Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

Cody Thorp is family who plays everywhere his brother does, Josh Woolley is a Lton premiership player, and Jobi Harper is out for the first eight weeks. Some guy from WA and another from Victoria. Hardly domination by recruitment. Allen Christensen at Lauderdale probably adds more to them than whatever extra all of these guys put together bring to Lton...

Yeah, right. ;)

You know, it's not the actual scoreboard results showing northern dominance over southern teams that I enjoy, seeing as a) I hate both Lton and North as a South supporter and b) I'm into good footy - I'll always applaud the winner no matter where they come from if they played well to win...

It's the southern supporters. Every time. If they aren't beating the north, it totally goes against their self-entitlement and sense of what is good and right and just with the world, and turns them into snivelling, whiny f###s! It's been a decade of blissful and continuous York Park grand finals with a glorious rocking soundtrack of bemusement and now excuses as to why they can't right the ship...! Madmug, you've said in the past you don't pay any attention to Launceston football...insert wry pffft shrug smiley icon here...

You guys are even circling with the exact answer to the problem above, but you'd rather grumble with half baked excuses as to why Launceston will apparently be a juggernaut, to go with the other one that's been doing it for years at North. They recruited a few players - none of them world beating. Look at their frigging list! Look at North's - they haven't brought anyone in! Both sides full of northerners. Ten years ago, a good chunk of these two teams were turning out for Rocherlea v Prospect! The same Blues side who couldn't get past Lauderdale for years...as soon as they do it once, the sky caves in over Hobart!

Meanwhile down south, North Hobart and Glenorchy are gutted and the Tigers never step up. Conveniently ignoring the typically professional work done at Lauderdale and Clarence, who over the last few years have been contenders, a game away from the flag each time. You guys have directly mentioned the mishmash of the southern set up, and the fact that better offers are made by SFL teams than are present with a spot in the side at North Hobart. So that's the bit you fix! If funding going to TSL sides to attract the best players will put them back on top of the pyramid, then make that happen! And then it's up to them individually to get their f###ing act together in the board room and onfield...!

Yeah, the same old AFL Tas battles, sure. Money doesn't grow on trees, and egos run footy. But the city of Launceston doesn't have anything to answer for here! It suited the hell out of the south to go back on their agreements and keep all their TFL sides in 1986 while wrecking two competitions, and the extra teams down south never seemed to affect their chances as they took out 12 of the 15 flags on offer...one all-north GF and suddenly it's a cataclysmic death knell for Tasmanian footy. There are a couple of NW footballers running around in the TSL at the moment...the good ones all won a flag with Burnie last year! Your arguments about northern dominance are dumb, people...!

Anyway, throw it back, whatever...win-win for me...I'm not seeing positions of validity to put me in my place here, otherwise there wouldn't be that particular problem...if it was, someone in Hobart sure as hell would have fixed it...! And if it was fixed, the footy would supposedly be great...can't not like that. Like I said, this amuses me no end, and it's payback for century of southern frakking of any notion of a united Tasmanian football front. What will happen though is Clarence and Lauderdale will put up real challenges to the two northern sides...you might even acknowledge that when it happens and can put aside the local hatred most of you have for both of these clubs...!

You know, it's not the actual scoreboard results showing northern dominance over southern teams that I enjoy, seeing as a) I hate both Lton and North as a South supporter and b) I'm into good footy - I'll always applaud the winner no matter where they come from if they played well to win...

It's the southern supporters. Every time. If they aren't beating the north, it totally goes against their self-entitlement and sense of what is good and right and just with the world, and turns them into snivelling, whiny f###s! It's been a decade of blissful and continuous York Park grand finals with a glorious rocking soundtrack of bemusement and now excuses as to why they can't right the ship...! Madmug, you've said in the past you don't pay any attention to Launceston football...insert wry pffft shrug smiley icon here...

