Goulburn Valley FL 2018

• Thread starter Thread starter Lion71

Well if the rumor coming from my old neck of the woods of Melbourne is true. The Sout East Football league (Which include Teams like Berwick, Beaconsfield and Pakenham) are looking to merge with AFL Yarra Ranges. So team like Yea and Alexander might have travel to Tooradin which is a 2 hour trip one way. If this does happen, I will not be surprise if Yea and Alexandra may move there direction to the GV Comps.

Isn’t this exactly what the finding was by Afl vic in the 2011 review of Vic country footy by Peter Jackson? That participation growth through the majority of country Victoria had stagnated or declined.
To be directly the blame at the Hub like you seem to continue to do doesn’t seem fair. Yes they have their faults, but I think the whole northern vic community need to trust Afl Vic that they have the Long term future of this great game at hand.. As stated, the status quo can’t be continued, as seen by the demise of twos Gv footy, & particular clubs in the Kdfl, & your very own Pdfl.

Disagree with your comments premier regarding the hub. Numerous times, GVFL clubs have said to the hub that Juniors footy need to change and for the past 3 year, The Hub has said that everything is fine and there is no problems in the GVFL yet PDFL have increased in profits in the past 4 years and this is due to the u/14 and 17's during the day. As a supporter, I have sent numerous e-mail for a question and get no reply. Imagine if you where the club or the League(Sadly, We have in the GVFL, We have puppets of the AFL VIC)

I want the hub to work but Supporter, Clubs and League not getting answers. No wonder the PDFL is frustrated. Heck even the 8-9 clubs bypass the AFLGM to AFLVIC. That got to ring alarm bells for the district.

The major city that you are referring to, I presume is Shepparton is enjoying population growth but most of that growth isn't traditional football people moreso all different nationalities from all over the world, yes football families still reside in Shepp but not enough to go around unfortunately, the days of Aussie families having three or four boys that play for the old man's local club are long gone, just too many clubs in country footy for the amount of participants.
The population in Country Victoria is growing , The game cant surive if it is merely to capture a certain aspect of the community.
I don't agree that we need less clubs I think we just need to diversify and change to capture a greater portion of the population.
20 years ago I'd suggest more than triple the percentage of the population played country football , than they do today.
Many years ago clubs tapped into the cultures that surrounded them, as an example Tat had a large number of players with Italian heritage.

The population in Country Victoria is growing , The game cant surive if it is merely to capture a certain aspect of the community.
I don't agree that we need less clubs I think we just need to diversify and change to capture a greater portion of the population.
20 years ago I'd suggest more than triple the percentage of the population played country football , than they do today.
Many years ago clubs tapped into the cultures that surrounded them, as an example Tat had a large number of players with Italian heritage.
Yeah I agree we need more people from different cultures to play footy that's whay the AFL have the multi cultural program, is slowly working a bit but it takes a long time for cultures to change, can see why they are taking the game to overseas countries but personally I'd prefer to see them fix our own backyards first eg Tasmania.

20 yrs ago Parents and Kids gave a shit. Today we live in an age where it’s not ever their fault and they should never be expected to actually commit to something.

We talk about cultural programs, maybe an Australia cultural readjustment program is needed too.

Elite pathways baby sit the more talented but plenty of rest just can’t be bothered.

At Rochy when the seconds play there’s more 18-19yrs sitting on the backs of the pig hunting Utes sinking beer than out on the field. When you ask them why aren’t they out there , their response is .... this is the life.
Probably one reason why Josh Flight is one of the regions biggest waste of talent.

( rant over.... will put soapbox away now )

Yep, Tat would love to have more Serra's, Tamburro's, Bagnato's & Scrimizzi's at the club.

Isn’t this exactly what the finding was by Afl vic in the 2011 review of Vic country footy by Peter Jackson? That participation growth through the majority of country Victoria had stagnated or declined.
To be directly the blame at the Hub like you seem to continue to do doesn’t seem fair. Yes they have their faults, but I think the whole northern vic community need to trust Afl Vic that they have the Long term future of this great game at hand.. As stated, the status quo can’t be continued, as seen by the demise of twos Gv footy, & particular clubs in the Kdfl, & your very own Pdfl.

