Getting to know you!

Tim the Toolman said:
And if anyone thinks of truffles as just chocolates, those desserts get their name from the times of Louis XIV when chefs would place truffles in a bottle of liquer such as brandy and because the flavour of the truffle was so strong it would lend it's flavour to the brandy which was then placed in a sweet such as chocolate hence chocolate truffles as we know the dessert today.

I can go on and on about types, cooking methods etc... but I just can't quite explain the taste.

An old quote was 'that if a truffle could speak it would adore God and eat me!'

A good alternative to getting to know the flavour is to try and get a small bottle of truffle oil and try some in an omelete or even in a soup, just a dash as the flavour will be extremely intense.

Cheap food Tim:p,

"HAVING redefined the jam and peanut butter sandwich as a gastronomic delicacy, Gordon Ramsay's latest restaurant is offering its take on the humble pizza, serving up the Italian favourite for £100 a time.
Described as the "most decadent" pizza ever created, the dish, cooked up by Ramsay and his protégé Jason Atherton, is liberally sprinkled with shavings of fresh Italian white truffle."

danielcanberra said:
Any other nutters, please identify yourselves.

Most people are nutters. To be anything else would be completely and utterly boring.

Tim the Toolman said:
friend has brought a jar of winter truffles back from Italy recently but I have bought from the home-made pasta place at Chaddy a couple of times and my deli mate can get them in at Chaddy as well. One other place is the essential ingredient at Prahran market.

I can only get pre-packaged summer (white) and winter (black) truffles though. They only import twice a year un-packaged ones: Melbourne Cup week and Christmas I believe. Very expensive way to throw a dinner party though so I only cook for my very closest friends. Even got a special truffle shaver to help prep!
can i come too that sounded so yummy!!!! :p

danielcanberra said:
9. All time favourite player - Alistair Lynch
**high five** - u got good taste of fave players :p

My house sometimes is like a BnB and my wife never lets me stop hearing it! Where we live in Melbourne, our old friends need to come and stay over for the weekend hence the breakfast back-up. It's all fun at my age though.

Wouldn't mind trying Wagyu beef at some time!

1. Place of Birth East Coburg, beside the Merri Creek, Melbourne

2. Nickname as a kid and now Mulligrubs

3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why Andrew Denton. Havent seen him since his Blah Blah Blah days and would like to see how he has changed.

4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father Kept the tradition of a warm, loving, non judgemental, extended family.

5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for My mother often threatened to "send me to Boarding school". She obviously considered this the worst punishment possible.

6. Your best and worst memory from school? Best/ an English teacher who taught me to love words. Worst/coping with maths.

7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? Thai green prans and scallops with lime and chilli

8. Your ultimate holiday destination Sailing the Whitsundays, the Greek Islands or the Yasawas.

9. The best practical joke you have ever played Not very into that.

10. What one talent do you wish you had Be able to sing like Tom Waites

11.What would you never do again Stand as a candidate in an election campaign.

12.What would be your ideal job Lead singer in a Rock group.

13. I would never leave the house without my Contact lenses

14. What is your motto Begin with the end in mind.

15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be none. just let it flow and evolve

16. Who is your favourite cartoon character Dont have one

17. Who inspires you Paul Kelly (The songwwiter, not the footballer)

18. What are you listening to Tom Waites, Paul Kelly, Tex Perkins, Nick Cave, Led Zepplin, Groove Armada, St Germaine, Massive Attack, The Chemical Brothers, Kev Carmody, Mixed Relations. Warumpi Band.

19. What are you reading Goulds Book of Fish, Reflections on a Sinking Ship by Gore Vidal

20. Favourite Movie Lantana, The Piano, Raise the Red Lantern, Reservoir Dogs, anything directed by Kubrick, David Lynch, Peter Greenaway or Tarantino

21. Favourite TV show Six Feet Under, The Chaser, Spicks and Specks, Lateline, Lost, Push Nevada.

22. Least favourite TV show Anything called Reality TV

23. Favourite piece of clothing Old jeans Zegna tie.

24. Favourite AFL media personality Malcolm Blight, I really enjoy his unique way of looking at football.

25. What was the last meal you cooked Chicken Kashmiri Curry.

26. Scariest moment in your life Watching my second child battle Meningitis. It all ended well.

27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you Dont wast your time following the Brisbane Bears, everyone here follows the Rugby.

