Health Getting hassled while exercising

Wright Away

I don't know if anyone else experiences this, I assume a lot of people do. Being bothered by people while walking/running/cycling, whether they toot their horns, rev their penis extension engines, yell abuse or throw things. What is it about hassling people that are exercising that excites these idiots? Is it the thrill of cowardice that comes from hiding like a soft **** in your car going 50-60km an hour?

Tonight I was walking and some arseh*le threw a rock at me, it missed but still what the ****???

Has anyone else had any issues with walking/running/cycling and being hassled?

Everybody hates cyclists apparently but I've been lucky enough to avoid this documented phenomenon. It's usually limited to people squeezing past me in a desperate attempt to overtake so I can catch them at the immediately-following red light.

It's usually limited to people squeezing past me in a desperate attempt to overtake so I can catch them at the immediately-following red light.

I love passing these cars at lights - In Melbourne quite often it means I pass them for good because they are stuck behind a whole heap of other cars and trams -

There was one night when myself and two of my friends were riding to Essendon via Albion St. There is this rather staunch hill at one point and I am a faster rider than the other two so I went off ahead to go at my own pace up the hill. When I was about 40% or so up the hill, and the other two were a fair way back still, some car came flying up behind us and he tooted his horn and yelled out some obscenities to the two behind me, and sure enough, as he passed me he did the same thing, blaring the horn and yelling out something inaudible. This particular night I may have had a drink or two and wasn't in a super mood and it pissed me off so it set me off and I gunned the hill as fast as I possibly could, and too my absolute suprise (and the driver's too!) I managed to catch this deuchbag and the set of lights at the top of hill. Well.. I knocked on the window and asked why they tooted us. The two in the car tried to ignore me for a bit but finally they wound down the window and I asked them again, "why did you blare your horn at us, that is really dangerous" etc etc...
The guy tried telling me that he was tooting us to give us the "you guys are right" signal.. (pff.. pig's arse) - Then he went on to ask "what are you guys doing anyway? running a marathon?" -- Running a marathon? On bikes? What a moron..

Anyway, the lights went green at this stage and he sped off quick smart.

Fortunately, I've haven't been too hassled on my bike - Riding home from St Kilda after work past 11pm on friday nights can be interesting, but nothing too malicious -

Unfortunately, a lot of my female friends seem to have way worse stories of cars hassling them on bikes - My ex-girlfriend no longer rides down Lygon St after a couple of seperate unsavoury incidents...

People who hassle cyclists should be forced to ride to work on a bike for a week just so they can get some perspective on how utterly dangerous it can be when motorists act like dickwads

Cyclists who stick to the very side of the road I dont have a problem with. But those who ride 2, 3 or 4 abreast in the middle of the road.... well I have a bag of rocks in my car specifically for them.

Where I live they are the worst, they seem to think they own the road. This remnds me I must top up my rock bag tomorrow.

Cyclists who stick to the very side of the road I dont have a problem with. But those who ride 2, 3 or 4 abreast in the middle of the road.... well I have a bag of rocks in my car specifically for them.

Where I live they are the worst, they seem to think they own the road. This remnds me I must top up my rock bag tomorrow.

these guys are worse than superaids IMO, they are the ones giving cyclists a bad name.

As mentioned above, cyclists who stick to the side of the road so that vehicles can comfortably pass are fine.

The ****s who insist on riding in the middle of a traffic lane at 20km/h (particularly when they’re taking off from lights and it takes them about 5 mins to get up to any kind of normal speed), people are always going to get the shits and they’re just inviting trouble. Some even do it when riding alone, not only when they’re in groups and riding abreast.

I don’t give a shit what the law says, show a bit of courtesy and move the **** over when there’s somebody who travelling a lot faster than you are.

But the majority of cyclists I reckon you don’t even notice, which means they’re doing the right thing.

I think the exercise thing is worse for chicks obviously. My ex used to go for a run, fair dinkum she might as well have been dancing on a pole, such was the treatment she’d get from random ***** in passing cars.

