• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

I don't think he was getting tagged last year, he just goes missing alot
Anyway he's been terrible this year

Hate to intrude. As you're a StK supporter, I can understand you not seeing Bont being tagged most of last year as you probably didn't watch many Dogs games, but how could you forget that the very team you support tagged the Bont last year (Mav Weller) in a game that you really should not have forgotten. Your greatest comeback in club history. 5th greatest comeback in AFL history (55 points), and a game where Jack Billings announced himself to the AFL world and dirty sanchez'd our whole team with 4 2nd half goals.

If Bont is over hyped, wouldn't he have won the Rising Star over Lewis Taylor then? An award voted by the media.

Taylor and Kolodjashnij have been better then Bont in their first two years and this year all 4 have had better starts to the year then Bont

Champion Data's 2015 All Australian team disagrees:
afl-prospectus-2016-242f6a-h900.jpg

Also the 18 AFL coaches disagree as well:

Best Young Player

1. Marcus Bontempelli - Western Bulldogs (557 votes)

2. Patrick Cripps – Carlton (527 votes)

3. Jeremy McGovern - West Coast (362 votes)
12038356_1093038747380414_3168826618317243620_n.jpg

Billings is the only player from the 2013 draft that has more potential than Bont IMO. Cripps will always be limited by his kicking, Taylor by height, and KK by grunt. Billings has started the year in blistering form and I don't see it slowing down. The modern game is so reliant on kicking skills and I think Billings is one of the best in the comp (this is why Cripps will always be limited IMO).

One thing that I agree with you on is that Bont has been short of a gallop so far this season. He missed the first half of the pre-season with hip surgery, but we really need him to have a strong finish to the year. The ease in which Hawks players were getting past Bont was just depressing on the weekend. He looked like he had the turning circle of a mack truck out there.

Bont is an absolute gun & we'd love to have him in RWB.

Having said that the vast majority of Saints supporters are very very happy with the decision to take Billings ahead of him.

Taylor & KK are miles behind in that conversation. It was a total & utter joke that Taylor got the RS ahead of Bont.

Hate to intrude. As you're a StK supporter, I can understand you not seeing Bont being tagged most of last year as you probably didn't watch many Dogs games, but how could you forget that the very team you support tagged the Bont last year (Mav Weller) in a game that you really should not have forgotten. Your greatest comeback in club history. 5th greatest comeback in AFL history (55 points), and a game where Jack Billings announced himself to the AFL world and dirty sanchez'd our whole team with 4 2nd half goals.

If Bont is over hyped, wouldn't he have won the Rising Star over Lewis Taylor then? An award voted by the media.

Best Young Player

Billings is the only player from the 2013 draft that has more potential than Bont IMO. Cripps will always be limited by his kicking, Taylor by height, and KK by grunt. Billings has started the year in blistering form and I don't see it slowing down. The modern game is so reliant on kicking skills and I think Billings is one of the best in the comp (this is why Cripps will always be limited IMO).

One thing that I agree with you on is that Bont has been short of a gallop so far this season. He missed the first half of the pre-season with hip surgery, but we really need him to have a strong finish to the year. The ease in which Hawks players were getting past Bont was just depressing on the weekend. He looked like he had the turning circle of a mack truck out there.

People have very short memories. A week ago some on here were calling for Montagna to be dropped.

Best Young Player

Very reasonable and balanced assessment. Bont & Billings both going to be ripping players. It is like choosing between Bingle and Hawkins, everybody wins. Most Doggies supporters are very sensitive when Boyd is mentioned, but you appear to be a little more realistic.

Honestly at the game the other week a bunch of us all had the same opinion, he is a dead set Kosi clone. That doesnt mean he wont be a good player, Kosi had a good career. However he was a massive tease. The occasional big pack mark and booming kick were nice, but constantly watching his opponent stroll away with the ball as soon as it hit the deck, not so much.

Very reasonable and balanced assessment. Bont & Billings both going to be ripping players. It is like choosing between Bingle and Hawkins, everybody wins. Most Doggies supporters are very sensitive when Boyd is mentioned, but you appear to be a little more realistic.

Honestly at the game the other week a bunch of us all had the same opinion, he is a dead set Kosi clone. That doesnt mean he wont be a good player, Kosi had a good career. However he was a massive tease. The occasional big pack mark and booming kick were nice, but constantly watching his opponent stroll away with the ball as soon as it hit the deck, not so much.

I do like your comparison (for mine Bingle short term, Hawkins long term).

I almost think its a moot argument, (if that is even the right word), re Billings and Bont.

As you say both players are going to be superstars. I love Billings and do not even think for one moment about who else we could have got at that pick. I'm sure Doggie supporters are the same about the Bont.

Best Young Player

You've convinced me, my friend. :)

So when does he come out of contract, so we can poach him?! ;)

Port are looking for another club to host a game in China next year. It'd bring an absolute bucket load of cash to the club.

We're already pioneers in this, having played in NZ. This will be a lot of the negatives of that game taken to another extreme, though. Longest travel time ever for the players, ridiculously compromised routines. Then there's playing an outdoor sport in a country where the air quality is a death sentence in cities.

I'm on the fence about it. The financial benefits and the chance to be innovators would be massive, but it could really compromise at least a chunk of our season.

Id do it.

Request we play at home the week before and that the week after is the bye. Shouldnt be an issue.

The difference between Bont & Billings is hype. If both players have 30'and kick 2 goals you can bet the media only talk about 1 of them, who cares though, they're both guns and will be for many years to come.
Let's just thank our lucky stars we didn't trade up to Pick 1 and took Boyd.

