Help me understand Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Scotland

Tourism Minister Leon Bignell has upped his attack on Leigh St and Peel St traders accusing them of failing to accommodate football fans after many refused to open yesterday to cater for supporters heading to Adelaide Oval to watch Port Adelaide Power.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/...rs-lash-out-at-footy-diktat|homepage|homepage

Now I'm from Perth, so I think I've got a fairly good understanding of a city being backwards, but WTF?

Restaurants aren't open on weekends (WTF), are being encouraged to open on weekends by the govt (WTF) and don't want to (WTF).

When do restaurants in the area think is a good time to open to make money if not on weekends when 40,000+ people are there at once?

This guy has a valid point;

Tony Bailey of Leigh St restaurant Rigoni’s said it was not viable to open on a Saturday.

“It’s pretty petty for the government to be acting like that,” he said.

“We’re a business and we want to make money, so obviously if there was that opportunity, we would jump on it but for us, it’s not financially viable.

“We need a minimum of six staff to open which leads to huge overheads.

“Plus, we’re not the type of place you would go to before the football. I just don’t understand what the government expect us to do

“They love to tell us all how we should be running our businesses, but don’t exactly make it easy to do so with all the overheads.”

I'm not in the restaurant business, but in any business, you open your doors when it will make you money.

If they aren't, then I think it's safe to assume that it isn't profitable.

Rigoni's is very good btw.

Aesthetically Adelaide is a great city, but in my experience South Australians are idiots. That holds them back.

Edit: Just to clarify, they aren't all idiots, but there seems to be an abundance of silly ones. IMO it should be a very well regarded city and should have a better reputation.

lol

you'd think a restaurant would make more business/money on a weekend, I don't think i've ever heard a good thing said about S.A/Adelaide except maybe the new footy ground they have.

Not sure what goes on in that place but it seems really dull and boring.

Adelaide should be better than it is. It's close to some very nice areas (Barossa, hills, good surfing beaches down south), it has a favourable climate and it's easy to get around but it's not the most exciting place (although it's starting to get a little better). It's a good place to retire and to raise a family but isn't a place I would spend my entire life living in.

Aesthetically Adelaide is a great city, but in my experience South Australians are idiots. That holds them back.

Edit: Just to clarify, they aren't all idiots, but there seems to be an abundance of silly ones. IMO it should be a very well regarded city and should have a better reputation.
So is Perth! And Sydney! And Melbourne!

Reckon that says something about our taste and pasttimes and how we build buildings and even more about the human condition.

The restaurants around Subiaco Oval make a killing on footy days, and the overheads are a lot higher in Perth.

When do the restaurants open? Wednesday nights?

Leight St and Peel St are sort of off to the side a bit; Rundle and the like are killing it, but those places, I don't know if many would consider them around the footy.

I've been out for dinner 3 times after the AO games; O'Connell once, Rundle twice; never considered Leigh St.

It's weird, but, like I said, you'd think if it was profitable, they'd have their doors open.

Adelaide might have it's faults but they have a much better stadium than Perth now.

The new Adelaide Oval stadium looks terrific, I actually want to go there to watch an AFL game now, never had any desire to go to a game at the old AAMI stadium which looked like a bigger shithole than Subi Oval.

Low cost of living, great food and wine, quality smoke, my sort of town. It's pace of life is about right.
I've said it before, I like Adelaide, it's a city whose lack of ambition perfectly matches my own.

This isn't intended as a LOL Adelaide thread. If it was Perth the same restaurants would probably be closed because of the sheer number of hoops needing to be jumped through in order to open...

I am trying to wrap my head around why restaurants don't want to open on weekends near a packed out sports stadium. I looked at the map. Leigh St is right there. Why don't people want to go and eat there?

Normally half-cut after the footy, driving would be... unwise.

It's not though - like I said, it's the other end of town, from where everything is. It does seem close, but it's not in the 'normal' area.

The article hints at it - it's been a dead zone, they're trying to reinvigorate it and make it a bit of a restaurant/cafe strip itself; starting to have some success, but it's not really an area that comes to mind when you think of going out after the footy.

I like you Gough.
I'm hoping the Oval redevelopment will inject a bit of self belief into the state. Aside from being adept at self deprecation, South Aussies are also world standard when it comes to whinging, and I've heard little by way of complaints about the Oval, I think that we have got it so right has come as a great shock to many, considering this state's track record in ballsing things up. I think Victoria Square looks great as well, hopefully it will encourage us to think of other cool and fun ways that we could improve the city.

Come 'ere and say that.

Gough - spot on mate; the Oval is amazing, they've nailed it.

I was sceptical about the Vic Square redevelopment, but with the Croque Club and Tasting Australia and Tour Down Under making good use of it - it's been bloody amazing.

I think Adelaide Oval is the biggest thing to happen here in forever, and I, like you, and hoping it drives a new sense of optimism, confidence and price. The new hospital, whether you agree with the process/finance model, is going to be one hell of a facility as well.

We need Olympic Dam to get firing, if it does, then we should have some good times ahead - provided we don't balls it up.

Come 'ere and say that.

Gough - spot on mate; the Oval is amazing, they've nailed it.

I was sceptical about the Vic Square redevelopment, but with the Croque Club and Tasting Australia and Tour Down Under making good use of it - it's been bloody amazing.

I think Adelaide Oval is the biggest thing to happen here in forever, and I, like you, and hoping it drives a new sense of optimism, confidence and price. The new hospital, whether you agree with the process/finance model, is going to be one hell of a facility as well.

We need Olympic Dam to get firing, if it does, then we should have some good times ahead - provided we don't balls it up.
Olympic Dam was the reason we ended up in South Australia, Dad worked for WMC and used to take us up there when we were on school holidays. I first went up there in 1981, it's come a bloody long way since then.
I think Adelaide should also look to keep developing it's foreign student market. I ran a text book shop for a few years when I first came back to town and was stunned by the amount of foreign students and the money they spent, full fee paying students are good for our local unis as well.