28. Biggest Regret Not too many

29. All time favourite player Voss

30. Current favourite player Simon Black, but am fighting a strong attraction towards Notrog.

armagedon ready said:
1. Place of Birth East Cobug, beside the Merri Creek, Melbourne

Does that make you an original royboy/roygirl? As the Merri Creek is symbolic of the old Brunswick Street Oval problems with the mud.

Tim the Toolman said:
Does that make you an original royboy/roygirl? As the Merri Creek is symbolic of the old Brunswick Street Oval problems with the mud.

A little closer to Pentridge than that Tim. No I am not a RoyBoy, thought Footymania was a disease that overshadowed everything when I was a kid.
Came to my senses when I came to Brisbane and attended the very first game of the BB at Carrara and have been a tragic ever since.

Damn! I'm late!

1. Place of Birth
- Brisbane
2. Nickname as a kid and now - none
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - John Carpenter
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - Brought home my current girlfriend
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - Cant remember, prob was for something I did to my little bro
6. Your best and worst memory from school?
Best: Pulling off elaborate Great Escape plans to wag
Worst: light green shirts and bloody boaters
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - Garlic pizza or yukiniku (not really a dish but those Japs know how to eat)
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - Okinawa
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - once convinced my mum that my little brother was a drug addict
10. What one talent do you wish you had - play bass like Dee Dee Ramone
11.What would you never do again - Go to university
12.What would be your ideal job - author
13. I would never leave the house without my... smokes:(
14. What is your motto - meh.
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - get rid of the new kick in rule and not be so harsh on the bumps
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Guts, Dr Zoidburg
17. Who inspires you - John Carpenter
18. What are you listening to - Ramones (always), Exploding Hearts
19. What are you reading The Bulletin and My Life Among the Serial Killers
20. Favourite Movie - PLanet of the Apes and They Live
21. Favourite TV show - Sopranos, The Shield, Monkey
22. Least favourite TV show - some Japanese show I hate
23. Favourite piece of clothing - Ramones tshirts
24. Favourite AFL media personality - used to be Mark Harvey, now maybe Huddo
25. What was the last meal you cooked - I don't remember, see Grim's 'Good Wife's Guide' earlier in the thread
26. Scariest moment in your life -
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - Being told how important is was to go to university
28. Biggest Regret - Going to uni
29. All time favourite player -Gary Ablett
30. Current favourite player - couldnt split Byron Pickett, Robert Murphy, Minson & Mal Michael

i suppose i should do one lol

1. Place of Birth-melbourne

2. Nickname as a kid and now-didnt have one

3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why- an arsenal supporter coz i rarely get to talk about arsenal

4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father cant remember

5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for cant remember

6. Your best and worst memory from school?best-playing footy and cricket every lunchtime wrost-going to a catholic primary school

7. Your dream dish (we mean food)PIZZZZA

8. Your ultimate holiday destination emirates stadium north london

9. The best practical joke you have ever played-cant remember

10. What one talent do you wish you had-playing footy better

11.What would you never do again-dunno

12.What would be your ideal job-a job that pays very well and i love it doesnt matter what it is as long as its the above

13. I would never leave the house without my-i pod and keys

14. What is your motto-dont have one

15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be-stop collingwood getting so many advantages

16. Who is your favourite cartoon character eric cartman

17. Who inspires you-cesc fabregas

18. What are you listening to-nothing at the moment

19. What are you reading-nothing i dont read

20. Favourite Movie-purely belter

21. Favourite TV show-live brisbane and arsenal games

22. Least favourite TV show-the oc WORST SHOW EVER

23. Favourite piece of clothing-brisbane's heritage jumper

24. Favourite AFL media personality-dont have one

25. What was the last meal you cooked-pasta

26. Scariest moment in your life-cant remember

27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you-none

28. Biggest Regret- not being able to go to a game at highbury

29. All time favourite player brisbane-chris johnson arsenal-cesc fabregas

30. Current favourite player-above

1. Place of Birth - Singapore
2. Nickname as a kid and now - Wazza, Chezza, ********er :(

hholdin3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why -Me best mate, great fun would that be

