Gary Ayres on White Line Fever (FFC)

• Thread starter Thread starter tribey

One of the main topics of conversation tonight was Ayres' legacy at the Adelaide Football Club, sparked mainly by Gary's article earlier in the week citing his work in bringing through the youngsters that are now doing the business under Craig, and the continual below-par form of Andrew McLeod in the latter half of Ayres' reign, which Gary attributed to the breakdown of McLeod's marriage.

Gary spoke well, saying that he doesn't have a problem with Andrew and vice-versa, that the whole thing was one big beatup (especially Andrew's ex-wife's article saying that Gary had singled him out), while stating that the man is a champion, and someone who yes he probably asked more of, but no more than Adelaide's other gun players such as Ricciuto and Goodwin.

The only downside for me was when Gary lumped in "Mick Doherty" with "your Skipworths, your Hentschels, your Mattners, your Ruttens, your Reillys". ;)

Did anyone else see it? Thoughts?

dyertribe said:
One of the main topics of conversation tonight was Ayres' legacy at the Adelaide Football Club, sparked mainly by Gary's article earlier in the week citing his work in bringing through the youngsters that are now doing the business under Craig, and the continual below-par form of Andrew McLeod in the latter half of Ayres' reign, which Gary attributed to the breakdown of McLeod's marriage.

Gary spoke well, saying that he doesn't have a problem with Andrew and vice-versa, that the whole thing was one big beatup (especially Andrew's ex-wife's article saying that Gary had singled him out), while stating that the man is a champion, and someone who yes he probably asked more of, but no more than Adelaide's other gun players such as Ricciuto and Goodwin.

The only downside for me was when Gary lumped in "Mick Doherty" with "your Skipworths, your Hentschels, your Mattners, your Ruttens, your Reillys". ;)

Did anyone else see it? Thoughts?

I thought of you straight away DT when Adolf Ayres mentioned young Mick Doughty!! :D

I guess it was all part of the process DT!!

He's becoming a bit of a tosser IMO as he apppears to be using his Friday night segment to promote the availability of Gary Ayres, super coach, as being available for some lucky club. He definitely wants to coach again at AFL level and pointed out that he was only 44 with 11 years of good AFL coaching behind him.

His ego astounds me quite frankly, and I thought that once again he was undeservedly trying to take credit for the. current form of our young players. He struggles to see the difference between playing a youngster and having him petrified of making an error, as against playing and developing the young player at the same time through positive re-inforcement.

He's a droning drawling egotisitical bore.

Macca,

I think you're being a bit harsh. Ayres has an ego, and an undeniable right to be proud of his achievements. f*** he was a great player, and his coaching record is pretty good. You put a microphone in front people, and they will say stupid things, and lead some to suggest that they don't know their @rse from their elbow. witness Robert Walls.

IMO Ayres has every right to be proud of record here, yeah the message got a bit stale, but sometimes that's just the way it is. look at Mick Malthouse, one of the seminal coaches of his era, and now some idiots are suggesting that he is a rubbish coach (witness some threads over on Port + main board). Time moves on, and some coaches have to follow.

With some luck, and I think luck was probably required, but ole Adolph could be a triple premiership winning coach (1995/1997/2002). Now of course if the dog didn't stop to sh*t he would have caught the rabbit, not saying otherwise. But for me, he was a super player, and bloody good coach if you need someone to stop the rot and get back to basics. he has plenty of walk to back up the talk.

I will never bag Ayres the player or Ayres as a coach..what I will bag is his insistence that topping up a list with mid range players is preferable than introducing new blood.

He will coach Sydney next year..( see my coaches thread on the main page ;) )

macca23 said:
His ego astounds me quite frankly, and I thought that once again he was undeservedly trying to take credit for the. current form of our young players. He struggles to see the difference between playing a youngster and having him petrified of making an error, as against playing and developing the young player at the same time through positive re-inforcement.

I'm with you Macca - can't see he is doing his future chances any good by his comments and your thoughts above are IMO spot on

Crow-mosone said:
But for me, he was a super player, and bloody good coach if you need someone to stop the rot and get back to basics. he has plenty of walk to back up the talk.
Correct and he will get any team competitive on the field, but today as much as ever clubs are rightly or wrongly impacted by perception.

Perhaps its the preception of some club members who may not support the appointment of a particular coach - and most clubs are sensitive to anything that may affect memberships.

Isn't that what happened with Sydney and Paul Roos ? - I suspect Ayres with his public persona, despite his actual coaching record, would not be seen as ideal coaching material.

Why? public perception - gee Eade was on the outer for two years and overlooked after the perception created by his fallout with Sydney - did that affect his coaching ability - no1! - but he was damaged goods.

I suspect Ayres by his media exposure (which IMO is not good) and comments will also be perceived as damaged goods. ;)

Crow-mosone said:
But for me, he was a super player, and bloody good coach if you need someone to stop the rot and get back to basics. he has plenty of walk to back up the talk.
I have to agree with that part. Ayres was just the coach we needed when he first started. We had lost our way during 1999 and he turned us back into a hard competitive unit - just the way he played his footy. Unfortunately Ayres never changed his tune or game plan - other good coaches knew how to exploit it, and some of the players got sick of it.

From the outside it's difficult to assess exactly what impact he had on the young players that are coming through now, although you'd have to say the fact that the club chose not to extend his contract suggests it's not quite as big as Gary would like us to believe.

