WWT Eagles; Detroit Pistons
Usually around this time of the year (i.e. AFL Draft Time) thejester produces a Draft Preview for the board (if anyone hasn't read one previously, trust me, they are really good).

Unfortunately this year life has gotten in tj's way and he isn't able to produce one for 2015.

So, to borrow heavily from Willo_'s "interviews" idea, I thought we'd try and do something along the same lines focussing on this year's draft.

Joining me in this potential House-of-Cards-falling-down discussion are; Budda 230, Farmer2Goggin, GHS33, meto, Turbocat & year of the cat. Pure_Ownage (who also has something way more important going on in his life right now) also makes a cameo appearance.

We began this at the start of the week with a healthy amount of trepidation but, all things considered, I believe it hasn't turned out too badly.

I'm not too sure if it is any more insightful than a couple of the other draft threads on the board but, if nothing else, it shows what happens when a bunch of people get together and discuss something they enjoying gas-bagging about.

The proof will be in the pudding as to whether the rest of the board enjoys it too.

Also, due to the volume I've decided to break this out over a couple of entries.

Pivo: Probably my favourite journo on all things draft related is Emma Quayle. In a recent article she wrote"...if next week's draft had feelings, you would want to give it a hug. All year long we've heard about how weak, shallow and ordinary it is. It's been a rough nine months..."

The perceived weakness of the draft seems as good a place as any to start off this discussion. What are people's thoughts on the 2015 talent pool?

year of the cat: I think it's weak in certain areas - namely mids and rucks which are two pretty important positions on the ground. I do though think there are potentially some handy players available later in the draft. Tall defenders seems to be one area with Weitering, Glass-Mccasker, Skinner, Smith and even Hartley and Firns. There appears to be quite good depth in comparison to previous years. Half back flankers too. There appears to be some very draftable flankers this year in my opinion.

Turbocat: 10lana had a stat approach to the concept of defining "weak" as games played.... another fantastic stat effort by the way.... but I do tend think the more stats we look for, the more criteria you have to define. Games played? How many good ones? How many games where the side lost or won? Basing strong drafts on the basis of games played ...surely GWS and GC have shown there must be more to it than games played. Games played when drafted to a strong club compared to a poor one?

Traditionally inside ball winning mids are the best bet for R1 picks... was it a year with less mids?

My general feel is strong and weak drafts may have something to do with how many players clubs think will make the grade...and how many can quickly come to hand. Why do rucks seem to slip... general consensus is they take a long time to develop ...so why use an early pick on a player that may take 3-5 years before they are of use. Players can up and leave in 2 years if they don't get games.

So I guess my assessment on this years draft is uneducated but I suspect that there is talent post 30, maybe even post 60 but it's greener..or it has more obvious flaws. If Wells thinks there is talent, I tend to think "who am I to doubt him?"

GHS33 : I think it's perceived as weak mainly because the draft just has no depth. I think the top 20 is still quite good but there are probably more question marks over the top 20 prospects this year e.g. Mathieson's running ability, lack of games from Burton and Curnow, etc.

The real issue is that past the top 20 the talent really falls away.

Farmer2Goggin: I guess footy is a comparison industry so key planks like the Draft are bound to get caught up in that process. As others have identified the consensus is 2015 is shallow as depth beyond pick 20 is seen as weaker than prior years.

The other benchmark is the quality of the Champs which, certainly from a WA perspective, featured some underwhelming footy. Whilst this is an indicator of talent, other variables such as coaching have a role to play in that. At the end of the day it's the volume of players who stay in the system playing good footy from any given draft year that defines its worth.

Late picks can be a lottery at the best of times so will be interesting how 2015 shapes up with players picked post #20 against other drafts.

Budda 230: I've said it a few times on Twitter before, but I don't feel that "weak" is the correct way to describe this draft. On my own personal list, there is definitely a drop off in confidence around the 30 mark. That doesn't mean the draft is necessary weak though.

From that point on I feel there are numerous types who possess high ceilings, but they aren't perceived as safe like the top 30 odd. The likes of Greg Clark, Redman, de Bruin, Aidyn Johnson, Snadden, Nyuon, Jeffs, Lachlan Walker, Chol, Parsons, Markov etc all fit under this category for different reasons.

Recruiters appear far more focused on safe bets these days, but Wells has proven in the past that the development of a once risky prospect can be the difference between a premiership squad or not. I'm feeling there is a boom or bust element after the more certain selections.

Attitude and development will end up being the deciding factor with these types, but I'm confident that there will be some good AFL footballers selected late in this draft. There is potential for big wins, which has me optimistic.

