Health Getting hassled while exercising

Yes I would very much prefer that as for dangerous I don't see how I've never felt the inclination to just cut across a bike lane and I don't merge or turn without looking.
Congrats - Tell that to a mate (Just riding to work on his hybrid) who got sucked under a semi trailer whilst riding in the bike lane because he wasn't accounted for.
If they hold up a vehicle turning for a few minutes who cares its better then holding up ALL traffic when you can't overtake them.
You do realise that vehicle waiting would in turn hold up the entire traffic lane, yes?
As for the pissing and moaning cyclists whinge about safety demand bike lanes (which motorists pay for), they get them then don't bloody well use them "for safety"
Sorry, but lol. Enough said. (PS Most cyclists also have cars they pay rego on, but that's besides the point because money for infrastructure upkeep is sourced elsewhere)
And you wonder way people hate bike riders. When I lived in Sydney my work place used to drink at a pub on the corner of Kent and erskin street, called the office. Every Friday night we played rumpelstiltskin.
People hate cyclists because they're impatient twats.
That is you take a shot everytime a cyclist ran a red light and nearly got taken out by a bus/car or sometimes other cyclists.

I don't think I ever left that pub sober once. Cyclists don't follow any of the road rules don't pay Rego then finally to solve the problem of the cyclist hazard you don't use the solution.

Thankfully on the coast the riders aren't as bad but this because the cops hassle them atleast once a week I see the cops pull a Lycra boy over just past the sundale bridge for their antics.
We aren't discussing cyclists breaking road rules, we're talking about general cyclist safety.

But I see a heckuva lot more cars going 80 in a 60 zone or running reds than cyclists running reds. But you'll just turn around and claim 'that's not as dangerous herp'.

Only 2 things annoy me much when it comes to cyclists;
  • Heavy traffic, finally overtake the slow cyclist (by this i mean ones that do say 20km/h on a 80 zone) then at a red light the weave back to the front and you get to repeat.
  • When they pull up next to you at a red light and put their hand on your car to balance rather than unclipping from the pedal. Lost it at one after I had just polished my car and he stuck his sweaty mitt on my front guard.
Technically a 3rd when I'm actually riding, the fact I legally have to ride on the road even on a BMX, the gearing on my BMX means basically without pedaling like a maniac I get overtaken by runners and old people on mobility scooters. One time i rode it on a road the grind peg got clipped by a nutter in a Taxi and ended up on the nature strip
Heavy traffic? Wouldn't that mean you're probably going slower than the cyclist anyway? IMO every cyclist v motorist debate can be ended with both parties slowing down a Tad and realising that the other party is probably only "holding them up" for a grand total of less than a minute over the entire journey. You're not the president of the USA. Your time isn't worth that much. And certainly not worth the risk of killing someone by trying to get somewhere a whole 1 minute earlier..

Heavy traffic in my case is probably medium to others I don't really hit the bottlenecks etc. More just meant traffic where you get stuck behind them with no way around, while it might only hold you up a minute it becomes a major pain the ass when they're going at a slug pace causing people to weave around and tailgate.

People are so selfish. Is it so difficult to wait a few seconds to get around a bike? Why does it make you so angry? If they weren't riding, they'd be driving, and probably adding a lot more than 2 seconds to your journey. Maybe the same people who are so angry while they drive should give riding a go?

That's what shits me the most, a ******* bike lane is put in yet these Moos take up the entire left lane, with their cyclist orgy.

Then get pissed off when someone cracks it and forces them off the road, get in the cycle lane provided or strap a ******* engine on that two wheeler and get up to the bloody speed limit.
It's a 'speed limit', not a requirement. So long as their mere presence isn't dangerous (and no, delaying you by 30 seconds doesn't qualify) they're perfectly within their rights to take up a lane.

Forcing them off the road? You sound like a real hero.

It's a 'speed limit', not a requirement. So long as their mere presence isn't dangerous (and no, delaying you by 30 seconds doesn't qualify) they're perfectly within their rights to take up a lane.

I personally would never do it but I understand people who do lose the The plot over it, clearly you've never been on the M2 with a dozen riders slowing traffic to a crawl because they refuse to ride on the shoulder.

Speed limits are complete crap here in Victoria

Mind you don't tamper me as one of those idiots who decide it's safe to do 120 down canterbury road at 3:30 PM

A pelaton of cyclists riding at 20-30 km/h slow traffic speed in the lane they are occupying to that speed.

It's not as simple as saying 'cars in that lane just do 30 km/h and suck it up' as the road speed is not selected to make motorists happy, it's selected to move traffic from point A to point B at the quickest rate that is safe.

The cyclists create a bottleneck which due to slowing the lane speed increases the number of cars in the lane as the traffic speed is reduced. More cars plus varied lane speeds (cars are going to move between lanes) is a more dangerous environment than normal conditions.

I have noticed an increasing trend for young males (say 18-23) in cars accompanied by their mates to either toot their horns or yell out something unintelligible whilst driving past when I am out running.
We acquired a megaphone as 18 year olds to combat the unintelligible aspect.
We'd usually say something out of left field to spin people out. The trick was to sound the alarm to get their attention first. Stoned and bored I guess.

I get it very irregularly whilst out running/riding. Far and away the funniest one ever was getting 'megaphoned' 10 years down the track from when we used to do it.

Had an attempted egging once and I knew the lights they were heading to were due to turn red. Rang back the 250m towards them with a rock and saw the panic which caused the driver to work his way through the red light

I started jogging in the summer break between highschool and uni after spending highschool as the forever alone fat kid. I lost heaps of weight, but my fat parents never cared less and maybe I'm just paranoid but if anything my mum started making more fried greasy food than ever trying to sabotage me. I had no friends to comment on my progress so I was just alone with the thoughts in my head which were all negative, telling me I hadn't really lost much weight at all, and even if I did I would probably still look like crap so what's the point, just give up.

