crows_4_life

AUFC, Tottenham
does everyone think that fanatasia will do a decent job this year?? he has previously stuffed up in the draft, we could have had a great forward line right now if the players he picked had been focused on thier footy at AFC, just think...

FF: Bode Watts Angwin

HF: Porplyzia Hentschel Thompson

crows_4_life said:
does everyone think that fanatasia will do a decent job this year?? he has previously stuffed up in the draft, we could have had a great forward line right now if the players he picked had been focused on thier footy at AFC, just think...

Who wants to live in the past ?

not living in the past a question of do u think fantasia will research abit better than previously when he drafted a nutcase and a mummys boy.

crows_4_life said:
does everyone think that fanatasia will do a decent job this year?? he has previously stuffed up in the draft, we could have had a great forward line right now if the players he picked had been focused on thier footy at AFC

So if i'm correct you want him to become some kind of psychic?:confused:

crows_4_life said:

Have we learned our lesson? What lesson is that? The one where you learn to see into the future?

I'm pretty sure we've always had a policy of picking the best possible players available with some emphasis on positional needs. I can't see that changing.

jo172 said:
So if i'm correct you want him to become some kind of psychic?:confused:

nope do some REAL research and not just jump at what looks good, eg. mcgregor instead of pavlich.
reilly instead of dal santo and angwin instead of k.cornes

crows_4_life said:
nope do some REAL research and not just jump at what looks good, eg. mcgregor instead of pavlich.

That's not research, that's called hindsight.

crows_4_life said:
, eg. mcgregor instead of pavlich.

So sick of people harping on about this, every other club passed on him more then once but we were one of the few clubs to actually get a servicable player from the 17 year old rule.

As for your others you will never see a recruiter with a 100% success rate, if we had got Dal Santo and Kane Cornes would we of had the good fortune of picking up players like Rutten, Mattner and Bock through the Rookie list?

crows_4_life said:

How was Angwin his stuff up? He was against Angwin, Ayres and Curran wanted to take him.......:confused:

Then again, if you can't even spell his name correctly I suppose you weren't to know.

tinman said:
How was Angwin his stuff up? He was against Angwin, Ayres and Curran wanted to take him.......:confused:

Then again, if you can't even spell his name correctly I suppose you weren't to know.

read my post mate, spelt exactly the same as you!

and who is to say that it is solely James fantasia's job to do the draft selections, every draft I have seen it is our head coach and the head of football operations that make the actual selections. Out of that forward line that is named above 2 are gone but 4 remain. That's a pretty good strike rate imho.

crows_4_life said:
:o whoops my mistake

No dramas, I could have been clearer.

I just reckon that when James Fantasia has been able to use our picks he has done a great job. I still think that, with the benefit of hindsight, if we had kept our draft picks (even if Kane Johnson wanted out and was traded for a pick), and we hadn't gone for Carey we probably would have 2 more flags by now.

But hindsight is a wonderful thing.

tinman said:

I just reckon that when James Fantasia has been able to use our picks he has done a great job. I still think that, with the benefit of hindsight, if we had kept our draft picks (even if Kane Johnson wanted out and was traded for a pick), and we hadn't gone for Carey we probably would have 2 more flags by now.

i half agree with the comment about carey, i think he was really good for the development of our youngsters, he would have taught hentschel and bock a thing or two, and who else would you want to learn from than wayne carey??

crows_4_life said:
i half agree with the comment about carey, i think he was really good for the development of our youngsters, he would have taught hentschel and bock a thing or two, and who else would you want to learn from than wayne carey??
No comment :)

yep carey = huge mistake.

Fantastia drafted Watts & Angwin, one left one stuffed up.

If you could replace these players...with the same sorta style they play and a similar draft pick in their respective draft, we probably would have won a flag.

He was going for the right players, the plans were just blown, not because of Fantasia, because of the individual.

earlsta said:
Fantastia drafted Watts & Angwin, one left one stuffed up.

Wrong, Fanta wanted K. Cornes, Ayres wanted Angwin.

earlsta said:
If you could replace these players...with the same sorta style they play and a similar draft pick in their respective draft, we probably would have won a flag.

If your Aunt had balls she'd be your uncle.

tinman said:

If James or John have any role in trading, their performance in the above trade was well below par and you rightly point out that we would have 2 flags minimum if we had traded for pavlich as well as or instead of carey. I can understand Gary Ayres not wanting to trade for pavlich, coming from the carey eccentric melbourne and not having seen pavlich play as a youngster. There is no excuse for the rest of the club however, they knew that he would be quality. As you said absolutely critical decision that one was for us.

I just hope we don't any trades, we are really bad at them.

The Twilight Zone said:
If James or John have any role in trading, their performance in the above trade was well below par and you rightly point out that we would have 2 flags minimum if we had traded for pavlich as well as or instead of carey. I can understand Gary Ayres not wanting to trade for pavlich, coming from the carey eccentric melbourne and not having seen pavlich play as a youngster. There is no excuse for the rest of the club however, they knew that he would be quality. As you said absolutely critical decision that one was for us.

I just hope we don't any trades, we are really bad at them.

If we didn't do any trades we never would of won in 97/98. That would mean no Robran, Ellen, Koster, Connell, Mcleod, Stevens or a certain D Jarman.

You win some, You lose some it's just that people actually seem to remember the losses:thumbsd:

jo172 said:
If we didn't do any trades we never would of won in 97/98. That would mean no Robran, Ellen, Koster, Connell, Mcleod, Stevens or a certain D Jarman.

You win some, You lose some it's just that people actually seem to remember the losses:thumbsd:

I agree that trading can be a route to success you just need to look at Sydney; and obviously D Jarman is the standout big trade there for us. It still doesn't change that we are not very good at it and it probably has done us more harm than good.

I like that we are concentrating on bringing back SA talent. I just dont have faith that we wont pay over the odds to get it. Keeping our picks and letting James do his work has reinvigorated our list since 2004. If that’s our strength then lets keep to it.

You watch, Sydney will be in huge strife 2-3 years from now.

Their first pick in the 2005 National Draft was #51.

LOL

Now they want to get Spider, probably a first rounde or 2nd to obtain spiders services.

We're going great guns, VB, Pfeiffer, Douglas, Knights, Porpz, Vince(maybe?) I think are all going to be better than the 'average' footballer, and this will hold us in good stead. Thanks to the recruiting, I believe Knights was an absolute steaaaal.

May I add Bock to that list...he's only played 40 games, VB has played 31,30.. trippy huh?

But yeah, we have a great future...the break through years for Knights + Van Berlo + Porplyzia will probably be 2007, we should improve even further, can't wait to see what happens.

crows_4_life said:

ok, you're not trying to be taken seriously then are you.

lucky really. run along.