JT_the_Man
Draft King
Dees vs Port, don’t mind too much who wins.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Worth a crack.
What a cracking post !Geelong's arrogance and repeated disregard for their ageing list (and unwillingness to acknowledge it as a possible pyrrhic victory) deserves to be penalized. They were massive beneficiaries of talented players wanting to go "back home" and retention of players that were pillars since their flag years (Hawkins, Selwood, Ablett, Taylor, ect) that they have deluded themselves into thinking that this is a common occurrence, and that it is all skills-based - whilst spending so much time at the top as a result of H&A wins only to bore us all repeatedly by being cannon fodder for teams to have an easy road to the GF.
They stick out like a sore-thumb and I am jaded already. They need to be taught a lesson, and if there is to be any year for that to happen ideally, it should be this year. It would form as the ultimate lesson for them and a deterrent from it becoming the norm for the rest of us. I also dislike their boring slow grinding playing style - chip to the side - run down the clock. Always doing the same thing, always the same, and yet getting all the praise.
They are the Drake of the AFL.
As for the Doggies - I felt for them before 2016. And for them to finally win one, the drought became a sympathy factor - which pretty much made me, and the rest of the footy world, okay with/indifferent about their win. Their underdog status kept them humble, and were humble as a result. Much more humble than Sydney fans would have been had they have won.
However, since then, the Doggies are overrated because of that win. Literally had the luckiest of runs in all of AFL history - and benefited a lot from the bye in the sense of timing - they were getting players back while all other clubs were nursing injuries.
And they did it while Hawthorn's dynasty was closing in 2015 and just before Richmond's 2017 'dynasty' was opening up. Right place, at the right time. Literally kissed on the dick by the footy leprechaun. As a result, they have been inflated in status ever since, even after no top-4 finishes, a ladder drop, back-to-back finals losses, to now being a shadow of early form. Not to mention they are now 5th for age. And yet, their supporters still carry on as if it is an extension of their 2016 campaign, and have deluded themselves into a perpetual state of Big-4 mentality, refusing to recognize how lucky they have been and running with the notion that they have been the most consistent team of the last few years. They are no longer the underdog team from yesteryear - they've transformed into Collingwood-lite.
I think it'd probably be a Melbourne V Port GF.
And whilst I find the Power bland as an overall brand, and jaded from their diva antics when it comes to their insecurities about transitioning from a SANFL team to an AFL team, and find Orazio's sh*t eating mercenary grin annoying - I think them winning the flag would be sort of reward for effort, admittedly. Finished 5th in 2017 - fell down the ladder for the next 2 years, making necessary changes, and then finishing on top last year, to then manage 2nd position this year. I think if you think of the ideal scenario of "we tried, made mistakes, went back to the drawing board, tried again, got close, and now we're going all out", this would be it. Not to mention that out of all of the teams - they seem to play the style that is the most closest to ours - very high intensity + blitzy, which is a fun brand to watch.
This is in stark contrast to Melbourne. Who, whilst making a prelim 5 years ago, haven't really done much since. And to be 100% honest, may have benefited from catching a few teams off-guard in the first half of the year (and were subsequently not as great after the bye once teams started to figure them out a bit). Nevertheless, they're still a good team - but probably the most underwhelming minor premier I've seen, and haven't really put a lot of teams to the sword as usual stand-out teams do. Eventually the image they received as a contender over the season sort of got to their heads a bit - which has trickled down to their supporters - who now carry on worse than those of which have had their teams already winning the flag. And some of the lower sides they've beaten, closely, may have been influenced by the hype. When you look back to last year - did we really see Port, who were on top of the ladder for the majority of the entire year, receive the same hype? Not really. I think the underdog theme is again running wild here, but when it comes to what we've learned from 2016 - it would probably do the Dees good to be brought back down to Earth and learn some humility before they achieve that elusive flag.
So Port for me. But I say that without enthusiasm.
And if Geelong did manage to make it to V them - I'd say there would be something a little poetic and full-circle about Port putting the final nail in the coffin for the modern Cats era by smashing them in the style of 2007.
