blues76

for those who stick up for this guy, i hope you were there last night. 29 touches for nothing. his unwillingness to get the so-called contested ball that he apparently gets, its embarrassing. the consumate gimme gimme player who is weak is p*** and the ultimate soft serve. it was comical to see him pack his dacks when he and richo contested for a ball...got out of the way in a flash. its pathetic. the whole game was a farce and its sad that we paid to see this crap. he will never get dropped because he uses 50% of his ball correctly, which is a good ratio for the team at the moment.

sadly, its back to back for us....lets stop dreaming. richmond could not have played any worse but were 20% better than us.

Probably one of his worst games last night IMO.

As soft as it gets.

It reminded me of when I played footy LOL. I just didn't want to get hurt.

blues76 said:
for those who stick up for this guy, i hope you were there last night. 29 touches for nothing. his unwillingness to get the so-called contested ball that he apparently gets, its embarrassing. the consumate gimme gimme player who is weak is p*** and the ultimate soft serve. it was comical to see him pack his dacks when he and richo contested for a ball...got out of the way in a flash. its pathetic. the whole game was a farce and its sad that we paid to see this crap. he will never get dropped because he uses 50% of his ball correctly, which is a good ratio for the team at the moment.
I was there last night, and he was good. You, on the other hand, are an idiot.

So where were the so called hard-nuts? The "contested ball he apparently gets" ??? Leads the club in hard-ball gets.

50% of his disposals effective??? If that was true, it maybe because 88% of the time he has 15 of his team-mates behing him leaving Deluca, Fevola and Waite to try to beat 8 defenders. You try hit a target in that scenario.

blues76 said:

sadly, its back to back for us....lets stop dreaming. richmond could not have played any worse but were 20% better than us.

Actually it's more like 88% - 15 effective kicks out of 17.

(Did you really need to start yet another thread).:thumbsd:

Why are we ripping houlahan? He played really well last night and has been all year!! Hes definitly not as soft as he used to be, hes probably our best user of the ball as well.

Stanton said:
Why are we ripping houlahan? He played really well last night and has been all year!! Hes definitly not as soft as he used to be, hes probably our best user of the ball as well.
There are only a couple of dills on here who are 'ripping' Houlihan. They are the same ones who you hear ragging him at the games as well. They are also the same ones who leave the games half way through the last quarter and mumble something about not ever coming back and then return the following week with more verbal diarrhoea. The majority of fair dinkum Blues supporters recognise the huge improvement in Houla's work ethic this season and his importance to the team. It would seem that it is only him, Murphy, Whitnall and Betts who can consistently hit their teammates with footpasses. After 5 games this season, Houlihan has certainly shown a lot more than Stevo and Kouta, who were our 2 best midfielders. He will be a key component of our eventual return to the upper regions of the ladder in 2-3 years time.

When I was a kid I use to jump over my Grans fence (she lived next the Houlihans) and play footy with Adam and Ryan. :thumbsu: Ryan is playing much better this year and some of these clowns bagging, I would love to see them on a footy field. Gutless.

Houlihan played good last night, and a few of his passes went straight to leading forwards which is something other carlton plays fail, their poor skills. Def an imporving player.

I thought he was good last night, you need someone to carry the ball and atleast he can hit a target. Not everyone needs to go in and get the pill.

Houlihan can draw comparisons to one of Carlton's favorite son's (well, legend) Craig Bradley in that they both use/used the ball extremely well and were not known for their love of receiving the 'hardball'. The difference being that Bradley had a defensive element to his game that Houlihan completely lacks.

I have a theory being "no team will ever contest a premiership with a Houlihan or McManus in their side".

Enough said.

Deepthroat said:
Houlihan can draw comparisons to one of Carlton's favorite son's (well, legend) Craig Bradley in that they both use/used the ball extremely well and were not known for their love of receiving the 'hardball'. The difference being that Bradley had a defensive element to his game that Houlihan completely lacks.

I have a theory being "no team will ever contest a premiership with a Houlihan or McManus in their side".

Enough said.

Or a Q. Lynch

Some people just won't give up! :rolleyes:

Was one of the few players to consistently use the ball well. Anyone who has 5 scoring assists has done their job. There was a perfectly weighted kick to Murphy to set up his goal, another 2 to Fev, Fisher & Whitnall.

Why do you think Garry Lyon gave him votes- only Carlton player to score votes? Said his disposal hurt the opposition.

Is winning a lot of the ball out of heavy traffic, giving off some slick handpasses.

Has been in the best few 5/5 games now. Not enough I guess. :rolleyes:

Some Carlton supporters thinks he played well, some didn't and I'm with the latter.

Listening to talk back radio coming back from the 'G and there were a number of people who called 3AW saying Houlihan was as weak as it comes. 3AW agreed.

3AW thrive on getting disgruntled supporters of the losing team to call up and air their frustrations. Were you one of them?:rolleyes:

stokesy said:
Some Carlton supporters thinks he played well, some didn't and I'm with the latter.

Listening to talk back radio coming back from the 'G and there were a number of people who called 3AW saying Houlihan was as weak as it comes. 3AW agreed.
They are the vocal minority. The same ones who sook about their seats at the footy, about the price of food and nick off half way through the last quarter instead of sticking around when the team is losing. You wonder how many of them are actually members.

stokesy said:

Anyone who gets 29 touches and uses the ball effectively around the 85%-90% range has had a good game by anyones standards. He has improved immensely since last year and he is definitely not the reason why team is not winning.

BlueWorld said:
3AW thrive on getting disgruntled supporters of the losing team to call up and air their frustrations. Were you one of them?:rolleyes:

Sadly I wasn't, but I would have been.

Most people had three points and I've been a member for 15 years and I agree with the points raised from Friday night;

1. Moving Lance back was a joke.
2. Houlihan is as soft as ever.
3. Pagan should be sacked.

I think we should agree to disagree, but do me a favour against Collingwood. Sit in the stand and watch Houlihan wherever he is.

Yes you can say Stevens, Kouta and co. do the same. But I am picking on Houlihan because Kouta is a champion, Stevens is a valuable leader who gets tagged heavily and also Lappin, his the toughest man in our side.

Just for the record, I'm not a fan of Scotland either.

iluvparis said:
The way everyone is talking perhaps we should pick up another 5 Darren Hulmes and just rotate them through the midfield! He was tough at the ball. How would everyone like that?

I'm all for it.