Official Club Stuff From the President

• Thread starter Thread starter George

I went to high school with Tommy Lahiff's great nephew.

WTF are you people talking about? Any way I know Tommy Lahiff's name the kids played in the Tommy Lahiff cup which seems to be an inter school footy match.

Old Timmy was a commentator from way back.

His great nephew went to Elwood high.

3AW if I recall correctly.

His dad took us to Prince's park in his hk wagon. Tommy was on air and Craig said he's my great uncle.

The comments about losing our sense of community since the stadiums went to ticketing is spot on. One of my most treasured memories of going to Moorabbin is heading straight to the Animal Enclosure, knowing I was going to catch up with friends, characters whom I didn't know apart from through the footy, and listening to the banter of saints' fans. I even had mates who didn't barrack for the saints who'd turn up, just for the experience and to watch Plugger play. The passion and atmosphere has never been replicated, not even at a packed MCG. Yes, it was old fashioned, rustic and rough. Yes, the toilets and facilities were abominable by today's standards, but there was an undefinable atmosphere of magic about the whole thing.

If we were to get a reserves team, playing in our traditional jumpers at Moorabbin, I reckon they could sell out a crowd of 5,000 plus quite comfortably. In fact the day that finally happens it will be a lockout. I don't know what sort of numbers you'd fit in now if you secured the entire area, but if we build it, they will come.

The comments about losing our sense of community since the stadiums went to ticketing is spot on. One of my most treasured memories of going to Moorabbin is heading straight to the Animal Enclosure, knowing I was going to catch up with friends, characters whom I didn't know apart from through the footy, and listening to the banter of saints' fans. I even had mates who didn't barrack for the saints who'd turn up, just for the experience and to watch Plugger play. The passion and atmosphere has never been replicated, not even at a packed MCG. Yes, it was old fashioned, rustic and rough. Yes, the toilets and facilities were abominable by today's standards, but there was an undefinable atmosphere of magic about the whole thing.

If we were to get a reserves team, playing in our traditional jumpers at Moorabbin, I reckon they could sell out a crowd of 5,000 plus quite comfortably. In fact the day that finally happens it will be a lockout. I don't know what sort of numbers you'd fit in now if you secured the entire area, but if we build it, they will come.

The days of people standing in rain are well and truely over. Moorabbin was great in that era but that era is over. Footy is part sport and now part entertainment do you need good facilities. Time will see but I reckon you will be lucky to get 2 k to a vfl game unless the conditions were 100% perfect. We love the best footy. We don’t love the second best footy. Ammos crowds are so small from years ado and I’m comparing A grade to A grade not A grade to D grade. People are generally soft these days and want the best. People knocking Etihad prove that.

It's really hard when you replace an old guard of commentators. Guys like Denis Cometti just were football growing up, like Sandy Roberts in the old days and Rabs Warren in league. They are iconic and once they go it's really hard to adjust. I hate Brian Taylor doing the Brianisms, they are kind of deliberate and not as natural as Dennis. Ling, Darcy and Richo are awful as hosts too. There couldn't be a duller set up anywhere.
Amen, brother! BT can EAD.

The days of people standing in rain are well and truely over. Moorabbin was great in that era but that era is over. Footy is part sport and now part entertainment do you need good
plugger...you've triggered my memory...… now for a quick trip down memory lane with Moorabbin.

We're going back to the late 80's....I'd say 1988 at a guess...….a game against the Pies...about 25 K at Moorabbin on a chilly overcast Sat arvo.

It started raining in the first 1/4.....and kept raining all afternoon.....one of those days with an unbroken sky.....and the rain just got heavier as the game went on.

Luckily I was standing on the first deck of the social club undercover.

It was a sight to behold looking out at the outer 1/2 way thru the last 1/4....it was basically empty......everyone had gone home.

Unless you had a seat in the main stand(or standing behind the stand) or were in the Social Club.there was no cover from the elements.....you couldn't squeeze 20 K people into the Huggins stand.....lol.

A near empty ground during a game was a bizarre sight indeed.

Arrhhh...those Moorabbin memories.

Would it just be easier for all of us if we just folded.:(
But then what would we all talk about? I don't think the Random Discussion thread can handle that much pressure.

