Garry Ablett Come Back?

man of all mans

Heard he was training with the VFL side i know its a ruff chance but do u think he will put on the cats gurnsey again? hope so

I hope not. but it's good to see him down at the club giving a hand and perhaps acting as an inspiration to our up and comers. Having him down at the club can only be morale-boosting for the team as a whole.

It'd be very worrying to see him pull on the jersey, though!

Heard he was training with the VFL side i know its a ruff chance but do u think he will put on the cats gurnsey again? hope so
Are you being serious (about him playing again)? He's got about as much chance of playing with the Cats again as I have.

It is great to see him getting back - would be unbelieveable, especially for the young blokes to have him around.

I heard that Ablett heard that there was a spot at Geelong for a full forward now that Kingsley had gone... Either that or he wanted to come and put T.Hawkins back in his place. Show him how a real man walks on water.

*I gotta say Geelong wouldn't be where they are today without him, 50% of the Cats supporters would have bandwagoned in his era, my familys some of them.
*His life has been in the crapper since retiring and all I have heard from the Media(especially the Melbourne media)"Is the disgraced former cat player", where's the goddamn respect he deserved/deserves.
*Whilst speaking of the media they wont even hold his name up with Carey or Matthews when we know he was just as good If not the best.

just imagine if he played a couple of VFL games, the crowd would be massive, and would be great for somebody like Tommy Hawk playing at full foward for a couple of games at the VFL and look over to see Gaz in the pocket.

Hope not. Do we all remember what happened to Tony Lockett when he made his comeback? I believe more jokes were made on 'The Footy Show' than goals he kicked in his whole career!

Rumor has it he is in training for a veterans match to be held at Geelong in the future

Hope so, that would be great. I've always wondered why he hasn't played in the EJ Legends game.

Hope not. Do we all remember what happened to Tony Lockett when he made his comeback? I believe more jokes were made on 'The Footy Show' than goals he kicked in his whole career!

Hope so, that would be great. I've always wondered why he hasn't played in the EJ Legends game.
I reckon they would secretly pay him big bucks to play in that game, young fans would tune in to have a look an icon.

Giving Stevie J some tips possibly?

As long as its footy tips. SJ already knows how to F up Big time.

It was a Training run FFS. Isnt he allowed to have a jog. It would give the kids at VFL level a huge scare to see the great man up your end playing kick to kick.

I think people need to move on, seriously....he is 40-odd years old, was a great player, but do we need to start a thread everytime he is seen in public? And as for a comeback....ridiculous even bringing it up...

Ablett comeback? Well, if ever a 45 year old could make a comeback after a decade out of the game and not humiliate himself it'd be G. Ablett snr. But I doubt it'll happen and I hope it doesn't. I think he's just come down to see his sons.

Helping out at training is good of him though, and who knows? Maybe he'll pull on the guernsey for an intra-club practice match or two.

Apparently the new Rocky film inspired him to make a comback :D. I'll definately make sure I go down and see him play.

Put Gary Jnr on ball, Nathan at full-forward and just let GOD roam free around the goal square. He'd still kick 5 goals a game and 100 for the season.

:eek: Can you imagine the crowds!? hahaha great call mate!
That'd be disturbing.

I mean Seabiscuit didn't make that many comebacks. Or KISS. Or The Beatles.

I mean sure, if there's an old fogeys match coming up. But if dear ol' God thinks he can keeps up with his widdle SOGs he's got another thing coming. And besides if he did join in, and stuffed up big time, Gazza and Nazza would be copping the flak from the media for coming from such an embarassing father.

But i say, all for the old fogeys match. Someone call up some of the retirees and put a side together.

That'd be disturbing.

I mean Seabiscuit didn't make that many comebacks. Or KISS. Or The Beatles.

I mean sure, if there's an old fogeys match coming up. But if dear ol' God thinks he can keeps up with his widdle SOGs he's got another thing coming. And besides if he did join in, and stuffed up big time, Gazza and Nazza would be copping the flak from the media for coming from such an embarassing father.

But i say, all for the old fogeys match. Someone call up some of the retirees and put a side together.

I'd love to see an 'old fogey's' SOO game. Would be a lot more interesting than any current SOO fixture, the players would love to do it, and the clubs wouldn't have any need to stop them from playing...