Pretty much of the same mind cept dont really like Port. Pretty much certain your final sentence wish will be granted. The Dogs ruck weakness is going to give the Port forwards more than enough opportunity to kick a winning score, will be very surprised if it's even close.Who do you want to win the Grand Final and why? Which is the match up you most desire?
For me -
Melbourne finished with a H&A record of 17-4-1 to claim the minor premiership before easily dismantling the Lions in week 1 of the finals.
Why I want them to win
I find it very difficult to go past the history of a Dees Grand Final. Up until 1964 they'd won 12 flags and were a powerhouse of the comp, since then they've competed in just 2 Grand Finals (1988 and 2000) and were pantsed in both. Other than those efforts the closest they've come is when Jim Stynes ran over the mark in 1987 to move Buckenera within goal kicking range. Their fans have suffered some incredible lows and if anyone deserves one it is the Dees fans, plus I have a good mate who is a Dee's fan so it'd be nice for him. Additionally Max Gawn seems like a ripper bloke, seeing him lift the cup would be pretty cool. Plus Pig and Melk.
Why I don't want them to win
There's something about some of their players such as Oliver that I just can't quite get on board with. He's a gun but jeez his flopping shits me, its not as blatant as other opposition players (I'll get to them) but jeez he goes down very quickly at the lightest touch. I have him in the group of players I'd love to have at Essendon and wouldn't care about the flops if he was, but since he's not it gets to me. There's also a fair amount of swagger amongst a playing group that in reality has done very little, having them bought down to earth wouldn't be the worst thing. Also I don't like Gary Lyon so bringing him pleasure is annoying. Oh, and if Nathan Jones isn't included in the 23 I hope they get destroyed Grand Final day should they make it.
Port Adelaide
Port finished with a H&A record of 17-5 to steal 2nd place and put the Cats away easily in week 1.
Why I want them to win
The Power are a pretty inoffensive team to me, they're interstate and I only know one actual Power fan in real life so if they win the celebrations and over the top bragging is in another state. It'd also be amusing to me to see Hinkley raise the cup for a fan base that seemingly hates his guts and wants him to move on. Additionally much like Maxy for the Dees I quite like Boak, I'd like to see him get rewarded, it would've been super easy for him to take the money and run early on in his career especially how bad they were but he stuck around so reward would be nice.
They have a lot of players who I dislike for the same reasons I dislike Oliver, they are guns but jeez they flop and sook it up when it doesn't go their way. Other than that I don't really have a reason to not want them to win, maybe their posters on here would become even more insufferable but you can say that about any club really.
Geelong choked in the last round against Melbourne to finish 16-6 landing them 3rd on the ladder, week 1 they were very average against Port but bounced back nicely in week 2 vs GWS.
Why I want them to win
I have some personal connections through family and friends with the Cats so if I'm honest I'll probably barrack for them more than any of the other remaining 4. I also think it'd be nice for Chris Scott to get some recognition for his ability as a coach, they've stayed up for a long time which has a lot to do with him so to snag a flag would end the "anyone could've coached them" stigma around him. It'd also really burn Hawks fans that a team that topped up snagged a flag, unlike their train wreck effort.
Even though they haven't won a flag since 2011, it feels like they've been around forever it's time for them to disappear and let others have a crack for awhile. Dangerfield and Rohan lead the way on players I think are flogs so seeing them get a flag is something I can live without. Other than that its hard for me to pick a reason why I don't want them to win, they'd almost be my 2nd team if I had one.
The Dogs fell out of the top 4 in the last round with a loss to Port, they've since then beaten the Bombers comfortably and were carried against the Lions.
Why I want them to win
I dont
That game against Brisbane was an out and out disgrace, how you could justify paying some of those decisions late is beyond me, not to mention the bullshit ones they got a week earlier (we'd have still lost). I could rant a lot more about Bevo, Weightman and a whole heap of other flogs but I'll bite my tongue for now and say I hope Port belt the bejesus out of them this week.