Pure_Ownage: I think its weak in some areas, as others have mentioned its terrible for rucks. Other than Flynn from the GWS Academy there are almost no rucks that enthuse me. In general I think the top 30 is good quality albeit not a heap of star quality. Outside the top 30 its relatively weak but I still think you can get some decent role players or guys who have small flaws that, if ironed out, will be good.

year of the cat: Turbocat, going back to my earlier comment I think that this draft is particularly weak in quality midfielders. As midfielders represent the bulk of a team's playing list it stands to reason that not as many picks will be taken in this years draft.

I still maintain that there should be some useful players still around by the time we go to call. Skinner, Tahana, Ferreira, Doedee, Crocker, Tiziani, Firns, Mountford, Jeffs, Hewett, Parsons, Dylan Smith, Cornell and Mutimer are some names that have been touted to go late that I'd be very comfortable drafting.

Budda 230: I like the look of Jeffs, he's a little unusual being 192cms although still uses the ball well inside, looks a good mover and mark. Quite lean but surprisingly comes in at 81kg.

Schoenfeld from WA also looks to be a good mover who plays smart footy. A couple with the late picks?

Farmer2Goggin: In terms of sliders Jordan Snadden may come into contention. AIS kid who had a fantastic 2014 but disappointed in 2015. However, I know he's had hip issues this season which hampered him.

He's around 190cm, penetrating left foot and although lean he's got broad shoulders and his Dad is quite solid - will end up a good size.

Excelled in 2014 where his ability to accumulate possession around the contest and break away was eye catching. Quite a tough kid as well and never hesitated to put his head over the footy. Has similarities to Murdoch but not as fast. Very polite boy from a good family.

He did test well at the combine so that may have put him back on the radar.

Budda 230: He is definitely one who has some scope. A few have jumped off him after he produced disappointing televised Champs games, but he was good earlier in the competition. His athletic traits are very underrated and as you said, he certainly has a frame to work with.

It would have been nice to see him return to East Fremantle Colts after the Champs, tear some games apart and earn senior selection. He was solid, but I think everyone was expecting more.

Farmer2Goggin: Yeah, quite true buddha 230. Bennett was another who didn't progress after a BOG performance in game 1 v SA.

I think the plan was to play Snadden and Bennett in the Seniors but they went with Perry, Barone, Jack Cripps and, I think, Strnadica.

Barone was on track to be drafted in 2014 but missed the year with an ACL done in the preseason.
Perry and Barone are extremely hard at it but have size against them.

PIVO: Well, since we're discussing potential players, which is what this is all about, do people think we'll target any particular type of player or will Wells simply look at the best available?

Turbocat: Probably has a couple of types they would like to tick off but generally just get some late picks with the best chance of making it.

Farmer2Goggin: Ideally we should be looking at a genuine small forward and small/medium defenders I would have thought. Reality is that with our late picks we'll probably go with best available - IMO that cuts off at 195cm though - we have enough giants on the list!

GHS33: I think we will look at medium and tall defenders if we go needs based. I really don't understand the love affair with small forwards, I don't think genuine small forwards are essential for successful team.

In the next 2-3 years we'll lose Enright, Lonergan and Mackie to retirement. I understand we have Thurlow, Bews, Kolo and Henderson but if they are best 22 then we have no further depth back there.

I also think there's a glut of medium defenders in this draft that we might nab e.g. Fraser Pearce, Stephen Tahana, Brandon White, Tom Doedee, Reuben William, etc.

Turbocat: Farmer2Goggin... think we have enough over 195cm? I think if a good young KPD was available we would have to consider, not to mention we have delisted 2 true rucks...are we happy with Read and Lucey? Perhaps if the right player is there above 195cm... although I do agree we have a lot of height, but maybe too much of the same type?

How Vardy/Clark/Stanley/Henderson/Taylor fit in the side will test us. Does this mean trade pressure later on? Or perhaps Clark is already considered an unlikely regular.

And GHS33, you have named a few I like...I like Tom Glen, he showed some speed at the Combine...looks like he could do that role.

Pivo: I must admit, I'd still look for a key defender myself (yes, again). I know we just brought in Henderson but in the short term he may well be used forward. Lonergan finishes at the end of '16 while Taylor is looking a bit more inconsistent. Kolodjashnij was obviously a good get and I know we have Delaney waiting in the wings but I still wouldn't mind another young, key defender if there is one worthwhile taking late, someone like Firns or Thompson (both Oakleigh boys) are a couple I don't mind. Although Thompson is a bit more of a swingman type.

