How many games will we win this year?

• Thread starter Thread starter lunacy

It's unfair to compair Talia and Davis because of the teams they play for, and I imagine Talia wouldn't look any where near as good if our midfield got as pantsed as GWS's and opposing teams got more inside 50s.

That said, Talia is an absolute beast one on one. He's bigger and more physical than Phil and looks more durable (touch wood). If a new draft was held today I would doubt anyone would take Phil over Talia.

I would go as far as to say Talia is our number 1 defender. If Phil was in the team instead he'd probably be a distant third behind Rutten and Talia and then probably even 4th or 5th (behind Otton or Laird).

I think it is a fair comparison and the GWS factor is not a main issue and those who watch GWS on a week by week basis would not use the GWS midfield as an excuse.

over the past two years Davis has been consistently beaten in 1+1 contest when midfield pressure was not an issue actually its the opposite for a young expansion club GWS stoppage and tackle numbers have been much better than expected

with this in mind Davis biggest issue is that he still has the body shape and strength that he did when he left Adelaide and watching him on Friday he is still a boy compared to Talia who is now a strong hard bodied defender

dont get me wrong I dont hold a grudge for Davis leaving however since his departure Talia has not only passed Davis but the gap is widening game by game, season by season

I have adopted GWS as my 2nd team and as a result have seen them a fair bit live and to use their midfield as a reason for where Davis is at is drawing at a long bow, the truth is that he is a boy trying to play a man's role and this would be the case no matter what club he was at whilst Talia is a man that plays like a defensive beast, one player rarely gets beaten, the other gets handled like a rag doll

the irony of it all is that if Davis stayed there was every risk that we may have lost Talia so for me we are very fortunately that out of the two we have the right man playing at CHB for the AFC in season 2014 and beyond

I just did my ladder predictor for the year, and I have us on 15 wins and fourth spot on the ladder. Our losses include Port (x2) and Collingwood (x2) and Hawthorn and Geelong. Can't remember the other.

Cant believe how many have us losing against Port

I think it's about mentally preparing. This time last year, none of us thought we would lose to Port twice, and it was such a kick in the Douglas. By preparing for a loss, it'll be easier to take, and make winning that much better. Losing matches where we should win is harsh.

Im scrubbing last year fitness was a real issue which it wont be this year

everything being equal worse case is that we break even 1/1 however I still believe our midfield is stronger and our new look forward line could cause their young defence real problems, not to mention I think they are in real strife if either Shultz or Hoff goes down as Butcher is cringe worthy

Port would do extremely well if they repeat last years seasons effort, however I feel that they are truly up against it

Some of his numbers last year were elite. Sure he wasn't elite last year, but i couldn't be bothered typing that

Has elite all over him
From round 14 onwards he was equal with Gary Ablett with 26.6 disposals. They are indeed elite. :D

Out of Gunston, Davis and Bock I think Gunston was the only real loss. Tippett was a huge loss of course. But Gunston has been great lately. And will shine even more without Buddy at Hawthorn.

Do you actually watch Davis on a week to week basis, there is a huge difference

Yeah I do. Which apparently makes one of us.

over the past two years Davis has been consistently beaten in 1+1 contest when midfield pressure was not an issue

Look this is just not true. If you need to make things up to support your argument, change your argument not the facts.

Do you think Davis is better than Talia?

So hard to tell because there are so many factors at play.

-how will we take to AO with our game plan?
-how will our fans take to AO? Will we make it a psychologically intimidating cauldron or a civilised tea party?
-Sando has shown himself to be a tweaker rather than an innovator, or does he have something up his sleeve?
-when will Tex come back and in what sort of form?
-was it just fitness?
-have we learned from our case of gold pass syndrome?
-is Smack gonna go BOOM!?

If we have learned our lessons, Tex comes back earlyish and finds form and we take well to AO I see us finishing somewhere between 4th and 6th. Missing finals again will be unacceptable.

7 wins is par for the quality of the list, but feel we'll get up for that first showdown. That and the intangible of a new home and we will probably punch above our weight a little. 10 wins

What part of our list isn't quality?

Surely that is not your best return of serve, it's hit the tape and limped over

Can't see you winning less than 10. Danger, sloane, crouch, Jacobs will be too strong for the bottom team midfields. Not sure about your forward line (but you won 2 premierships without a top tier forward line).
Predict 12.5 wins (1 draw ;p)

Don't supply any food if you clip clop over the bridge, billy goat gruff.

Sent from my GT-I9295 using Tapatalk

no troll

To answer your question bails, there's a general lack of depth, which is always a sign that consistency will be a struggle. We have areas of definite weakness besides too. Jacobs is a worry in the ruck. He looks like his bag of tricks is being stretched now that opponents work to expose an apparent lack of any leap. Our backline lacks rebound strength, which means goals conceded through more time spent getting the ball out than we would like. Our ability to blunt key forwards is again heavily reliant on Rutten staying fit - increasingly unlikely at this stage of his career, and he is coming off a limited pre season. Unlike in previous years, it is a fragile defense. Hartigan is decidedly average and our third talls both turn the footy over. Shaw isn't physical enough, his kick is terrible and his body continues to break down. Otten is a poor kick. Talia is a star and should have been AA in 2012, we're going to need a monstrous year from him. Our smalls are decent, though our hand has again been forced with pigeon holing Brodie Smith. Laird is an outstanding competitor but struggles with strong-leading smalls. We will concede bags where we haven't before. We will start to see the cost of losing both Bock and Davis this year I feel.

Our forward line is our biggest worry imo. The addition of Betts was desperately needed and should net us 40+ snags. But our leading goal kicker last year was Tom Lynch, who in reality (i.e. not against a very weak foundation side) gave us 23 goals from 16 games. It's plainly not enough, and he may not play the first half of the year as is. Who of our other likely starters can you say with any real clout will kick enough goals for our forward line to be a strength this year? Johnston's hands are terrible, he simply won't get enough of the footy. Jenkins runs around like a headless chook, is a shocking kick and doesn't take a lot of grabs either. Pods has barely gotten his hands to any. Our obvious star is Taylor Walker, who I hope like hell can come back and hit his straps quickly because I love him, but it's not likely to happen.

Our midfield is a monster, a huge strength. Dangerfield and Sloane are an elite top 2, and Thompson sounds likely to return to something resembling his 2012 self. Crouch is special. Douglas is excellent support. We'll win games of footy because of this. But we won't kick enough goals often enough, or restrict good opposition for long enough to roll the top 4 or 5 clubs. What's done is done, but I can't help thinking about how different things would be with the top end talent that walked out on our footy club these past few seasons.

That is at least an explanation. As opposed to a glib one liner.

I don't share your pessimism about depth. We have some depth. We are not wafer thin like some sides.

Our defense is right up there. Maybe we lack a tall fast rebound defender. ..... at the moment.

As you say our midfield is our strength. Jacobs and Smac have shown good form and fitness so rucks are less of a concern than after Draft day.

Betts adds 40ish goals to our side. Pods adds a big experienced body. Clearly our forward structure is our weakest link without Tex. But at least we have scoring power. If Wright keeps up his form, there are more goals.

We seem to have addressed our biggest problem which cost us a minimum of 3 to 4 games.

I'm cautiously optimistic.

Sent from my GT-I9295 using Tapatalk