Greg Miller "on the couch" interview

• Thread starter Thread starter mhill

Key comments:-

*Miller has definitely done a deal with Sheehan "leave me out of the paper on Saturday and I'll give you the interview on Monday"
*Clearly unhappy with the way the board has come to arrive at this decision but copped it on the chin
*Very much aligned with Wallace still "I believe that the coach should pick his own coaching staff"
*Mentioned that Gary March apologized to him for the rumours on the weeekend

Overall, a bit of a nothing interview, he looked a bit sheepish to me which is understandable given the circumstances.

I thought he was very professional, didn't bag the club although he looked very tempted.

Well done Greg.

You missed probably the biggest point ...

Miller said that there is no way that Terry Wallace should not go into his fifth year without some sort of contract extension .

Very interesting

... will have to sleep on that one

I applaud Greg Miller for showing such dignity thru such an inglorious exit, a proud man that has been in the sun for a long time in this caper...He showed that he has some class. I concur with his comments that he leaves Punt Rd in better shape than when he started. Well done and Good Luck:thumbsu:

He said something like he wanted to leave the club in a better position than when he started.

Indeed he has :thumbsu:

I applaud Greg Miller for showing such dignity thru such an inglorious exit, a proud man that has been in the sun for a long time in this caper...He showed that he has some class. I concur with his comments that he leaves Punt Rd in better shape than when he started. Well done and Good Luck:thumbsu:

Greg just made the RFC look like complete idiots by being showing such character and intelligence and composure. People like him are very hard to find let alone replace.

Well done Greg. The place is in MUCH better shape than when he joined.

Sounds like it's being portrayed as, Miller the poor victim & the club as having the knives out for him :rolleyes:........ am I mistaken?

He said something like he wanted to leave the club in a better position than when he started.

Indeed he has :thumbsu:

Agreed ...:thumbsu:

Greg just made the RFC look like complete idiots by being showing such character and intelligence and composure. People like him are very hard to find let alone replace.

Well done Greg. The place is in MUCH better shape than when he joined.
Said this in 2 other threads and will say the same thing here. Instead of slagging off at the board/club how about we wait and see just who they do get to replace Miller before sinking the boots in. As for Miller himself, thanks for the time you put in to get this club headed in the right direction.

That prat sheeehan reckons browns shot almost at the end wasnt toched......his ****ta ( without prejudice) mate brown the superstar can do no wrong

Actually ... he was almost too composed

pre-cursor to a job interview if you ask me

interesting when they asked him if he wanted to stay in footy ... he was quite adament about it being ..."YES"

Realistic Tiger is correct ... before we lynch every possible person we can over this .... lets just see how this pans out in coming weeks .

Sounds like it's being portrayed as, Miller the poor victim & the club as having the knives out for him :rolleyes:........ am I mistaken?

He's been treated shabbily.
I'm sure there's someone out there who can do the job just as well, or even better. The thing is Greg is the one that actually DID it. Could have done better in recruiting, but there is no shadow of a doubt that we are going forward in leaps and bounds. I didn't think we would have progressed this far in year 4. I thought next year we'd be knocking on the door of the finals. So I think we're ahead of schedule. Didn't Wallace say 2011? 2009, 2010 surely is not out of the equation.

The club has embarrassed not only Greg, but its supporters YET AGAIN. Also, instead of talking about a great win on the weekend, we're talking about this.

I'm quite happy to milk the sympathy for Greg line because the RFC have been absolute thickheads in this episode.

interesting when they asked him if he wanted to stay in footy ... he was quite adament about it being ..."YES"

Realistic Tiger is correct ... before we lynch every possible person we can over this .... lets just see how this pans out in coming weeks .

GC17........... missed out on north moving up here and he was one of the supporters of the move. he will get here with the new entity and rake in the big bucks

For Mellow Yellow

Re: Greg Miller on the Couch
Quote:
Originally Posted by NQTIGER
He knew on Friday nite, was told by Garry March

Told what exactly,that he was dismissed and if so why was it stated saturday in the media that Miller was yet to be informed of his sacking by March. Why would he go into hiding :confused:
user_online.gif

He said on on the couch that march apologised on friday nite about it and that he knew. His words

Smoke and mirrors Jangles!

Reckon he's got his hands burnt and is now saving face. Those that "get fired" generally have a bit more lip about them than that.

Either his hands are tied, because he has financial commitments tied up with his departure (Grant Thomas style) or he got what he deserved. ;)

He looked sheepish to me but definitely looked like he was showing his credentials for a crack at another club. I read somewhere he was apparently sniffing around the GC17 franchise - can't believe it on face value but stranger things have happened i guess.

I'm sure there's someone out there who can do the job just as well, or even better. The thing is Greg is the one that actually DID it. Could have done better in recruiting, but there is no shadow of a doubt that we are going forward in leaps and bounds. I didn't think we would have progressed this far in year 4. I thought next year we'd be knocking on the door of the finals. So I think we're ahead of schedule. Didn't Wallace say 2011? 2009, 2010 surely is not out of the equation.

The club has embarrassed not only Greg, but its supporters YET AGAIN. Also, instead of talking about a great win on the weekend, we're talking about this.

I'm quite happy to milk the sympathy for Greg line because the RFC have been absolute thickheads in this episode.

Let's just wait until it all comes out. You may very well be right and if so I will agree with your sentiments entirely.

But something doesn't seem right to me. I suspect something else has happened / is happening. Hypothetically if Miller *had* approached GC17, then we have handled this the right way. *If* we have approached Sheedy and Miller has cracked it then we have handled it the right way.

On the other hand, if Tony Free has just come in and big noted himself, then I agree, it's been handled the wrong way.

Look Froarsy ... through this i have been completely with your stance on this one and by and large a still am .

But rationally ... "IF" there was no leak on this one then it wouldn`t have ended up the farce it has ...Who is to say GM was not responsible for the leak himself ?... clearly he was the puppeteer with his hand right up Mike sheahans clacker tonight.

Funny how Gary March is not "on the couch" giving Richmonds side of the story.

There is more to this than we know ....

Said this in 2 other threads and will say the same thing here. Instead of slagging off at the board/club how about we wait and see just who they do get to replace Miller before sinking the boots in. As for Miller himself, thanks for the time you put in to get this club headed in the right direction.

Well said RT:thumbsu:

Hardly the clubs fault that someone at the club thought leaking info to the media about Miller was better than letting the club make the announcement in time, as they had planned to do.

At least one positive thing has surfaced out of this and that is instead of letting rumours continue on which would have caused all sorts of disruptions, March and Wright got hold of Miller had a face to face talk and put an end to the rumours very quickly. If this had of happened a couple of years ago, without doubt the story would have festered for 2-3 weeks before someone finally did something about it.