Geelong vs pies final should not be at the mcg.

What's a traditional footy ground?

afl-ground.png

Anything from 135-185m in length x 110-155m in width

And here are the ground measurements of some VFL footy grounds:
Bendigo: 162 x 116
Box Hill: 154 x 142
Casey: 158 x 130
Coburg: 154 x 132 and Highgate reserve 163 x 139
Collingwood: 160 x 131
Frankston: 170 x 105
Geelong: 171 x 115
N.Ballarat: 159 x 137
N.Blues: 159 x 138
Port: 152 x 125
Sandy: 150 x 117
Werribee: 166 x 117
Willy: 155 x 128
Windy Hill: 152 x 125
Whitten Oval: 161 x 123

and for good measure..
MCG: 162 x 140

Considering Australian Football Fields have evolved from cricket grounds, they come in all shapes and sizes. The home team can use it to their advantage.

Funny thing is though that Geelong's current ground dimensions don't really work for cricket, which is why they had to put the pitch diagonally

_GHMBA_BBL17.jpg

Fact is Geelong get 9 genuine home games every single year, yet the MCG tenants they bitch about such as Collingwood are lucky to get half that. This season Collingwood had 4 home games for the season and played another ‘home game’ at our opponents home ground which we are forced to do every single year, some years we play 2.

You lot have the biggest advantage so stop sooking. I actually want Geelong to one day get a home final at KP and stop playing all home games at MCG. The only way that's happening is with a bigger stadium. That way you lot won't be so comfortable with having two home grounds as you do right now mixing with both grounds. Right now Geelong have almost a whole season as a home ground. Hardly travel.

Tell me again about unfair advantage. Entitled supporter down over in Geelong. So delusional that you don't even know how big a advantage you lot have.

At least if Geelong had one venue as a home it would become slightly uncomfortable when you have to travel to the MCG not being so comfortable with it. Last team to be complaining of having a unfair advantage is Geelong.

As a West Coast fan, who got to play numerous Qualifying, Semi and Preliminary finals at a 40,000 seat Subiaco Oval with a huge advantage over visiting teams, I hope you'll shut up once the redevelopment is over.

In any case, like PhatBoy said, if anyone is sooking in this thread, it's non-Geelong fans complaining we get any home games at all.

Funny thing is though that Geelong's current ground dimensions don't really work for cricket, which is why they had to put the pitch diagonally

_GHMBA_BBL17.jpg

The old Adelaide Oval was about 120m wide with long straight boundaries. Was that not suitable for cricket and footy?

It's not a footy ground but have you seen Lords in London? The corners are practically squared off and there is something like a 6m slope from one square-side boundary to the other. Cricket grounds are unique. AFL grounds by extension are unique too. It's a shame Perth Stadium is an MCG cookie-cutter.

Hilarious thing is some people are asking for the Swans match this weekend to be moved to Stadium Australia which is only 118m in width, and one of the criticisms of KP.

The MCG is one of the widest arenas, and largest capacity venues in the world. Hit the ball right, and batters can run all 4. Comparing every venue to it isn't feasible.

I think if you read through the thread, with one individual exception, most of the whining is being done by non cats fans furious that we get 9 home games at all

56 pages. I ain't reading through the thread.

There's historically been whining from cats fans about home finals.

Folks who are furious about the Cats getting home games in 'Geelong' need to wake up to themselves too. May as well move Swans home games to the MCG by their reasoning.

Why is common sense so ****ing uncommon?!

Fact is Geelong get 9 genuine home games every single year, yet the MCG tenants they bitch about such as Collingwood are lucky to get half that. This season Collingwood had 4 home games for the season and played another ‘home game’ at our opponents home ground which we are forced to do every single year, some years we play 2.
What would you say if they even out the teams for each stadium in Vic.

Have Collingwood and Richmond, Hawks only for the MCG with Hawks playing some still at Tasmania.

Essendon/Saints stay strictly to Marvel

Geelong and Bulldogs strictly to Kadinia Park after they rebuild it.

North is the pain. Hopefully they go to Tasmania for good and all there home games should be in Hobart.

