Griffin the Forward

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

Re: Griffen the Forward

I wish we could wave a wand and have him put a good 10-15 kilos on for next week, then he'd be the very definition of an impossible matchup.
LOL.

port holds the magic wand. but travis boak will be staying in our hands thanks mate.

LOL.

port holds the magic wand. but travis boak will be staying in our hands thanks mate.

4ka6z2d.gif

don't want to focus on a possible negative but surely as a stationary deep fwd option - he has more upside than Kenny.......:confused:

While Maric regains touch in the SANFL, why not bring kenny in for a couple of games and see how he goes. If that doesn't work, Griff to the forward line.

Kenny's too slow/falls over too mch to play either CHF or CHB. His only position, that I can see, is deep in the forward line where he can use his best asset, his marking prowess. If that doesn't work, where too from there? Even when fit, is he a walk up start in our first 22? If not, is he possible trade bait? Considering how thin we are in kpp stocks, I doubt he would be traded. But then again, his value is only going to decline after this year.

Very dangerous - I love the resting ruckman

:thumbsu:

The thing about a resting ruckman is that it is looked at, in that way, by a lot of coaches.

Its should be more of a weapon!

Dont think a ruckman wants to be rested there.
The lion hearted players would be expecting to provide a target and Griffo does it well.

Hes very mobile and can take a grap at full pace.
Matthews would've been sh !ting that many bricks he could ship 'em to Iraq.:D

I said early in the year he could kick "what was it, 1.3 goals per game " :confused: and I was laughed at by Stiffy I think it was;)

heh heh... I might have to up the ante.;)

Kenny was in our starting 22 when he was fit.

I'd argue that he still currently has more value than Perrie or Bock, and even taking into account team balance, possibly Welsh and Stevens.

I remember towards the end of the season last year, he played for WWT a few times when his was fit.

The thing about a resting ruckman is that it is looked at, in that way, by a lot of coaches.

I said early in the year he could kick "what was it, 1.3 goals

The value of a resting ruckman is not his ''average'' but his size which forces an opposition coaches hand

Though saying that...most restng ruckmen should aim for a 1.7 average

In all honesty I thought he would be just a stop-gap till Maric or Meesen were fit...however he shows heaps of promise, a couple of his bits of play looked really classy. Rising star nominee?...nah it'll go to some victorian youngster who got 13 soft touches.:rolleyes:

Some dude got 20+ touches in the game on Friday night, they say he's a cert.

I think the nomination this week goes to Jesse Smith W. Smith. He had a great game.

I am pretty filthy that Knights played 2 games too many. He would have taken the Rising Star Award home at the end of the year. He is a classic case of a player thats just too good to be ignored by the Vic-centric judges.

I think the nomination this week goes to Jesse Smith W. Smith. He had a great game.

I am pretty filthy that Knights played 2 games too many. He would have taken the Rising Star Award home at the end of the year. He is a classic case of a player thats just too good to be ignored by the Vic-centric judges.

Knights is a classic case of a player who is a deadset ****ing superstar of the competition in the making.

Yeh JWS was brill. Deserving nominee.

I don't really give a rats about the Rising Star tbh.

The weekly nominations are just so they can highlight the guys taken with high picks, who are thrown to the wolves, because their clubs are so woeful. Which is the reason the got those picks in the first place. Most of these nominees are extremely over-rated players from Victorian clubs.

I've always thought if Port could find a third ruckman, Lade could spend the majority of his time up forward. I reckon he could be a 40-50 goal ( at least ) forward.

I've been saying it all along. When Maric or Meesen come back, Griff to the forward line.

I'm all over this bandwagon.

I admire Griff a lot, but I don't think he's made for full time rucking, despite his height. M&M offer so much more on the rucking scale and Griff has such obvious talent in the forward 50. He looks lost far too often in the centre.

By playing Griffen up forward he could also take the ruck duties up there. This would allow our ruckmen to sit behind the play and block up the oppositions forward line, like Rehny used to do.

I admire Griff a lot, but I don't think he's made for full time rucking, despite his height. M&M offer so much more on the rucking scale and Griff has such obvious talent in the forward 50. He looks lost far too often in the centre.

I agree. If you have a 200cm type who can play predominately as a forward they are almost impossible to match up on - ie P Salmon. The opposition either has to play 3 ruckman or use one of their first choice 2 ruckman to play as a backman, a position they wouldn't be accustomed too. Either way, it's a win-win for us.

I think Griffen has the mobility to play predominately as a forward, more so than our other young ruckman in Maric and Meesen.

With his height and that leap anything is possible for him. Also in the Brisbane telecast they were talking about, I think, Griffin's time in the 3km run being 10:20 which they said is just "elite" for a big man. Not absolutely positive it was Griffin they referred to. Can someone confirm this?

Yes it was Griffin they were talking about.

Gee, I think that's where he excels already. The only area he's struggling in a bit at this stage is at boundary throw-ins due to his light weight.

Once he puts on another 10 kg I can see him playing in the same mode as Dean Cox.

He's been the surprise packet of the season so far IMO.

Yes it was Griffin they were talking about.

Gee, I think that's where he excels already. The only area he's struggling in a bit at this stage is at boundary throw-ins due to his light weight.

Once he puts on another 10 kg I can see him playing in the same mode as Dean Cox.

He's been the surprise packet of the season so far IMO.

What's he weigh now Mac?