You guys are even circling with the exact answer to the problem above, but you'd rather grumble with half baked excuses as to why Launceston will apparently be a juggernaut, to go with the other one that's been doing it for years at North. They recruited a few players - none of them world beating. Look at their frigging list! Look at North's - they haven't brought anyone in! Both sides full of northerners. Ten years ago, a good chunk of these two teams were turning out for Rocherlea v Prospect! The same Blues side who couldn't get past Lauderdale for years...as soon as they do it once, the sky caves in over Hobart!

Meanwhile down south, North Hobart and Glenorchy are gutted and the Tigers never step up. Conveniently ignoring the typically professional work done at Lauderdale and Clarence, who over the last few years have been contenders, a game away from the flag each time. You guys have directly mentioned the mishmash of the southern set up, and the fact that better offers are made by SFL teams than are present with a spot in the side at North Hobart. So that's the bit you fix! If funding going to TSL sides to attract the best players will put them back on top of the pyramid, then make that happen! And then it's up to them individually to get their f###ing act together in the board room and onfield...!

Yeah, the same old AFL Tas battles, sure. Money doesn't grow on trees, and egos run footy. But the city of Launceston doesn't have anything to answer for here! It suited the hell out of the south to go back on their agreements and keep all their TFL sides in 1986 while wrecking two competitions, and the extra teams down south never seemed to affect their chances as they took out 12 of the 15 flags on offer...one all-north GF and suddenly it's a cataclysmic death knell for Tasmanian footy. There are a couple of NW footballers running around in the TSL at the moment...the good ones all won a flag with Burnie last year! Your arguments about northern dominance are dumb, people...!

Anyway, throw it back, whatever...win-win for me...I'm not seeing positions of validity to put me in my place here, otherwise there wouldn't be that particular problem...if it was, someone in Hobart sure as hell would have fixed it...! And if it was fixed, the footy would supposedly be great...can't not like that. Like I said, this amuses me no end, and it's payback for century of southern frakking of any notion of a united Tasmanian football front. What will happen though is Clarence and Lauderdale will put up real challenges to the two northern sides...you might even acknowledge that when it happens and can put aside the local hatred most of you have for both of these clubs...!

Can you really not see the lopsided balance in the competition?

Then they just play a 5 team comp? Who knows maybe a club can see a path for them similar to what Lauderdale did to grow?
Of course most won’t want to. Hence why strong leadership that has a view to what’s best for Southern Football needs to set it up. Claremont, North Hobart and Suns have all stepped up to play former TSlw teams this year
I like your idea partly the best setup for a state league in Tasmania would be having it split into a northern and southern conferences have all the Hobart tsl clubs in the south all the Launceston ones and Burnie and Devonport in the north have the top three from each cross over for finals would aleiviate a lot of travel but still keep a state league format and not disrupt the regional leagues below

Conveniently ignoring the typically professional work done at Lauderdale and Clarence, who over the last few years have been contenders, a game away from the flag each time.

Clarence haven't played grannie since 2010. They haven't played a prelim since 14. Do you mean Lauderdale & Glenorchy? Those 2 been top 3-4 most years for years and years and played 5 grannies since Clarence last did.

I know Good Friday is boring, but geez to waste a day off on a rant, especially a factually wrong one, is a bit meaningless.

Surely you must have had a bottle or two with your fish to start on about 1986?.

Gib, you left the state, let go your bitterness as well.

Enjoy the rest of your day, & whatever is left in the fridge. ;)

So what do ya make of the results this week?
Kingston only just got over NH, Launceston smashed NL easily at the Park and the Bombers beat the Rooboys by a goal today. Geezuz it wouldda been hard playing in that wind and heat this arvo, was about 33 degrees or something. Some tired boys tomorrow.

