Have we botched the rebuild?

Possibly. When you start a rebuild in 2021 and mid next season you sack the coach, it's not off to a great start.

Then you've got pick 3 who can't get a game, a pick 1 who walks out, and pick 8 who gets thrown out, it makes it tough.

So you get to 2023 and start all over again. We've drafted some talls this time to go along with the mids and flankers, so hopefully we'll do a bit better.

Possibly. When you start a rebuild in 2021 and mid next season you sack the coach, it's not off to a great start.

Then you've got pick 3 who can't get a game, a pick 1 who walks out, and pick 8 who gets thrown out, it makes it tough.

So you get to 2023 and start all over again. We've drafted some talls this time to go along with the mids and flankers, so hopefully we'll do a bit better.
That is pretty accurate mate . The rebuild may have been going for a while but Clarko rebuild hasn't.

Our hope should be that the entry of Tasmania is either delayed or even shelved - otherwise we could still be in a world of pain during a period of compromised drafts

This all started when Brad was here and we got rid of too many veterans, we needed some to show the next batch of players coming through what to do

I said it at the time.

The Daniel/Matlock trade will cost us big time, especially if they double down on it this year and don’t cop their medicine.

We are not like other clubs, we need to rely almost entirely on the draft.

Our one advantage over other clubs is we’ve been able to amass an arsenal of top prospects because we have been so bad, while shit each year we’ve been able to add a bit more. The only real competition in this respect has been Gold Coast with the academy rorts.

We’ve let arguably our biggest advantage stand still.

Posters keep fobbing it off, but it’s easy to just argue against a no name draft pick.

Trade FOS to Richmond for pick 30 odd and I’m sure they would have different opinions.

This draft had some tall options as well.

It’s probably the worst decision we’ve made in 10 years and it was called as such at the time. So was easily foreseeable, I want everyone involved gone from the club.

The senior bodies argument is such bullshit, when those “kids” are now senior bodies themselves.

“We need to get better so we don’t lose LDU” how’s that looking at the moment? Pandering our entire list strategy to one player was always playing with fire. Especially one who picks and chooses which week he wants to perform. Unfortunately for us, he seems to have out his feet up since resigning.

🤣 That works. I was more thinking “To hell or to Connaught, though”.
Oh we’re the Irish in this story..
Nervous Fetal Position GIF by Big Brother

I said it at the time.

The Daniel/Matlock trade will cost us big time, especially if they double down on it this year and don’t cop their medicine.

We are not like other clubs, we need to rely almost entirely on the draft.

Our one advantage over other clubs is we’ve been able to amass an arsenal of top prospects because we have been so bad, while shit each year we’ve been able to add a bit more. The only real competition in this respect has been Gold Coast with the academy rorts.

We’ve let arguably our biggest advantage stand still.

Posters keep fobbing it off, but it’s easy to just argue against a no name draft pick.

Trade FOS to Richmond for pick 30 odd and I’m sure they would have different opinions.

This draft had some tall options as well.

It’s probably the worst decision we’ve made in 10 years and it was called as such at the time. So was easily foreseeable, I want everyone involved gone from the club.

The senior bodies argument is such bullshit, when those “kids” are now senior bodies themselves.

“We need to get better so we don’t lose LDU” how’s that looking at the moment? Pandering our entire list strategy to one player was always playing with fire. Especially one who picks and chooses which week he wants to perform. Unfortunately for us, he seems to have out his feet up since resigning.

I hate the trade as much as the next bloke, though wouldve been mitigated had we pinched 3 more wins to date.

Getting two rated talls last year wouldve been a preferable option, than Richmond's 2nd this year.

Who would you use pick 3 on this year?

What does it look like if you take away the priority picks?
No Logue, Tucker, Stephens, Fisher, W.Dawson, Hardeman.

Controllables:
We actively lost significant value with:
  • Polec, - Dud. Could've traded up?
  • CCJ, -Overpaid, significantly.
  • Caleb, - Overpaid, significantly.
  • Tarryn Thomas- ZERO return. Idiots. Trade him the year prior for anything more than nothing if the writing was on the wall.
  • Dees pick swap, - idiotic. Could've dealt direct with Freo instead and kept a 2019 pick.
  • Whitlock pick swap.
  • Beating GC to give up pick 1. Tactically, those 4 pts were ****ing useless over the trade/draft value of pick 1 that particular year.
  • Mid season drafting.