I posted a few weeks back after emergency surgery and said that it might not have been much of a win against Gold Coast but it certainly cheered me up
I thank you all for your messages of support
Unfortunately my meeting with my specialist was not the best and I have been referred to Peter Mac to decide whether further surgery is an option
So my time is now
I can’t afford to check out and come back later when things are better.
I feel cheated that we didn’t win a premiership and have resigned myself to never seeing the Saints win one (unless by some miracle we win this year or next)
I will be cheering them on each and every game that I can for as long as I can
One of my wishes that I expect you to grant me is that when we do win a premiership is that you raise a glass to all of us Saint’s supporters that couldn’t last the distance

I posted a few weeks back after emergency surgery and said that it might not have been much of a win against Gold Coast but it certainly cheered me up
Unfortunately my meeting with my specialist was not the best and I have been referred to Peter Mac to decide whether further surgery is an option
So my time is now
I feel cheated that we didn’t win a premiership and have resigned myself to never seeing the Saints win one (unless by some miracle we win this year or next)
One of my wishes that I expect you to grant me is that when we do win a premiership is that you raise a glass to all of us Saint’s supporters that couldn’t last the distance
Hope they win it for you buddy.

So my time is now

I hope things turn for the better mate! I hope we get as many wins for you as possible.

So my time is now

I really hope we can win for you. Bugger tanking after reading that.

So my time is now
mate when we do grab that second flag i think there will be many a drink had in the memory of the many loyal and dedicated members and fans who couldnt be with us to celebrate ....
i really do hope things turn around for your health

So my time is now

Shit mate, that's terrible news. I think I need to shut the **** up and stop complaining about trivial things on a footy forum. Enjoy your time with loved ones and friends, come on here when you need some support -we have your back.

So my time is now
Good on you mate.

Saddens me that our side can't salute just once in some people's lifetimes.

I remember a doco on the '66 flag and the players tearing up about winning it for the old ladies cheering in the stands. That's how it'll feel the day we win it I'm sure.

Hope things work out for you mate.

So my time is now

All the best for you & your family.

So my time is now
Jesus mate, that's no good to hear. Thinking of you and, to use a footy cliche "take one day at a time" and fight when you need to fight or enjoy family and friends and our beloved team.

So my time is now
Hang tough Rabbit!

The Saints family is with you..

Best wished to you Rabbit58.

Let's all hope you health situation takes a turn for the very very best.

So my time is now

So sorry mate. I hope things can turn for you and you can get some comfort from the saints

Agree 1 million %.

I was a bit younger during that period and so my parents would keep me well away from the animal cage..

I remember that special period in the late 80's when Plugger got going and we started beating sides. My old man started sitting in the outer so that he could give it to the opposition fans who had given it to him earlier on in the decade. Sometimes it got a bit out of hand and in hindsight we would have been safer in the Animal Cage!!

I remember that my favourite player was Wow Jones...My old man was NOT HAPPY that I rated a Carlton reject higher than our own home grown players.

I reckon that a VFL side playing in the old school late 80's style polyester jumpers (with the white collars) would definitely get 10,000 fans plus. We could even get Snow deli to sponsor us again!

Far from being a monetary drag on the club a standalone VFL side playing out of Morabbin could end up being a real cash cow - If it's done right.

For the record I'm a 20 year member ( who always renews rain hail or spoon). I've got my 3 kids on board and they love it.

GO SAINTS.

So my time is now
Good luck brother.
Reality check for all of us.
Never lose hope and celebrate the Saint wins as best you can that's all any of us can do.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

plugger...you've triggered my memory...… now for a quick trip down memory lane with Moorabbin.

We're going back to the late 80's....I'd say 1988 at a guess...….a game against the Pies...about 25 K at Moorabbin on a chilly overcast Sat arvo.

It started raining in the first 1/4.....and kept raining all afternoon.....one of those days with an unbroken sky.....and the rain just got heavier as the game went on.

Luckily I was standing on the first deck of the social club undercover.

It was a sight to behold looking out at the outer 1/2 way thru the last 1/4....it was basically empty......everyone had gone home.

Unless you had a seat in the main stand(or standing behind the stand) or were in the Social Club.there was no cover from the elements.....you couldn't squeeze 20 K people into the Huggins stand.....lol.

A near empty ground during a game was a bizarre sight indeed.

Arrhhh...those Moorabbin memories.
You underestimate the power of the force (Moorabbin). When that first game there happens, the place will be like a black hole. Drawing in all who approach the event horizon. The power of nostalgia will win. I'm not saying we would draw crowds there every game, but the novelty combined with nostalgia will mean the first game back will be an event to remember, especially for us old timers.