4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - Finished school

5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - Being banned from television because I lost my key. How does that work :(

6. Your best and worst memory from school? - Best: Was alright in the lower grade sport teams, especially Rugby Union and Cricket. Was ok at the footy too... Worse: Being constantly bullied and humiliated by almost everyone, including the teachers

7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - Lasagne

8. Your ultimate holiday destination - Hawaii

9. The best practical joke you have ever played - None

10. What one talent do you wish you had - Cooking

11.What would you never do again - Mix a premix into a jug of VB and start sculling

12.What would be your ideal job - Working for the Lions, or a police officer

13. I would never leave the house without my - One of my many Lions guernseys :D

14. What is your motto - Do what you wanna do, be what you wanna be

15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - Walking back into the goals when under no pressure. Heavy penalty for that is needed, 3 points perhaps

16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Stewie Griffin, Quagmire and Zoidberg

17. Who inspires you - Michael Voss

18. What are you listening to - Skyhooks

19. What are you readilng - A Decade of Pride - 10 years of the Brisbane Lions

20. Favourite Movie - Various Sci-fis, Ghostbusters, Blues Brothers

21. Favourite TV shows - Family Guy, Sports Tonight, The A Team

22. Least favourite TV shows - Australian Idol, Big Brother (Oh looks! Its a Zoo!)

23. Favourite piece of clothing - My collection of Lions guernseys

24. Favourite AFL media personality - Dermie Brereton

25. What was the last meal you cooked - A salad

26. Scariest moment in your life - iving in Manila during a political revolt

27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - Where two shirts on top of each other, it looks sexy :S

28. Biggest Regret - Not asking my ex out six months before I did.

29. All time favourite player - Alistery Lynch, Gary Ablett sr

30. Current favourite player - Das Sherminator

1. Place of Birth - Deniliquin, NSW
2. Nickname as a kid and now - Toolman
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - the skinniest person on the plan, more leg and arm room
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - given them 3 beautiful grand kids
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - big belting for mucking up in church
6. Your best and worst memory from school? - soggy biscuit at boarding school
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - the soggy biscuit
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - Europe
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - breaking into sister's room when she had a new boyfriend, I was dressed in black with balalclava and shotgun and she never saw this guy again
10. What one talent do you wish you had - to be able to sing
11.What would you never do again - one of these
12.What would be your ideal job - photographer
13. I would never leave the house without my - camera
14. What is your motto - the name's Toolman, Tim the Toolman
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - more free kicks for players dressed in maroon & blue
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Pepe Le Peu
17. Who inspires you - vossy
18. What are you listening to - 3AW
19. What are you reading - The Legacy of James Bond
20. Favourite Movie - Any 60's bond
21. Favourite TV show - Cheers
22. Least favourite TV show - The News
23. Favourite piece of clothing - cricket shirt
24. Favourite AFL media personality - Ron Barrassi
25. What was the last meal you cooked - chicken terriyaki
26. Scariest moment in your life - standing behind Browny at Boxing Day Test after he'd drunk a slab and nearly letting him see my Fitzroy stubby holder
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - don't buy a unit (in Melbourne for 100k in 1991, now worth 400k)
28. Biggest Regret - not buying that unit
29. All time favourite player - Micky Conlan
30. Current favourite player - Browny

I just found this thread. Good to read some of your info. :)