Clarence haven't played grannie since 2010. They haven't played a prelim since 14. Do you mean Lauderdale & Glenorchy? Those 2 been top 3-4 most years for years and years and played 5 grannies since Clarence last did.
Heard a rumour the other day Clarence applied to join the SFL over summer but got knocked back

Kingston only just got over NH, Launceston smashed NL easily at the Park and the Bombers beat the Rooboys by a goal today. Geezuz it wouldda been hard playing in that wind and heat this arvo, was about 33 degrees or something. Some tired boys tomorrow.
Launie then the field I’d say. Two close games in the South which is good. Would of been hell today playing in those conditions with how hard round one is anyway.

The results gives some clubs hope to make 2nd place, some to make finals & avoid 6th & last positions. ;)

ie, Launceston should be top. Toss up NHFC, GDFC & KTFC to make 5th.

I know Good Friday is boring, but geez to waste a day off on a rant, especially a factually wrong one, is a bit meaningless.

Surely you must have had a bottle or two with your fish to start on about 1986?.

Gib, you left the state, let go your bitterness as well.

Enjoy the rest of your day, & whatever is left in the fridge. ;)
I'm enjoying the angst...that's not bitterness, bud...read a dictionary. I'll say whatever the f### I want. It's all legit, and no worse than anything you'll ever put out. Address means nothing - I was there long enough and they've got this thing called the internet which means I watch more Tasmanian footy than I ever did when I lived there. And you calling me bitter is like Pauline Hanson calling everyone else a racist...you always know they've got nothing when they resort to personal comments instead of attacking the issue...!

I meant Clarence, only referring to the last couple of seasons when everyone down south started bitching and whinging. Clarence could easily have made 3-4 GFs since their last. Underscores my point when you add Glenorchy going back the couple of years before that. That means only North Hobart have dropped the ball, with the Tigers taking their time. Just laughable...

Of course there is, but it's not due to northern advantages. How can YOU not see that!

Of course it is, their simply needs to be a third team in Launceston, it isn’t rocket science, do you think it’s just a coincidence that as the clubs from up North have disappeared the gap has become wider?

The local soccer league has 8 teams. 5 from Hobart, 2 from Launy, 1 from Devonport.

Devonport, South Hobart, Kingston & Glenorchy seem the strongest this year. Covid has stopped Olympia & Clarence Zebras from recruiting their usual overseas players this year.

Is a far better balanced comp than the TSL. They even run a women's state wide league. Something the AFL ruined here.

The local soccer league has 8 teams. 5 from Hobart, 2 from Launy, 1 from Devonport.

Devonport, South Hobart, Kingston & Glenorchy seem the strongest this year. Covid has stopped Olympia & Clarence Zebras from recruiting their usual overseas players this year.

Is a far better balanced comp than the TSL. They even run a women's state wide league. Something the AFL ruined here.

Something that helps is that Soccer doesn’t have leagues under them paying players more money to play.

God, this blindness is even more baffling when it comes from you, the guy who follows the most focused team in the south...great junior development, steady success, great recruiting, in a town of bugger all. Your own team knocked off the same Launceston lineup that won the other night in consecutive finals series, and made all of your GF's after South and the Storm were gone. There are half a dozen ex South flag players still running around, with one at Glenorchy, and almost nobody from the NW Coast. In the meantime, said it earlier, you guys have identified serious pathway issues between the southern TSL sides and the lower league sides around them...which part of any of this is due to unfair Northern advantage, and where exactly is the evidence of actual success attributable to it...? Get on SP and look at the team lists. Facts really f### up all your arguments, guys. The Northern sides are just showing you up for the minute, doing it competently, and a couple of the southern sides are wrecking your united front...it's never a problem when you win, but as soon as y'all suck it's someone else's fault, hey...!

Sure, maths is great and can explain many things. 2 v 5 looks so telling when you put it like that. It can also give you convenient excuses when things don't go your way and you can't be f###ed looking for the real reasons. And, bud, as any self respecting scientist will tell you - that is NOT rocket science...!