There seems to be more (and better) mid-sized, running types available late though (not really a surprise). We'll end up with a couple of these I think simply due to the fact they are the best remaining on the board. These types may well come out of SA and WA too.

year of the cat: I'm a bit with GHS33. I think we'll take advantage of the numbers of both tall and medium defenders presumably available late in this draft. With Lonergan retiring at the end of this year and Taylor now at the back end of his career we need to be looking to add another KPD to complement Kolodjashnij and Henderson. I'd love Glass-McCasker but he'll likely be gone. Skinner is another that really appeals but I'm not sure we'll go for a player coming off an ACL. Dylan Smith would probably be my next pick.

Medium defenders again should be well represented at the arse end of the draft. I can see Wells taking at least one and maybe even two if he takes a best available policy here. Tahana really appeals to me - he looks like he has scope to play further up the ground as well. Doedee is the other I'd love to see called. Looks tough, disciplined and great overhead. Foot skills are pretty good too.

Assuming we do take 4 players my fourth would be a toss up between Mountford, Crocker, Tiziani, Hewett and Jeffs. Would be comfortable with any of these. Dan Houston is another bottom aged kid that looks quite good but I haven't seen much of him.

Pure_Ownage: Generally Wells is best available and multi positional, high character but I wonder whether our picks won't be more needs based because they are so late.

I am not sure that we need KPDs but definitely we need a small defender. Tahana would be great if he got through.

Small forwards may become less important with the interchange cap if clubs rest mids forward more but it's too early to tell.

I wonder if we might also take a mature age player late in the ND or Rookie Draft. We have 34 senior listed including Luxford and Cunico who are raw while Menzel and McCarthy have injury question marks. While I think our best 28 or so is as good as any of the top 4 sides post trade week we lack depth past that. If we took a 20-21 year old who could play early as we did with Stokes and Taylor and Egan it wouldn't surprise me.

Farmer2Goggin: Yeah Turbocat, that may have been a bit tongue in cheek but we can't possibly fit all the talls in the best 22 if they are all available (unlikely as that is based on history). I think Blicavs skews the height perception quite a bit, particularly if we play him in the midfield - even though he and Stanley looked fantastic together VS the Power.

If Smith rucks that leaves Hawkins, Clark, Vardy and Stanley as tall forwards/2nd ruck. Tall defenders then become Lonergan, Taylor, Kolodjashnij (can play on smalls as well) and Henderson. Phew, that's big.

Looks like our VFL side will have some quality at times. Will be interesting to see what Wells comes up with.

Turbocat: Still, drafting is not really about current best 22. I think we have an over supply now but apart from Kolodjashnij, not much in the way of tomorrow.

PIVO: So, most years I tend to talk up the South Australian contingent, partly because I'm still a Croweater at heart and partly because I feel they are often under-represented on Big Footy. I also have a funny feeling that there could be some undervalued kids out of WA. The question is obviously open to all but I'd be interested in our SA and WA guest's thoughts on the kids in their own back yard. Some of the names have been mentioned already but then there is also SA players like Snelling, Agostino, Haysman, Surman, Parrella, Brind, Olekalns, Williams and the enigma of Keiran Agius as well as WA players like Ridley, Stewart, Rogers, Cronan and Harrold. Are there any kids that people know about that might not be as well known to the majority of BF readers?

Turbocat: Tim Sullivan's name was mentioned on another thread... have an opinion?

GHS33: I wouldn't be surprised if Wells calls out Tim Sullivan's name on draft night. He's a mobile 200cm ruckman that had his 2015 campaign ruined by a knee reco. He was in the AIS squad and the best ruck in the draft. Obviously the risk is there with his knee issue but worth a punt I reckon.

As for the other Croweaters:
Snelling - love him, he was in the centre square in the SANFL GF and didn't look out of place at all. I don't expect him to fall to our pick but with the query over his height maybe he does.
Agostino - bit of a battler for mine and don't think he'd be much chop at AFL level.
Haysman - running machine and workhorse, also played in the SANFL GF and could be a steal.
Surman - good size and amazing in the air but his kicking is atrocious and for that I wouldn't want him.
Parrella - big boy but no good.
Brind - could be a gun but, put simply, he's very overweight. I think he trimmed down a bit this year but he's still got probably 5-10kgs of puppy fat. Very talented though, maybe worth a rookie spot.
Olekalns - I like him a lot.
Williams - never seen him play, all I know of him is his 56 disposal game in an under 18s game. Not sure that's enough to get drafted.
Agius - obviously very talented to kick as many goals as he did but he's not big enough to play the role at AFL level that he has been playing in under 18s. Have been told he has major attitude and work ethic issues also.

