Magpie_Babe

Oct 8, 2006
Heroes come unstuck
Terry Brown
October 19, 2006 12:00am

I PEELED Chrissy Tarrant off the garage wall this week. It sure wasn't easy.

For one thing, he was gaffer-taped on the asbestos with whacks and whacks of fat, black tape.
Every summer in the heat, footy posters in the garage grandstand flop down to the cat-hair carpet.

Sticking Taz up good and proper, I remember thinking, "You're not going anywhere."

Yeah -- so I thought! The hard part wasn't dislodging half a roll of tape. It was the hollow, sinking feeling doing it.

Pies fans know about sticking. It's in the song you sing to your kids when they're still in the womb.

But sticking together, side by side, is not what footy's about, is it?

Last week the Pies wheeled Taz out like you do the recyclables on Sunday night.

They swapped him for a Freo discard and ticket No. 8 in the AFL's annual November meat raffle.

It's not just the Maggies, either. Kids everywhere are peeling pictures off walls, and not just kids.

The Round 1 Footy Record should come with a tool to unpick the number off last year's jumper.

Around town, up north and across the Nullarbor, last week was one big bin night -- and had the same whiff about it.

Kids swap footy cards with more loyalty and my boy, Jamie, wouldn't swap his Chris Tarrants if you gave him a wrist burn -- still.

Minutes after the draft deadline, he was called to the front of class with his mate Harry, another Pies kid from Auskick.

"Tarrant's gone to Fremantle," they were informed gleefully under the Pies v World no-mercy rule.

Jamie fell to the floor dramatically, screaming "noooo" like a cartoon robot being sucked into a black hole.

That makes me so proud, and so sad. For all the theatrics, he really was hurting.

When I was his size, I wanted to howl when I saw Peter McKenna kicking goals for Carlton.

When Fabulous Phil Carman's white boots were given marching orders, I felt like I'd been kicked.

Micky McGuane in a Blues jumper? I couldn't bear to look.

And now Taz.

Footy players aren't brain surgeons, but Tarrant wasn't recruited by St Vinnie's cranial unit either.

He came down from Mildura to kick the bladder out of a lump of leather.

That poster plastered with tape shows Taz's 2003 Mark of the Year, taking a ride on hapless Geelong hacks.

In a year that ended so painfully, that, at least, was something.

By the end of this season, lots of Collingwood barrackers wanted to throttle Tarrant.

His wonky left boot scarred them for life. His body language infuriated blokes who couldn't get a kick playing on their grandma.

Plenty of others, though, would have given Taz a kidney -- hell, Chris, have 'em both!

For all their failings, the blokes on the field still ride teeth-rattling bumps for the rest of us.

They give us a dream for six months of the year and limp around in plaster for the other six.

As stupid and irrational as it is, and it certainly is, you get to believe in these blokes.

They're part of the family and all families have someone who drives you insane.

You don't take them out in the desert and leave them, though, tempting as it is.

Jamie still has his Chris Tarrant poster beside his bed and he's not taking it down yet.

Where it says Collingwood along the side, he's going to write in "former".

He will lie in bed at night and imagine taking a hanger like that when he plays for the Pies.

I've told him when he's 17, 2m of muscle with legs like bazookas, we are moving to Guam.

We are hiding him from the other teams' draft scouts because we're both pretty sure Carlton will still be getting top pick in 2014.

Until then, though, we'll be here in our black and white, but who knows who else will?

November 25 is the league's next recycle day, the meat raffle, the draft.

My daughter looks at Cameron Cloke's photo on her bedhead, signed "To Jessy". She's worried.

And I look at pictures in a garage with a poster-sized gap now between the pie warmer and the telly, not happy.

All those Clokes.

All that gaffer tape.

brownt@heraldsun.com.au

Yeah i just read that article.. I found myself doing the same thing the other night. However, I still have a couple of signed & framed ones up proudly. I wonder how many other supporters will still keep up posters of the Taz ??