Would mean every club has a real home ground advantage and no more of this swapping home ground venues.

What would you say if they even out the teams for each stadium in Vic.

Have Collingwood and Richmond, Hawks only for the MCG with Hawks playing some still at Tasmania.

Essendon/Saints stay strictly to Marvel

Geelong and Bulldogs strictly to Kadinia Park after they rebuild it.

North is the pain. Hopefully they go to Tasmania for good and all there home games should be in Hobart.

Would mean every club has a real home ground advantage and no more of this swapping home ground venues.

Why would Footscray play in a different city? Have some sense mate!

Are you delusional and dumb. Common sense has failed you moron. Cry about unfair advantages yet there is this oval called Kadina Park that's been redevelop for one club while there's easily room for another. Closest club to Geelong is Western Bulldogs. And get off the high horse of another city. Geelong is pretty much Melbourne. Only 1 hr drive away.

Right now 10 Vic clubs
5 occupy MCG in Collingwood Carlton Richmond and Hawks and Dees

Marvel
4 occupy Essendon,Saints and North and also Bulldogs

1 occupy Kadina with Geelong only

Another team can easily fit into a rotating schedule at Kadina. Bulldogs should move home grounds to Kadinia. Isn't that far away 🙄.

And with any luck they piss Kangas and Hawks off to Tasmania.

It still does not alter the fact that you played 14 games on the MCG surface. More than any other team does. You get the same changeroom and run out the same gate, it is as good as an home game. Collingwood fans are delusional if the cannot see that. Collingwood are the least travelled team in the comp.
Spare me the comparisons with other teams.

1 - Are you delusional and dumb. Common sense has failed you moron.

Glass houses mate

Free Agent said:
2 - Cry about unfair advantages

My club does fine with advantages!

Free Agent said:
3 - Kadina Park that's been redevelop for one club while there's easily room for another.

occupy Kadina with Geelong only

Bulldogs should move home grounds to Kadinia.

Another team can easily fit into a rotating schedule at Kadina.

Refer to 1 drongo

It still does not alter the fact that you played 14 games on the MCG surface. More than any other team does. You get the same changeroom and run out the same gate, it is as good as an home game. Collingwood fans are delusional if the cannot see that. Collingwood are the least travelled team in the comp.
It's very hard work crossing the road from our training complex to get to the MCG!

Why has this all of a sudden become an issue?

When Geelong were playing finals year in year out from 1991-1997, I don't recall a push for their finals to be played at Geelong.

Finals were still relatively neutral. In the 90s, suburban grounds were still in use.

All other 8 clubs (exclude Melbourne because they never had one) gave up their suburban grounds by the 2000s, and so finals have slowly gone from being largely neutral to being largely biased. All but 4 clubs (roos, dogs, saints and cats) play home finals at their H+A home venue. In 1960 it was 2/12 clubs, now it's 14/18. So all we're asking for is the same deal for the four remaining clubs.

Sydney used to play finals at Homebush, now they don't.

Brisbane had to play a home prelim at the G, now they don't.

Time for the AFL to move on from the past.

It’s really mostly an issue for one poster and while I agree with his logic I think I and most Cats fans accept that it is unlikely to ever really happen. What most of us don’t agree with and it manifests itself in threads like this one and plenty of others, is that we are somehow gifted success by the afl for simply being ‘allowed’ to play 9 games in our home city each year, like it’s some sort of great show of generosity.

Ideally there will come a stage when our stadium reaches its full capacity where we can at least play interstate opponents in finals on a regular basis there

Are you delusional and dumb. Common sense has failed you moron. Cry about unfair advantages yet there is this oval called Kadina Park that's been redevelop for one club while there's easily room for another. Closest club to Geelong is Western Bulldogs. And get off the high horse of another city. Geelong is pretty much Melbourne. Only 1 hr drive away.

Right now 10 Vic clubs
5 occupy MCG in Collingwood Carlton Richmond and Hawks and Dees

Marvel
4 occupy Essendon,Saints and North and also Bulldogs

1 occupy Kadina with Geelong only

Another team can easily fit into a rotating schedule at Kadina. Bulldogs should move home grounds to Kadinia. Isn't that far away 🙄.