Others:
Brendan Dew - I really like this guy. He's played senior footy for Centrals and won the U18s MVP as a bottom ager last year. He's quick, tough and skilful.
Tom Keogh - love this guy, he was easily the best tall defender in the SANFL this year. He'd be a mature recruit at age 23 and I think he's a certainty to be drafted.
Jordan Dawson - didn't have a very good champs but didn't get much of a chance either. He's 190cm and 82kgs and has played league for Sturt. Very athletic and great in the air. Could very well be overlooked but I hope he gets a chance because he could be anything.

Here's some footage of Dawson playing league for Sturt this year featuring a cameo from Brad Hartman too.

Edit: he also ran a 14.1 beep test and came second in the vertical jump at the SA state screening with 86cm.

meto: Boy! That footage at seniors is impressive, not much of it but to finish off what he started, looks the ideal modern player tall and athletic.

Wonder why wasn't given more game time for SA? And what's his best position in your opinion?

GHS33: Dawson's best position would be 3rd tall forward in my opinion. He grew 4cm to 190cm this year and his vertical jump and overhead marking makes him a real threat. But he's versatile which Wells loves.

I also know we have a very long-serving scout employed by Sturt so I wouldn't be surprised if he lands at the Cattery next Tuesday night.

meto: Yes, [Dawson looks] the perfect type to bring on for the third tall position, what I liked was his run and anticipation to get on the end of that link, and the shimmy around the defender was classic.

Playing senior footy would put Dawson surely on par with Agius would you think? I think we really need to bring on a HFF'er or even two, Dawson looks the more versatile as well, a utility type rather than the pure goal kicker Agius is I would've thought.

Would be happy with either as a late pick or both.

GHS33: I’ve done a bit more digging on Dawson and found that at the start of the year he was rated in the top 30 prospects. I don’t really know why his stocks fell because his form in the SANFL was outstanding – his best three games:

Reserves Rd 4 – 19 kicks, 4 handballs, 8 marks, 3 goals, 6 behinds.
Reserves Rd 2 – 11 kicks, 7 marks, 5 goals, 3 behinds.
Reserves Rd 12 – 18 kicks, 6 handballs, 6 marks, 1 goal.

He averaged 16 disposals and 10 marks (2 contested) in the reserves from 8 games including kicking 15 goals. He then got elevated to the league side and averaged 12 disposals and 6 marks (1 contested) including kicking 6 goals from 5 games. All this playing as a third tall forward as an 18 year old against men.

meto: Apart from that run and 45 metre goal what impressed me was that strong mark, reminded me a lot of Bontempelli.

Gets the possessions, so he can scrap as well as being a very strong overhead mark, I really like this kid hope you're right about the SA agent spreading goss to Wells.

GHS33: The SA Cats scout last year moved to Sturt and we picked up Gore and Read from there in the National and Rookie drafts. Before that he was at Glenelg and during that time we picked up Mackie, McCarthy and Murdoch from there. He also has strong ties to Sacred Heart College where Mackie, Gregson and Rivers went to school.

meto: Peter Argent over your way has [Dawson] listed equal 10th most likely to be drafted of all the SA boys. As we need new Ute/HFF blood I'd like him as the P67 unless Wells sees one he likes has slipped. Has ideal med/tall forward attributes, I think you may be onto a highly likely selection GHS.

Pivo: It is always interesting to read others thoughts. I don't profess to seeing too much of Agostino or Surman but the little I did see of them I thought was OK. They both appeared to have solid enough bases to work with and try and mold. Let's cut to the chase, if they were more polished or better skilled we wouldn't even be discussing them considering where we have our first pick this year.

When I read the criticism of Surman's kicking I acknowledge that is far from ideal but, and I've mentioned this elsewhere, sometimes you need to back in your development coaches to improve a player's flaws. Surman, for example, has other attributes that make him worth looking at, especially late in the draft which is where we're picking. Same goes for discounting Callum Moore because of his kicking.

Perhaps there are times to look at the strength rather than the weakness and since I'm not expecting any kid drafted this year to push for senior selection in 2016 there is a bit of time to try and iron out the kinks.

GHS33: I think the issue with Surman is not just his kicking, his decision-making is also pretty ordinary. From memory I don't think he's been in the game long so maybe there's scope for improvement. I think there'll be better options available in the ND, maybe worth a rookie spot.

year of the cat: His mobility isn't great either. He can take a terrific grab but if the ball hits the ground I think he's pretty limited for a few reasons.

