List Mgmt. Fyfe - Signed until 2023!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Allikat

Kozi said that Fyfe would be St Kilda's next captain; that was followed up by Nathan Burke saying Saints were building a war chest to buy Fyfe.
Oh yes I forgot all that stuff...

On another note, I was heartened when Steven Trigg said he thought Fyfe would stay at Freo. Especially since they'd be right into him.

Don't discount his sponsorship with Adidas.

Patrick Dangerfield, yeah he took a pay cut to play for Geelong; however he was more than compensated by Nike who were keen to have their main guy, within the AFL, in Melbourne.

Ideal world, his management come out and say early in the year that they have commenced negotiations, the actual signing doesn't have to come until a bit later.

I recon the F7 brand he is building will be a waste of time if he racks off to Carton or Saints. Think of the hat sales Nat...

That brand is a cringeworthy, stupid idea. I like Fyfey but jesus, his high value videos giving off ghetto handshakes with blokes on Muscle Beach while driving helicopters across Miami or something is just shocking. The bloke needs to be told he plays a provincial sport in bloody Perth! The guy isn't unveiling a huge Nike investment while banging Miranda Kerr and a goal a game for Manchester United.

Firstly it is so unoriginal. 'F7' is meaningless. Every soccer player has tried trademarking that – Becks and DB7, R10 for Ronaldinho, Cristiano Ronaldo did the CR7. It ends up sounding like a car but for the most part it makes almost no sense – there isn't the ubiquity there is in soccer, where the market is massive and you can produce an entire line of clothing because the notion of hating Barca or Real Madrid is becoming less common and nuanced. Soccer is like the NBA now where people follow players and have their eyes on a few teams... Aussie Rules is not at that stage. And it will also never be in the stage where Fyfey has his own line of signature boots like Leo Messi does and like the next big thing in soccer will, or like LeBron James does, or Tiger Woods did...

Here branding is about doing ads for building companies, and if you're lucky enough, you might be in a few ads in the local region for Adidas or Nike but even then Ronaldo, Pogba, Rooney, Bale, Federer, Nadal, Sharapova, LeBron James are the ones who most of the posters will be of. There's nothing wrong with selling septic tanks or doing talks for an iron ore company about motivation and productivity or some total wank. Totally different thing.

Though tbh I think it'd be smarter to stay in WA for that sort of stuff: every single company would love riding off the local, country boy thing, and he's not like Dangerfield or Pendlebury – he's believable if he wants to flog Hard Yakka or CAT or building supplies, but he speaks well enough he can do the more white collar shit too. I feel like that sort of edge may be lost a little in Victoria.

But then again marketers generally aren't as smart as you think so it might all be lost on them.

Don't discount his sponsorship with Adidas.

Patrick Dangerfield, yeah he took a pay cut to play for Geelong; however he was more than compensated by Nike who were keen to have their main guy, within the AFL, in Melbourne.

Ideal world, his management come out and say early in the year that they have commenced negotiations, the actual signing doesn't have to come until a bit later.
If Nike really cared that much about what AFL footballers can do to their bottom line, they'd sponsor more teams than just Carlton. Also, how often have you ever seen a massive billboard for one of these companies with Gary Ablett or Buddy on it? I don't think I ever have and I live in Melbourne which is apparently the epicentre for this promo. The only time I've ever seen a footballer's mug on a big sign was actually Pav for an insurance or stockbroking company. That sort of stuff has more value for a company.

A kid walking down Bourke Street, Hay Street, Rundle, Pitt Street is going to be sucked in by a black and white stoic picture of an international athlete who plays for a massive club, or who wins shit for win and is as known in their home country as they are in Mozambique or Budapest or Osaka or Esperance.

Do you actually have information for this? I'm not being snarky at all, just genuinely curious because AFAIK not that many AFL players have a boot deal that equates to more than a $1000 voucher and a year's worth of boots (which is probably three pairs sent two or three times a year) (which are generally picked by the company to highlight a new line – not by the player).

