****(((( Grand Final ballot: Wed 10 Sept ))))****

Ok guys, Got this off the GFC website......I know this can all cause us some pain....BUT.....i find if you use the form that is attached in the PDF. file.......it will make things much.... much less stressful... :thumbsu:

Geelong Cats members will need to register on this Wednesday 10 September if they wish to be placed in the ballot for Grand Final tickets should the Cats make this year's Grand Final.

The ballot system will run the same as last year.

Priority Group 1 (September Member and Social Club members) will need to register between 8am and 11am on Wednesday 10 September.

Priority Group 2 (All other eligible members) will need to register between 12 noon and 11pm on Wednesday 10 September.

It is recommended that all members familiarise themselves with the Geelong Cats 2008 Grand Final Ticketing Procedure which can be found by clicking here.

http://www.gfc.com.au/Portals/0/cats_docs/Members_Finals_Ticketing_Information.pdf

Good luck guys......and

DONT FORGET !!!

Quick question:

We are told that it is completely and uttely random, however I am aware of several groups of applicants from last year, some of which comprised upwards of 6 or 7 people, and others that number just the 1, 2 or 3, and in virtually every case the large group application was succesful, while the groups of 1, 2 or 3 were not....

Does anyone here think there is any merit to this observation?

I'm thinking of acquiring the membership numbers of friends' who are sitting in the MCC, and using them to make a bigger application, then inviting other friends and family members along who don't have memberships, if it proves to be succesful....

i got no idea mate...it says it's a random Computer ballot system..... if i was in your case...and i had extra barcodes to use....i would do 2 seperate ballots.....stacks odds in your favour a lil bit more :thumbsu:

That's a good idea actually BDP, thanks. I only have the one spare membership, but I'm certainly willing to risk sitting by myself if it means greater chances of getting in.

K-Rock just said that just one-third of members will get a ticket. So by my calculations that's about 11,000 members. So tell me, does that mean that in a 100,000 seat stadium, only 11,000 Geelong members will get a seat?

not every member registers for the ballot.....

Then you have group 1 members...... so i would guess about 15,000 GFC Members would get tickets.....

not every member registers for the ballot.....

Then you have group 1 members...... so i would guess about 15,000 GFC Members would get tickets.....

I think they were including group one members. Could be wrong. Although all the said was rego was between 8am and 11am so they were only talking about group one in that instance. Dunno. I just want a friggin ticket, didn't go last year.

Dad has two free tickets through a competition, but with four Geelong supporters in the family, three of which can go in the ballot, it's going to be tough for him to decide. He's a Saints supporter.

I think they were including group one members. Could be wrong. Although all the said was rego was between 8am and 11am so they were only talking about group one in that instance. Dunno. I just want a friggin ticket, didn't go last year.

Dad has two free tickets through a competition, but with four Geelong supporters in the family, three of which can go in the ballot, it's going to be tough for him to decide. He's a Saints supporter.

Its hard mate.....i get my tickets becuase i have to pay a small fortune to secure them....but i feel so sorry for the hardcore GFC members who missout..... the GF is not about the members, fans or even the game.....its all about the $.

As an AFL member, do I use the number off my AFL membership card or my GFC membership card?

Thanks in advance.

Be there with bells on and fingers crossed...

I'm only going for one ticket - my own. While it'd be nice to go with someone, I think either way I'll be amongst friends that day, don't you think?

Heres to hoping....

last yr i got in the geelong members area.... was awesome....right near the players race :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Yeah, that'd be the best outcome. I was also thinking of going to the GF breakfast should I get a GF ticket - BF should get a table happening or something...

I did it last yr... it wasnt very good....no valur for the $200+ price tag....unless you can drink shitloads at 10am in the morning...

Well I can, but it'd probably ruin the rest of the day ;)

I'd probably end up going to the G as early as possible to see all the footy beforehand instead. Wouldn't have me forking out bucketloads, and I'd get to see some future stars in action...

Well I can, but it'd probably ruin the rest of the day ;)

I'd probably end up going to the G as early as possible to see all the footy beforehand instead. Wouldn't have me forking out bucketloads, and I'd get to see some future stars in action...

Yeh enjoy the day as much as you can......thats my ethos this year...

Yeah, mine's very similar. Last year I couldn't go, and the suits at my old job flew over to sit in a corporate box, even though none of them barracked for either side. This year I'm hellbent on going and enjoying myself.

absolutely. Last year I got my ticket through my social club membership and sat by myself while my uncle and a few others sat on the other side of the ground. Had an absolute ball when the final siren went as I managed to hug half the playing list and tell them how much I love them as they did a lap of honor :p

when you ring up to join the ballot is it a computer thing or do you talk to a person?

Computer. Registered last year, it's easy as.

You will be given a number (like 6 or so digits long) at the end, which you will then look up on a special link thru the Geelong website or something. If your number is listed you have tickets.

As an AFL member, do I use the number off my AFL membership card or my GFC membership card?

Thanks in advance.

I did not even get a GFC membership card? My AFL membership says Geelong club support on the back though. I'd suspect we can just use the AFL number. We could use it to buy tickets in the Geelong allocation for first week finals.

Computer. Registered last year, it's easy as.

You will be given a number (like 6 or so digits long) at the end, which you will then look up on a special link thru the Geelong website or something. If your number is listed you have tickets.

cool :thumbsu: ...thanks shell

Thanks in advance.

I did not even get a GFC membership card?

Sorry, if i confused anyone else, like i confused myself.

I have 2 cards with 2 different barcodes because I have an AFL membership and a reserved seat at geelong.

I did what I should have done in the first place and rang the club. Their answer was to use the AFL Membership barcode number.
The geelong card exists purely for the reserved seat.

Hope I have helped some others, and good luck everyone in the ballot.