Budda 230: One South Australian who has a very low profile is Kyle Presbury. I got to see him live a couple of times when I traveled to Adelaide earlier in the year. It is difficult to ignore his resemblance to Rory Sloane, not just by looks but the way he plays (doubt it's a coincidence).

He is a courageous footballer and a decent size at 182cm. He played 13 games for Centrals in the seniors, including 3 finals. He only played a handful of junior games this season, therefore missing opportunities to dominate against kids his own age. That may have seen him slide under the radar. He kicked 21 goals in 12 games as a bottom ager last year throughout the Maccas Cup, playing mostly midfield and resting forward.

On occasions his disposal looked a bit rushed, but it didn't appear a glowing weakness first hand. I'm interested to know what some of the South Australian folk think of him, as my opinions are from limited live viewing & highlights. I think he has something to offer though.

GHS33: Presbury had 19 disposals, 4 marks, 5 clearances on league debut for Centrals. Only got given two games for SA in the champs and had 8 and 15 disposals in those games.

I'm perplexed as to why these guys like Presbury and Dawson, who played so much senior footy this year, were given limited opportunities in the champs. Could lead to a bargain for us however.

Pivo: I'll add the names of Nunn and Hewett to Presbury. Saw Nunn briefly but not enough to pass any sort of judgement, Hewett I couldn't comment on but they do appear to be likely at the back end of the draft.

Snelling, who I don't think should be available to us, is the one I hope slips due to the "height" conundrum. The kid is on the short side but I think he can seriously play and he didn't look out of place at league level.

As for the WA boys, there were a number of them I didn't mind during the Championships. Snadden is one already discussed but I also thought Bailey Rogers was handy (and looks built to mix it in senior company) playing a sweeping role across half back.

Kade Stewart is another WA lad who I thought just looks like he could become a good player. Didn't get a heap of it in the matches I watched but there was just something about the way he gets around the ground. Every chance he might be around when we join the draft.

Mountford is the other one I didn't mind.

Be interested to see if Farmer2Goggin has some thoughts on these boys.

Farmer2Goggin: As I said, I didn't see a lot of the Champs or Colts as my young bloke missed all season with injury.

However, I know a few of the East Fremantle Colts boys through my son and also from Coaching against them in their final years as Juniors.

Snadden - probably a late or Rookie pick I would think. Disappointing 2015 but still managed to average 20 in Colts across the season (may have been carrying a hip). AIS kid, tested well at the combine - too many assets to ignore?
Bennett - great kid , maybe tried too hard. Hope he gets a chance as he "looks" like an AFL prospect
Harrold - KP at Junior level but now a flanker type at 183cm. Not enough weapons?
Strnadica - 199cm natural forward who did well being fed average supply. Rookie?
Cronan - 197cm ruck , slightly built. Undersize and don't believe he could be a KPP
Parish - ripper , absolute dynamo off the wing. At 171cm and < 70 kgs .............
Perry - good accumulator , tough and great game sense. listed at 181cm but more like 177cm.

East Fremantle played a lot of 16/17 year olds who impressed - Menegola , Joey Eardley (Cam's brother - paging dazbroncos [Pivo]), Marshall, Raja......, Meade . Worth keeping an eye on in 2016

Couple of talls who missed last season who may be worth a Rookie spot are Keitel, Loersch and Jack Cripps.[color]

Pivo: Yeah, I think WA is looking quite strong for next year's draft based on a number of the underagers that played in the Champs this year.

year of the cat: If I've ever seen a year where the midfielders taken late in the draft could prove to be the equal or better than some taken in the top 20 then this is it. I just don't see the chasm of difference in talent between a large group of mids, excluding the top 4 or 5.

Actually Dean Gore is probably a good example. Killed it in clearances throughout the Champs last year yet fell to our pick in the 40's. He outperformed a number of mids taken earlier than him. Clearly some clubs preferred others with a view to the future. If only we had a crystal ball.

Farmer2Goggin: Agree, so many variables in getting selections right someone should develop an algorithm or such to improve the odds.

Having said that we do pretty well with our selections.

Makes you wonder whether we'll go kids or maybe rookie a few playing seniors in their early 20's.
Don' t mind the look of the Sandover Medallist - Aiden Tropiano - 185ish, skilled, high endurance, good pace and disposal - ball magnet nudging just under 30 possies in the wooden spooners.

Could be a good Gore replacement.