You'd be surprised how low key Nike and shit are in Australia. They're generally managed almost independently – they get told what to do via emails and pressers, and it's not that different to a manager at Retravision being told what to do by the regional manager. Nike don't go commission their own ads here really and generally have a budget they can use to sign teams or players, but beyond that there is little attention paid by the people who make the choices to sponsor the entire NFL or Chelsea for $50 million a year.

I wouldn't say marketers arent smart - I would say that consumers aren't.

Even if you look at the new (old) concept of authentic storytelling in marketing - all marketers are doing is painting a picture that is relatable enough to consumers that they put themselves in the story. Yet the story is still idealised, and creating a reality rather than representing one.

The world is constantly getting dumber

Do you actually have information for this? I'm not being snarky at all, just genuinely curious because AFAIK not that many AFL players have a boot deal that equates to more than a $1000 voucher and a year's worth of boots (which is probably three pairs sent two or three times a year) (which are generally picked by the company to highlight a new line – not by the player).

I understand that the finance involved from adidas is certainly nothing to be sneezed at. He's bigger than you might believe to their brand in Australia- he was in an advertisement with Gareth Bale around the time of the Euros remember.

Yes Danger might not be a the biggest name for Nike but his sponsorship would have subsidised his salary.

My concern is certainly these external factors are going to play into the decision for Fyfe.

Is there proof of this Nike paying Dangerfield more money to go to Geelong? Geelong is not in Melbourne – he isn't playing for Carlton.

I would be surprised if Fyfe was making more than $200,000 a year from Adidas. He was in an ad with Gareth Bale but it was editable and quite clearly only for the Aussie market... would've cost Adidas nothing to make but it wasn't advertised on tele or anything, was it?

Well the proof is through the people in the industry- it's not going to be divulged on a footy forum.

All I can say is fyfe is a big deal to Adidas' brand in Australia.

And that was back in 2014 before his brownlow.

Kozi said that Fyfe would be St Kilda's next captain; that was followed up by Nathan Burke saying Saints were building a war chest to buy Fyfe.
At the end of the year it is likely Dawson, Johno, Igbo, Suban perhaps Ballaz will likely not be on our list. Considering we could also choose to not offer Sandy and Mundy a lot of money if there was even a chance Fyfe would leave, then I can't see how we would couldn't easily be able to match any war chest efforts to get Fyfe. Our salary cap seems in very good condition after the recent retirements in the last two years of two club greats and our inability to sign a massive free agent. It would also have to help that we signed McCarthy for a deal that was significantly lower than the rumoured 700k deal we originally offered. Considering Fyfe also has WA girlfriend and loves returning to his parent farm I can't see even a 1% chance he would leave unless our club looked like it was imploding from within.

Yeah.

How is telling me how much money Dangerfield gets from Nike really betraying massive trust? It's not like the seven people who knew about the Buddy deal, and you coming online and spilling the beans. Or like, you know, the rumours we all know about people that are defamatory.

I just don't believe anyone in Australia, unless we're discussing peak Harry Kewell or Lleyton Hewitt, are making more than about $300,000 a year.

Just saw Fyfe having dinner with Alex Pearce and Griffin Logue. He's absolutely huge as is AP. Logue will have a similar frame in a couple of years time I'm sure. I personally think he will stay and be a one club player, also I doubt someone planning on leaving the club would be having dinner and spending time with first year players, unless he is recruiting Logue and AP with the massive "war chest" on offer haha

That brand is a cringeworthy, stupid idea. I like Fyfey but jesus, his high value videos giving off ghetto handshakes with blokes on Muscle Beach while driving helicopters across Miami or something is just shocking. The bloke needs to be told he plays a provincial sport in bloody Perth! The guy isn't unveiling a huge Nike investment while banging Miranda Kerr and a goal a game for Manchester United.