God, this blindness is even more baffling when it comes from you, the guy who follows the most focused team in the south...great junior development, steady success, great recruiting, in a town of bugger all. Your own team knocked off the same Launceston lineup that won the other night in consecutive finals series, and made all of your GF's after South and the Storm were gone. There are half a dozen ex South flag players still running around, with one at Glenorchy, and almost nobody from the NW Coast. In the meantime, said it earlier, you guys have identified serious pathway issues between the southern TSL sides and the lower league sides around them...which part of any of this is due to unfair Northern advantage, and where exactly is the evidence of actual success attributable to it...? Get on SP and look at the team lists. Facts really f### up all your arguments, guys. The Northern sides are just showing you up for the minute, doing it competently, and a couple of the southern sides are wrecking your united front...it's never a problem when you win, but as soon as y'all suck it's someone else's fault, hey...!

Sure, maths is great and can explain many things. 2 v 5 looks so telling when you put it like that. It can also give you convenient excuses when things don't go your way and you can't be f###ed looking for the real reasons. And, bud, as any self respecting scientist will tell you - that is NOT rocket science...!

They may have knocked off Launceston in a couple of prelims but waiting for them was North Launceston who they virtually had no chance of beating, then last year as the time grew even further between the demise of the other Northern teams the gap grew even wider which culminated in two Northern sides miles ahead of the rest.
North Launceston may have finally dropped off from their dominance but Launceston’s has only just started, as it stands with the imbalance of the teams in a North/South split one of Launceston or North Launceston will be dominant

Blackberry, Harper, Riley, Musicka, Thorp, Jones are not just your run of the mill ex South Launceston premiership players are they? They are some of the cream of the competition, if South were still around would they be playing at Windsor park? If they weren’t playing for Launceston would they be as dominant? I reckon if you answer both of those questions honestly, you’ll realise where I am coming from.
Then you look at the other players NL have had in their teams over the last 5 years, Van Buuren, Lee, Lowe and Egger from Devonport, McCulloch and Tepper from South Launceston, Josh Holland from Latrobe and Liam Davies from Ulverstone and I am sure there is some I’ve missed, these are all added to an already formidable outfit, it’s what make them unbeatable.

3 teams in the North with the talent evenly spread, that will go a long way to equalise the 5 team spread in the south, you’ll still have high quality teams in the North good enough to win Premierships any given season as we saw earlier in this edition of the TSL, but you won’t get the total dominance and forgone conclusions heading into final series, as we saw in 2014 when NL had to come to Bellerive to win a 2nd semi en route to winning the flag, or the two battles they had with Glenorchy across two seasons which resulted in a 1-1 split in grand finals, but as the number of teams thinned out North of Oatlands, NL were able to add players each season from lower comps or the NWC which saw them widen the gap and ultimately dominate seasons and win grand finals by record margins.

It’s not rocket science mate, the facts and figures are all their for people to see and unless something is done to change it then this comp won’t even be around for you to beat your chest about, I have it on very good authority that Clarence have applied to join the SFL and that’s all it will take, one team to jump and the rest will follow.

Not so sure. Local clubs have been in various bidding wars forever. The old ethnic based clubs had the cash. Usually clubs like Olympia or Juventus.

Not this year.
I would have no idea about soccer down here.
Interesting no Mitch Thorp for Launceston in pre-season games or round one. Anything to this? Tigers have A big opportunity this weekend to go 2-0 at home. Feel they need to win their h9me games if want t9 sneak into the four.

I would have no idea about soccer down here.
Interesting no Mitch Thorp for Launceston in pre-season games or round one. Anything to this? Tigers have A big opportunity this weekend to go 2-0 at home. Feel they need to win their h9me games if want t9 sneak into the four.

Thats why I explained it all to you. ;)

One would think beating NHFC, GDFC & one other, like Clarence, is what they need to do to make the 4.

I don't think they have the strength to beat either Clarence, Lauderdale or NL enough times to make it.