PIVO: So, to keep this Draft Train rolling...anyone have any thoughts on the kids from the Territory or Tassie? The Cats have taken a handful of players from these states over the years so I have to wonder if we might again turn our attention northwards and southwards.
Also, since I recall seeing both the names of Flynn and Cornell, might we be a chance to pick up an Academy player (someone like Corey Wagner perhaps)? We did bid on Davis last year and the Academies have received a lot of attention in recent times.

GHS33: Don't know heaps about NT or TAS but Davin Ferreira is a gun small forward who got injured playing in the 18s for NT this year. Played league footy for Norwood in the SANFL and kicked 3 on debut. Can play.

Farmer2Goggin: More of the same would be fantastic if we could find another Thurlow or Cockatoo.

The Recruiting Team is obviously huge however I wonder if we place more emphasis on certain States because of the Scouts in place - South Australia for instance seems to be a very happy hunting ground for us.

Is that because of the talent or recruiters there - or a combination of both?

Turbocat: There was article on AFL.com that their [Tasmania's] tall defender Gardner was drawing interest. Hibbard will be gone... the one that I'd be happy to get would be Lovell. Bit short at 174 but plenty of players have made it having that hinderance when talented enough ... he works like a one armed juggler and would give value for our late pick I'm sure.

GHS33: Lovell is a genius and early on I thought he might fall to us but recent chat makes it seem that he'll be gone well within the top 40. He should be top 15 IMO, absolute jet in the Prestia mold but even more of a ball magnet.

Turbocat: Maybe... but until the draft, one is only guessing what pick our first pick will be.

GHS33: Absolutely. Plenty have been overlooked completely that have been touted as high as the first round. He'd be a great get.

Pivo: Farmer2Goggin, I found it interesting that GHS33 mentioned the scout out at Sturt because Geelong, in the last 10 or 12 years has taken multiple players from Sturt as well as Glenelg so there might be some influence at play.

I used to think it was simply coincidence but I do get the feeling that the Geelong recruiting staff believe kids playing in SA and WA are a little more developed by playing against bigger, more mature bodies, we saw that with Gregson this year for example.

I know in SA that a number of clubs have little hesitation in playing U18s in the seniors if they feel they are good enough. Even if they aren't quite at senior SANFL level they'll often get a number of games in the Reserves.

We should also keep in mind SA won the Championships the last couple of years running (meto has been very big on this fact) so the talent has always been there but I do remember Pure_Ownage or thejester suggesting the players always had some sort of perceived "knock" on them from the outside looking in (be it height or pace or some other intangible). But the recruiters know these kids pretty well by now and would know if the "knocks" are going to cause problems or not.

But SA have had their time in the sun for our discussion. :D

I did manage to see an NT game and, a bit like the year before, the talent looks on the thin side. Although, it was better than 2015.

Rioli is the one who'll get the most press I'd think but there were a couple of guys who I thought could be worth looking at (whether that means drafting is a different matter).

Ben Long is another with a famous surname and he was boarding, I believe, at Melbourne Grammar. There isn't much of him at 176cm and weighing in the low 60kgs but he has some talent. The game I saw he flashed in and out but probably tended more to the 'quiet' side.

Michael Tilmouth-Turner was the one who caught my eye though. Played as an undersized ruckman but had really good hands and seemed quite quick of mind. Liked to tackle as well.

As for the Tassie boys, Nick Dodge did some nice things as a mid sized forward, Mitch Rainbird always seems to play OK when I've seen him while Jordan Hayden is a midfielder who finds the ball.

Any thoughts on the Academy players? Think any might escape the noose?

year of the cat: I quite like the look of both Tiziani and Cornell on the AFL site but didn't see them play in the Champs or throughout the year so it's only an unsophisticated impression! But both look to have some decent attributes. I probably have a few in front of them but would be comfortable if Wells called either.

GHS33: Really liked both of them [Tiziani and Cornell] in the champs.

year of the cat: Both look to have the requisite athleticism and skill level to play AFL. Not sure whether they get enough of the footy at the moment but I'd back our system to get the best out of either. They are another two in a large group of an evenly rated players after about the first 30 picks for me.

Pivo: To round out the Academy discussion I think we all know the guys like Hopper, Kennedy, Mills, Keays & Hipwood but there are a number that are eligible to be drafted this year and, for various reasons, won't get to their Academy's aligned Club. Of the ones I've seen, Wagner and William (both tied to Brisbane) look OK.

I probably like Wagner the better of the 2 but Ruben William does have some excitement about him. He is pretty raw but if he can be harnessed he might turn into something.

Mabior Chol played in ruck and looked handy (which might also say a bit about the ruck stocks this year) while Harrison Himmelberg and Matthew Flynn will likely attract bids in the late first to early second round (I think).