Firstly it is so unoriginal. 'F7' is meaningless. Every soccer player has tried trademarking that – Becks and DB7, R10 for Ronaldinho, Cristiano Ronaldo did the CR7. It ends up sounding like a car but for the most part it makes almost no sense – there isn't the ubiquity there is in soccer, where the market is massive and you can produce an entire line of clothing because the notion of hating Barca or Real Madrid is becoming less common and nuanced. Soccer is like the NBA now where people follow players and have their eyes on a few teams... Aussie Rules is not at that stage. And it will also never be in the stage where Fyfey has his own line of signature boots like Leo Messi does and like the next big thing in soccer will, or like LeBron James does, or Tiger Woods did...

Here branding is about doing ads for building companies, and if you're lucky enough, you might be in a few ads in the local region for Adidas or Nike but even then Ronaldo, Pogba, Rooney, Bale, Federer, Nadal, Sharapova, LeBron James are the ones who most of the posters will be of. There's nothing wrong with selling septic tanks or doing talks for an iron ore company about motivation and productivity or some total wank. Totally different thing.

Though tbh I think it'd be smarter to stay in WA for that sort of stuff: every single company would love riding off the local, country boy thing, and he's not like Dangerfield or Pendlebury – he's believable if he wants to flog Hard Yakka or CAT or building supplies, but he speaks well enough he can do the more white collar shit too. I feel like that sort of edge may be lost a little in Victoria.

But then again marketers generally aren't as smart as you think so it might all be lost on them.
Tall poppy much? You couldn't sound more jealous. Good on him. What have you done?

wtf are you talking about? I'm saying a guy I like comes across as a total w***er when he puts out corny videos. It's true. Watch one of those and don't cringe a bit... giving his convoluted rap-gang handshakes to random black guys on a beach?

Also tall poppy syndrome does not exist. It's something used by people who let the ABC tell them what Australia is. Australia is like any other country and loves talking up petulant turds if they're successful... look at the myriad Aussie cricketers who are insufferably entitled little private schoolers, who whinge and complain and are bad winners and worse losers, and nobody pulls them up: they're still celebrated.

But that it's okay to accuse teams of cheating when you lose, to get in punch-ups with your teammates, and to be a yappy, mouthy campaigner? Did anyone on this board ever actually play a team sport?

wtf are you talking about? I'm saying a guy I like comes across as a total ****** when he puts out corny videos. It's true. Watch one of those and don't cringe a bit... giving his convoluted rap-gang handshakes to random black guys on a beach?

Also tall poppy syndrome does not exist. It's something used by people who let the ABC tell them what Australia is. Australia is like any other country and loves talking up petulant turds if they're successful... look at the myriad Aussie cricketers who are insufferably entitled little private schoolers, who whinge and complain and are bad winners and worse losers, and nobody pulls them up: they're still celebrated.
Everyone has a price and at a certain price, there's not a lot of things you or I wouldn't do. What you think comes across as corny, he and his manager/marketing team think it reaches their target market (children and teenagers) who will be the ones they hope will be spending their $ on his merch. Good on him I say, making the most money he can in the short amount of time he has as a professional athlete.

But that it's okay to accuse teams of cheating when you lose, to get in punch-ups with your teammates, and to be a yappy, mouthy campaigner? Did anyone on this board ever actually play a team sport?
Of course it's ok. The only people who should be forced not to mislead or misinform are those implying they are medical professionals.

Everyone else gets to have their opinion, everyone else gets to decide if that opinion is valid.

If there is a problem, it is in educating children to be more discerning with public figure comments.

Everything comes around to those who deserve it. That's in a bad way, not an Oprah way.

Seriously please stop talking in obtuse, psuedo-hippy terms that express basically nothing. How is being a little campaigner somehow decent? I know you have an unflinching love for sports people like they're gods, but honestly... you're turning Michael Clarke being a little campaigner into some sort of philosophical quandary.