tarky

hey everyone... just seeing if anyone would be interested in a geelong board footy tipping comp for 2008? I'd run it through footytips.com.au so it'll be easy for everyone to put their tips in and see how they're going on the ladder. Haven't yet decided to have a entry fee and prize pool or to do it just for bragging rights :cool: - just seeing what everybodys thoughts are on it and an estimate of how many people would like to be in it and ideas ect.....:thumbsu:

would be pretty easy to do a $5 entry fee. If we got plenty of competitors the pool would be worthwhile.

footyips.com.au is the way to go. i'd do it.

Yeah same here. Bit of a change from the school footy tipping comps I've been in. Plus I don't really like the rules we have at my school. ie. wildcard rounds where you get double points, etc.

Would there be any weird rules like that in this comp??

nah..no weird rules (too much to keep track of ;P) just a straight 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize i think. I thought something along the lines of a $10 entry fee instead of $5 just so the kitty's a bit larger for prizes. Plenty of time to work it all out :cool:

Good. In the comp I was in this year, you had 4 wildcards. You applied them at random throughout the year. (Obviously when you thought it was an easy round of tipping), and then you got double. On TOP of that rule, if you pick 8, you get a bonus 5 points too. That stuff just shits me, cause it adds the element of luck, even further.

If you altered the tips at the end of the year someone else would have finished first.

Anyway, what I like one correct tip = one point. For a draw either a point or no score. Either way it works out the same.

And i'd go for $10.. I'd be happy to pay $20, but hey whichever.

id definetly be in.

how would you pay for something like this??

i reckon we could ask chief to shout a bf membership for the top 3 place getters, and maybe make the winner a mod for cats can of scratching post??

I was going to suggest it myself but was leaving it to next year as the footy tipping websites wont be active until probably a few weeks before the season starts.

May I also suggest we get our own supercoach league going as well. But I am glad to hear people are interested.

Can I suggest we leave it until feb 2008 because peoples circumstances can change between now and then and then we will begin to organise it. If Tarky wants to run the initial set up then the job is his. Also can we run it via the AFL tipping competition as well.

I think getting people to pay to enter may be very difficult and not practical, but I am sure I could organise a BF membership for the winner. The winner will just have to enjoy the glory of beating everyone.

But feel free to express your interest in this thread and we will address it again next year to see if you are still keen on the idea.

I was going to suggest it myself but was leaving it to next year as the footy tipping websites wont be active until probably a few weeks before the season starts.

May I also suggest we get our own supercoach league going as well. But I am glad to hear people are interested.

Can I suggest we leave it until feb 2008 because peoples circumstances can change between now and then and then we will begin to organise it. If Tarky wants to run the initial set up then the job is his. Also can we run it via the AFL tipping competition as well.

I think getting people to pay to enter may be very difficult and not practical, but I am sure I could organise a BF membership for the winner. The winner will just have to enjoy the glory of beating everyone.

But feel free to express your interest in this thread and we will address it again next year to see if you are still keen on the idea.

yeah i was just thinking that, to have a way of paying for your entry and knowing that your money is safe too. I guess an element of trust needs to be had with the organizer. Maybe the guarantee that everyone in the comp can come and personally beat me with a stick if i don't pay up :p
we could even meet at a pub after the final round to hand out awards...just an idea ---- but yep we'll leave it till next year, still miles off! :thumbsu:

it'd probably be have to done with paypal account or something online and then at the end the money distributed either online or in person.

i'd have no problem with one of the regulars here doing it.

We were in a BigfootyGFC supercoach league last season and it was really great catman , Mooney d'king organized it last year and will likely do it again. You will have to get into it ,but we have to double team Moons, hes too good mate.

Count me in.. look forward to this season.. after the 2006 season i wasnt really looking forward to tipping and stuff, so yeah :D

it'd probably be have to done with paypal account or something online and then at the end the money distributed either online or in person.

i'd have no problem with one of the regulars here doing it.

thats a pretty good idea doing it through paypal...i could open a separate account just for tipping money to be paid into....would make paying the winners a quick and easy process too :thumbsu:

I'm interested so count me in

Can't wait for 2008 :)

Sounds like a great idea guys, both the Tipping and SuperCoach. I'd love to be a part of it. Cheers. :thumbsu:

We were in a BigfootyGFC supercoach league last season and it was really great catman , Mooney d'king organized it last year and will likely do it again. You will have to get into it ,but we have to double team Moons, hes too good mate.

Yeh and i was the bitch :mad: But im up for it again and also any tipping comp, mabey this should get sticky ?

Dont worry mate , This year was my 2nd year in Supercoach , I did real crappy in my first year . but my second year - Oh well just the same.
But we can only get better mate