How about the crows learn to kick the ball straight?

Exactly. Pressure does funny things to even the most skillful players.

I'd actually point out that our tackling has improved a lot this year in the last few weeks especially in the 2nd half of the season and since the inclusions of Crouch, Lyons, Laird, Brown our handballing out of packs has improved markedly also.

Good point re: handballing :thumbsu:.

This is something I have noticed that's improved markedly in recent weeks. And we're not long-bombing up the ground "as much" as previously. Now we're at least looking for more options, both by hand or by foot, rather than putting on the blindfold, slapping an "Air Express" stamp on the Pill, and thumping it mindlessly on the boot. What's more, it is paying big dividends in general field play....when we've got the ball.

But once we lose possession, and the opposition gets just one possession out in free space, we're stuffed.

Good point re: handballing :thumbsu:.

This is something I have noticed that's improved markedly in recent weeks. And we're not long-bombing up the ground "as much" as previously. Now we're at least looking for more options, both by hand or by foot, rather than putting on the blindfold, slapping an "Air Express" stamp on the Pill, and thumping it mindlessly on the boot. What's more, it is paying big dividends in general field play....when we've got the ball.

But once we lose possession, and the opposition gets just one possession out in free space, we're stuffed.

Yeah was being generous with the this year comment, haha. But our willingness to tackle has improved a lot in recent weeks.

But yeah when we make an error going forward we don't have the ability to stop them scoring most of the time on the rebound.

Yeah was being generous with the this year comment, haha. But our willingness to tackle has improved a lot in recent weeks.

But yeah when we make an error going forward we don't have the ability to stop them scoring most of the time on the rebound.

Probably my biggest frustration in an overall frustrating year. Freo game was a reflection of our season. We needed 6.5 inside 50s to kick 1 goal. They only needed 3 inside 50s per goal. We work so hard and have multiple 50 entries to get in a position to score (and miss the goal), only for the opposition to run down the other end and score easily, which must be deflating for the team.

After Saturday night's game, I actually thought 75 points is not so bad for freo. You'd take that going into the game. So seems our defenders did well but it was our midfield that was great defensively, winning the clearances and limiting inside 50s. For the first time in many weeks, we relieved a lot of the pressure placed on our defence. Who was tagging fyfe in the first half? I think VB went onto him after half time.

Regardless, if we kicked straight and won the game, I wonder if the efficiency of freo would be mentioned.

Probably my biggest frustration in an overall frustrating year. Freo game was a reflection of our season. We needed 6.5 inside 50s to kick 1 goal. They only needed 3 inside 50s per goal. We work so hard and have multiple 50 entries to get in a position to score (and miss the goal), only for the opposition to run down the other end and score easily, which must be deflating for the team.

After Saturday night's game, I actually thought 75 points is not so bad for freo. You'd take that going into the game. So seems our defenders did well but it was our midfield that was great defensively, winning the clearances and limiting inside 50s. For the first time in many weeks, we relieved a lot of the pressure placed on our defence. Who was tagging fyfe in the first half? I think VB went onto him after half time.

Regardless, if we kicked straight and won the game, I wonder if the efficiency of freo would be mentioned.

Thinking back this probably happened to us last year but we also had a more accurate and efficient team last year so it masked these deficiencies. Our midfield was so good last year in the clinches so most stoppage situations ended up in a forward attack for us. We had a drop off at the start of the year in this area and lost but now our midfield has improved they don't have a good forward line to kick to.

So, using the weekend's games as the guide will the team that scores the most points win or lose? :eek: :p

The only points you should be concerned about is the 4 premiership points you are ahead of carlton. Because if you lose on the weekend and carlton win, your only hope might be taking essendon's spot in the top 8. :eek:

Never would have guessed that. :D ;)
But I'll be happy if we kick 4-28 to your 5-21.

Give us 26 set shots from 20-30m out directly in front and you might just get your wish.
Only if you give us 32

EDIT: How bad were both teams? I saw parts of your game and the kicking was just as bad as ours Vs Brisbane. Does it mean that this week the law of averages will apply and they will both kick straight?