And with any luck they piss Kangas and Hawks off to Tasmania.
Distance from Footscray to Geelong: 67km
Distance from Footscray to Melbourne: 7km

You would kill Footscray’s sense of identity and its home attendances.

This is the sort of logic that led to Fitzroy playing on the other side of the city, divorcing it from its own identity. Or for Brisbane to play its home games at the Gold Coast - attendances tripled when they moved to Brisbane.

Ideally there will come a stage when our stadium reaches its full capacity where we can at least play interstate opponents in finals on a regular basis there
I really don't like that idea. Why should interstate teams have to play us in Geelong, while the big Melbourne teams get to host us? I would be furious about that if I followed an interstate team who lost to Geelong in Geelong in a close game one year, only to watch Richmond or Collingwood beat us at the MCG in the equivalent game the following year.

IMO, the first step is start sending teams like Collingwood back to Geelong during the H&A season.

If Geelong is going to get home finals in Geelong, it should be all finals, or all finals in the first two rounds, or something along those lines, but it should absolutely not be based on where the opponent is based.

Edit to add: AFL doesn't give a shit about fair, and I could absolutely see what you propose happening. I just wouldn't like it. I'd prefer to play all our finals at the MCG, over handicapping interstate sides that draw us in finals.

I really don't like that idea. Why should interstate teams have to play us in Geelong, while the big Melbourne teams get to host us? I would be furious about that if I followed an interstate team who lost to Geelong in Geelong in a close game one year, only to watch Richmond or Collingwood beat us at the MCG in the equivalent game the following year.

IMO, the first step is start sending teams like Collingwood back to Geelong during the H&A season.

If Geelong is going to get home finals in Geelong, it should be all finals, or all finals in the first two rounds, or something along those lines, but it should absolutely not be based on where the opponent is based.

Edit to add: AFL doesn't give a s**t about fair, and I could absolutely see what you propose happening. I just wouldn't like it. I'd prefer to play all our finals at the MCG, over handicapping interstate sides that draw us in finals.
You need to tear up the MCG contract for that to happen

If you get your wish and the bigger Melbourne clubs go to Geelong more often, with the existing MCG contract, you know you will get less games at alphabet don't you?

Lol, is there a single point in your post that is correct?

Distance from Footscray to Geelong: 67km
Distance from Footscray to Melbourne: 7km

You would kill Footscray’s sense of identity and its home attendances.

This is the sort of logic that led to Fitzroy playing on the other side of the city, divorcing it from its own identity. Or for Brisbane to play its home games at the Gold Coast - attendances tripled when they moved to Brisbane.
Serious Footscray is a small druggie town. Sense of identity get off it.
All I'm hearing is excuses and Geelong supporters selfishly want to keep a stadium to themselves.

Going by this stupid logic Fremantle are 40 minutes to Optus Stadium so they should have another stadium because they can't make the distance and are too far away. Ridiculous excuses.
Port are 30 minutes away from Adelaide Oval, maybe they should have a new stadium aswell.

Serious Footscray is a small druggie town. Sense of identity get off it.
All I'm hearing is excuses and Geelong supporters selfishly want to keep a stadium to themselves.

Going by this stupid logic Fremantle are 40 minutes to Optus Stadium so they should have another stadium because they can't make the distance and are too far away. Ridiculous excuses.
Port are 30 minutes away from Adelaide Oval, maybe they should have a new stadium aswell.
I’d be fine to have the Dogs if they wanted to come, but why would they?

But seriously, you have NFI about Footscray. It has drug issues; it’s also a vibrant melting pot, a hub for all the western suburbs, and has an amazing food scene.

The Dogs have their entire supporter base in western Melbourne. They should play their games in Melbourne.

I’d be fine to have the Dogs if they wanted to come, but why would they?

But seriously, you have NFI about Footscray. It has drug issues; it’s also a vibrant melting pot, a hub for all the western suburbs, and has an amazing food scene.

The Dogs have their entire supporter base in western Melbourne. They should play their games in Melbourne.
Footscray has the best banh mi in town. Not even close!

Geelong vs pies final should not be at the mcg.