Maverick

Brisbane Lions
I am interested to know how Callum Bartlett performed in the reserves this year.

Also, how does the club rate his progress. Is the expectation that he'll play may senior games next year.

Footage of him playing with the Falcolns is pretty impressive.

Hey Mr Ripper. Course it is me.

Did he show enough this year to make you think he will be in our best 22?

So he has some pace.

Footage of him shows he has a booming left foot kick.

U want proof it's me.

I kicked the :footy: with u at brunswick oval with the Stockman & the red rover.
:cool:

Limited info on the newspaper websites re the upcoming trade/draft, so thought I'd check out bigfooty...always a good source of news.

I gotta admit I'm getting a bit nervous about the upcoming trade period.

IMO I reckon we should give the tippett thing a miss. My reasoning being:
i) i'm thinking we really gotta get game time into ACorn. I think tippett will hinder this happening.
ii) I don't think we need to replace Clarke.
iii) we already have 3 good tall marking forwards (brown, acorn, Karnezis).
iv) if we get pick 16 for Clarke (and not on-trade it), we will have a very good selection of picks on draft day with 5 of the top 34 picks: 8,16,27,30,34.

I know the draft can be a bit hit and miss.

But last year we did pretty well picking up Karnezis & Lester with picks in the 20s.

Don't think many brisbane supporters would swap either of them for 24 yo tippett.

One should not forget the Lions trading pick 14 in the 2007 draft for Travis Johnstone.

Hence my reluctance for trading a first round pick for Tippett. Assuming that we do trade Clarke for a first round pick. But the interest from the West suggests this will be the case.

Saw him a number of times running around in the 2's.

Got reasonably fit after a very long time out, let's not forget. Has good pace or better. Great hands. Gets the pill a bit. Plenty of zing around the packs and not afraid to bore in. Must have gone close to cracking the seniors but has a bit of development to make up so it was probably wise to hold him back.

Just my opinion, but I think he'll be a beauty with a full pre-season under the belt. Let's hope he joins the Tom Rockliff fitness club, along with Harwood and apparently Cornelius.

What is the Tom Rockliff fitness club?

Just my little bit of fun based on:

1] Rockliff's conclusion a couple of seasons ago that he needed to lift his fitness base substantially, and did so with obvious results;

2] Harwood's admission via Twitter or whatever post last season that he had been a bit lazy and begun to enjoy himself well before he was entitled to, and that he needs to get really fit; ditto Cornelius

Must have gone close to cracking the seniors but has a bit of development to make up so it was probably wise to hold him back.

I was surprised that he did not get a game late in the season...would have been good to show him the pace of the game IMO.

Was drafted in the second round which apparently means no one else wanted him.

It's the only logical argument. Not like anyone has ever wanted second rounders before.

Seriously, though, I think Bartlett will be our good news story of 2012. He was talked about as a top 10 (even top 5 by some) prospect before doing his ACL in draft year. Lions have shown a lot of faith in him and Vossy has said more than once to watch out for him next year. Won't be long until we are all praising him imo.

Agreed. Really looking forward to his 2012 season. Go Cal!

Lions have shown a lot of faith in him and Vossy has said more than once to watch out for him next year. Won't be long until we are all praising him imo.

I hope I am proven wrong. I was one of the skeptics and would love nothing more than acknowledging this time next year that Cal was worth it. From what I've heard, I think it is a lot more likley than unlikely that I will be making the call, and will be more than happy to.

I'm friends with Cal's girlfriends sister, and she reckons that he absolutely loves it up in Brisbane, and the younger side of the playing group (Rich, Redden, Banfield etc) is extremely close (Cal even attended the brownlow with one of the boys). So hopefully he won't get the dreaded go home factor at some point.

On a footballing note, he definitely has the talent, it's more of a case of him getting his body right. If that happens, we'll have an another excellent youngster to slot in beside Rich, Redden & Rockliff. He is definitely in their talent tier, a cut above the likes of O'Brien, Hawksley etc.

So I'm in hope with you guys, that if he gets his knees sorted, he could be one of the breakout stories of 2012.....Shuey-esque!

Not sure what happened to that ghost character. Just checked out his profile. He has not logged on since 2002. I guess he wasn't lying when he said he wasn't coming on this board again. Although you'd think he'd get over it after 9 years. :cool: