Game fixing in the AFL?

Tough sport to fix from an umpiring POV. A lot of people not familiar with Occam's and Hanlon's razors.

Laughable that people believe in umpiring conspiracies. 9 games per week across multiple cities with each game involving multiple field umpires, boundary umpires and field umpires and people honestly believe there is some devious plan concocted at AFL house to benefit WC and WB.

Matt Stevic has fixed multiple Hawthorn finals in their favour.
Stevic has umpired 9 Hawthorn Finals.

Hawthorn are 4-5 in those games

And not sure there was overwhleming pro-Hawthorn pias in the 2014/15 pf/gf

Heck, Port Adelaide had nearly 20% more frees than Hawthorn in the 2014 pf.

Going to say it here, but I reckon with the advent of more betting companies getting marketing especially at AFL games and tv screens, betting is part of the psyche of games.

Wherever there is money involved, anything can happen. One thing I am noticing now with the advent of 'disposal betting' and the criticism Mitch Robinson and his reply on social media, indicates that players may be under the pressure to perform for stats and numbers to keep fans and punters happy. I personally think the AFL need to be really careful, especially with the amount of money bet on matches on these so-called novelty markets such as : handballs, kicks, disposals . I think the game is in dangerous territory when a fan/punter says "_________ didn't get his 15 disposals/possies", when we should talking about, whether a team should have won or lost.

Just a bit of food for thought.

AFL can't help themselves, happy to take gambling money and have sponsored content from betting agencies on its official website.

I suspect the AFL "investigates" so that if somebody else investigates, and something untoward did happen, they can release the results of their investigation showing all was above board.
An offending umpire might slowly start getting less games over time, and gradually removed from the system in a way that does not draw more attention. People would start asking awkward questions if a senior umpire was dumped never to be seen again; the exit would be carefully stage managed.
You will notice Pannell does not officiate games anymore.

Of course the most amusing thing is that you can pick literally any game and both sets of supporters will swear on their life the umps are deadset favouring the oppo.

But also, Razor Ray is the biggest fixer in the business without being a fixer of results. He just pulls random shit out to get on camera.

You can always rely on Panell and Nicholls to take a side.

Don't let the Westies start on Margetts.

Eleni is probably the dark horse here, by virtue of not knowing the actual rules she is able to pay free kicks in any situation to anyone.

Of course the most amusing thing is that you can pick literally any game and both sets of supporters will swear on their life the umps are deadset favouring the oppo.

But also, Razor Ray is the biggest fixer in the business without being a fixer of results. He just pulls random sh*t out to get on camera.

You can always rely on Panell and Nicholls to take a side.

Don't let the Westies start on Margetts.

Eleni is probably the dark horse here, by virtue of not knowing the actual rules she is able to pay free kicks in any situation to anyone.

watched a heap of games as a neutral. It only takes 1-2 decisions to completely swing a match in favour of another team in the heat of the moment. Hate to say this but in order to eliminate such mistakes, its time to bring in VAR or video technology give each team 1 review for critical decisions like they do now in : Basketball (NBA), cricket, tennis, soccer, rugby league, union. Don't want games being influenced badly.

As a couple of jocks on macquarie sport said the other day, it's sad Australia has to compete against corruption in other countries.

It can and never would happen here, in the land of the egal and the fair-go, of mateship and getting behind your man, of the yeah-nah and the dunno.
Superb post to avatar correlation there.

Has anyone ever wondered how NBA refs can make a delicate decision and blow the whistle within a split second? This is why I stopped following the NBA!

Thank goodness these NBA playoffs have allowed 1 video review per team. Usually teams use the review late in the game. You would be surprised at the number of times the umpires decision has had to be overturned.

Tough sport to fix from an umpiring POV. A lot of people not familiar with Occam's and Hanlon's razors.

Laughable that people believe in umpiring conspiracies. 9 games per week across multiple cities with each game involving multiple field umpires, boundary umpires and field umpires and people honestly believe there is some devious plan concocted at AFL house to benefit WC and WB.
Not necessarily concocted by the AFL, an individual alone could certainly have a vested interested in a team getting up, Dean Margetts for example.

Whilst its difficult to manipulate a sport as part of a team, I don't believe its impossible to affect the amount of disposals or possessions you can get , or faster/slowen the tempo of a particular game, which has an affect on an outcome.

AFL can't help themselves, happy to take gambling money and have sponsored content from betting agencies on its official website.

That's a dark path indeed. As corrupt as the NFL is (I worked there and know where a few bodies are buried), the last line in the sand was any association with gambling. Strictly forbidden for anyone involved with the league in any capacity to be involved with it as they know where it leads. As an employee you can't go in to a Sportsbook in a casino in Vegas and need permission from the top to set foot in the building even for conferences.

i personally don't understand how someone say aged 30 and up can blindly buy into the idea that there is zero corruption in professional sporting entertainment leagues like this one but hey we're all different

Laughable that people believe in umpiring conspiracies. 9 games per week across multiple cities with each game involving multiple field umpires, boundary umpires and field umpires

that doesn't sound difficult to me at all.

umpires give calls and momentum during games based entirely on what AFL house dictates. they all read out of the same handbook and have the same tactics for covering up their cheating under the guise of "UMPIRES INTERPRETATION".

it's actually all so painfully simple.

As a couple of jocks on macquarie sport said the other day, it's sad Australia has to compete against corruption in other countries.

It can and never would happen here, in the land of the egal and the fair-go, of mateship and getting behind your man, of the yeah-nah and the dunno.
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled, eh?

Arbitrarily moving the mark for Newnes recent after-siren kick 15 m closer to goal probably the most likely umpiring fix I can remember.

Otherwise maybe that Hawks vs Saints game back in 2014? where even the commentators broke taboo and basically said the Saints were robbed blind by umps.

Come on guys, it's a clean sport, too difficult to fix, and all of the players and coaches and umpires involved are genuine and passionate about doing their best.

Also when I left my baby teeth under my pillow a fairy gave me money for them.
Now there's a corrupt practice if I've ever seen one... fairies giving you money? Seriously are you that gullible?

Everyone knows they use PayPal.

Don't forget the Jaidyn Stephenson case a while back as well.

Don't believe its difficult to get a mate of yours (assuming you play AFL), to do something dodgy while playing footy.

I'll stick by that mantra.

Game fixing in the AFL?