Review Good vs Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Here’s my take on the umpire’s non-call when Murray hand passed it over the boundary line in the final stages. There was a player within a 5m vicinity when the ball bounced out, so you can make an argument that he was trying to handpass it to a mate and it was possible it was simply “disposal error”, particularly when he was being pressured by a Dee player. Also in the final quarter, there should be more leeway for errors due to fatigue. You can argue it was “deliberate” but there is not 100% conviction, more likely a 75% conviction, so an umpire has the right for a “non-call”.
John, mate, several posters have posted gifs showing Dees' Spargo touched the ball last, then turned into position for the throw-in because he knew he touched it.
The 'deliberate' outrage is rubbish. Disregard totally.

If you look for Spargo pulling his hand away as the ball flicks it, it makes it easy to spot the instant it was touched. And the ball changes its trajectory from 3 frames before that.
You, kirky and jenny61_99 are all spot-on.

The Dees' supporters and anti-Crows VFL flogs want it to be 'deliberate' to diminish the guts and desperation they showed to win from 3 goals down with 7 minutes left.

Does anyone know if 5aa keep their footy match shows ?

I'd love to hear Rowie going off over the last two minutes

They'd keep them but they don't make them available.

They also used to post a 5-minute mashup of their match calls but don't do that anymore either.

This is definitive proof that it was not a 'deliberate' oob. Brave-but-correct Umpires' call.
Just as telling is Spargo's reaction immediately afterwards --- he just turns to prepare for the throw-in.
Our Mods should post this on the Dees' post-match board, and send a copy to Goodwin as well.
People now arguing it's "intent" so even if Spargo hit it out of bounds Murray still intended for it to go out, so it should have been a free kick.

Surely not?
Jeez they are desperate to spoil the win, aren't they?

Fact is: last person to touch the ball was Spargo = throw-in.

They'd keep them but they don't make them available.

They also used to post a 5-minute mashup of their match calls but don't do that anymore either.
I might text in to Penbo and will tomorrow and see if they'll play it or at least chuck it on their YouTube channel.

This....the media fail to even mention it as it doesn't fill their narrative. Not a single Melbourne player remonstrated to say it was deliberate, which happens on countless other occasions across various matches.

Yep, still going on and on about it in Melbourne media expecting the umpires to announce tomorrow it was a wrong decision (and I sadly think they will). You would think this is the first time this has ever happened. Cannot believe they focus so much on this and not one whisper about the touched goal.

John, mate, several posters have posted gifs showing Dees' Spargo touched the ball last, then turned into position for the throw-in because he knew he touched it.
The 'deliberate' outrage is rubbish. Disregard totally.
Yeah I just saw a recent clip from the "right" angle. My previous comment was in the morning, straight after from a sleep with some lingering thoughts on it. Certainly not something to lose sleep over! lol

Yep, still going on and on about it in Melbourne media expecting the umpires to announce tomorrow it was a wrong decision (and I sadly think they will). You would think this is the first time this has ever happened. Cannot believe they focus so much on this and not one whisper about the touched goal.

Is it 100% confirmed touch though? The footage isn't all that obvious is it?

I'm pretty sure the commentary would have access to more than just the broadcast feed.
For purposes of replays and analysis, yes, but that's all on delay. They call the game live to the pictures on their screen, which are the same pictures we're seeing.