So I'm out jogging like usual when this 9/10 superathetlic honey in tight tight pants stops me. I jogged with my head down and my mp3 player at max to avoid the kind of hassle you read about in this thread, so to do this, she had to block the path and then physically grab my arm when I tried to go around her.

She told me she'd seen me around the past few months and couldn't believe how much weight I had lost and how good I was looking, keep it up. Then she touched my arm again, turned and jogged off into the sunset with her perfect ass gleaming like jesus rising up to heaven.

The next day I added boxing and swimming to my jogging routine and told my mum to f-off once and for all with the disgusting food she had force fed me my whole miserabe childhood. A few months later I was no longer a virgin and a few months after that I had my first girlfriend + apartment. That woman will never know what she did for me

Got a poh-lice caution for not stoping at a stop sign when i turned left into a bike lane. copper didn't indicate or park properly when he pulled me over, nor did he re-enter the road in a correct and safe manner. He told me they had an operation on as it was tour down under week and they were promoting bike saftey.

just feel like the need to clarify an important point......

not all cyclists wear lycra, ride in pelatons or converge on cafes in said lycra...

motorists who get shitty with cyclists should not take it out on us just because they are using an inefficient form of transport for the city....

Disclaimer: I rike teh mountain bikes at times to get teh cardio

Bike riders who don't ring their ****ing bell when approaching me as I walk my dog are gonna cop it one day when my moronic dog jumps out in front of them and ruins their bike and they go tumbling off.

A pelaton of cyclists riding at 20-30 km/h slow traffic speed in the lane they are occupying to that speed.

It's not as simple as saying 'cars in that lane just do 30 km/h and suck it up' as the road speed is not selected to make motorists happy, it's selected to move traffic from point A to point B at the quickest rate that is safe.

The cyclists create a bottleneck which due to slowing the lane speed increases the number of cars in the lane as the traffic speed is reduced. More cars plus varied lane speeds (cars are going to move between lanes) is a more dangerous environment than normal conditions.
Drivers constantly changing lanes actually creates more bottlenecks than anything else. Can't find a link, but a study was done and a test model developed that showed this to be the case.

If drivers were more aware of what was around them and what was more than a car length ahead of them you'd find traffic flowed better and there'd be less tension on the rides. Unfrotunately until they make getting and keeping a licence harder this won't happen and we'll have to many lazy morons behind the wheels of cars.

Disclaimer: I rike teh mountain bikes at times to get teh cardio

Bike riders who don't ring their ******* bell when approaching me as I walk my dog are gonna cop it one day when my moronic dog jumps out in front of them and ruins their bike and they go tumbling off.
Have to agree with this when they ride on the footpath... Almost got cleaned up walking the dog a few times by kids on bikes. I mes. I ride mine on the footpath and well it has no bell on it at all but I just cut over the nature strip and give pedestrians a wide berth.

Drivers impatiently changing lanes to get around cyclists is dangerous, but regardless of the presence of cyclists motorists still need to change lanes.

If you have two lanes and a speed limit of 70 km/h then a group cyclists clogging up one lane reduce all traffic in that lane to their pace. Anyone needing to enter that lane to turn off, stop for an address etc. needs to enter traffic travelling 40 km/h slower than they are. Anyone needing to exit that lane needs to enter traffic travelling 40 km/h faster than they are. You either end up with a backlog of traffic due to the road speed being 40 km/h slower than normal or you end up with more cars in the 70 km/h lane and cars constantly trying to cut into it from 30 km/h. Two lanes flowing normally is safer than the scenario above.

interesting cycle group today - all lycra's up and that sorta shit.

at a set of lights at a T-Junction. two lane road. standard right lane turns right, left lane turns left. can't turn in the other direction from either lane and you can't go straight. i was waiting to turn right. light goes green so we move forward to get moving and out of no where there was two cyclist's in between me and the car on my left, going in the opposite direction. caught me well by surprise and looked up there was another two other cyclists between the left lane and the gutter riding in the opposite direction to traffic, and another handful of cyclists riding on the footpath.

no idea which direction they came from or how they ended up on the wrong side of the wrong.

Seriously, cyclists are getting out of hand around here. It's no wonder other road users get sick to death of their shit. They ride in their big clusters (pelatons :rolleyes:), take up the whole road, force drivers to drive on the opposite side of the road to o/take them, refuse to ride IN THEIR ALLOCATED LANE, wear lycra, completely **** up good coffee places with their presence, and think they're God's gift to humanity because they do some lame charity ride to raise money for cancer or some shit.

I've come to the realisation that alot of cyclists annoy me too even though i ride a bike. Also, I don't ever, EVER want to go on a ride with a group of people unless it's to get somewhere i need to go. I have a good bike so cycle enthusiests assume that i'm one of those people who enjoy going on rides to Frankston and back... I don't.

I ride my bike to work in my heels and work attire. I don't break a sweat because i don't want to have to shower when i get to work, that would defeat the purpose of riding. The purpose being that riding my bike is the quickest way to get to work. Takes and hour by PT and half hour slow, casual ride.

I've noticed tandem riding on bike paths and roads. Not good.

I ride my bike to work in my heels and work attire.

fff42edcbf301998b19edb45b38e024be37bf7b6_full.jpg

It works fine thanks. :)
Granted can't say I've ever worn heels but i really can't imagine pedaling in an angled shoe with a huge gap in the sole. Then again my bike also has no brakes so without a solid sole on the heel I can't really imagine stopping either :P