Did barely OK with pick swapping the end of First Rnd priority picks. Hardeman looks good. Need W.Dawson to deliver. From 3 picks got two draftees with Fisher, Stephens. Fisher wasted, Stephens rising but the 'outside run' bar is set extremely low at North.

Luck:
Unlucky JHF was from SA. He couldve been a Victorian and not a complete ****wit.

Unlucky there was no generational key fwd available at one of the many top 3 picks we had.

We got unlucky port death ride ended with pick 14, with their pick this year currently sitting at pick 4.

We got unlucky TT ****ed us.

We got unlucky N.Daicos and Sam Darcy were father sons.

We got unlucky our actual father-son, The Lizard, chose another state to live in. The lizards run off HB would be immense.

We got lucky we netted a top 3 pick for Mackay.

We got unlucky coved hit, but should never have had the Powell pick sent back a year.

Going forward:
Already on the list:

Absolutely need W.Dawson, M.Whitlock, Goater, Duursma to kick on.
Long shot, the Unicorn & B.George
Need Archer, Comben, Wardlaw's bodies to hold up.
Mckercher to continue upwards trend and remain.

To trade or draft:
An Isaac Smith. - Duursma with a tank? FOS?.
A Kysaiah Pickett. - Banch?
Another Key Back if W.Dawson is going fwd.

There's enough of a core to move up, its coaching,systems, standards, Buy-In, Belief needed from here.

I hate the trade as much as the next bloke, though wouldve been mitigated had we pinched 3 more wins to date.

Getting two rated talls last year wouldve been a preferable option, than Richmond's 2nd this year.

Who would you use pick 3 on this year?
This is the key point. I am not overly pumped with the trade but in the end it will be

Whitlock + Rich 2nd round pick vs NM 1st round pick

I'd argue our best two draft selectons of the past 5 years have been Paul Curtis and Harry Sheezel, one picked at 35 and one at 3.

I think we will be able to gauge it's success/failure after a couple of years but not now.

Have we botched it, or have we been a little stiff with the lack of quality available, outside of mids.

It's almost criminal that we don't have a developing KPF on the list. We recruited two KPD's and appear to be trying to turn one into a forward. We need to find one this draft/trade as Larkey is struggling, perhaps terminally (I hope not but he could be on a downward spiral, he isn't getting younger and he has entrenched bad habits) and Darling is very near the end.

The rebuilt was never that bad. What was bad was the senior players we brought in with shocking attitudes and you wonder why the young players come through with similar ones.

The recruitment of Darling, Parker and Daniel is what we have really needed for the last 3 years. Stars of the game with great qualities on and off the field

Not Aiden Corr, Jared Polec, Griffin Logue etc etc etc

It's almost criminal that we don't have a developing KPF on the list. We recruited two KPD's and appear to be trying to turn one into a forward. We need to find one this draft/trade as Larkey is struggling, perhaps terminally (I hope not but he could be on a downward spiral, he isn't getting younger and he has entrenched bad habits) and Darling is very near the end.
Hybrids like Charley (minus yesterdays bath from pink) , hogan and treacey are probably the go these days. Cameron is really the sole big KPF that dominates. I think we need a gorilla that can play him however he is a unicorn that's as agile as a 180 cm player.

I reckon the land of the giants forward lines are obsolete as you lose to much mobility and forward pressure when the ball hits the ground.

One more young KPF would be nice but I think that Maley can be really good at what we need him to do, which is take contested marks around the ground and crash packs.

I could see a forward line with Curtis, George, Duursma and one or two role playing talls like Maley, Dawson or Goad, being really tough to stop.

I think Curtis and George have the talent to be Coleman contenders. Ablett Sr was 185cm, Modra and Dunstall were 188cm. Its nothing new.

Curtis is 22 years old. He rag dolls KPDs and beats small defenders to ground ball. Just imagine him at 25 or 26. He threatens to kick 4-5 every week, already.

One more young KPF would be nice but I think that Maley can be really good at what we need him to do, which is take contested marks around the ground and crash packs.

I could see a forward line with Curtis, George, Duursma and one or two role playing talls like Maley, Dawson or Goad, being really tough to stop.

I think Curtis and George have the talent to be Coleman contenders. Ablett Sr was 185cm, Modra and Dunstall were 188cm. Its nothing new.

Curtis is 22 years old. He rag dolls KPDs and beats small defenders to ground ball. Just imagine him at 25 or 26. He threatens to kick 4-5 every week, already.
i reckon he has the tools to be a poor mans GAS.

Have we botched the rebuild?