Bingo :thumbsu:.

While our goal kicking in the last two weeks has been beyond horrendous, what's bolded has cost us more games this season (on the whole) than our in ability to convert set shots.

Not being able to stop teams scoring on the rebound is because of one, and only one, p1ss-plain-simple factor - lack of aerobic fitness. But the good news is we've improved in this area over recent weeks (albeit slightly). I reckon Sando is putting more time into good old fashioned laps of the oval. The problem is our improvement in general field play and fitness has seemingly gone hand-in-hand with shanking kicks like a drunk, blind golfer.

Thinking back this probably happened to us last year but we also had a more accurate and efficient team last year so it masked these deficiencies. Our midfield was so good last year in the clinches so most stoppage situations ended up in a forward attack for us. We had a drop off at the start of the year in this area and lost but now our midfield has improved they don't have a good forward line to kick to.

What's bolded is spot on the money.

You can get all the goalkicking coaches in the world.

You want better kicks for goal, recruit more skillful players. Simple as that.
Bullshit! I mean, respectfully, I disagree.
Our list is good - prioritise kicking efficiency. Punish/fine poor kicking. Demote the sports scientists/medicos who excuse players from KICKING PRACTICE. Select players who do extra kicking practice even when the SS/M whimper and say "They shouldn't - they might hurt their por wek bodies".

Acknowledge that FOOTBALL is about FOOT SKILLS.

Kick f****** straight. Kick GOALS.

and send straight to Big Footy Hell those old fashioned suburban idiots who, despite current evidence from local, national and international sources claim: 'Waste of Time. You can't improve a grown player's kicking style'.

Losers!

Literally.

True, but it's a bit like starting a sun smart routine at the age of 50. Sure, it's better late than never, but most of the damage has already been done.

What you come into the AFL with is pretty much what you've got for life as far as ball skills go. You can make marginal improvements, but that's about it.

Sure, strive for the marginal improvements. But if you want a skillful side, it's all about the pedigree of the players.

Look at the players Hawthorn have recruited, for instance. Not many guys in that team can't hit a guy on the chest from 30 metres.

Luke Hodge and Sam Mitchell aren't good kicks because of their coaches at Hawthorn. They're good kicks because they've been good kicks since the age of ten.

That turns out not to be true.
The 'good ol' boys' promote the mantra 'You can't improve' because it protects their career.
Correct instruction and regular practice results in improvement.

I think the plan for next week is to play more attacking footy, more snap shots and finding goals on the run. Need to finish the season off strongly.
Since our Midfield has been gradually improving, but our Forward Line is misfiring like a clapped out old ute, what's bolded is what we gotta focus on.

But what's in red? lol! You need to walk before you can run. Or in our case, we need to be able to lace up our boots and stand up without falling over.

Good post though.

Our list is good - prioritise kicking efficiency. Punish/fine poor kicking. Demote the sports scientists/medicos who excuse players from KICKING PRACTICE. Select players who do extra kicking practice even when the SS/M whimper and say "They shouldn't - they might hurt their por wek bodies".

and send straight to Big Footy Hell those old fashioned suburban idiots who, despite current evidence from local, national and international sources claim: 'Waste of Time. You can't improve a grown player's kicking style'.

Losers!

Literally.

You can tinker with a grown players kicking action, but it will never produce the results that the recruiting of skillfull players in the first place would have.But I agree,something needs to change with this list.
Very simple logic, i.e you neednt run so far if you can hit the friggen teammate on the tit.
Year after year I shake my head at what we have on the list as far as skill is concerned.
They need to take a leaf out of the Brazilian soccer squads notebook and start doing everything with a ball in their hands, and by that I mean a football. (Australian Soccer could learn a thing or two also)
Those kids grew up on the streets juggling balls all day, not juggling barbells , running beeps or waxing their chests.
Screw your cutting edge sports science, just get em in love with the Sherrin again.

That turns out not to be true.
The 'good ol' boys' promote the mantra 'You can't improve' because it protects their career.
Correct instruction and regular practice results in improvement.