I presume, statistically, there's a few people on this forum that have yelled things from cars at women on the side of the road. My question to them is: why do you do it, you ****ing scumbags?

I hate it when I'm on the cross trainer exercise equipment and people will start spitting on me and throwing stuff at me, guess that's why they call it a cross trainer. Makes me really Cross.
this, plus i don't get rowing machines. looks like lot of effort just to have a fight :confused:

It's always funny when they yell something and then gun it down the road out of sight, as if I was gonna be pissed off enough to suddenly develop the ability to run 60kp/h to catch them.

As mentioned above, cyclists who stick to the side of the road so that vehicles can comfortably pass are fine.

The ****s who insist on riding in the middle of a traffic lane at 20km/h (particularly when they’re taking off from lights and it takes them about 5 mins to get up to any kind of normal speed), people are always going to get the shits and they’re just inviting trouble. Some even do it when riding alone, not only when they’re in groups and riding abreast.

Agree with the above but I also hate cyclists who want to be protected by the rules/laws of the road but are then happy to ride straight through a red light at major intersections when the green man is flashing and people are crossing the intersection.

A few years back I was runnind around Princes Park. Up ahead I saw this old, dero looking bloke just sitting there next to the running track. As I neared him him he looked up at me and barked "run, run ya f***ing c**t". Did the exact same thing when I ran around a second time.

I wasnt annoyed at all, I reckon its the funniest things that's ever happened to me during exercise.

I was riding my bike a few months ago and some kid jumped out of the sunroof, aimed an apple at me and hit me square in the nose/mouth.

Bit of bleeding and hurt for a while.

Was thinking of riding them down, taking my bike lock and taking it too mummy's car but there were 5 rather large lads that I thought would've got the better of me.

I was riding my bike a few months ago and some kid jumped out of the sunroof, aimed an apple at me and hit me square in the nose/mouth.

Was thinking of riding them down, taking my bike lock and taking it too mummy's car but there were 5 rather large lads that I thought would've got the better of me.
If discretion is the better part of valour, I've always considered cowardice a better part of discretion.

Agree with the above but I also hate cyclists who want to be protected by the rules/laws of the road but are then happy to ride straight through a red light at major intersections when the green man is flashing and people are crossing the intersection.
I do this but I get off my bike, push through it through the pedestrian crossing and then back on and away the other side of the road. No harm, no foul.

Brah, do you even lift?

Funny similar story my old man told me... years ago they were driving along the Great Ocean Road, passing a cyclist, for whatever reason one of his mates throws a half-full Big M at the cyclist and hits him. Just being a w***er but he admits they all had a bit of a laugh.

At least 20 mins later of solid driving, they’re stopped in a shop near Lorne getting a drink, in behind them walks this (prob been exaggerated over the years) absolute behemoth in lycra, about 6 ft 4, built like a super-athlete and puffing like he’d just sprinted a marathon. “Oi Big M boy”... without a second’s hesitation he snots my old man’s mate, walks out, back onto his bike and rides off. Old man reckons they were that stunned they all just stood there staring at each other.

Left him with a fair sore nose and a black eye. Funny thing, the bloke he belted wasn’t even the one who threw it.

Moral: don’t throw shit at possibly elite athletes.

When I'm out jogging (usually between 8.30 - 10 pm) every second or third week I'll get someone yelling trying to put me off and make me trip. Invariably it's teenage / 20 something guys in an old shit car. These are on roads with footpaths, which I'm on so it's not a 'you're holding us up' anti-cyclist type rant.

They are off before I have to time to reply (or lob a rock) and not interested in starting a fight anyway. I just take satisfaction that by the time they'd reach my age (39) they'll either have wiped themselves out or be in the two-thirds of guys my age who are so fat and unfit they start panting if they have to walk up a small hill. I just wish I could be there to witness their inevitable heart attack or car crash. Yeah, I admit, I'd enjoy being petty.