Crow-mosone said:
Macca,

I think you're being a bit harsh. Ayres has an ego, and an undeniable right to be proud of his achievements. f*** he was a great player, and his coaching record is pretty good. You put a microphone in front people, and they will say stupid things, and lead some to suggest that they don't know their @rse from their elbow. witness Robert Walls.

IMO Ayres has every right to be proud of record here, yeah the message got a bit stale, but sometimes that's just the way it is. look at Mick Malthouse, one of the seminal coaches of his era, and now some idiots are suggesting that he is a rubbish coach (witness some threads over on Port + main board). Time moves on, and some coaches have to follow.

With some luck, and I think luck was probably required, but ole Adolph could be a triple premiership winning coach (1995/1997/2002). Now of course if the dog didn't stop to sh*t he would have caught the rabbit, not saying otherwise. But for me, he was a super player, and bloody good coach if you need someone to stop the rot and get back to basics. he has plenty of walk to back up the talk.

Exactly. 3 years of finals in a row. No other coach has ever done that for us.

Fergus said:
I have to agree with that part. Ayres was just the coach we needed when he first started. We had lost our way during 1999 and he turned us back into a hard competitive unit - just the way he played his footy. Unfortunately Ayres never changed his tune or game plan - other good coaches knew how to exploit it, and some of the players got sick of it.

From the outside it's difficult to assess exactly what impact he had on the young players that are coming through now, although you'd have to say the fact that the club chose not to extend his contract suggests it's not quite as big as Gary would like us to believe.
Well said :)

macca23 said:
I thought of you straight away DT when Adolf Ayres mentioned young Mick Doughty!! :D

I guess it was all part of the process DT!!

He's becoming a bit of a tosser IMO as he apppears to be using his Friday night segment to promote the availability of Gary Ayres, super coach, as being available for some lucky club. He definitely wants to coach again at AFL level and pointed out that he was only 44 with 11 years of good AFL coaching behind him.

Well put macca :confused:

Crow-mosone said:
Macca,

I don't think our opinions of Ayres as a coach are really too far apart at all, Crow-mo.

I think he's ideal to be appointed to any club that has lost direction on a 3 year term to get that team back to the hard working basics of playing footy.

He did that with Adelaide.

The mistake with Gary Ayres is if he's re-appointed beyond that period, because he just keeps beating the same old drum to the same old tune with no flexibility. He also has a proven record of failure at both Geelong and Adelaide in the development of juniors - something that he wanted to give credit to his idol Gary Ayres the other day. ;)

I had the pleasure of a discussion with his best mate Dermott Brereton on the likelihood of Ayres being appointed to the role of Hawthorn coach before that appointment was finalized. He admitted that Ayres would have been his selection which is why he abdicated from the selection panel to avoid COI, but also had to admit that he would have been worried about what happened after the first 3 years, based on Ayres history.

Unfortunately Gary Ayres rates Gary Ayres overall at a higher level than is genuinely justified and seems to be pushing just too hard for public endorsement of that of late.

Probably related to his desperation to be an AFL coach again, I guess.

Will he be??

Wayne's-World said:
Correct and he will get any team competitive on the field, but today as much as ever clubs are rightly or wrongly impacted by perception.

Perhaps its the preception of some club members who may not support the appointment of a particular coach - and most clubs are sensitive to anything that may affect memberships.

Isn't that what happened with Sydney and Paul Roos ? - I suspect Ayres with his public persona, despite his actual coaching record, would not be seen as ideal coaching material.

Why? public perception - gee Eade was on the outer for two years and overlooked after the perception created by his fallout with Sydney - did that affect his coaching ability - no1! - but he was damaged goods.

I suspect Ayres by his media exposure (which IMO is not good) and comments will also be perceived as damaged goods. ;)

Fair, you could well be right. the ostracism of Eade is a good example of that.

PerthCrow said:
And the winner is ....Sidder-knee

Why do you think Sydney would go for Ayres? Why would Roos get flicked?

Personaly I dont think Ayres will ever get another AFL coaching gig, he's proven he's not good enough. Also Sydney wouldnt want someone so lacking in personality and charisma. I can t see him even keeping his TV spots, he's just not interesting. He's a very boring person and a pretty average coach. Its all over Ayresy, back to the bottle shop with you.

Fergus said:

Fair comment, and I agree totally. But can a tiger change his stripes.
He would need to ala Eade has done with the team he has now compared to the team he had in Sydney when he left. No comparison at the moment.
But if they start to loose game in a year or two wil he revert back to the breast beating monster we last saw with the Swannies. :confused:

Crowked said:
Why do you think Sydney would go for Ayres? Why would Roos get flicked?

Personaly I dont think Ayres will ever get another AFL coaching gig, he's proven he's not good enough. Also Sydney wouldnt want someone so lacking in personality and charisma. I can t see him even keeping his TV spots, he's just not interesting. He's a very boring person and a pretty average coach. Its all over Ayresy, back to the bottle shop with you.
More to do with Sydney needing a ''name'' to sell the product. Also with AFL assistance there will be a lot more done for Sydney

Gary may feel a lot less need to be 'tight and controlled'' as he needed to be in Adelaide

I felt half his battle was having to choose his words carefully or be ripped to shreds in a small market media town.