News Hawthorn's 2019 fixture

Couldn't give a bees blurter about the fixture, it is what it is. Just make it all the sweeter when we win the cup. Give it enough time and we will slowly fill the AFL hierarchy with ex hawks so the fixture is a work in progress. If it wasn't for us half the teams wouldn't have a coach let alone other positions filled by ex hawks admin. I'm ranting a bit but the AFL reminds me more and more of Cricket Australia. Over and out

Equality seems to be the name of the game in every facet spoken about by the AFL, except when it comes the fixture - revenue and ratings are first and foremost the AFL's objective.

As far as diffficulty I never ever worry myself with that, if you’re good enough you beat most teams. Hard fixture talk is nonsense imo.
This is a total misnomer.

It stands to reason in a competition as even as the AFL even the tiniest advantage or disadvantage can be enough to make or break a team's season. I understand the need some people have to project bravado such as "we'll succeed regardless of how difficult the AFL makes it for us if we're good enough!" but the reality is the nature of our fixture does affect our likelihood of success despite trying to persuade ourselves otherwise because it happens to be a factor outside our control.

That's not to say our fixture will prove as easy or difficult as we think given we don't know which teams will improve or worsen, but not being able to predict with certainty its' influence on our season does not magically negate the influence it will have. If you think otherwise look at Collingwood, who made the GF on the back of beating a total of ONE top 8 team in the H&A season after being gifted the easiest fixture in the league. Of course the difficulty of the fixture matters.

For all the time he’s a bit off base - he’s worth it for the times he hits a bullseye like this. The AFL favouritism of a club found to bring the game into disrepute is just disgusting - and nobody says a word about it. Thank **** Jeff has the balls to speak out.

Rounds 7-16 are frightening.

Must bank wins early and build momentum or i fear for what could be.

Not fussed as we need to beat good teams to be relevant come September anyways, no point limping into 4th and copping straight sets.

MCG home games

W Bulldogs Round 2 on a Sunday
North Melbourne Round 3 on a Sunday
Geelong Round 5 on Easter Monday
GWS Round 8 on a Sunday
West Coast Round 15 on a Saturday
Collingwood Round 16 on a Friday

Gold Coast at Marvel on a Sunday

Plus Essendon at Marvel and no MCG games for the last 5 games of the season

Pretty shit draw to be fair
That is horrific, hate sunday games cos i cant get to them or watch them. So my membership has got me 2 games this year. I might go watch a few more neutrals.

I like that when necessary he calls things like this out. Too many club representatives in the AFL play it predictably diplomatic. Sometimes shit needs to be called out, otherwise they'll just keep running over you.

FWIW, Champion Data have ranked our draw as the 2nd hardest based on their 2019 team rankings.....

Why are Geelong rated in red (like Richmond ) but we are pink(like gws)
The red denotes which teams will receive preferential umpiring throughout the season. Champion data take that into account when determining difficulty of opponent's fixture

We have been handed the Sunday fixture in spades. The way I see the Sunday game –
- Unlike a Friday night game where after a win it sets up a great weekend buzz, a Sunday arvo win while still great is subdued by the thought of returning to work the following morning (for those not working weekends and working Monday).
- Gotta wait till Sunday for the game.
- After a big weekend the Sunday game ends up being the tail end of the great weekend when most of the energy has been spent on running around and doing the social stuff.
- If we win on a Sunday – less options to head out after the game and have a few brown lemonades, nothing like coming out of the MCG on a Saturday night after a big win and if you want to kick on and celebrate the options are endless.
- Sunday for a lot of people is an opportunity to have a quiet one, study, catch up with family and friends etc – sometimes harder to get to the game.
On the positive though –
- Saturday sporting commitments especially if you have kids mean Sunday is a good time to go to the game with the kids and family.
- Sunday is generally a quieter day (if not working) so if the game is on in your town its easier generally to get to without the sat sport, social events in the way.
- Sunday a good day to watch the game on the tv when let’s face it there is generally not much else on tv.
Let us know your thoughts.

We played them twice and drew 53,000 and 68,500

The second game would have resulted in 18,000 fans being locked out of the Super HERO stadium

Meanwhile Essendon play Sydney (less then 40,000) and BRISBANE (less then 35,000) at the MCG

The average Hawthorn and Essendon fixture, at the MCG, has drawn 63,000 over the past 11 years
Don't the AFL own the Docklands now ? If so, this would be one reason they schedule that game there. To maximise the crowds

For all the time he’s a bit off base - he’s worth it for the times he hits a bullseye like this. The AFL favouritism of a club found to bring the game into disrepute is just disgusting - and nobody says a word about it. Thank **** Jeff has the balls to speak out.
I don’t think he’s making the point you seem to be implying, ie backing the druggies for being cheats.
I’m assuming he’s suggesting the AFL back winners in advance regarding scheduling.
Last year they backed the blues and we all know what happened there.
This year they’re backing in the scum and Kennett is hoping the AFL get it right for their sake.
Regarding 17 rounds, play each other once and then finals that’s nice but then he would also be advocating a reduction in players salary.
Bring in a side from Tassie and the NT, play each other once would be my suggestion to fix all perceived (and real) inequities.

That's how this pathetic Mickey Mouse league is run so we shouldn't be the slightest bit surprised,

Would we be the only major sporting comp in the world that factors in player movement into the fixture ? X player has been traded to club Y so we better play them twice because it will rate well. They're an odd lot

Untitled-1.jpg

That's my 2019 ladder predictor. I did it conservatively, assuming most teams will improve or worsen only slightly with tons of weight assigned to home ground advantage.

You can create your own by filling in each round's results here: http://www.afl.com.au/ladder/ladder-predictor#/round/1

Well I did the ladder predictor:

Rich
Melb
GWS
Brisbane

North
Port
Freo
Bulldogs
GC

Might be a bit biased.
Basically I reckon Melbourne are going to be awesome this year and I couldn't logically pick any single game that either Richmond or West Coast would lose except against each other.
I clearly dislike Collingwood, Sydney, Essendon and Geelong.

Note - this has us beating North, GWS and Brisbane twice each.

Up
Adelaide should rise on the back of their cushy fixture & fewer injuries.
Essendon* appear to finally have their shit together ....took 'em long enough haha.
Melbourne should be over their mental hoodoo and are absolutely primed.
Brissy should rise with natural improvement from their kids.

Same
Doggies I think are another year away from significant improvement.
Norf haven't convinced me & picked up a bunch of players I don't rate highly.
Saints will be saddled with the clueless Richo for some/most of the year.
Carlton are too young to show much improvement.
GWS have lost talent but still have enough to hold their ground at least.

Down
Richmond will suffer from another off-season of teams learning to counter them.
West Coast might be overly happy with themselves.
Handbaggers & Swans are both cooked and due to plummet.
Port's lost a fair bit of talent and Hinkley's a moron.
Collingwood go from having the easiest fixture in the AFL to the hardest.
GC will be a comedy act.

Which leaves two of the more difficult teams to predict - Hawthorn & Freo. o_O

Would we be the only major sporting comp in the world that factors in player movement into the fixture ? X player has been traded to club Y so we better play them twice because it will rate well. They're an odd lot

the must see 22 games on the afl site is basically made up of this.

tigers vs gold coast is an example. carlton v tigers rd 1 also on there.

they are deluded