Other Academy players eligible are; Nick Weller (Brisbane Academy), Didymus Blanket, Robert Blood, Dyson Budarick, Jesse Joyce, Max Spencer & Connor West (all Gold Coast), Nick Coughlan & Jack Irvine (both with GWS) and Darcy Baron-Hay, Lachlan Behagg, Ryan Hebron & Matthew Wilson (all alligned with Sydney).

GHS33: Didn't rate many of these [the "other" Academy players] at the champs but Budarick, Reuben William and Jesse Joyce were okay. Budarick is only 173cm though. Loved Himmelberg but like Pivo said he'll probably be well gone before our pick.

year of the cat: Love to use our last rookie pick on Didymus Blanket - if he's not a cult hero in the making I've never seen one!

Turbocat: [With the] academy kids... only would be interested if a kid is obviously better than a local product. If it's marginal, take the local kid. Having said that, I'm not strongly familiar with these lesser know Academy kids.

On names...that name..Didymus Blanket is a ripper.. I thought Willie Buzza was good, but Didymus Blanket sounds like a character in a Dickens story.

PIVO: There has been a few "mature" types mentioned previously, Tropiano and Keogh for example and Pure_Ownage wondered out loud whether Geelong look to a mature draftee. Do we think there might be a few more of these types picked up this year? If so, who are the guys that might be considered?

Turbocat: We can look at matures ...but in my opinion, only do it if we can find a player that is a legit chance to be played if required.

Let me expand.

I'm not talking a 19 or 20 year old... I'm saying a player like Blease, 24-26 and might play in weaker sides but in our club we have the policy of playing 2-4 young players, it's unlikely we would play a player like this over developing a younger kid like a Cunico or a Bates. So potentially this mature pick becomes a waste of a spot.

The earlier discussion on development [Pivo: which I haven't included due to it going a little off the topic at hand and, more importantly, because I completely misunderstood one poster's comment which derailed the discussion further :eek: No-one needs to read that sh!t :D] probably has many facets... body maturity being one... kids who have played against and within stronger comps will have pushed their games to a higher level because of it.

Pro: Closer to a finished product (so less work for GFC to put in)
Con: look better than some greener players that may have more room to improve.

If we do go down that path I hope we give due consideration to our VFL players, at least we know them as people and have seen what they are like within our club.

Farmer2Goggin: Tend to agree Turbocat. More likely to look at a 20-22 YO playing senior footy with further potential to be developed.

You would want a 24+ guy to come in straight away and contribute, you would think that that type would be as rare as hens' teeth though.

GHS33: Tom Keogh is the only I'd look at although I'm cautious not to go mature this year. With limited picks in this draft and next we could open another age gap on our list.

Also, usually when Wells picks a mature recruit it's to fill a gap e.g. the Egan-Taylor scenario. I don't think we really have any glaring positional gaps at this stage.

Turbocat: Not overly impressed the vision of him.... at 193cm and 24 ... is he really the right pick for us? Just not sure.

I like the sound of Levicki , 23 and 196...seems more a Taylor type with some spring and a nice looking kick..but again .. very limited vision.

Pivo: Well Farmer2Goggin there are two guys that I think might meet that criteria.

Chris Schmidt, who has already been at a couple of AFL clubs and I think is the least likely of the 2 we'd look at, had one of the highest possession SANFL Grand Finals that I can recall (over 40 touches). He is 26 and around the 190cm mark.

Chris Jansen might be the better bet as he is only 19 or 20 I believe. Has played as a defender previously and is the same height as Schmidt. Was playing really well with Central Districts as I understand before injuring himself and missing much of the back end of the year.

PIVO: So, I think we have covered a decent amount of territory here and, personally, I've got a fair bit out of this so I hope the punters who read it do too. Just this question and then one more afterwards and we'll call it quits (thank god everyone thinks :D). Get the crystal ball or tea leaves out lads, it is time to put your necks on the line.

Out of all the draftees who you think we'd be a realistic shot at drafting (so no Parish or Francis or Ah Chees please), who are you hoping for?

Pivo: I'm hoping for Snelling but I'm just having trouble believing he'll slip to us so I'll go with his stablemate Hugh Haysman.

We like players out of SA and I have no reason to believe we won't look there again. However, after GHS33's comments I am wondering about Dawson (Sturt) while we do like players from Glenelg so Bailey Williams might be in frame too.

Firns is the tall defender I'm eyeing off.

Turbocat: Really there is a heap we might draft but who will we? Be lucky to get 1 from 10 guess but...