1. Place of Birth - Poland (some city you've never heard of)
2. Nickname as a kid and now - Wookie as a kid, dont have one now
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - Henry Rollins - he has some interesting opinions and perspecive on things
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - Finished my degree and made my mummy proud as i was the first family member to do so. My goal is to buy her a house that she can call her own.
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - Mum didn't let me play local footy because my schoolwork was suffering. She was right. I was spending way too much time playing footy.
6. Your best and worst memory from school?
Best: Playing footy during lunchtimes. I will never forget changing schools and having to start all over again to make friends. The "cool" guys never really paid attention till i started playing fotty with them and pulling down some great screamers! Never forget the look on their faces.:eek: (Captaining the Year 12 fotty team was pretty cool too.):)
Worst: Don't really have one... but i hated having the dream of walking around without any pants on nd going to my locker to find something to coverup, but could not get the combination lock open. (i need a shrink to tell me what this means);)
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - Osso bucco, with mash potato and red wine jus
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - Vegas
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - taped the lotto from the week before and purchased a lotto ticket for an Aunt that was visiting from overseas with all of last weeks numbers. Played the tape and watched with the rest of the family to see if she'd one. Only my cousins were in on it and it was a classic watching the rest of the family trying to figure out they had actually one the first division. I think is was like a 10 millon fist division pool. I actully got in a lot of trouble after that one. I should of got their reactions on tape. Classic!:D
10. What one talent do you wish you had - Apart from speaking to the dead, i thing playing the guitar. I wanna be like Dave Ghrol.
11.What would you never do again - Play practical jokes on my family
12.What would be your ideal job - Venture Capitalist
13. I would never leave the house without my... pants
14. What is your motto - Being realistic is the most common road to mediocrity.
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - it would have to be the bumps. Oh, and tackling. If a player gets tackled, the tackler needs to be rewarded. Push in the back is called way too often.
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Yeah, Dr Zoidburg is a funny crustation/alien
17. Who inspires you - My wifes bosses. They have a great life and are really good friends.
18. What are you listening to - Foo Fighters, Chilli Peppers, Rollins Band
19. What are you reading Speak like Churchill, stand like Lincoln
20. Favourite Movie - Star Wars (original trilogy), Back to the Future (trilogy)
21. Favourite TV show - Scrubs, The Loop, Family Guy, Futurama and Simpsons (i'm going the five show leadership group coz they're all so good)
22. Least favourite TV show - Big Brother and anything reality TV
23. Favourite piece of clothing - Blue Quicksilver Board Shorts
24. Favourite AFL media personality - Does Lemo from Before the game qualify?:confused:
25. What was the last meal you cooked - Pumkin Risotto
26. Scariest moment in your life - Flying through really bad turbulence for a full 2 hours over North America! I've flown quite a bit, never experienced anything like that before.
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - Hyundai are a good car, get a Hyundai!:thumbsdown:
28. Biggest Regret - Don't have any. I learn from my experiences, good or bad.
29. All time favourite player - Paul Roos, Lynchy and Vossy
30. Current favourite player - Browny and Luke Power. Sherman is up there too.

Just had a look at some other team board and noticed we do not have a section where you share a bit about ourselves so I thought I would start a thread up myself

Feel free to do the same.

User name: number1lionsman

Personal Motto: If you can not say it to my face do not say it at all.

Sex: Male

Star Sign: Leo

Height: 185cm or 6'2

Weight: 92kgs

Relationships; I am married to a fellow poster

A bit about yourself: Since the age of 3 I have played football I was selected to play for the under 14's Victorian team I then represented Australia by the age of 16 I was drafted by Fitzroy and was on their list for 2 years had an injury riddled AFL career and did not have a chance to show people what I was made of. When Fitzroy folded in 1996 I went my own away along with a majority of the team. Since then I have played in the SANFL and have played in 4 SANFL Grand Finals for 3 wins and 1 loss.
I am also a Construction worker by trade. I am a fairlly easy going kind of guy.

Likes: Honest people, Fair minded people, Peace, Open Minded people.

Dislikes: Shallow minded people, Followers, Ingorance, Vanity, Dishonest people. gutless people,

Favourite Food: Pizza, Lasagna, Anything Italian.

Favourite Drink: Pepsi Max

Favourite Tv show : The Simpsons

Favourite Music: Rock and Roll

the lid was the problem!!!

just mix up the eggs and the milk cook for 2 mins, pull it out, give it a stir, another 2 mins, flutt it up leave it to cool for a minute and voila! Perfect everytime, no scraping frying pan or saucepan and no dodgy brown bits where it stuck to the bottom! (at least that's where I think they came from)

Brown bits are the best part of scrambled eggs!

Got nothing to do with getting to know you but was wondering what has happened to John, he hasn't posted for ages. I always enjoy his comments. John, Footy is nearly back , where are you????????

He said he was a bit frustrated with certain aspects of the Lions board and that he was going to take a break for a couple of weeks. Hopefully he'll be back on game day, if not before.

Getting to know you!