The difference between Bont & Billings is hype. If both players have 30'and kick 2 goals you can bet the media only talk about 1 of them, who cares though, they're both guns and will be for many years to come.
Let's just thank our lucky stars we didn't trade up to Pick 1 and took Boyd.

Pretty sure the difference at the moment is career form and Bont playing more games. I listen to Sen all day and they all know billings. Once he strings games together like Bont he will gets heaps of good publicity

Port are looking for another club to host a game in China next year. It'd bring an absolute bucket load of cash to the club.

We're already pioneers in this, having played in NZ. This will be a lot of the negatives of that game taken to another extreme, though. Longest travel time ever for the players, ridiculously compromised routines. Then there's playing an outdoor sport in a country where the air quality is a death sentence in cities.

I'm on the fence about it. The financial benefits and the chance to be innovators would be massive, but it could really compromise at least a chunk of our season.
I hope we can get involved and turn around say a losing money game at Etihad into a financial win. With Ports contractual issues, maybe we split the gates of a Adelaide game and a China game? I loathe selling games though as it compromises the ladder, when weak teams lose sold games they may have won at home. Eg us and Tassie

But how do we know Scharenberg will be any good.
History continues to show that some players are underrated when they are drafted, only to blossom a few years later, while others who go early in the draft don't cut it.
To me Scharenberg remains simply a prospect.

I hate to admit it but I have mates who follow the Pies and some of his VFL numbers sounded crazy good. He was an absolute gun for SA as kid and looked like he'd be a guaranteed hit for them. On paper they looked like they cleaned up at that draft and for what ever reason the footy gods decided to screw them over with injury.

Still doesn't look to bad. Berg, Freeman, Langdon, Marsh, Oxley. Swap Freeman for Aish who they now have. Still looks alright even with Bergs injury. I think we judge how well teams go in the draft far far too quickly.

They also added Taylor Adams through trade.

If I was running Port Adelaide, St Kilda would be the first club I would ask to take the home game.

$ to gain, You already have experience with playing in other countries (New Zealand), Possibly a few members to come out of it as well via TV viewers in China & people who choose to attend the game.

Sponsors will come knocking for both clubs purely because we will be on TV in front of such a large audience and they would love the exposure.

I'd assume the game would be made just before a bye round.

If I was running Port Adelaide, St Kilda would be the first club I would ask to take the home game.

$ to gain, You already have experience with playing in other countries (New Zealand), Possibly a few members to come out of it as well via TV viewers in China & people who choose to attend the game.

Sponsors will come knocking for both clubs purely because we will be on TV in front of such a large audience and they would love the exposure.

I'd assume the game would be made just before a bye round.

I think the demons will be the side. They already have links to China.

Will be interesting to see who it is. There is an article here saying the second club is locked in. But doesn't name who.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-04-...for-proposed-china-game-says-gillon-mclachlan

"The second club for the proposed Shanghai match would be reimbursed for its sacrifice in the same manner Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs are for playing 'home' games in Darwin and Cairns respectively in 2016.

Hawthorn and North Melbourne have also brokered lucrative deals to play more regular home games in Tasmania.

St Kilda travelled to New Zealand to host Anzac Day games in Wellington in each of the past three seasons in matches the club said were significantly more profitable than home games at Etihad Stadium."

not the bont vs billings argument again

its like trying to compare a young fyfe with robbie gray
Yeah i think both clubs are very happy with the young player they got.
Both seem like good kids. Both still a little inconsistent with their output which is understandable .
But both look like future match winners.
As as we saw with Billings Vs Doggies last yr, hes already shown he can win a game of his own boot.
Exciting times ahead.

Will be interesting to see who it is. There is an article here saying the second club is locked in. But doesn't name who.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-04-...for-proposed-china-game-says-gillon-mclachlan

"The second club for the proposed Shanghai match would be reimbursed for its sacrifice in the same manner Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs are for playing 'home' games in Darwin and Cairns respectively in 2016.

Hawthorn and North Melbourne have also brokered lucrative deals to play more regular home games in Tasmania.

St Kilda travelled to New Zealand to host Anzac Day games in Wellington in each of the past three seasons in matches the club said were significantly more profitable than home games at Etihad Stadium."

i hope its us and we make some good money out of it. anything between 500k-1m a game

They were talking about this game on SEN today and asked people to wing in and say if they wanted their club to go. I reckon nearly everyone who rang in said yes. I think footy supporters now realise how hard it is to make money and if they lose one home game for a huge amount it is worth it and I agree. 10 years a go I would have said get stuffed. How times change and a lot of that also is to do with people being happy to watch footy on TV now as well as attending games.

I think it's like the Seaford foreshore reserve and a paddock near Shepparton. Some clubs seem to have cleaned up...we weren't one that did.

isn't that normal for us?

Id do it.

Request we play at home the week before and that the week after is the bye. Shouldnt be an issue.

me too, i'd love the saints to do it.

Best Young Player

Mav Weller had the forward tag role on Murphy. Bont played majority of the round 6 Saints comeback game on the wing & in the centre & his opponents were Riewoldt (wing) & Armitage (centre). No hard tag at all on Bont that game.... Trust me, I've watched that game 12 times & watched it again just now for this research purpose ;)

Now having said that I still believe Bont is an out & out gun & would love him at StKilda, but he was not tagged at all in the comeback game as you stated above. And given Armo & Roo's influence in that game, I think that identifies an area he is deficient & that is his defensive edge through the middle. We should both be very happy with these blokes we drafted in 2013 as they will be the next Pendles & Stevie J.... Exciting times ahead