Official Club Stuff From the President

• Thread starter Thread starter George

You guys in Perth are like splinter cell that is operating on your own. You guys are like an oasis of normality out west and actually seem to be louder and more passionate than our home crew. It's good to hear that it's a supportive environment. I'm still burnt from dealing with the Melbourne CS. Some of those territorial flogs would scare anyone off. We sat near them and they are openly hostile to people who aren't part of them. Drawza and a few others are loud and passionate and it's not them but some of the old biddies are ferocious.
mate i do hear you ... for years we had the same problem with the cheer squad we were almost blacklisted by them to the point where we had one game in Perth where the cheer squad grabbed eagles supporters to hold our banner up rather then ask our member here to help them ... but that was the past and now i can tell you the leaders of the cheersquad are very welcoming... theres a younger demographic in the mix and a lot of the old bickering stuff is no longer there ...
if you are willing to give it another shot i would be more than happy to act as a conduit to let my friend in the squad know your coming to give it a try .. and im sure they would welcome you with open arms ...

The thing missed by the dogmatic loyalists here, is the pragmatic reality of the situation. It doesn't matter whether it's WRONG to leave by your morality. It's that it's going to cost the club in the end. Trying to guilt the dissatisfied back will rarely work. Results will. You can moan and groan all you like about that, but that doesn't translate into cash.

To those who say, well, the club doesn't need us, given the record numbers. Many new members came on based upon promises of immanent success. That was the whole message of the summer's marketing. If they just jumped on, they can just as easily jump off. They have a strong incentive to do so, given our performance. Do you really think newbies will stick around because of Summers' email? The fact he had to do it at all is the reason, I suspect, they won't.

Haven’t read anyone say the club doesn’t need you or anyone else that leaves. It needs everyone and more. Vds has a good point. People have a right to stop supporting. Everyone has that right but it is those that demand change or they will leave that are not right. No one should demand that. When you sign on there is no guarantees. Your arm isn’t twisted. All you expect is the club is trying and I believe they are. Look at our new facilities for a start. A woman’s side as well. Moving back to the heartland. Obviously struggling on the field but that can happen. They are still trying. If anyone joined a club that has won one flag in 150 years and expected success then I reckon they are crazy. When I joined I hoped for success. Nearly had it and will hopefully have it one day.

there's a really interesting point you've raised here VDS. i think many supporters that went through the pre-waverley era's would have come through a completely different football supporter culture. where people followed their local club and had a social outlet where they met people from a similar era. less seating restrictions etc.
where as i think the generations coming through since waverley are part of the football franchise type culture. its becoming more and more common for supporters to follow a club outside their "zone" for lack of a better term, hell even state. they may not even socialise or meet people through the club, but attend games with existing friends or family. its not like they can sit next to randoms etc with how ticket allocation works now.

its a damn shame because i think what we are experiencing now is a symptom of modern society where the community aspects have been lost to certain degree. what you described is a fantastic thing and its a damn shame kids coming through aren't going to experience that to the degree you and others did. which means the results, standard sucks you don't have the social aspects to fall back onto. which for teens to young adults is probably more important than the actual supporting your club/watching the game.
Yes because people used to get belted going to the footy. Punch ups galore.

Haven’t read anyone say the club doesn’t need you or anyone else that leaves. It needs everyone and more. Vds has a good point. People have a right to stop supporting. Everyone has that right but it is those that demand change or they will leave that are not right. No one should demand that. When you sign on there is no guarantees. Your arm isn’t twisted. All you expect is the club is trying and I believe they are. Look at our new facilities for a start. A woman’s side as well. Moving back to the heartland. Obviously struggling on the field but that can happen. They are still trying. If anyone joined a club that has won one flag in 150 years and expected success then I reckon they are crazy. When I joined I hoped for success. Nearly had it and will hopefully have it one day.

when we win a 2nd flag p66, i'll gladly concede you were right on EVERYTHING

No one knows what will happen, why don't we all just stay united.
Agreed there Sab22....let's just see how the rest of the season pans out.

We can start throwing grenades at season's end if things have shown no sign of improvement.

Until then...let's stick fat.

All of this is correct. Can't demand anything. It is football. But if a person is disillusioned with the team and AFL in general, there is only one thing they can control.

I haven't been a member or been to a Canterbury game in 30 years. Doesn't mean I don't still support them. Just not as much.
I fear I may go down that path with the Saints.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

All of this is correct. Can't demand anything. It is football. But if a person is disillusioned with the team and AFL in general, there is only one thing they can control.

I haven't been a member or been to a Canterbury game in 30 years. Doesn't mean I don't still support them. Just not as much.
I fear I may go down that path with the Saints.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I would call you a barracker of Canterbury. I think a supporter either goes or supports through membership.

It's really hard when you replace an old guard of commentators. Guys like Denis Cometti just were football growing up, like Sandy Roberts in the old days and Rabs Warren in league. They are iconic and once they go it's really hard to adjust. I hate Brian Taylor doing the Brianisms, they are kind of deliberate and not as natural as Dennis. Ling, Darcy and Richo are awful as hosts too. There couldn't be a duller set up anywhere.
I love your posts.
You are an old man and now sound exactly like me.
Except:
I miss Captain Blood, the Major, Harry Beitzel, Mike Williamson, Butch Gale, Tony Ongarello, Lou Richards, Tony Charlton.
They were replaced by the young ‘uns like Sandy Roberts, Bruce McAveney, and the Dennis.
This next generation continues the downhill trend.
Bah. Humbug!

I love your posts.
You are an old man and now sound exactly like me.
Except:
I miss Captain Blood, the Major, Harry Beitzel, Mike Williamson, Butch Gale, Tony Ongarello, Lou Richards, Tony Charlton.
They were replaced by the young ‘uns like Sandy Roberts, Bruce McAveney, and the Dennis.
This next generation continues the downhill trend.
Bah. Humbug!

Peter Landy says hi!

Harry you there!

Can you hear me Harry?

Ian Cleeland should not be forgotten also. One angry angry old man.
Didn’t Clelo end up ripping people off?
I know his family was into dairy products in a big way.
Or am I confusing him with Harry “I thought it was my money” Beitzel?

sunny....you forgot Tommy Layiff…."can you hear me Harry? "

EDIT....just saw above that I'd been "Tommy Layiffed"....lol.

You bring back a lot of memories with those names you listed.

And speaking of memories....saw on the news the other night the winner of the best pie in Victoria....an Asian piemaker from Kyneton…..he won half of the categories.

They showed the old Four n Twenty ad of all the footy legends of the time singing the 4 n 20 song when in one of the old Tramways buses.

Lou...Royce Hart...EJ....Kevin Murray and I think John Nicholls(when he wasn't pinching rental cars)

I nearly fell off the couch....don't think I have seen that ad since I was....a young tacker...lol.

Sounds like your suffering from a bout of your own name!.....:rolleyes:

Remember being up in the stands, when the Carmen headbutt went down, within earshot of Cleeland and Geoff Leek were calling.
Both ex essendon people and they were most unimpressed by ol fabulous's actions that day.
Not to mention the constant feral ribbing they were getting from the Stkilda faithful lol.....