should replace Drum??

Personally, i would see if Ron Barassi is intrested. He may be the experience they need to bring Freo back on track.

Maybe even Tommy Hafey! :D :eek:

How about John Northey????

He coached well with Melbourne and Richmond and getting the best out of some pretty ordinary lists. Mind you, when faced with a talented list like the one he had at Brisbane, he didn't really get the best out of the material he had to work with. Didn't he also have a sniff around the Richmond job when Geishen got the sack?

What I say has foundation.
I really dont want to go over it again, but on happy Freo's team is strong and not that much different from port of last year.

Player stocks wise they are not that far ahead of us if at all.
Once again I get back to the point that the difference is a mental thing.
A poor team does not get in a winning position at 3 quarter time against the top teams in the comp and then loose it in the 4th quater over and over.

And yes I talk freo up for good reason.
We have the youth and the stars.

All we need to to get the mental thing under control and field our full strength side.

Macca does have somthing against freo, when the similarities between the 2 teams are quiet obvious.
And I just want to make it clear, at no stage did I attack port and its macca problem with freo not my problem with port.

Jars your side isnt exactly cruising so you have little to "crow" about.

I actually think they should stick with Drum. I don't think he is as bad as the records say he is. But I'd chase Stan Alves. A very good coach who deserves another chance.

It's all a matter of timing

I do not agree with the practice of replacing coaches mid-term, but if Freo are determined to do this, they should do it this week before they play the Crows, would give them their only hope of beating the Crows in Adelaide.
Besides, I'd laugh my head off if the Crows lost to Freo:D

Originally posted by dees01
But I'd chase Stan Alves. A very good coach who deserves another chance.

I think Freo intimated they want Pagan next year (or as a second choice Wallace, although Pagan is the much preferred target), and that they're prepared to pay BIG (of record proportions) to get him. I wonder what Pagan & the Roos think of all this. In the interim, anything goes.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Who would have guessed that it would be Macca ripping shit into freo??

Macca if you bothered to watch the game, there certianly wasnt 40 points difference in the 2 teams.

I think the are serious problems in the with the fitness of the players.
3 players with over 90 possesion between them do not just get 5 between them in the last quater.

I am at my wits end
WTF is going on
we killed them all over the ground, our midfeidl was superior and out ruckman had a better day.

They had no dangerous forward.
But it all fell apart once again in the last quater.

Freo were playing good footy up until about halfway thru the third quarter. But as ive said before, good sides dont kick 2 goals in a HALF, and let thru 13 after being in a winable position. Its mental...i strongly doubt its the fitness. If it is then you can blame for fitness staff for not putting the pressure on pre season. It was the last half where it went wrong, not the last quarter. 5 goals to 2 in the third quarter.

Sabre - what do you get out of saying 'there wasnt 40 points difference between the two sides'. Fine...there may not of, but thats how it ended up.
Melbourne were without White and Farmer as well...two of the better players inthe competition.

oh well...the charade continues...

Originally posted by Blues_Brat
Sigh... so it goes on.

Damn Freo make it hard to support them. The most annoying thing is that they have a lot of talented players in their side.

I went to the Port game on Saturday night and I am still convinced that they are no better than Freo in the talent department. The difference must be all mental. Port are playing with confidence and cohesion where Freo would apart.

Sacking the coach mid-season it not the answer. Stuffed if I know what is.

The difference is that port have depth. Our lesser players perform week in week out and we dont rely on teh same three players every week. If you took Bell Haselby and Modra out the side, Freo would be hopeless. If you took Dew, Primus and Tredrea out our side, we would still win games, as we have options.
As Port has shown this year, if Tredrea hasnt performed then Cornes has, if Wanganeen has a low one then CCC steps up. If Dew has a downer, then Schofield steps up. If Paxman is having a shocker, then Wakelin steps up (saturday night). That doesnt happen at fremantle...if a few players have off nights, then freo are stuffed

Originally posted by Dave
Y'know Macca, for a bloke who says he doesn't have it in for Freo you sure post about them alot.....almost as if you take pleasure in their ineptitude.

Nope, im just stating how could they lose that game??? same position two weeks in a row...in front during the last quarter, and they lose by 40 points. Has that ever happened twice in a row before?? Doubtful.

Im allwoed to defend my statements. Sabre gave me crap for thinking Port is a better side than fremantle. I dont think you can argue looking at the ladder at this stage.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
What I say has foundation.
I really dont want to go over it again, but on happy Freo's team is strong and not that much different from port of last year.

Player stocks wise they are not that far ahead of us if at all.
Once again I get back to the point that the difference is a mental thing.
A poor team does not get in a winning position at 3 quarter time against the top teams in the comp and then loose it in the 4th quater over and over.

And yes I talk freo up for good reason.
We have the youth and the stars.

All we need to to get the mental thing under control and field our full strength side.

Macca does have somthing against freo, when the similarities between the 2 teams are quiet obvious.
And I just want to make it clear, at no stage did I attack port and its macca problem with freo not my problem with port.

Jars your side isnt exactly cruising so you have little to "crow" about.

Where is the foundation Sabre??
Please remember back a while. Where were Port in 1999 Sabre?? Thats right, we finished 7th, we made the finals with 2 games to spare, we had a fair season. Last year was a disaster. The 1999 side was about 85% similar to the one we have now. Maybe the addition of Wakelin, Poulton and Cornes and thats it really.
Most of our side has been there since 1997 as well. Its all blended into this now. You keep saying Port of last year...what does that have to do with anything?? How bout you rate Freo this year to Port in 1999, when our players were the youngest in the league, Dew was 19, and had a great year, as did Burgoyne, and he was 19 too. If you are gonna compare, compare Port 99 to Freo 2001.

Port has a younger side than Freo does...yet we are 3rd on the ladder.
Freo has shocking depth. If a few of your players go down youve got no experienced backups. Port has depth...If Primus goes down, French will come in...we have lyle and poulton struggling to get a game. Lyle has played many many games, and Poulton was one of our star defenders last year.

Your right, there are plenty of similarities to our sides this year. Our sides are young, Ports being younger...We both have a few star players (Dew, Primus, Bell, Haselby), we both have a young forward line, and a youngish midfield. That is where the comparisons stop.
The differences are plenty as well. Our young players are talented, and have made hte most of their oppurtunities. Our second and third string players boost the side and let the pressure of our 1st string players. Freos 2nd string and 3rd string players dont do anything at all. All the pressure is on about 4 men to win the game for fremantle. Haselbly, Bell, Modra and Waterhouse.
Port can rely on more players to ste up. We dont have a useless gameplan based on short chips. We play direct. We are kicking STRAIGHT for the first time ever.

To say Freo is very similar to Port is saying chalk is like cheese

I think you may have something against Freo Macca, not only do you bag them after every match but you also reply to practically every topic against you seperately!

Vis

What gives Macca?

With Port at number 3 and looking like it will have it's best season yet I would have thought you would be starting posts to brag about them, yet all you do is bag the dockers (not hard to do when they are at the bottom of the ladder).

Start enjoying these times mate! you never know how long it will last (or if you are a dockers fan when it will start!)