Yet it’s fair the hub never acknowledges the good things pdfnl do but publicly criticise the management of their best performing league. Oh please cry me a river that we may give them a bit of stick on here.

Trust is earned.

Yeah I agree we need more people from different cultures to play footy that's whay the AFL have the multi cultural program, is slowly working a bit but it takes a long time for cultures to change, can see why they are taking the game to overseas countries but personally I'd prefer to see them fix our own backyards first eg Tasmania.

Agree with your assessment re fixing our own backyard! However, for the life of me why are we investing money in India and China? It's a complete disregard for the game at grassroots. IMO, the game is edging towards a game for the elite and wealthy. I am totally despondent that we have also spent money on AFLX which was just a terrible waste of time and resources.

20 yrs ago Parents and Kids gave a shit. Today we live in an age where it’s not ever their fault and they should never be expected to actually commit to something.

We talk about cultural programs, maybe an Australia cultural readjustment program is needed too.

Elite pathways baby sit the more talented but plenty of rest just can’t be bothered.

At Rochy when the seconds play there’s more 18-19yrs sitting on the backs of the pig hunting Utes sinking beer than out on the field. When you ask them why aren’t they out there , their response is .... this is the life.
Probably one reason why Josh Flight is one of the regions biggest waste of talent.

( rant over.... will out soapbox away now )
Correct , but not helped by clubs falling over him.
Echuca United being his 6th club since the start of 2016 I believe.

Will ky be at full strength bootz? Will Paulo play?
Not sure how Paulo will pull up. But if players aren’t putting their hands up to play this game then not sure they’ll be right for the serious stuff the next game... except for Paulo that is.
Should be one hell of a contest!

Agree with your assessment re fixing our own backyard! However, for the life of me why are we investing money in India and China? It's a complete disregard for the game at grassroots. IMO, the game is edging towards a game for the elite and wealthy. I am totally despondent that we have also spent money on AFLX which was just a terrible waste of time and resources.
Perhaps listen to what Mouthguard says on the Curtain Raisers Saturday Ringo. I think you and he are of similar minds!

When 11 year old are being charged to 'try out' for elite squads , there is a major program .
Likewise, when kids can join so called elite programs by paying .

Sorry mate, excuse my ignorance but who is Mouthguard? I will tune in!
Each week he texts in his own views that are not necessarily those of Cardas and JK. Last week he got into them for talking up the round 1 clash between Shepp & United when Mouthguard reckoned they should have been talking up the clash between the two big improvers of the comp in Echuca and Tat. Really Mouthguard is just another opinion but more focussed on the west side of the Goulburn, a Ky supporter.
But I was pointing out that your view on the AFL expansion losing sight of local footy is growing in momentum due to the up coming coincidental comments from Mouthguard that will be aired sometime after 9:30!
I believe your own Kenny Stewart is a big Mouthguard fan ;)

Each week he texts in his own views that are not necessarily those of Cardas and JK. Last week he got into them for talking up the round 1 clash between Shepp & United when Mouthguard reckoned they should have been talking up the clash between the two big improvers of the comp in Echuca and Tat. Really Mouthguard is just another opinion but more focussed on the west side of the Goulburn, a Ky supporter.
But I was pointing out that your view on the AFL expansion losing sight of local footy is growing in momentum due to the up coming coincidental comments from Mouthguard that will be aired sometime after 9:30!
I believe your own Kenny Stewart is a big Mouthguard fan ;)
Hahaha...thanks mate I will tune in for sure!

Expecting an announcement today of new recruit to the Lions Den. A Richmond VFL listed player who has named us as his 2nd club, currently recovering from shoulder surgery but hope to get some games out of him in around 6 weeks or so before an imminent return to the VFL. Around 197cm and 100kgs....some welcome size to the den !!!!.

Big Elton?