Note that we are talking specifically about ball skills.

With that in mind..... Name me some players who started their AFL careers as rotten kicks and ended up with leg of Jarman or Buckley. And who did they credit with transforming them?

Go on. Show me the evidence. Go.

Our list is good - prioritise kicking efficiency. Punish/fine poor kicking. Demote the sports scientists/medicos who excuse players from KICKING PRACTICE. Select players who do extra kicking practice even when the SS/M whimper and say "They shouldn't - they might hurt their por wek bodies"

Losers!

Literally.

I can only assume your pet monkey has taken control of the keyboard while you were on the crapper.

Punish/fine players who kick poorly??

"Hey, Petrenko - why didn't you sell that candy and kick it post high from outside 50 like your predecessor in the number 23 used to? Down for 500 push ups and a $5000 fine until you learn how! On the double!"

"Scotty Thompson - how many times do i have to tell you, that's not how you rove a pack, run onto your left foot and thread it from the boundary line? You're 30 years of age FFS, how long does it take to be able to learn to kick it like Gary Ablett Jnr!! Geez. Expiation notice coming your way! And don't even think about not paying it on time!"

Yep, sounds legit.

We will have a team of Darren Jarmans in no time.

P.S - still waiting for this "evidence." Still waiting for you to show me if goalkicking percentages have improved at all in the last 30 years of football.

Wait, what? They haven't?

IT MUST BE BECAUSE NOBODY THOUGHT TO BRING IN A COACH!!!!!

Crayon level analysis, brought to you by MacJoe.

Note that we are talking specifically about ball skills.

With that in mind..... Name me some players who started their AFL careers as rotten kicks and ended up with leg of Jarman or Buckley. And who did they credit with transforming them?

Go on. Show me the evidence. Go.
He might not have ended up as good as Jarman or Buckley, but Tredrea made massive improvements to his kicking accuracy over the years. He went from one of the worst kicks in the competition to having a very respectable strike rate in his later years.

Porps is another who put in massive time & effort into improving his kicking for goal - resulting in that amazing streak in early 2009 when he kicked 16 goals without a miss (18 if you count his last game of 2008 in the streak). He was never a bad kick, but he took it to a new level there for a while. Incidentally, 2013 is by far his worst season for accuracy - 13.14 is the first time in his AFL career that he has dropped below 50%. Last year he kicked 30.13.

Porplyzia was an elite kick the moment he came into the system.

Tredrea was never a reliable set shot, and has never been referred to as one. Did the percentages show he was better later in his career? I'm not sure, but I still wouldn't want the ball in his hands in front of goals.

Kicking for goal is also different to field kicking. There is a much larger mental component - like a putt in golf. Do you think fining/punishing players is the answer here? You want to release the pressure in front of goals, not increase it.

There are also a not insignificant number of examples of players -champion players no less - who were reasonably good field kicks but poor converters in front of goal. Judd and Robert Harvey spring to mind.

Maybe their coaches should have threatened them with fines?

As I said - crayon level analysis.

Tredrea finished up alright.. kicked 10.2 and 51.27 in his last two seasons. His worst season was 2000, when he kicked 32.35.

Quite frankly, I don't care about field kicking. This thread is primarily concerned with Adelaide's inability to kick the ball between the big sticks. Field kicking is important - but it's irrelevant to this thread.

Stop shifting the goal posts to suit your own argument as soon as examples are provided which counter your previously stated position.

I'm not - I'm merely stating that even some elite players have been poor kicks for goal. If it was as simple as getting a goalkicking coach in, don't you think they'd be across that? Don't you think Nick Riewoldt would have tidied that up by now?

If Tredrea is the best example we have of a guy "improving" his goalkicking via coaching, then clearly it's a pretty weak premise.

Guys that are accurate in front of the sticks and are consistently accurate for long periods - the Lloyds, the Locketts, the Jarmans, Dunstalls, Modras.......came into the system as good kicks.

Guys who are erratic kicks for goal - the Riewoldts, Clokes, Richardsons - tend to stay that way.

How about the crows learn to kick the ball straight?