I suspect it will be someone who did well at the combine , so at a minimum they have the raw talent required...someone like Doedee or Snadden and of course that may go out the door if someone rated higher slips through.

meto: WA's Clark I thought may even slip as far as P67? You'd have to consider if he did.

year of the cat:As far as the Cats are concerned i think there should be a reasonably large group of players to draw from. From what we are hearing only 55 or so players will be taken in the ND which should see some good talent still being there late.

Of the group that have pricked my interest Skinner, Doedee, Cornell, Mutimer, Brandon White, Mountford, Parsons, Dylan Smith, Jeffs, Tahana, Firns, Rueben William, Houston, Tiziani, Nunn, Fereira and Haysman are all touted to be late picks.

My ideal draft would comprise a bit of a mix of positions. A tall defender to replace Lonergan (Skinner, next best Smith), a back flanker (Tahana or Doedee - like them both, albeit they have different games - would happily take both!), a half forward (Cornell, next best Houston) and a mid (Mountford because I think he has the biggest upside, next best Haysman - love his grunt).

So Skinner, Tahana, Doedee and Cornell for me. Mountford if we decide to take 5 at the last minute!

GHS33: Who we might pick (who knows really):

ND: Jordan Dawson (SA), Greg Clark (WA), Fraser Pearce (VIC), James Parsons (VIC), Brendan Dew (SA), Matthew Nunn (SA).

Rookie: Tim Sullivan (SA), Tom Keogh (SA), Tom Doedee (VIC), Sam Skinner (VIC).

PIVO: And, finally, who do you think will be the Top 3 in 2015?

Pivo:
#1 Weitering (seems the obvious choice)
#2 Schache (seems the obvious choice)
#3 Weideman (mainly to mix it up, I don't really believe it'll happen but it'll be boring saying Mills. Melbourne could use another young forward to help out Hogan but I suspect they'll be the first team to bid throwing this all out of kilter).

Turbocat:
Top3
#1 Weitering
#2 Schache
#3 Mills (Matched bid)

year of the cat: For me the top 3 should be Weitering, Schache and then Hopper (just in front of Mills).

GHS33:
Top3
#1 Weitering
#2 Schache
#3 Mills

Super good analysis guys. Loved it! Well done to the lot of ya!

Tend to think it will be
1. Weitering - needles to say carlton need someone who can play back or forward key position, Weitering does well at both).
2. Schache - Brisbane Brisbane Brisbane... where do we start, the kid will probably walk out in a few years but someone needs to help out McStay!
3. Weideman - Dees need it, no use picking up another mid no matter if its Mills, Hopper or Parish. Give Hogan a hand, lockdown that spine and go forward from whats got to be one of footballs biggest club slumps.

Extremely well done….

Did Willo_ get royalties?

Go Catters

Fantastic work to all involved. This type of thing is what shows the potential of how good this place can be, as a person who has no idea when it comes to the draft I feel I at least have some clue now

:thumbsu: to all involved

Good to see Budda 230 sneaking in round his favorite time of the year as well!

Would like us to pick up young Tiziani as know the family, used to play against his Dad who was a beautiful user either side of his body

First of all great read,and a question boys,Weideman any relation to Murray Weideman ex Collingwood enforcer.Jesus I hated that prick.:mad:
Grandson.

On a separate note, I'd just like to take the opportunity to thank the "panelists"; Budda 230, Farmer2Goggin (our man in WA), GHS33 (our man in SA), meto, Pure_Ownage, Turbocat and year of the cat.

These guys willingly gave up their time to help me with this and managed to smash this out inside 6 days.

All the good stuff in here is their work and hopefully people enjoyed reading their thoughts as much as I did.

As I said in my interview with Willo, there are plenty of knowledgeable posters on all things draft related and these guys have provided something of an insight into that statement.

So, once again a big thank you from me to you all for helping me try this out. :thumbsu:

First of all great read,and a question boys,Weideman any relation to Murray Weideman ex Collingwood enforcer.Jesus I hated that prick.:mad:

You really were a passionate supporter in your younger days, weren't you?

Wiedeman aroused the ire of opposition supporters to such a level that, bullets were fired into a shop he owned, bricks were thrown through his windows, he received calls and letters threatening his safety and he often needed police escorts to games.

http://www.nick.magpies.net/players/tribute/joelmwiedeman.html

This type of thing is what shows the potential of how good this place can be, as a person who has no idea when it comes to the draft I feel I at least have some clue now
thats probably because most of us dont want to be wasting their time learning about opposition players lol.:)