Bluelegs
Content Enthusiast
Peak media overanalyzation
3:10 for the real reason this is being brought up. Stop talking to the media and they'll turn the blowtorch on.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Peak media overanalyzation
Melbourne CEO Gary Pert has confirmed the Demons have implemented a curfew on players but downplayed the measure as a “sensible thing.”
The Age’s Caroline Wilson told Footy Classified on Wednesday night that Melbourne players had been told to return to their Joondalup resort by 9pm each night.
"Alan Richardson, the Head of Football, has basically said we want you all back at the Joondalup resort every night by 9 pm and we'd rather you all eat dinner together at the resort,” she said.
Pert confirmed the report to SEN Breakfast on Thursday morning, detailing the reasons behind the strict initiative.
“There’s been a bit of talk about it, I think it’s just a sensible thing,” he said.
“It’s just a reminder that we’ve come over to Perth to take the cup back home, we’re here to do a job.
“Yes, we’ve got a bit more flexibility because we’re out of isolation so we can move around during the day, but let’s just be sensible and come back and have our meals here at night and sleep in our rooms.
“We’ve got some Perth players so if they want to spend time with their families for dinner then great, but again everyone back at the resort (by 9pm).
The former Fitzroy and Collingwood star said players have taken to the curfew well, and everyone at the club is being “reasonable."
“It hasn’t been a big deal at all,” he said.
“It’s just ‘boys, let’s make sure we’re back it that we’re all back here at 9.' There are no punishments, no one’s been upset by it, we’re not sitting at the doors counting who’s in the rooms, everyone’s been very reasonable about it.
“If someone comes back at five past nine (at night) we’re not going to worry about that.”
Melbourne are hoping to break a 57-year premiership drought when they take on the Bulldogs on September 25.
Melbourne CEO confirms Demons under curfew
“It’s just a reminder that we’ve come over to Perth to take the cup back home, we’re here to do a job.“www.sen.com.au
Seems like more of a guideline than a hard rule. Like they're all in a new city and will naturally want to enjoy their time there so just trying to keep everyone focused on the job. Makes sense considering the club is planning to stay in Perth for a while after the Grand Final regardless of the result. Just asking the players to hold off on enjoying the city too much until the season is over.
Melbourne CEO confirms Demons under curfew
“It’s just a reminder that we’ve come over to Perth to take the cup back home, we’re here to do a job.“www.sen.com.au
Seems like more of a guideline than a hard rule. Like they're all in a new city and will naturally want to enjoy their time there so just trying to keep everyone focused on the job. Makes sense considering the club is planning to stay in Perth for a while after the Grand Final regardless of the result. Just asking the players to hold off on enjoying the city too much until the season is over.
Would have been great to hold onto long term but probably a good idea to cash in during covid times to keep us healthy financially. I guess.We've sold the Bentleigh club for 23.7m and are fully debt free.
My best suggestion would be to subscribe to Kayo and then get a browser plugin that can download videos off sites. I believe Kayo currently host the entire AFL season for 2021. You might be breaking the terms of service though.
Yeah. I'd have a hard time believing that the players weren't almost unanimously in favour of this.When you have a job to do, that is winning a premiership, externally it might appear to be intensely militant. Internally, however, the need and want for focused discipline when the stakes are so high are entirely reasonable. Think of a UFC fighter that is in the last stages of preparation, i.e. half a week to a week and a half out from their bout, you hardly hear or see them, until they resurface to their fight.
"Do the job and then we can celebrate" seems to be the overarching theme.
And IIRC his team was favourite in both. The stuff about ‘well if you have to tell grown men what to do then’ is just stupid. First of all, his St Kilda side had guys doing the dumbest shit off field. Secondly, they’re not all grown men. We had one of the youngest lists in the finals and have multiple kids with mates in WA that we need to keep focussed. Only really fair that everyone plays by the same rules. There’s obviously no punishment if you’re late. Caro’s “in bed by 9” misnomer a classic example of media stirring, which they’re entitled to do I suppose. But don’t turn around and ask why nobody is speaking to you more than they need to.He did lose 2 epic ones lol
I'm sure it doesn't matter, we've done everything right up till now. Be surprised if this was the moment we stuffed it all up
I reckon Collingwood would have been fav in 2010 seeing as they finished top of the ladderAnd IIRC his team was favourite in both. The stuff about ‘well if you have to tell grown men what to do then’ is just stupid. First of all, his St Kilda side had guys doing the dumbest sh*t off field. Secondly, they’re not all grown men. We had one of the youngest lists in the finals and have multiple kids with mates in WA that we need to keep focussed. Only really fair that everyone plays by the same rules. There’s obviously no punishment if you’re late. Caro’s “in bed by 9” misnomer a classic example of media stirring, which they’re entitled to do I suppose. But don’t turn around and ask why nobody is speaking to you more than they need to.
So slickI've made a pact with a mate where, if we do win the flag, I'll be getting Fritta's haircut.
Thanks for thatApparently Goodwin and Yze are sick is the new no news article.
Jesus, Alan Howe let you get a piece in about football? He’s a pain in the arseNoCookies | The Australian
www.theaustralian.com.au
I wrote something for The Australian which was designed to summise how so many of us are feeling
I was meant to be pointing out the pointless stuff being said in the media.Thanks for that
Behind a paywall so can't read it, but I have no doubt you have summarised it beautifully. I at least was able to bathe in the glory of '64, and to a lesser extent '60. So in some way i think from a quite selfish point of view I probably feel it worse in many ways, but the pain, the hurt, and the utter frustration is palpable for all of us.NoCookies | The Australian
www.theaustralian.com.au
I wrote something for The Australian which was designed to summise how so many of us are feeling
I vividly remember 07-13, 14-17 and some very shit individual seasons in 96, 97, 99, 03 and 2019. But 65-86 must’ve been ****ing dire. Were there any years where there was hope (sans 65 where we started well)? Or was it pretty much like 07-13 where the season looked shot to bits 15 minutes into the first round?Behind a paywall so can't read it, but I have no doubt you have summarised it beautifully. I at least was able to bathe in the glory of '64, and to a lesser extent '60. So in some way i think from a quite selfish point of view I probably feel it worse in many ways, but the pain, the hurt, and the utter frustration is palpable or all of us.
So I have been truly waiting the entire 57 years for some more glory.
81 was meant to be exactly that badI vividly remember 07-13, 14-17 and some very sh*t individual seasons in 96, 97, 99, 03 and 2019. But 65-86 must’ve been ******* dire. Were there any years where there was hope (sans 65 where we started well)? Or was it pretty much like 07-13 where the season looked shot to bits 15 minutes into the first round?
My old man speaks of 76 the dees looked to be storming into finals only for Carlton to draw with Footscray in the last round and so Footscray took that spot. But just years of mediocrity besides that one season. My first memory of a Melbourne season was 94 and then not seeing finals again until 98 felt like an eternity. I suppose 8 to 12 its a third of your life but imagine being 8 in 64 and nothing until you get to 31. That's a long time, even from 06 to 2018 isn't that bad in comparison.I vividly remember 07-13, 14-17 and some very sh*t individual seasons in 96, 97, 99, 03 and 2019. But 65-86 must’ve been ******* dire. Were there any years where there was hope (sans 65 where we started well)? Or was it pretty much like 07-13 where the season looked shot to bits 15 minutes into the first round?