Pulling down some posters of my mate Taz was gut-wrenching. I neatly folded them and stacked them in my cupboard incase we ever re-draft him. :thumbsu:

I still havent taken them down... Chris has been my favourite player since '99... I don't know when I'll be ready to take them down. They will be down before next season I know that much but only because if I keep them up and when we play them and IF they beat us I will blame the posters still being up!

One of the hardest things for me will be taking his badge of my gurnsey.

ouu 5 said:
Yeah i just read that article.. I found myself doing the same thing the other night. However, I still have a couple of signed & framed ones up proudly. I wonder how many other supporters will still keep up posters of the Taz ??

Pulling down some posters of my mate Taz was gut-wrenching. I neatly folded them and stacked them in my cupboard incase we ever re-draft him. :thumbsu:

I have the same issue with my daughter. Taz signed the rebel with a cause poster wishing my daughter a happy birthday. She also has the TARRANT 20 jumper.

at least she has been coming to the football with me but Ballet might take over now that Taz has gone.

WakeUpTaz said:
i took off my jumbo taz mark of the year poster off my bed room door, guess its time to put the chillies up again
hard isnt it i bid at a grand final breakfast for a framed pic of taz taking two speccies, there still on the wall but..... and i paid 400$ with the authenticity papers, dont know what to do?

HOLY ****

I am just looking round my wall in the study. It is packed with newspaper covers and posters. Here is a rundown of the featured Collingwood players.

Shane Woewodin - Welcome to Collingwood - GONE
Heath Scotland - "Hands up who plays next week" - GONE
Nathan Buckley and Heath Scotland - "Pie High" - HERE and GONE
Chris Tarrant - "FanTAZtic" - GONE
Anthony Rocca - "Pies Roar" - HERE
Mark McGough - "Best to Come" - GONE
Nathan Buckley - "Pies Power On" - HERE

Prelim main pics: G Freeborn, C Tarrant x2, C Steinfort on main pics - ALL GONE

Im looking in our study and there is four posters of Taz in here... and at least another 15 in my bedroom... one framed and signed plus signed photos *cries*

I enjoy reading his articles as they are normally about Collingwood. I haven't seen him in the paper for a while, last time I can remember was when we made the 2003 Grand Final. I like the bit at the end about the Clokes.

Lonie_from_50 said:
HOLY ****

I am just looking round my wall in the study. It is packed with newspaper covers and posters. Here is a rundown of the featured Collingwood players.

you have got to stop putting posters on your wall, you're a jinx to them all!

Read that in the paper. Great article I thought. He's not the first fan favourite to be traded, and he sure won't be the last. I think it's more that we've seen the kid grow up (in age at least) from a lost 17-year old boy from the country.

Who could forget the 'Barbecue at Eddie's place' those years ago, we were petrified he was gonna walk out.

He came back, was All-Australian and we loved him. Were it not for Rocca's elbow he may have been a Premiership player too.

He's gone, but lets move on.

:eek:
Lonie_from_50 said:
HOLY ****

Dude up until only last year I had most of those articles up on my wall too. The Buckley-Scotland one was from the 02 prelim against Adelaide with the Southern Stand in the background. "Pies Roar" from the same game I think. Good times... :eek:

Lonie_from_50 said:
HOLY ****

Why havent you got one of your mate Lonie up on the wall ??

Lonie_from_50 said:
HOLY ****

You will understand if I murder you and burn down your room if you put up a poster of Pendles or Daisy, right? Please forgive me :p

My bedroom has only one poster up. It used to be 2, but now it is down to the one single one.
This one will never need to go down as this player will never leave Collingwood. No one can ever replace him and there is no chance EVER of him walking out on this club. Who? You ask?

A player by the name of Darren Milane.
THE best poster I have ever seen of a Collingwood player. Muscles everywhere you look. Love you Pants!
As for the other one, it was of the Maco Marvel, but I took it down, Pants is enough for me.

I have one of those rip-off dealies where they frame 3 cards of tarrant and put a cheap plaque on it and charge $30. I have one for Chris Tarrant and one for Gavin Brown and that's signed.

I also have another one like that with 10 current players and 9 hall of famers and 1 club card. I guess I'm pretty lucky that I've had that for 3 or 4 years and only Tarrant is gone.

Heroes come unstuck