Goddard decks Mitchell

I agree, Mitchell did a 'dying swan' act to make it look a stack worse than it was. Sure he got a nip on the chin but it wasn't enough to knock him out cold or hamper his ability to function because within seconds he was back in the thick of the play.

I reckon Mitchell 'squirrel-gripped' him earlier in the pack and Goddard just retaliated.

Yeah Mitchells got form like that. Goddard should have knocked the little dogs head off.
He'll get a couple though I reckon.

I agree, Mitchell did a 'dying swan' act to make it look a stack worse than it was. Sure he got a nip on the chin but it wasn't enough to knock him out cold or hamper his ability to function because within seconds he was back in the thick of the play.

I reckon Mitchell 'squirrel-gripped' him earlier in the pack and Goddard just retaliated.

Wasn't much in it. I thought most of the contact was to the chest. He will probably get a couple for it because it was totally unnecessary, but anyone that is suggesting it was a fist to the head & worth 6-8 weeks is being irrational.

you hawthorn supporters really are sooks arent ya?

I'd be more worried about Mark Williams missing the granny if i were you

Goddard tapped Mitchell who tried to milk a free kick, 1-2 weeks max

Stop sooking and hope ya get thumped on saturday :)

So if you were in Mitchells position, you would get back up and say "thanks mate, can i have another?"

Punching a bloke in the head isnt even part of the rules..which makes it even worst..

Think you'll find we're a Happy Team at Hawthorn right now.

If we get thumped next week, I'll look to your for advice on how to handle it ... seems you have a lot of experience in dealing with it.

Hawks window opening.
Saints window shut, locked and the key thrown away.

Enjoy! :thumbsu:

Will get off. lol. I didn't notice it at the ground but I can only presume it lead to the little argy bargy that happened.
Btw I haven't seen the incident...can anyone post to youtube and link?

Had another look at this.

Definite head high contact from the elbow.

As his upper body goes back. Renouf's elbow hits him right in the back of the head.

You can see Goddard look at Renouf then at Mitchell. It might have been a plan. One of the few that worked all night.

Contact looked worse than it actually was, the blouse milked it in typical Mitchell style.

Looks like the MRP saw it in a similar way :thumbsu:

are you serious?

he full on smashed mitchell in the head off the ball.

Mitchell was down for the count for a long period of time.

if this was hall people would be saying 6-8.

5 weeks minimum

Ahh, Hawthorn supporters - have you ever seen a bigger bunch of girly men? :eek:

http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68055

Brendon Goddard, St Kilda, has been charged with striking Sam Mitchell, Hawthorn, during the fourth quarter of the Second Preliminary Final between St Kilda and Hawthorn, played at the MCG on Saturday September 20, 2008.

In summary, he can accept a reprimand and 93.75 points towards his future record with an early plea.

The incident was assessed as intentional conduct (three points), low impact (one point) and body contact (one point). This is a total of five activation points, resulting in a classification of a Level Two offence, drawing 125 demerit points and a one-match sanction. He has no good or bad record. An early plea reduces the penalty by 25 per cent to a reprimand and 93.75 points towards his future record.

With Mitchells penchance for ducking the head how is it he doesn't when needed, or maybe the tactic is to draw high contact at all costs?

Good to see the MRP are on to Mitchell

Now for the umpires :rolleyes:

how did he get off that?? Unbelieveable! Even though you don't actually see the fist hit the face on video, it's undisputed. That is just a joke. Seriously, do they think he's wearing a Swans guernsey?

Goddard decks Mitchell