Geelong Gumbies 2010 (Part II)

It happens to the best of us mate (eg. Me :))

Got dragged 3 consecutive weeks by the sim in the 1st quarter. Really pissed me off because I was in for a ripper of a game a couple weeks back. 9 possessions or so in the opening 20 minutes.

We'll fire this week and overcome the Bombers. Or you could say open fire on the Bombers :p :eek:

WaLkEr commits to Gumbies beyond Season 2010.

Written by Mike Rutch.
Mon 19 April, 2010

In news that would sure excite the club and it's thousands of fans, prize Gumbies recruit and cult figure WaLkEr_ThE_StAr has committed to the club, signing a contract extension that would see him out until the end of the 2011 season.

"It's an exciting time to be at the club, and I still feel quite fortunate and humbled to have been given the chance by the Gumbies to step back into the SFA and reignite my football career," said Walker, 21. He added, "Ever since I first set foot into the footy club, i've felt right at home, which is testament to the professionalism of the playing group, administration and the club as a whole. As such, to sign on for a further season is pretty much a no-brainer."

WaLkEr, a former promising midfielder for the Mount Buller Demons, gave up football in pursuit of other interests back in 2006 at the tender age of 18, only to return this season when he was handed a lifeline by the Geelong Gumbies.

Ever since then, he hasn't looked back, cementing a spot in the Gumbies midfield and in recent weeks justifying the hype that surrounded his recruitment this year. Last week he gathered a season best 26 possessions and 1 goal, whilst also picking up 24 possessions and 1 goal in the week prior. "I'm enjoying my footy, and I guess that shows in my performances. I started the first few games slowly, but now that i'm at peak fitness anything is possible," WaLkEr said.

In arguably the best form of his career, WaLkEr felt it was as appropriate a time as any to repay the faith that the club showed in him, not only through his performances on-field, but also by committing off-field. Whilst happy to be showing some form, he reiterated that the club's march towards the premiership in 2010 came first and foremost, and thus took precedence.

"Yeah, on a personal level, it's always a great feeling when you're playing well, but the biggest desire is to be holding up that prized piece of silverware at the end of the season. I'm just glad to know that my current form is going some way towards achieving that dream." :thumbsu: :)

****ing Bang!!!!

Total Domination from practically halfway through the 1st quarter....We let them get way to a good start as we started slow but i put that down to the delayed start to the game....But after that we were dominate and 11 unanswered goals gave us all the momentum and we never looked back.

Fantastic games from RoJo and WTS running through the middle....Woulda liked Perth Swans and myself to get more of it but it just shows our class that two leaders of the club can have quite game and everyone else steps up and dominates!.

winty with 6 goals from 6 kicks and swannies with 4 goals from 4 kicks....Shows that our forwards are taking their chances when they get an oppurtunity.

This was a MASSIVE game for us and we steppe up big time and showed the rest of the competition that we mean business and that we are the premiership favourites.....The bombers winning run has come to an end and we have now once again got a winning run happening again and move 2 points clear on top of the table aswell as %.

Lets not get complacent though lads as we want to finish top of the table and stick it up the rest of the competition who have bagged us out about our name etc over the years but they are just jealous as they know that they are about to see the premiership cup engraved with "Geelong Gumbies 2010 Premiers"

Fantastic Effort all round and im so very proud to lead such a committed group of players!

GO GUMBIES!!! :thumbsu:
GG10!!! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Also fantastic to see you recommit WTS! YOu are a massive part of our club going forward and i want to try retain the majority of our players for next season and at the moment its all coming together well both on and off the field :thumbsu:

Great win lads...some great performances all round...beside Marklar

True to my word, I must be demoted in some way for poor form...may I suggest the bench :D

No need to change a winning side that dominates mate ;)

However if you really want to stick to your word im sure we can work something out...Perhaps swap you and Bartel around ;)

Good win lads, gotta keep a lid on it though. but its bloody hard to.
Played my first really decent game for the club when i got switched from Back Pocket to the HFF. 8 tackles and 20+ possies. Finally found the pace of the game

No need to change a winning side that dominates mate ;)

However if you really want to stick to your word im sure we can work something out...Perhaps swap you and Bartel around ;)

If Bartel wants it mate...time for a change :thumbsu:
Unless you think it will upset the structure

Great win Gumbies!!!!

We're in good form heading for the finals! Let's keep it up and smash the Wonders next week!

Go Gumbies! GG10!!!

I stayed up last night and updated the spreadsheet i have for the Gumbies BnF.....I have all votes from myself and PS up to the current round...Have none from RoJo yet...Cmon pull your finger out VC ;)...Wont reveal anything about it until the awards night but some interesting things at the moment.

RoJo try get them to me when you can.

As for the Best first year player award....Ive now decided not to ask for leadership group votes for the best first year player due to not recieveing any so far so it will now be awarded to the best first year player who recieves the most votes in the Best and Fairest.

Also another massive MOTR game against the Wonders this week.....Lets keep the great form going lads and get a win against Perth Swans and my old side......Since both PS and myself have jumped shipped the Wonders have had the better of us in terms of results so we want to reverse this and start to even up the ledger a bit more.

Bahhhhhhhhhh. I mean yes Captain :)

Technically I have done some, just they were sent to the former captain instead of you. I'm about 10 rounds behind though. Youngsters start grovelling for votes.

EDIT: They're finally done! All I know is that I'm on a certain 48 votes atm :D

just kidding.

What a difference a couple of weeks makes. Gumbies grind out two massive wins (in the context of the season). I told you I was saving myself for the good teams :p

That was one of my best games for the club I reckon.

:thumbsu:hey guys,just had a holiday in China,and aprrently they ban everything,so i couldn't go on,and not even google :(:mad: so anyway,hope were winning,and i';; try and get on board again

And its all thanks to the genious tactical skills of your captain ;)

Fantastic win lads...Wont writ emuch in here as my thoughts are in the game thread etc.

I was going to let RoJo name the side this week seeing as hes the other VC but seeing we have a massive MOTR game against the Hawks this week im thinking i might name it this week then let RoJo and PS name a side each and lead the side in the final two weeks......Sounds good?

6 points clear on top lads :)

Lets win the minor premiership then get the premiership cup by winning the grand final :)

nice to hear that were 6 pts clear on top,and with exams over im hoping to be back and firing to do my part to help the team :thumbsu::)

Geelong Gumbies 2010 (Part II)